Located on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, Salzburg is a magical place. With tall cathedral and church spires rising into the night sky of the Old Town and horse drawn carriages parading around the streets, it ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the Christmas markets very much - just a shame to have a rather short time in two of them but, nevertheless it was well organised and we enjoyed the short boat trip across the lake

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very very nice, but needs more time in each of the markets

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I enjoyed it very much...very refreshing experience...a different approach to a Christmas Markets trip...boat ride, time to explore each Christmas Market village, listen to Christmas Carols played by a brass band , even a small group...very Christmasy!!! Would love to do it again!

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great Xmas tour, tour guide was a laugh as well and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyable way to see the sights of Salzburg. Tour guide good.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my 12-night stay in Salzburg in December 2012. You visit three different villages, with a boat ride in between, and the entire day is magical.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We loved this tour. We got to see the Christmas Markets and everything was so pretty. The boat ride was very enjoyable and the scenery on the lake was so beautiful.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Bryan A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Great tour and extremely well organised. It was nice to have a local person to assist us getting around the Christmas markets and taking us to the best ones. It was an excellent tour and well worth doing. Make sure you wear warm clothes.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Great tour for those interested in the christmas markets and seeing a little bit of the outskirts of Salzburg. The boat ride to St Wolfgang is especially nice as you get panoramic views of the snow capped alps.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

A little disappointing because of the time restriction on some markets

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

This Christmas Markets tour from Salzburg is good only to see what is happening outside Salzburg. The best Christmas markets are in Salzburg itself and any of the other little Christmas markets in towns visited during this tour does not offer much at all. The trip on the boat could be skipped entirely. We had to wait for the available boat outside for quite a long time (it was cold and everybody was freezing), when we finally got on the boat there was not enough place for everybody to seat and many people had to stand all the way to the point of destination. The floating lantern is disappointing ...tatty and worn. In my opinion that last destination would be better reached by bus, in warmth and comfort. In addition, there was very little time to explore these visited little towns, everything was rushed. Mugs that are given for free are not very pretty and printed carelessly. Sorry, but I cannot give this tour more than 3 stars.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Stroble market needs about 15 minutes, there isn't much there. The market in Wolfgangsee is well worth the time, but you have quite a set of stairs to get down to it. Then we had to wait 20 minutes in line for boat that was over crowded and had to stand on the boat for the 30 plus minute boat ride. Then the last market in St. Gilgen we simply walked through it on the way to the bus with no forewarning that we weren't being given any time there. So my family and I had waited to last market for the advent angel and free punch which we could now not collect because we never stopped. The guide did not do a very good job communicating expectations.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2011

We were very disappointed! We have traveled from Australia and have been looking forward to the markets. The time that was given to us was to visit the markets clearly too short. The 15 minute stop-over in St. Gilgen enough software to get to the beginning of the market and then we immediately had to turn around and run back. Ridiculous! The tour guide said that all Christkindlmaerkte as the same and offer so that you can come back. Unfortunately we can not do that! And we have actually come for the great atmosphere and not buying. Just like there was evening and all the lights were on we were given no time!
St. Wolfgang - since we were maschiert on a side street to the center and thus have missed the bulk of the market. The boat ride gave us a nice view but while the 20 -30 minute wait before boarding was a waste of time!
We would have preferred Strobel and the boat ride relaxed and more time in St. Wolfgang and St. Gilgen had.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

absolutely brilliant. we booked for another trip the next day with the same company. Excellent

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent day tour from Salzburg.

Doing what: Christmas Markets Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message