• USD ($)
  • English
There’s so much to do around Salzburg, from visiting romantic castles to exploring salt mines, ice caves or the house of a despot; and that’s all before discovering the staggering natural beauty of the Alps surrounding the city. The Sound of Music ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Two Great half Day trips with a stop for lunch in the middle. Well worth the time and money

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

For the Salt Mines Day Trip, our guide Walters was very humourous and highly knowledgeable. The salt mines tour itself was good too and we loved the slides.
The Sound of Music tour was also excellent, with the tour guide being highly entertaining as well. In short, this was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

One of our favorites as we traveled through Europe. The Sound of Music is not to be missed. If you are looking to have a fun time, this is exceptional. The Salt Mine Day trip was also excelllent. This is a 5 star tour! Don't miss it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We enjoyed the Sound of Music and Salt Mines day trip very much. We were lucky the weather was fine and sunny. This was essential to make the the Sound of Music part a success, because to appreciate the scenery you need good weather. Both tour leaders were excellent. Email confirmation of hotel pick up should be made instead of relying only on us calling the tour company in advance.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Sian D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Not knowing how much and what to expect off a Christmas Day sleigh ride, all we knew was that we wanted a special white Christmas day. Well my sister and I can say, that this is one of the best day trips I have EVER experienced. The tour people were very professional and had a great commentary for us on the way up to the sleigh ride start point. They even had us joining in and laughing with their jokes. The horses and sleighs were just out of a Christmas story, even down to the bells on the horses. We loved the route we went on, and were surrounded by magnificent snowy mountains and a wonderful blue sky. Even stopping for a hot chocolate and a gluwein along the way added to the spirits. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would certainly recommend it to anyone. What a day, one we will never forget. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg

Ana O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Excellent day trip, very well organised. Good mix of organised activities and free time. Horse drawn sleigh ride was excellent, thoroughly enjoyed by all. Loved the scenery.

Doing what: Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Half day trip which was really enjoyable, the caves were beautiful but it really is very steep and the climb is really hard. Do not underestimate the climb (like me) The guide was really good and knowledgeable. Worth half a day to see this.

Doing what: Werfen Ice Caves Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our 10 year old son really enjoyed this tour. It was a fun half day trip with a stop for lunch afterwards. I enjoyed the tour and it was fun but not sure if I would've done if our son wasn't with us but it was a good tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A nice day trip. It was quite a hike up to the cable car in the heat but the scenery is spectacular. Inside the ice cave itself there were so many stairs, it was freezing, and there was a huge group (with the tour conducted by an employee at the ice cave). Would definitely recommend it to people who don't mind the exercise.

Doing what: Werfen Ice Caves Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Salt mine day trip was great really interesting and worth doing that was a 5 star. Had no expectations of what we had booked and were very happy.
As for the Sound of Music Tour this was dissappointing to be honest.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Brilliant half day trip! Definitely worth doing this trip! Views from the Alps on the way to the Ice Caves is pretty amazing (about 2km above sea level), and inside the caves is something you need to experience. Be warned though, those looking for amazing photo's to remember your day will be disappointed.... Much like on other day trips from Munich and Salzburg, no photo's are allowed inside the caves. That is really the only negative thing about this trip.

Doing what: Werfen Ice Caves Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

the day trip was separete to two parts,salt mines in morning with small group , and joyful! but sound of music is a large group, and little time for sight seeing

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Good day trip up to the Bavarian mountains to visit the Salt-Mines. Compared to other trips, I can't really rave about this one. Tour guide placed 4 German speaking people into a group of 25 English speaking people, and then proceeding to play (during the tour of the mines) an English audio to explaining the relevance of everything we saw, only to speak quite loudly in German to ensure the 4 German speaking people could understand what was going on. Downside, we couldn't hear the audio over the guide, so we got to look at old interesting (I'm sure) mining equipment, but didn't take any learnings away about the history of the place.

Could've been a better day if not for that, but still a relatively boring day trip. Other available options would probably be more worthwhile i.e. Ice Caves Tour (Brilliant, but hard work - thinks steps and long up hill walks), and the trip to Eagles Nest (missed out on doing this).

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message