Salzburg is a city with a rich musical history. Mozart was born there, and performed regularly as a child prodigy until he was 17 years old and moved to Vienna. The local choirs fill the cathedrals. And in 1964, Julie Andrews ensured that many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is also a good for us. We enjoyed the whole entertainment given by both the tour leader (the British lady) and the driver. Although it was too short..at least there were some objects that we were able to see. Next we really want to take this tour again.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

being a sound of music fan I really enjoyed this tour

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended for any Sound of Music fan!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I loved this tour. That probably sounds kind of hokey, but it is so much more than the Sound of Music. The first part of our tour was the historical walking tour with our guide, Naomi. We saw Mozart's home, a number of important sights such as the Mirabell Gardens and Old City Salzburg. We heard the history of the Hohensalzburg Fortress (and later visited the sight). The Sound of Music Tour was by bus and we were driven to sites where the movie was filmed and then went out to the hills and experienced of some the most beautiful views anywhere around Salzburg. We stopped in the town of Mondsee for apple strudel. The bus was full of very happy people singing "the hills are alive with the sound of music" and "do-re-me". Our tour guide was an Austrian man named Gus with a wonderful engaging personality.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour loved the whole thing. Salt mines were fun. Sound of music tour we got to see more than we expected the lakes were amazing. Had a great trip would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such an amazing time! When our daughter is old enough to come back with us, we will absolutely go on this tour again. Our tour guide (Naomi) was a lot of fun, full of information and funny jokes. She was great! Can't rave about this enough.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was good to see the places where the film was filmed. We stayed in Salzburg for a few days and after the tour we went back to some of the sights at our leisure. Well worth the money, however hotel pick up was by mini bus and by the time it arrived at the coach all the best seat were taken. So a bit of advice - if you can get to the bus without pick up you can arrive early and get the better seats.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We weren't sure our teenage sons would enjoy this but scheduled it anyway (after watching the movie at home prior to the trip). However, they said they would actually do this one again. The tour guide presented it in a very campy way that took the serious tone out of some of our other historical tour spots. It was a fun easy ride and not too much walking. Older folks could do this one easily.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My Wife and I went to the show and really enjoyed it.It was very cheesy but we like cheesy! the cast were great and very friendly with a good atmosphere from the singers and the rest of the cast. I didn't take any photographs as I wasn't sure if we where aloud to as there wasn't anything stated. The three course meal was very good with our strudel arriving into the shows interval which was nice timing-My wife sang along to all the songs as it was her 5oth birthday and the visit was for her mainly but I have to admit I enjoyed it all as well!!

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was truly excellent -- very funny and knowledgeable. in spite of the fact it was a rainy day, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. highly recommended this tour and guide (Peter?)

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and loved our guide. He had very interesting inside scoop and facts. A little more time in Mondsee would have been great. We did the morning tour so it was lunch time when we got there. We didn't have time to go into the church. We used Viator for all our tours on this trip. Is there not some sort of discount starting with the second tour?

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Natasha was the best tour guide! Be ready for singing on the bus and seeing all the important sites and beautiful countryside! Also here the real Von Trapp story. Best day of our entire trip!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message