Salzburg is a city with a rich musical history. Mozart was born there, and performed regularly as a child prodigy until he was 17 years old and moved to Vienna. The local choirs fill the cathedrals. And in 1964, Julie Andrews ensured that many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is also a good for us. We enjoyed the whole entertainment given by both the tour leader (the British lady) and the driver. Although it was too short..at least there were some objects that we were able to see. Next we really want to take this tour again.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

being a sound of music fan I really enjoyed this tour

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended for any Sound of Music fan!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I loved this tour. That probably sounds kind of hokey, but it is so much more than the Sound of Music. The first part of our tour was the historical walking tour with our guide, Naomi. We saw Mozart's home, a number of important sights such as the Mirabell Gardens and Old City Salzburg. We heard the history of the Hohensalzburg Fortress (and later visited the sight). The Sound of Music Tour was by bus and we were driven to sites where the movie was filmed and then went out to the hills and experienced of some the most beautiful views anywhere around Salzburg. We stopped in the town of Mondsee for apple strudel. The bus was full of very happy people singing "the hills are alive with the sound of music" and "do-re-me". Our tour guide was an Austrian man named Gus with a wonderful engaging personality.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We weren't sure our teenage sons would enjoy this but scheduled it anyway (after watching the movie at home prior to the trip). However, they said they would actually do this one again. The tour guide presented it in a very campy way that took the serious tone out of some of our other historical tour spots. It was a fun easy ride and not too much walking. Older folks could do this one easily.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My Wife and I went to the show and really enjoyed it.It was very cheesy but we like cheesy! the cast were great and very friendly with a good atmosphere from the singers and the rest of the cast. I didn't take any photographs as I wasn't sure if we where aloud to as there wasn't anything stated. The three course meal was very good with our strudel arriving into the shows interval which was nice timing-My wife sang along to all the songs as it was her 5oth birthday and the visit was for her mainly but I have to admit I enjoyed it all as well!!

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was truly excellent -- very funny and knowledgeable. in spite of the fact it was a rainy day, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. highly recommended this tour and guide (Peter?)

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and loved our guide. He had very interesting inside scoop and facts. A little more time in Mondsee would have been great. We did the morning tour so it was lunch time when we got there. We didn't have time to go into the church. We used Viator for all our tours on this trip. Is there not some sort of discount starting with the second tour?

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Natasha was the best tour guide! Be ready for singing on the bus and seeing all the important sites and beautiful countryside! Also here the real Von Trapp story. Best day of our entire trip!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The private tour was the way to go for our family. Our guide, Natasha, was able to adapt the tour to our specific interests (including those of our 9-year old). We like the "Sound of Music" but aren't super-fans; the guide appreciated that fact and could give a more nuanced approach to and delivery of the tour content. We covered a lot of ground in 4 hours and felt it was well worth it!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent throughout and although weather was poor, this did not really take much way from the tour. Highly recommended to all SOM fans!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very convenient and avoided the 40+ crowds in a regular bus. I wish a little more details in the story and the ambience be improved in the car.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We loved our guide and bus driver for the morning tour. Had read reviews so knew what to expect. Information was great. Even my husband who was a little reluctant had a good morning.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very nice opportunity to see parts of Salzburg and the surroundings. Not annoyingly kitschy. Music played only for a while and folks sang along. Good tour guide. Most SoM locations were only seen from a distance, though, because they are not public.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message