• USD ($)
  • English
Salzburg is a city with a rich musical history. Mozart was born there, and performed regularly as a child prodigy until he was 17 years old and moved to Vienna. The local choirs fill the cathedrals. And in 1964, Julie Andrews ensured that many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour presented by Peter with style, humour and wonderful empathy for Sound of Music tragics. Great way to learn about Salzburg and the film but most of all just a very fun outing in company with a great raconteur and teller of bad jokes

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was the highlight of our trip to Austria. Try to get Peter as your guide. He was information, friendly and funny.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Although weather was I inclement this did not put a dampener on our enjoyment of the trip. Peter, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and good fun.
I was expecting a coach trip but we had a mini bus which actually was better.
Sarah, Jersey, Channel Islands

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My hopes might have been a little too high for this one. First, our tour guide, she was great! Understood her perfectly, she spoke loud and clear and was knowledgeable and had the same love for Sound of Music as I did. My disappointment was because I thought we would get to tour inside of places and the only place we got to go inside was the church that Captain Von Trapp and Marie were married in, in the movie. Not even the true location of the real wedding. We didn't get to go into the gardens and on the bridge (just drive by both) that there was famous filming scenes. To top it off, we had rain and snow (which 3/4 of the tour is outside). The only think that affected the tour was we couldn't see the mountain the you see the family Von Trapp walking over at the end of the movie. Oh well. But still, it was magical to me none the less!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a fabulous time. Our tour guide Eric was amazing thank you x

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! Our tour guide was informative and funny during the tour and gave some great suggestions of other things to do while we were in town. Only downside was the tour was in an 8 seater van so one couple had to split up by having one person sit in the front and the other sitting in the last row which had an extra seat. Part of the tour is taking an hour+ drive through the countryside (which is beautiful!) but was a bit uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was fantastic!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour. We saw Salzburg sites with Erik our amazing tour guide. Definitely worth the time.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Sound of Music tour was wonderful and our tour guide Peter definitely made it a very memorable experience. Growing up Sound of Music was one of my favourite movies and still is to this day. After visiting the majority of places the scenes were filmed, my husband and I took a walk up to the Abbey and met a lovely lady named Anna who was present at the Abbey when Sound of Music was filmed which completed my own photo shoot.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The sound of music part of this tour was the best - the guide, Peter, was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and we got to see so many things! Salt mines was very cool as well, interesting history. Recommended for anyone with extra time in Salzburg

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyed the trip very much. Walter and Thomas were great guides .unfortunately the weather

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fun experience for only getting a day in Salzburg. Loved getting some of the history of the city along with background on the movie. You don't go into the Mirabell gardens, although you can go there on your own before/after. It's especially nice being driven around so walking is kept to a minimum.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Very informative guide. However, when booking the tour there was no indication that the tour would be conducted in a small mini bus as opposed to a larger tour bus.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message