Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2057 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

michael.bang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of our Salzburg visit. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining hall and you get private access to an actual Sound of Music location while the tour bus groups have to look at the location from a far distance. Worth it.

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

TETSUO I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour for SoM fans

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Norman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even for a less than devoted fan of the movie, this is a great tour.

Whilst it caters for those who want to visit key locations, it is also a great opportunity to spend a little time out of Salzburg to take in some lakes and mountain scenery which is breath-taking.

The coach was clean and modern, and our guide had some very interesting stories to tell about the production.

All in all you don't need to be a fan of the movie, but it might be useful to know the lyrics to the soundtrack if you want to join in with the on-board sing-along!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kenika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an absolutely delightful tour. The Tour Guide and driver were both phenomenal! Seeing where scenes from the movie were shot was great but learning about some of the history in Salzburg and other regions in Austria was an added bonus.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both tours were great. My wife and I learned a lot on both tours. There was one big question we had when signing up for both of these tours. Will there be time to get food throughout the day or in between tours? The answer is yes/kind of. Within each tour, you will get approximately one hour at the end to tour a town. During that time, you can get food, but it is not included in the tour price. Or, there was about 45 minutes in between tours to grab a snack.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Claudia U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly Recomended!!!!!!!!!!!! Entertainer, marvelous, incredible!!!!!!!!! a must!!!!!!!

Super and colorfull Views of Outside Salzburg.

Thanks Viator

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Emily Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was so wonderful. I am a female 20-something, college-student, traveling by myself and I had the best time. The sound of music is one of my favorite movies! I loved all the places they took us, the behind the scenes clips they showed on the way back, the tour guide who sang some of the songs playing on the trip with us, and the jokes along the way, Worth every penny!

The only thing is I wish they stopped so we could the front of the Vonn Trappe Villa from the movie and walk around it. I know this is hard because you can't stop on the busy road. Otherwise, a great time! I would go again!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sinead L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really enjoyed our trip from start to finish. had a super guide great fun and not over the top.very easy to ask him questions. Scenery beautiful well worth doing it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Chan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice weather, beautiful scene and wonderful tour guide!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ljpearce70

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding. Beautiful scenery and great guide. He was interesting and funny

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

O M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Viator offered everything we wanted out of the Salzburg site visit. Thanks for the wonderful experience. Oh and added bonus for refunded us a ticket, especially considering that the individual had an emergency. Thanks again for the support.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Micaela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Saw every parti f the Sound of Music that is relevant and every part of Salzburg that is worth seeing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Audrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My mom felt ill the morning of our tour so we called to see if we could reschedule for the afternoon they switched our tour no problem and no additional fee. The tour itself was a lot of fun you could tell the guide was is really into it. I and #39;m not that big of a fan of the movie but I had a great time

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Timothy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was delightful, and our visit to the locations only increased our love for the movie. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must do tour when visiting Salzburg. Our tour guide Peter will make you laugh as he explains the history to the movie The Sound of Music

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

To actually visit the area where the movie was made was very exciting.'
Our guide really made the afternoon.
A must if visiting Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Daryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Exceeded my expectations

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Carissa E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For a SOM fan this tour is a must!! My husband even enjoyed himself with the humour and jokes of our wonderful guide.. As well as seeing all the Sound of Music tour highlights, it is a wonderful way to see Salzburg and the Lakes District :-

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

More time needed. Felt rushed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Gwendolyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a very informative tour but the tour guide made it amazing!! He was an English man I believe. He was funny and lively. The only negative thing I would say is I do wish it was a little bit slower paced. I felt rushed at every location so you kinda didn and #39;t get to take it all in.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Gayle P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very enjoyable afternoon. Guide was a well of knowledge and lots of interesting story. Only downside was the cool, wet weather

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

bgildea1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very, Very, few sights are actually seen/visited. The guide was entertaining/polite/fun,,,but,,,this should not be referred to as a sound of music tour,,,its an Austrian area tour with a few Sound of Music highlights thrown in.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Brent S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour ever. This was a bucket list item and Peter was the best tour guide ever.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Smith Family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was fantastic. We had a great time!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Martina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

lovely tour great views i recommend

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message