Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1778 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best day out in Salzburg. A must for everyone... Even if you are not a fan, you get to see some lovely areas out of the city

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a very well organized, fun tour! I enjoyed getting out of the heat onto a new, clean, air conditioned bus that took us to many of the sites that The Sound of Music was filmed. David, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and fun. He has us singing songs from the movie along the way. The scenery was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended! One can go back in time and relieve the Sound of Music of one's youth! The tour guide facilitated everything very well while ably sharing info about the movie's sights! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an outstanding tour!! Our guide, Peter, made this a huge success. He was not only well prepared for the Sound of Music tour, but also provided a history lesson on Salzburg.
Peter picked us up from our hotel, and was very comfortable with my family 5. He explained everything in detail.
The tour included a drive to the Lake region which was breathtaking.
We loved it.
Thank you Peter for a great tour!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved It! The tour guide was great, the sights were brilliant, singing along to the movie soundtrack on the bus was a great, fun bonus. We loved everything about the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide for the walking tour seemed impatient with us. He raced us through the tour and cut 30 minutes off the time. We didn't have audiovox support so unless you were right next to the guide you didn't hear a word he said. So, no stars for the Historical Walking Tour. Now, the Sound of Music portion of the tour was great and lots of fun. Peter is a great guide, funny, informative, accommodating. wonderful. We had a good time and would highly recommend getting on the bus with Peter.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide LISA was excellent. She spoke very clearly, and gave us a lot of information about the Sound of Music film, locations and also the true story that inspired the film. Then she took us to see 5 lakes and the drive and the scenery was out of this world. Right through the long drive she played the sound of music songs and it brought back nostalgic memories.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sound of Music tour seeing all the locations from the film. Our guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and witty and she got us all joining in with the singing.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely and enjoyable tour! Our guide dressed up with Dirndl, we laughed all the way during the trip. She threw many funny remarks. This tour is highly recommended!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour, fantastic guide who has a very witty sense of humor. The places we visited where all fantastic. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of fun. Our guide was very entertaining

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is awesome for Sound of Music fans. Our guide Sharron was very entertaining and overall it was a great experience. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We highly recommend the original sound of music tour. It was our highlight in Salzburg!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This exceeded all expectations! The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was great, and the surrounding area was gorgeous. After exploring the city, the hotel and lake provided a nice peaceful place to come back to. In addition, not only were the breakfasts at Schloss Leopoldskron delicious, but the dining room was so lavish that I felt like royalty eating in there. Can't forget about the Sound of Music tour either! Our guide told us interesting facts about the movie that I wouldn't have known otherwise. This is a must during your stay in Salzburg!

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. The tour company sent a seperate vehicle to pick us up from the hotel even after the tour had started because of a mix up in the pick up point. The tour guide, I think his name was David was very passionate and his English sense of humour was great. Enjoyed every minute of the tour. I wish we had some time to walk past the front of Capt Von Trapp's house in the movie rather than drive by, coz we couldn't take any close photographs because the trees blocked the view.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for the tour was absolutely wonderful! There was a mishap on the road which delayed the tour but he adjusted and we still had an amazing experience!

I will definitely return to Salzburg and will certainly book more tours through your group. Very well done. KUDOS!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The experience was really great. We had a good time. The bus driver and the guide were very entertaining.
My suggestion would be to have clips from the movie playing on the televisions to get people more into singing and to help people remember the words for the sing along portion.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great tour and Gunter was an excellent tour guide, highly recommended.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

1- Excellent tour guides for both walking and Original Sound of Music tours. I highly recommend this tour to everybody visiting Salzburg.
2- Barbara, the Original Sound of Music Tour guide did a great job.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

First class tour taken by a first class guide

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

jglsongs
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour for both fans of the movie and even the few who never saw the film. Our guide, Natascha, was fantastic! Engaging, funny, and very knowledgable about Salzburg and the area, the film and how and where scenes were shot and other facts about the area, the country and its people. What was even better, was it wasn't just about the film, but she added facts and history about the area too, which put everything into perspective. Sure, the film is the center attraction, but ignoring other facts about what you're seeing and passing through would be a shame, and this tour and guide was perfect.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I expected it to be kitschy and it was. That's what makes it so much fun. Everyone on the bus had a good time.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide was knowledable and fun. We saw all things von trapp and it was great to relive the movie.

Thamks

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message