Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1526 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide was wonderful. He was entertaining and knowledgeable. We learned so much about the history of Salzburg. Salzburg is so beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide made this tour a unique experience.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Peter and driver Ferdinand were hilarious. It was nice because we got information on Salzburg and its history, not just all Sound of Music information. The journey out of the town and up to the Mountains was great despite the very gloomy weather. Our one complaint is that we had very little time to explore the area around Saint Michael's church. It is also important to know that the bus cannot stop in front of the movie Von Trapp house, so if you want pictures, be sure to set so time aside outside the tour. Other than that enjoy singing along to the soundtrack and checking out the fantastic scenery.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good trip especially visiting the countryside outside Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a fun tour. We had a lovely tour guide who had a nice sense of humor, very knowledgeable of the subject and made the whole experience enjoyable. She compared the movie story to the real life story and also provided some fun tidbits about the filming. Highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stellar! Make sure you get Peter as your tour guide. He is absolutely hilarious! Unfortunately it was raining the entire day, but I still had a FANTASTIC time! :

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a fun tour. We visited many of the sites where the Sound of Music was filmed. Our guide was very informative and fun. We sang our way through Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw or visited many of the sights where the Sound of Music film with Julie Andrews was filmed 51 years ago. We enjoyed a sing along on the bus as we traveled from one sight to another. We enjoyed some of the beauriful Austrian countryside traveling to the small village where the wedding scenes inside the cathedral were filmed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our group 4 adults really enjoyed this tour. Despite the rainy day, our guide was high energy and very informative. Great way to see the filming sites that are outside of the city center of Salzburg, especially the wedding church in Mondsee. I recommend talking the morning tour, so the afternoon remains to see other film locations in the city center like the Mirabell Gardens, various fountains, the abbey and more.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was incredible. The Sound of Music tour was nice and we had a good guide, but it's not the best tour I've ever been on. The best part of this was being able to stay on the Schloss Leopoldskron grounds. Since it's private property, the tours can't go there, and we were able to enjoy the grounds tourist-free. The hotel staff is also very friendly and helpful. However, they did neglect to make our reservation for the Sound of Music tour after saying they would. So I would just double check on any reservations you ask to be made for you.
The main downside is the hotel is a bit of a walk about 20 minutes from the main downtown, but it's doable. You can also get a taxi for 10 Euros.
The staff is helpful answering any questions. This is definitely something I'd recommend, and something I would love to do again!

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Could not fault it one bit. The pick up was on time and by a very pleasant guy and the tour itself ... Well ... Fantastic Sharon pronounced Shar-Ron and Nico my apologies if I've misspelt your names was entertaining, informative and just downright hilarious. We still talk about and I can tell we will for some time.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful morning. I didn't want it to end. Although we were running out of songs :

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was amazing. Our guide in the walking tour was so knowledgeable and not only explained what we were seeing, but the best way to see things in and around Salzburg. And the sound of music tour was also amazing. Great guides, well planned and so entertaining and informative. It's a must do!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a wonderful hotel. Great location. Excellent facilities. The sound of music tour was good. Throughly enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

spat
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The extremely knowledgeable guide provided a ton of information about sites on the way to the Salt Mines so which was greatly appreciated. The mines themselves were fun and even the slides - although a little intimating - were great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Would have love to go inside all the places and not just drive by

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. We had a really good tour guide and a fantastic driver. Tour was very informative and succeeded all expectations.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a lot of fun and we were fortunate to have amazing sunny weather. You should be aware that there are really not that many locations that were used in Salzburg because most of the movie was shot in a Hollywood sound studio. Additionally, many of the sights are inaccessible to the tour bus or are privately owned so you just see them from afar. I thought it was totally worth it though and during the drive to Mondsee you get to stop and see some amazing views.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was great must have vast prior knowledge of movie

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Easy to book on viator. Do this tour if you love the sound of music and want a guided tour. Can be done on your own by taxi especially if more than a couple of people in your group. This will allow you to decide how you want to spend your time. The sights are not too far . You can spend more time in the Lake District and take a boat ride if you go on your own. There is a combo walking tour and sound of music tour which fills up fast but is more reasonably priced. You can easily walk on your own as Salzburg is small, really small. That way, you can see the hohensalzburg fortress too which is more interesting than most other things on the walking tour. If you take the trolley up, you can see the fortress in less than 40 minutes.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really great tour and very interesting. The tour guide was good and the singing on the bus was excellent I must say.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fun tour, great movie sites, lots of singing, great tour guide who looked and could sing almost as well as Julie Andrews!, great scenery. Highly recommend it...

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Peter, was hilarious! We learned so much about Salzburg and the Sound of Music. We loved that we went to a few neighboring cities as well!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Peter - my tour guide - was wonderful! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message