Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1801 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I went on the tour approx 10 years ago and we were taken on a toboggan ride in the hills which we really enjoyed. Shame it's not still included. But apart from that the tour was excellent and Da I'd give us a great time. He was a star turn

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Must do tour. The Sound of Music is an all time favorite and so was the tour. Sharron and Matise make a dynamic duo. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An extremely entertaining day. Our guide Natasha was knowledge, entertaining and extremely organised. The tour sells itself with amazing locations and great behind the scenes stories but the lakes area was the highlight of the day. The hills were most definitely alive!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Walking tour needs to start earlier we had to leave early to make the sound of music tour. Had little time to grab lunch. Really enjoyed both tours

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent despite the rain! Sharron our tour guide was fantastic and made the trip. This was a dream come true.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

EXCELLENT ! A must do tour! Our tour guide DAVID and bus driver Matteo made for a most enjoyable afternoon with our sing-a-long of the Sound of Music tunes. Visited a number of interesting sites with generous time allocation for each stop. David walked with our group everywhere and was very informative and had great knowledge of each location. A really fun tour !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic. I was a little disappointed in Salzburg until we took this Walking Tour. Our guide showed us the real Salzburg and gave us some really interesting facts and stories of the city and it's highlights.
We followed this with the Sound of Music Tour and had so much fun. Our guide for this was fantastic and he kept everyone entertained for the entire 4 plus hours. Great stories, great information, great scenery.
After these tours I fell in love with Salzburg and it was one of the highlights of our European vacation.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great, interesting tour. The tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Driver was great and customized the tour to our interests . The only criticism is that the breakfast was a very basic buffet and half the dishes were empty by the time we got there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Even if you are not a Sound of Music fan, somebody in your party is...that is probably why you are in Salzburg and this tour does not disappoint. My only issue with it is really not a concern with the tour company. You will get to see the home from across a lake, you will get to see and touch the gazebo but not go in and the Abbey and bridge are a drive by. The Abbey is an easy walk you can do on your own in the old city, the Mozart bridge is accessible to everyone. The gardens and fountains are open to the public and beautiful. You can do all of this on your own. Don't miss the troll garden, it is off the main garden and hidden somewhat. All in all, it was magical for me to see my wife so happy to be there. The tour is fun and gets you out of the city a little but for reasons stated above, I can't give it a five.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

SOM tour was great fun. Walking tour was informative although my teen wasn't gripped!

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The show was nice but the stage was too small and the voices too powerful for a small room. The food was OK but not something to rave about. It would have been nice for more people to participate in the show and not just a selected few.

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Not quite what we expected. The venue was a small, modern looking function room above a restaurant bar. We expected a more traditional Austrian atmosphere. The meal was average, didn't get an actual schnitzel but rather a chicken fillet. Service was extremely poor with one waitress serving drinks, taking/serving food orders and cleaning up. The performance however, was very entertaining. Four young singers with excellent vocals accompanied by one talented pianist. This was the highlight of the evening.

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best day out in Salzburg. A must for everyone... Even if you are not a fan, you get to see some lovely areas out of the city

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a very well organized, fun tour! I enjoyed getting out of the heat onto a new, clean, air conditioned bus that took us to many of the sites that The Sound of Music was filmed. David, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and fun. He has us singing songs from the movie along the way. The scenery was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended! One can go back in time and relieve the Sound of Music of one's youth! The tour guide facilitated everything very well while ably sharing info about the movie's sights! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an outstanding tour!! Our guide, Peter, made this a huge success. He was not only well prepared for the Sound of Music tour, but also provided a history lesson on Salzburg.
Peter picked us up from our hotel, and was very comfortable with my family 5. He explained everything in detail.
The tour included a drive to the Lake region which was breathtaking.
We loved it.
Thank you Peter for a great tour!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved It! The tour guide was great, the sights were brilliant, singing along to the movie soundtrack on the bus was a great, fun bonus. We loved everything about the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide for the walking tour seemed impatient with us. He raced us through the tour and cut 30 minutes off the time. We didn't have audiovox support so unless you were right next to the guide you didn't hear a word he said. So, no stars for the Historical Walking Tour. Now, the Sound of Music portion of the tour was great and lots of fun. Peter is a great guide, funny, informative, accommodating. wonderful. We had a good time and would highly recommend getting on the bus with Peter.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide LISA was excellent. She spoke very clearly, and gave us a lot of information about the Sound of Music film, locations and also the true story that inspired the film. Then she took us to see 5 lakes and the drive and the scenery was out of this world. Right through the long drive she played the sound of music songs and it brought back nostalgic memories.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sound of Music tour seeing all the locations from the film. Our guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and witty and she got us all joining in with the singing.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely and enjoyable tour! Our guide dressed up with Dirndl, we laughed all the way during the trip. She threw many funny remarks. This tour is highly recommended!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message