Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2032 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brent S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour ever. This was a bucket list item and Peter was the best tour guide ever.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Smith Family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was fantastic. We had a great time!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Martina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

lovely tour great views i recommend

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was just about my favorite thing about Europe so far! Tour guide Peter and bus driver Nico were absolutely marvelous and led the tour very well. The movie sights were exquisite, and yet there was lots of other Salzburg history we were told and shown. Do yourself a favor and take this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

falzuruvera

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I learned many facts I did not know about the movie and the city and it made me want to watch it again, which In did on the plane coming back home. Our guide was excellent Peter and the bus and driver were also top quality.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ourdakota

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved the tour and loved our guide.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Isabelle R Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved it! It was well done and our guide was so much fun!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Penelope W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Three generations, myself, my daughter, my sister and my 84 year old mother had the most wonderful tour. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the whole coach of 70 were singing along. The tour guide, David, was brilliant and the commentary was balanced about right. If you are a fan of the Sound of Music then this is a must! It is just a shame that the Austrians do not appreciate it in the way that we do.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Alison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of my favorite tours I have taken with Viator. Our tour guide Peter was hilarious, knowledgeable and fun! Made the tour unforgettable.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

stephen m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I booked this as a gift for my partner and wasn't particularly looking forward to it but it was truly amazing and the tour guide Christina was fabulous. I would recommend this to anyone who has seen the movie and those that haven't as the scenery is truly stunning

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Monica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Every fan of the movie, should go on this tour. It is the full experience, including music for you to sing along to. The guides have plenty of knowledge and drive you to most film sites and let you know where to see the rest on foot in the old city. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour, Sound of Music, sightseeing, scenery, mountains - everything! Just amazing experience.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Laura K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic!! Our tour guide David was superb and made the experience highly entertaining from start to finish. This is a must do tour when visiting Salzburg, stopping off at some brilliant sights such as St Gilgen and Wolfgangsee.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was awesome! Chritina/Chrystal was the cutest tour guide with great enthusiasm, professionalism, knowledge, and talent! She sang on the bus, gave us lots of fun information about film and the real Von Trapps, and she had a great attitude about the horrible weather we had that day. A to this tour, if I had the opportunity I would take it again!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this tour- loved the tour guide! So much fun and a very enjoyable experience reminiscing about The Sound of Music!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sally H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Really good tour, took in lots of sights and sang as we went. Would recommend this.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Rebecca P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enthusiastic and passionate tour guide, good for fans of the movie and still interesting for those who aren and #39;t. Also a good way of seeing lots of Salzburg

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Nicole A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was like listening to the soundtrack while in a bus. And reliving parts of the movie and seeing that the hills are alive! Haha

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Murray W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a beautiful day for our trip, which helped the overall enjoyment, but the package was well organised to maximise customer enjoyment and participation. The coach was full, with a number of nationalities present, and the driver Otto, and the guide Peter, were well versed at ensuring the customers were kept informed. Peter's 'tongue in cheek' commentary added to the day, and the 4 hours seemed to pass very quickly. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Larry M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very informative ... The weather was not favorable but that was no reflection on the tour or guide.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

tracey

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We enjoyed this tour. The weather was wonderful!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jillianthetravelller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very popular tour! It was a fun morning, with lots of SOM songs played. Our bus driver and guide encouraged our singing by going round and round the round a bout until we all joined in the sing a long!! The highlight for us was the visit to Mondsee, where the wedding scene was filmed!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kyla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful. If you want to explore the grounds where The Sound of music was filmed this is the only way. Amazing hotel and staff. Great buffet breakfast incl. Tour was outstanding. It snowed and the country side was beautiful, even with reduced viability. Great package. Worth every dollar.

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

Amanda D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great fun but also informative. Sights were interesting and the lakes were beautiful. Excellent tour guide

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message