Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1510 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide made this tour a unique experience.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Peter and driver Ferdinand were hilarious. It was nice because we got information on Salzburg and its history, not just all Sound of Music information. The journey out of the town and up to the Mountains was great despite the very gloomy weather. Our one complaint is that we had very little time to explore the area around Saint Michael's church. It is also important to know that the bus cannot stop in front of the movie Von Trapp house, so if you want pictures, be sure to set so time aside outside the tour. Other than that enjoy singing along to the soundtrack and checking out the fantastic scenery.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good trip especially visiting the countryside outside Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a fun tour. We had a lovely tour guide who had a nice sense of humor, very knowledgeable of the subject and made the whole experience enjoyable. She compared the movie story to the real life story and also provided some fun tidbits about the filming. Highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really great tour and very interesting. The tour guide was good and the singing on the bus was excellent I must say.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fun tour, great movie sites, lots of singing, great tour guide who looked and could sing almost as well as Julie Andrews!, great scenery. Highly recommend it...

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Peter, was hilarious! We learned so much about Salzburg and the Sound of Music. We loved that we went to a few neighboring cities as well!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Peter - my tour guide - was wonderful! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative trip. Pity that it poured rain for the whole tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My daughter and I are so glad we did this tour, and have raved about it since to all our friends. It was great to be on location so to speak, and walk the very places where the filming was done. The tour guide could have been more enthusiastic, but don't let this stop you from doing the tour. If you love the movie, do the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The location is perfect, just outside the old town, but still walkable. Beautiful pond and beautiful library inside, with a couple of rooms to look through.
The room was clean and spacious. The staff were super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was delicious. Would come back in a heart beat. The sound of music tour was fun and informative. Tour guide was funny and we saw so much, even through the snow. The tour took more than 4 hours because she took us to the Marabel palace after the bus dropped us off.
I would highly recommend this tour and hotel!

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great tour. Our guide Helen was very knowledgeable and told great stories about the making of the Sound of Music. Highly recommend the tour

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A truly wonderful, memorable experience and much more than the tour title suggests. My wife and I were travelling with my sister and her husband, and they came along with us although they weren't expecting much, not being The Sound of Music fans. They were equally enthralled with the tour. We saw some spectacular Austrian scenery, visited an Austrian village and saw the old Church where the 'wedding' was filmed. Our tour guide, Thomas, was friendly and informative. If you're visiting Salzburg, just do it!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message