There's so much to do in and around Salzburg, from attending classical concerts to visiting romantic castles or exploring salt mines and ice caves, ski-ing in winter and hiking through the staggering natural beauty of the Alps in summer. Or how ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 360 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very interesting and informative. Unfortunately when we visited on the first day of summer 2015, it snowed and the visibility was very low, so the sight was not what it could have been. We still enjoyed the tour and the guide, Walter was very knowledgeable and did a great job. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I did this tour in May 2015. Complimentary pickup from our hotel to the rendezvous Mirabell Gardens in Salzburg's city center from where we changed into a bus with large windows, comfortable seats and our guide, Walter. Walter has been a guide for 30 yrs he had many snippets and stories to tell us on the way to the Eagle's Nest. He's 70, but young at heart, funny and well informed about his job. It was raining for most of the journey but as we climbed the mountains for the Eagle's Nest, rains gave way to snow. Snow in May pre-summer of Europe wasn't expected but was a delight for us. The ride to the Nest was amazing, through windy mountainous roads. Upon reaching we walked through a tunnel, took the elevator up to the Nest and had an hour or so to wander around. After that we descended into Berchtesgaden town, had lunch at Golden Bear, and then boarded the bus to the Salt Mines.

At the Mines we change into special suits and board an open train that goes inside tiny tunnels into the mountains to the mines. The tour was ok but the highlight was the two wooden slides on the way back and the laser lights show atop a small boat ride at the end. Finally we drive to Konigssee Lake. There are shops and eating joints along the way from the parking lot to the lake. Do try the crepes at one of the stalls, it was an awesome evening snack. There's boating on the Lake but we didn't do that, there wasn't enough time. After an hour or so, boarded the bus back to Salzburg.

I highly recommend doing both the Super Saver tour as it makes the most of your day. Both locations Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines are very different in nature. Konigssee Lake is an added attraction. Total value for your time and money. Our guide Walter was a stickler for time, take that seriously : Everything else was relaxed, very convenient and enjoyable.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must to be done. Knowing that Hitler had walked the hallways and been in the lift was a mind blowing experience. Very cloudy the day we went, so the view was non existent, which was a shame, but did not take away from the wonderful experience at all.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant. Views were indescribable and the bus trip and guide were brilliant. Great cause had time to do your own thing. Recommend doing

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value for money! Best tour guide ever and very nice and well organised tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a well organised tour, we were able to cover all 3 sites in good time. This was the main reason I joined the tour. Commentaries from the guide was in both English and German, thus there were times when we were confused as to when one language ended and the other started. Also, sites were not always to the tee when they were described, need to be a bit vigilant to connect and spot them. However, it was packed with much interesting facts. The guide must be exhausted and rushed. Overall it was a wonderful day spent.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of the Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and the Slat Mines was a highlight of our stay in Salzburg and is a must see if you wish to make your trip to Bavaria complete. Large bus tour with a very good guide and driver. Good day tour who made the trip up to Eagles' Nest very easy. The salt mines were a good mix of education and entertainment the slide rides were a thrill. Do not miss.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was awesome! Our guide was wonderful and had a lot of extra info and history to tell us

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good tour especially the experience down the salt mine

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were pleasantly surprised that this tour was substantially better than we had expected. The mountaintop views in the Austrian Alps were amazing and breathtaking! When you're in the Salzburg area, do not miss this tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was really worth eagles nest and salt mines both are really good nice experience inside the salt mines . We have visited konigsee part of Bavaria ( Germany ) we had only 1 hour here and could not do the boat ride . Tour guide was really good big thanks to viator and the tour company in Salsburg

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The our was amazing drive up not for the faint hearted but well worth it

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though it was cold, overcast, and raining we really enjoyed the magical view from atop the Bavarian Mtns and seeing the Eagles Nest. The Salt Mines were a bit disappointing - where were the lanterns? Really fun for kids! Whole tour overall was a must do!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was awesome and easily one of the best tours we did in Salzburg. Unfortunately, when we were up at the Eagles Nest there was pretty poor weather so there were not complete panoramic views but we still got some gorgeous shots of the mountains. The salt mine was very cool but sadly no pictures allowed.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The views from the Eagles Nest was fantastic on a nice fine day and the meeting room that Hitler used was far smaller than we expected. Our tour Guide was excellant.
The Salt Mine is a must especially the two slides inside the mine.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two tours in one day but the day we extremely well organised. Walter was an excellent and entertaining guide with a great sense of humour. Eagle's Nest was breathtaking and sufficient time up the top to enable good look around and short walk to the summit etc. Salt Mine tour was great fun, especially the various modes of transport. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was awesome. Very informative. We had the most amazing weather and could see all the way to Salzburg from Eagle's Nest. We stopped in a cute little town for a great lunch and a few beers. Such a great experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was wonderful, really knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was great and the views at Eagles Nest (and along the way) were incredible! We were really glad we did this tour and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to see great views of the Bavarian Alps

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a great day. It's a bit of a crazy, curvy ride up to the Eagle's Nest, but the views are out of this world! The tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable and we got some amazing photos.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth doing. Very good and informative guide. We were very lucky because the weather was so good enabling us to see the wonderful views.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was a brilliant, whole day experience with the meeting point being very easy to find. Our Guide Andreas was highly knowledgable and also good fun. We had plenaty of time at each point of the tour and I'd highly recommend taking the tour guides advice for each part of the tour to get the maximum out of the day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Knowledgable guide, lovely views of the mountains.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW what a tour, going up the mountain to Eagles Nest was scary but spectacular at the same time and when you got to the top the views took your breath away, you could see so far down the valley. Then we went down the Salt mines and this was so interesting and exciting to go under ground, we all had a great time.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message