• USD ($)
  • English

San Antonio ATTRACTIONS See all

San Antonio River Walk (Paseo Del Rio)

San Antonio makes the most of its river winding through town, with the San Antonio River Walk - or Paseo del Rio. Away from the traffic, beneath ground level, the landscaped walkways bordering the meandering San Antonio River are lined with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mike, our tour guide was wonderful. He had a significant knowledge of all the tour stops and the history of San Antonio.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour did not include the advertised castle or the century old pharmacy at the market . Guide was good but hard to understand with accent. They also had to switch tour bus during lunch not sure why.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Was a little disappointed - didn't go to the garden and was not told that it was cancelled. Went to four churches . The river boat ride was done in the afternoon and it was hot!!! Was dropped off for two and half hours at a shopping market - every shop sold the same thing. I wouldn't recomend this tour. Many people ended the tour early

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The river cruise was so relaxing and beautiful! The guide was so funny, I am still laughing about some
things that he said. Be sure to call at least 48 hours in advance for hotel pickup. Lunch at the Buckhorn
Saloon was great! Also enjoyed the Texas Ranger Museum. Visited the Alamo and the missions. The
tour was a great way to spend the day and was reasonably priced. Highly recommend if you are spending
a few days in the San Antonio area!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great once we were finally picked up at our hotel. Though we'd called and confirmed as instructed on the confirmation form and were given an 8:30 AM pickup time, no one came. We called at 9 to inquire and were told we weren't on the list but they did send someone to get us. We joined the tour at the Alamo (the tour's first stop) but only had a few minutes there. We went back on our own another day and found we would've wanted more time there than the tour allowed anyway, so it was okay to have missed tour time there. Taking the audio tour or a guide is really key to understanding the story/history of the Alamo and there isn't enough time for that on this sightseeing tour. Christopher, our guide, was a delight. Very personal able and friendly. He had to improvise stops to make due to the summertime renovation closure of the Japanese Gardens and the Spanish Governor's Palace (closed on Mondays, the day of our tour). He took us to a beautiful mission (Conception) and the Buckhorn Museum which were not on the original list of places to go. The highlight of the tour was the River Walk boat ride which is the Grand Finale. It's reputation is well deserved and we had a fun, entertaining boat "captain". Despite the glitch at the beginning of the day, we'd recommend this tour for first-timers to San Antonio.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Was disappointed that the sunken gardens wasn't open but thats not their fault, the substitute visit to the cathedral wasn't good since it had some ceremony going on. I've had better tour guides but overall the tour was ok.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The tour guide was not very knowledgeable and offered very little information into the different stops. The bus driver at the end of the tour drove around downtown San Antonio for about 45-50 minutes going to the wrong hotels and no one getting off, except maybe four people. He decides to go on the ramp to get on the interstate and the bus broke down. After waiting for 10 minutes in the hot bus, we walked away and no one bothered to question or acknowledge what was going on. No concern for their passengers.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Other than a confusion about hotel pickup everything was awesome.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The guide was very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The information given gave a good overview of the San Antonio area. My favorites were visiting the 2 Missions and the River Cruise. Overall it was a pleasant day out and the people of San Antonio were very friendly.

On the negative side there was some confusion as to my pick up. An airport shuttle came by the hotel but I had no idea it was for me as there was no indication that it was for the tour and the driver did not ask if I was waiting for it. Just rolled up and left. People booking this tour should be advised as to who is picking them up and where to wait.

The Japanese Gardens are under partial renovations, are dried up and not very pretty to look at present although I could see the possibilities of it being very beautiful. Perhaps until the renovations are complete another area such as near the Pearl Brewery could be visited. I would have preferred to have had lunch in La Villita, much nicer area and beautiful art work versus the mass produced items at the Market.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was great! We were able to see so much more of the area with this tour than we would have driving around on our own. The sites were amazing except for the Chinese Tea Garden which was under cleaning / renovations, so it was not a very pleasant site. We could have skipped this stop. The guide was very, very knowledgeable. However, I found his delivery and sarcasm to be off putting. He would ask a question and when someone would answer wrong he would give an emphatic NO. It did not take long on the tour for people to stop venturing a guess to his questions. He would then ask why we were so quiet. Also, because many of the sites being missions, there was a large amount of Catholic history. However, in one of the missions when we had time to explore on our own, I overheard a young man speak to the guide. He told him that he wasn't catholic but found the information interesting. The guide responded with, and I quote "How's that working out for you?" Seriously!! How offensive. So, would I take this tour again? Yes, if I could go with another guide.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The tour operator which runs this "tour" is about the worst i have ever gone on as confirmed by 2 different concierge at 2 different hotels when i inquired---very little info given on tour (i.e. history) and largely self guided with little interest shown by tour guide---tour pick up at my hotel was also delayed 45mins. and had to then wait in line for tickets when the tour had been already prepaid---not worth the price---would advise looking for another company that was more interested and better organized

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Grand Tour was excellent. Was able to see things I hadn't seen when I was in San Antonio previously. Phil, the guide, was very informative and funny. Enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I have lived in San Antonio for many years and have been to most of the sites on the tour, but was entertaining out of town guests for the weekend and decided that a tour would be better than me trying to drive, park, narrate, etc.

We really enjoyed the tour, which gave a great overview of the city. Dave was our guide and did a great job of keeping us on track and on time as well as giving an interesting commentary on the sites. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour was great. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. I didn't know whether I wanted to spend over $100.00 on a bus tour, but it was definitely worth every penny. I would very strongly encourage anyone going to San Antonio, to make sure and take this tour. Thank you for helping make our vacation so very enjoyable.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was great. We did have a problem with the reservation.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message