The Alamo is one of the most famous sites in US history, forever linked to the 13-day siege in 1836 that ended with the deaths of defenders James Bowie, William Travis and Davy Crockett. The 18th-century Mission San Antonio de Valero complex ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 192 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Magdalena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was very knowledge and keep the tour very interesting. Good driver. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Tina T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We got to see sites that we otherwise wouldn't have because of the driving involved. The driver was friendly and knowledgeable. Be sure to plan for inclement weather by bringing a coat and umbrella, which can be left on the bus safely if unnecessary. It was cold and raining during the Riverwalk boat ride so we kept our tickets and went two days later on a sunny warm day.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Katie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our tour! Our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Fred B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A good way to see all the attractions at leisure , trolley guide had good local knowledge that made the run around the town and the Missions interesting.

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Diane L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see a lot of the wonderful attractions in San Antonio if you are only there for a brief period of time. Really enjoyed learning more about San Antonio and really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Indya K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was a great experience for the family. We are planning to do it again!

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Jerry H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Very Disappointed with this tour and would definitely not recommend it. River cruise guide had a heavy accent and could not understand him. Two of the places..the Mexican market and the Buckhorn Saloon were tourist traps..way too much time here. Not worth the money.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

linda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

it was a very informative tour. even tho it rained the whole time. wish we could have gotten the boat ride later. the guide was very nice . it was a 5 star tour

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Elliott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very accommodating guide. Got to see pretty much everything there is to see.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Timothy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great ride. Tour guide/driver was fantastic! One of the best parts of our entire trip.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

John R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A few more trolleys during the prime portion of the day would be helpful--

Doing what: Alamo Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Paul K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Renee was a wonderful tour guide. We saw the Alamo, two missions, took a boat ride on the River Walk, saw the Buckhorn Restaurant/bar and the Japanese Gardens. Stopped at the Market Place for lunch. La Margarita was wonderful. Good food and great margaritas.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Maiga P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

There were some misunderstanding on the meeting place so we waited outside of Alamo for 1/2 hr doing nothing.

Overall, I didn't find the guide very knowledgable. She had answers for many questions and was friendly but the level of knowledge was superficial. For example, she didn't know much about the natives or the dates of the buildings. It would be great if she could study history a bit more to provide more stories in the tour.

It would have been cheaper and faster for me to rent a car and drive around than to take this tour.

Doing what: San Antonio Highlights Tour

Maiga P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

There were some misunderstanding on the meeting place so we waited outside of Alamo for 1/2 hr doing nothing.

Overall, I didn't find the guide very knowledgable. She had answers for many questions and was friendly but the level of knowledge was superficial. For example, she didn't know much about the natives or the dates of the buildings. It would be great if she could study history a bit more to provide more stories in the tour.

It would have been cheaper and faster for me to rent a car and drive around than to take this tour.

Doing what: San Antonio Highlights Tour

Kate S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Not worth it! The guide was not very professional. She was unaware of times/information about the places that we visited. The bus/shuttle was filthy. Many sites we missed being able to get inside or had long waiting around times. We became so off schedule that we were given 10 mins at the last place

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guides were wonderful and very informative

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Leroy Oscar and renee were wonderful and very informative

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Jeanette W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a very nice overall view of the city. However, we did not see the Governor's Palace as described in the synopsis. The driver was very informative and courteous.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

morganrutha

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide on the tour was fantastic. Very personal and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the tour immensily.
Would recommend to anybody.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed day! Got to see many things that would not have found our way to. Also great info shared by Ron our tour guide. Loved the Japanese gardens and wish it was not as rushed and able to have tea or snack there.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

lingsuen

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

No mention of senior discount on the Viator web booking. The tour ended being operated by the Alamo Bus Lines. If we had walked into the Alamo Tour office in the tourist center, there would be a 5 doscount per person. Many in our bus were seniors booked by various agents and they were not satisfied.
Since we did not have a full busload, the driver doubled as the tour guide the last minute. Insufficent knowledge and inexperience in time and crowd control were the result. Would have liked to be able to go and watch the film in the San Jose Mission's museum before visitng the mission buildings. But we were given either one or the other. One couple ended doing both and almost missed the bus. The driver searched all over for them and the whole bus had to wait for them anyway. We might as well had done both activities and be better informed. The same thing happened at the Market Square. Another couple dined and shopped too long and were late. For some reason we were not shown the Spanish Governor's Palace which was in the scheduled itinerary. In general, this tour was of good value since it is the only one that included pick-up and drop off at hotels and it covered 8 hours of touring. Having an inexperience guide was pure bad luck on our part. Hope that this does not happen to other tourists. Two unhappy seniors

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Harold T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour director was very friendly, but he was very casual about delivering the information about the sights we were seeing. He was very knowledgeable but, many times it was here it is, go take a look-- see you in 45 minutes. The stop for lunch The Buckhorn Saloon was a poor choice. Do your own thing on the riverwalk.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

klflorida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband, adult son and I had an amazing time on this tour with a very knowledgeable guide full of stories about San Antonio and its rich history.
We were so fortunate to find a tour with such a full itinerary on a Sunday and am thankful to the tour operators for making it available.
There seems, however to be a disconnect when scheduling hotel pick up as there are no instructions. In our case we showed up early and began calling immediately when the driver didn't show up. We called three or four times in the next 15 minutes only to learn the driver was on the side of the hotel waiting for us. That was the only hiccup in an otherwise flawless day.

The limo bus that picked us up and carried us around the sights of San Antonio was clean, spacious and air conditioned which was an anticipated reprieve we looked forward to between stops. The weather, for this time of the year had its warm moments but never unbearably hot.

Our tour guide went out of his way to insure everyone on the trip received a top notch experience. At no point did we feel rushed and appreciated the extra time spent at the day's highlights. We did this tour on our first day in San Antonio to give us a good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Rodger E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a great time! Trolley stayed on schedule both days! Drivers/guides very knowledgeable about their city and kept tour interesting. On-Off the way to go!

Doing what: San Antonio Trolley Tour

Leon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very Convenient Pickup by Trolley. Saw major sights without having to worry about parking.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message