Lying along the east side of San Diego Bay, the Embarcadero will appeal to fans of the historic maritime vessels and all things associated with the sea. The many attractions here include the Maritime Museum, U.S.S. Midway Museum, the Seaport ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fabulous experience. Would go again.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good morning tour, driver was very knowledgeable and friendly, in fact we had the same driver for the afternoon tour to Tijuana, it was a great pity we had not been advised that there was a 2 1/2 hour wait between the 2 tours, luckily the hotel was within walking distance.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The San Diego part of the tour was cancelled but the Tijuana tour was great!
Very informative tour guide. However the tour runs much later than is stated on the details, so don't plan anything for that night because you won't be back until 9-10pm instead of the 6pm which is stated on the tour.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I was expecting to learn more about san diego, lots of luls in the talking and also, it is a shame we have this huge city and you drive down the same street twice - so much more to see

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was great! A lot of information and cool facts. Thank you to all the MEN and WOMEN who have served for our FREEDOM!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The seals were SO adorable! Our captain and 1st mate were VERY knowledgeable and made the tour so much fun. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you have kids!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband really loved this tour since he had worked on some of the equipment used on the planes on the deck of the Midway. The aircraft carrier is huge and filled with interesting history.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wemy grandson,8 years old, and I, spent 6 hours on the ship! It was very informative and interesting to both of us. The Island tour, the lectures on the landing and catapult were so interesting because they docents told their personal stories about their experiences.

I wish there could have been more docents to tell stories about the kitchen, dinning rooms, food storage and serving, menus and other related areas. The everyday life of the men would be interesting to hear from docents also, like the laundry, hospital, free time, sleeping quarters.

I appreciated that there so many docents on the ship to answer questions during the day.

I also appreciated that the parking was convenient and NOT an exorbitant cost.

The online ordering was very painless and easy to navigate, even for me. I did see a combo ticket price for the Seal tour but it wasn't until after I had already purchased tickets for the Midway.

Thank you for a wonderful day. irene yoshinaga, Los Angeles

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I am an avid traveler and I did my research really well before I booked this trip. What I did not know/find out until later in the day was that you have to get off the bus and stand in line with other travelers to pass through immigration on the US-Mexico border, by foot, and then get on the bus on the other side. The time you wait varies by the day although it took us about 2 hours to go through the whole process. Sometimes it could take up to 8 hours too. If I had known, I would have preferred to take my car and just drive through the border and it would have been a lot quicker. Only got to spend about 2 hours in Tijuana which wasn't enough.

Also, the San Diego tour is more of a drive-by rather than stop, take a look and take some pictures. If you want an extensive San Diego tour, then this is not for you.

The harbor cruise was boring, for me. I would have rather skipped that and just spent some extra time at Seaport Village instead.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Our tour guide was great. He was informative, outgoing and honest. The San Diego city tour was very good. On the way to Tijuana, he mentioned some concern about the delays at the entry and exit points. After our tour and visit to Tijuana, we had to disembark the bus and stand in line with our purchases to go through customs. We were forced to stand in line for 2 hours to reenter the US at the border. There was no place to sit and no toilets available on the Mexican side. When we finally reached the border check, it took 10 seconds to reenter. Then we had to walk another 2 blocks to get to the bus. The driver was waiting for us and carried our bags to the bus for us. We stood in line for almost as much as time as we spent in Mexico. The tour company should have informed us of the expected time to spend standing in line to return. I would not recommend this trip to Tijuana because of the major roadblock at the reentry point at the border.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT family friendly activity in San Diego! We had so much fun and learned a lot about the history of the city.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My family had a great time exploring the ship! They tried the simulator and had a blast(it costs extra)! We even saw the Naval Academy band play (they were in town for the Poinsettia Bowl)!! It made the experience extra special!!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. One thing to note is redeeming tickets from Viator.com site required going to the ship's customer service office to redeem, but did allow avoiding the line at the ticket lines on the dock.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

What a great tour, however if you have trouble with stairs or are handicapped the ship is only about 60% accessible.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Geoff Gillam
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour interesting but could do with some stops to get out and take photos, if not doing cruise then to long at seaport village. Tijuana was enough time to have a look around and were shown other areas apart from main tourist area. Tourist area clean and safe, not like many years ago Overall worth the time and cost

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The idea is good tour guild ok but really lave and return on the same street tell us the same stuff about what's on the street then take us out to a sardine farm where a few seals are I felt like a dumb tourist for sure it could be so much more

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unfortunately due to illness we were unable to do this tour, but will hopefully get back there some day soon.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different museum. Lots of history here and something different. A must to visit when going to San diego.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The mid way was so interesting. I had no clue it was so huge. I would recommend going to anyone. There are a lot of stairs . I also recommend if going take a lot of time, there is so much to see.
Listen to the men that were on the mid way. They are so full of information. It was fantastic.
By getting our tickets on line we went to the head of the line.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a very exiting day to see large ship, like a small town!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message