Built in the late 19th century, the Gaslamp Quarter is a 16½ block historical neighborhood, filled with streets lined with wrought-iron street lamps, trees, and brick sidewalks. Along with its many historic buildings, the Gaslamp has the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time and Scotty was super. We didn't have enough time to stop except at Little Italy for lunch. Would have gone around again if the tour hours were longer. Last pickup was at 5:00 p.m. Seven o'clock would have been better.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth it. This was the best way to see all of San Diego and get a good feel where everything is at. I would highly recommend taking this tour the first day you arrive. We had a lot of fun and all the tour guides were friendly and constantly making us laugh.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. I can't wait to go on another one.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Très bien organisé, des chauffeurs sur-motivés pour tout expliquer sur le trajet, une bonne manière de découvrir San Diego et son île Coronado

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time in San Diego. There were so many options, and so much to do at each stop. Hotel Coronado and Old Town were our favorite stops.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great service and stops

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour that was an ideal way of getting around to see San Diego highlights. The drivers were knowledgeable and entertaining. If we hadn't done this trip, we would have only headed for a couple of sites and wouldn't have sampled its other attractions for us to see on our next visit.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I give this a great review because we did eat at some places we probably would not have stopped at otherwise. Our guide was enthusiastic but got some of the history scrambled which was amusing. We have been to San Diego many times and taken this tour previously especially for the walking and the new restaurants we stop at each time. Our favorite this trip was The Field an Irish pub where we had shepherds pie. We do not drink alcohol so the guide had non liquored beverages for us at each stop which was nice.

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a must for everyone visiting San Diego!! Our tour guide Katie is very knowledgeable as well as witty and fun! The restaurants were great and information shared was very interesting. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was great! Jon was the best. He was friendly and funny. We liked the hop on, hop off option

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It started off ok, but as the day went on, the tour got very busy and it was difficult to get a seat. I would only recommend if doing early in the morning and staying on board throughout.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy to find drop off pick up stops ! A great way to tour San Diego without a car .

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good morning tour, driver was very knowledgeable and friendly, in fact we had the same driver for the afternoon tour to Tijuana, it was a great pity we had not been advised that there was a 2 1/2 hour wait between the 2 tours, luckily the hotel was within walking distance.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The San Diego part of the tour was cancelled but the Tijuana tour was great!
Very informative tour guide. However the tour runs much later than is stated on the details, so don't plan anything for that night because you won't be back until 9-10pm instead of the 6pm which is stated on the tour.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Knowledgeable driver,ttour could have more stops.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I guess it could have been worse. Our guide was late, didn't seem interested in giving the tour, and the food was not exciting. We received tidbits of information about gaslamp, red light district, brothels and that was it. At the end 1 couple just left. Not worth your money unless you like $50 pizza.

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Kate was a great guide.... Very knowledgeable with fun stories. The food and drinks were excellent!

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good food and drinks. Our guide Katie made the tour great! She was very personable and knowledgeable about San Diego's history, and she gave us helpful tips for the rest of our trip.

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing and would recommend it to all my friends.

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Worked out very well for us

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

11am meeting. Our first stop at 11:45 across the street. Not even 30 minutes of information. Most of 45 minutes we waited for the other half of a party and a couple that had the wrong meeting place info. Quite a bit of food, beer at 3 stops. Guide knowledgeable but should have more info at first.

Doing what: Brothels, Bites and Booze: A Culinary Tour of San Diego's Questionable Past

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I am an avid traveler and I did my research really well before I booked this trip. What I did not know/find out until later in the day was that you have to get off the bus and stand in line with other travelers to pass through immigration on the US-Mexico border, by foot, and then get on the bus on the other side. The time you wait varies by the day although it took us about 2 hours to go through the whole process. Sometimes it could take up to 8 hours too. If I had known, I would have preferred to take my car and just drive through the border and it would have been a lot quicker. Only got to spend about 2 hours in Tijuana which wasn't enough.

Also, the San Diego tour is more of a drive-by rather than stop, take a look and take some pictures. If you want an extensive San Diego tour, then this is not for you.

The harbor cruise was boring, for me. I would have rather skipped that and just spent some extra time at Seaport Village instead.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Our tour guide was great. He was informative, outgoing and honest. The San Diego city tour was very good. On the way to Tijuana, he mentioned some concern about the delays at the entry and exit points. After our tour and visit to Tijuana, we had to disembark the bus and stand in line with our purchases to go through customs. We were forced to stand in line for 2 hours to reenter the US at the border. There was no place to sit and no toilets available on the Mexican side. When we finally reached the border check, it took 10 seconds to reenter. Then we had to walk another 2 blocks to get to the bus. The driver was waiting for us and carried our bags to the bus for us. We stood in line for almost as much as time as we spent in Mexico. The tour company should have informed us of the expected time to spend standing in line to return. I would not recommend this trip to Tijuana because of the major roadblock at the reentry point at the border.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message