San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

San Diego Old Town

San Diego Old Town is a pleasant place to soak up some history, browse for souvenirs, and perhaps enjoy a Mexican meal. Old Town is the site of the original pueblo (village) that sprang up in San Diego below the mission and fortress back in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We had a nice walk learning local history through Old Town stopping at several restaurants where we sampled food and drinks. We were pleasantly surprised at how much food you actually received and the interesting ways familiar foods were prepared. We do not drink alcoholic beverages and all the merchants were very nice about making special drinks for us. Where we stopped for dessert of root beer floats at end of tour there was a very nice patio area near by with a free live band where we sat for a while.

Doing what: Tequila, Tacos and Tombstones Culinary Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great tour of San Diego on the Old Town trolley. Convenient pick up location at Seaport village. Got to see all the sights of San Diego - even crossing the Coronado bridge for an almost-bird like view. Our driver Philip (1 L - still Phil!)was very entertaining and knowledgeable. We had a nice long stop in the Old Town which was full of restaurants and shops with lots to do. I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We were VERY dissatisfied with the quality of our tour. First, the tour started 30 minutes late. The quality and condition of the bus was certainly not what we expected. It was dirty, and some of the seat backs would not adjust, and one would not stay in an upright position. The real issue was with our tour guide. Although he had basic knowledge of San Diego, his presentation skills were terrible. We sat near the back of the bus, and he frequently had "private conversations" with the people in the first few seats. When we left the bus to walk around, he was on a fast paced mission (probably to make up for the 30 minute delay). Instead of stopping so the entire group could collect and hear what he was saying, he once again spoke so only the 3-4 people closest to him could hear. Multiple times I asked him to slow down so everyone could hear what he was saying, but my requests fell on deaf ears. When going through Hotel Del Coronado, he told us to "read all the displays and take our time", but then he disappeared. We found him on the beach talking to the 3-4 people who decided to stick with him instead of "reading the displays". Lastly, after touring "Old Town" two members of the group did not return to the bus. After waiting 15-20 minutes, our bus circled the neighborhood, while our tour guide searched for the missing couple. After one trip around the block, the bus just took us back to bus station instead of continuing on to La Jolla as our tour guide had stated.
We traveled with another couple who go on many tours (G. and M. Wells), and this was the very worst they had been on. My wife and I took our niece who lives in San Diego and she told us more about the things we saw, than your tour guide. Definitely not worth it, and a waste of time.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a great way to see a lot in a short time (2 hours on the trolley). More importantly, your guide gives you much interesting information that you just would not know otherwise. We have taken this tour in other cities like Washington D. C. There is a free parking lot at the hub in Old Town San Diego, which had space in the morning (9:30). We took the tour in the morning, got off at Seaport Village and the Coronado Hotel to look around. At the end of our tour, we were at Old Town, so we looked around a few hours and had lunch which included the famous fish tacos.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very prompt and on time with a very good narrative. Enjoyable trip with exception of a horrendous wait at the Mex US border,not your fault and no picture opps at Old town or Gas Town but well worth taking

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is an excellent tour.Great food,drinks and company.Relaxed atmosphere yet very informative on the history of the old town.We loved this tour. I highly recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Tequila, Tacos and Tombstones Culinary Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We were only in San Diego for a few days so this was worth doing to get an overview of the city. We visited Downtown, Gas Lamp District (not as romantic as it sounds!), La Jolla to see the seals and pelicans (fab), a far too brief stop at The Old Town, 20 min stop in Balbao Park and then the final drop off was at USS MIdway where we stayed for a few hours (well worth the visit). Our driver/guide Javier was great.
However we were kept waiting at the tour operators office outside the ladies' loo at Santa Fe station for half an hour. A guide arrived saying that the other people on our tour were late which had delayed things however we later found out that Javier had only got the call just before 9am to take the tour at the last minute so someone was telling fibs! As we were running late we therefore didn't get long enough to stay at Old Town which we would have liked.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The trip itself covered all the highlights of San Diego, but I was seated way in the back of the van and sometimes had trouble hearing the guide. She also had an accent that made it difficult to understand all that she said. The back seat moved, and it's passengers almost hit the roof on certain bumps in the road. I did enjoy the stops in Balboa Park,Old Town and La Jolla, but would have liked a chance to visit the Coronado Hotel for a while. I took the Hop Off, Hop On Trolley the next day, visiting some of the same spots (except La Jolla) and that guide made the trip more interesting.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Excellent service, prompt, clean, interesting. Drivers gave a good narrative bit bit put off by those who told you at the end of every sentence that they accept tips. The more professional drivers never mentioned tips. Enjoyed all stops especially Old Town which was like the Wild West.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great way to see the city. Recommend you stop in old town for some great mexican food!

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The tour was ok. We spent way too much time going to La Jolla and at the Del on Coronado. We drove past Old Town and thru Gas Lamp district which would have been nice to spend time there walking around. Having taken city tours in many other places, this one was very disappointing. The first scheduled trip was cancelled, we found out when we showed up for the trip. We didn't get a call from them, even though I had a cell phone number on my trip. When I got home there was an e-mail saying the trip was cancelled. Not everyone travels with there laptop, but everyone has there phone.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This tour was a great introduction to the Old Town of San Diego! We tried a few local specialties which were very tasty, and we really enjoyed the fact that we were in 4 different local restaurants in one evening, and trying different typical food and drinks. We also loved that it felt like being in Mexico for the evening, but without having to travel there and feeling very safe! I would really recommend it!

Doing what: Tequila, Tacos and Tombstones Culinary Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

I really enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it! it is a great way to visit the Old Town in San Diego and learn a bit more about the birthplace of California. Our guide Michelle was lovely. We had some great tacos and tequilas, going from one restaurant to another. It was a small group of nice people and the atmosphere in the restaurants were very cheerful.

Doing what: Tequila, Tacos and Tombstones Culinary Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

This tour seemed to be relatively new and had some kinks to work out. The meeting address had changed since I booked it, so it's vital to reconfirm with the tour group. One of the restaurants seemed a little unprepared for our group, but all of the food was exceptional and the drinks were outstanding. The stories of the places on the tour were a little urban legend-ish, but it was probably meant to be more entertaining than educational. This tour is a great way to visit several of the excellent restaurants in Old Town San Diego and get a feel for the sights there - Old Town is really worth the visit. The guide was very nice and accomodating. This tour is probably best for adults - I brought my 11 yr old son and he was a little freaked out by the ghost stories in the cemetery at night. I wouldn't say it's inappropriate for kids, just that it's going to depend on how well your kid handles ghost stories (and we brought him a bottled drink along since I didn't - and still don't - know if the restaurants would provide soft drinks.) Overally, it was a fun little tour and a good way to explore Old Town.

Doing what: Tequila, Tacos and Tombstones Culinary Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I Love this City, and this tour was terrific, we went EVERYWHERE, Old Town, LaJolla, Coranado Is, and more, and topped it off with the Harbour Cruise, what a Brilliant Day we had, Greg, our driver was SO entertaining, and the jokes just kept coming :-) as for his knowledge about his beloved city, well, we came away thinking we had lived there all our lives we learnt that much, Good On Ya Greg, your a treasure....

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message