San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Take a walk on the wild side at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park, an 1,800 acre (728 hectare) open-range zoo where herds of giraffes, zebras, rhinos, and other animals roam the open valley floor. The best part is riding the African Express, an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent with five star tours. awesome, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Diego Safari Park Transportation and Admission

Patti W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour was great! Was able to visit many attractions!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

cyndi s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the perfect time of the year to visit. Parking was easy, no crowds and the staff at each of the animal exhibits were friendly and full of inside information. The park was clean and well maintained. This is a must on your visit to San Diego.
Cyndi - Sacramento, CA

Doing what: San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Krista G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I bought the 7 day pass for 5 people in my family my 2 year old was free to everything we went to. It cost a bit over 1200 and when I added up all the admission prices we would have paid, we saved about 500 and we didn't even take advantage of some of the other perks like free bus tour and free sky ride at the Zoo, etc.. We went to the Wildlife Park, San Diego Zoo, USS Midway Museum, Lego Land, Sea World, a harbor boat tour, and multiple museums at Balboa Park. The cost savings really helped at Balboa Park where there are so many museums and being able to walk into any one of them for only an hour to check it out without worrying about picking the right one to spend admission money at, or whether you/kids will like it....Many places where there was a line to just buy tickets, we could just go right to the admission gate so that was convenient too. It was definitely worth the money!!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Loretta H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This deal would be much more useful if it were a 24-hour instead of 1-day card, so that no matter when you start your day you could use your card until the same time the next day. Too much time restrictions! many attractions opened late and/or closed early or card could only be used during certain hours.
NOT a good deal!! I would Not buy it again. you should consider switching to hours, 24, 36, 48, instead of days then people could get maximum use.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Thaddeus G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My wife and I visited San Diego Safari Park in September while I was attending a local convention.
We flew from New Jersey and next day took the shuttle to the Park. The weather was beautiful and
the safari park was excellent. The only complaint was the unhelpful attitude from the customer desk
at Santa Fe train depot. But we're thankful to a couple tourists who helped us locate the shuttle.
Yes, the Safari Park is worth the trip even flying from East Coast.

Doing what: San Diego Safari Park Transportation and Admission

anthony j. i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

my group thoroughly enjoyed the tour.
our guide was pleasant and entertaining while informing us.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Dab

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Go Card was great with 1 exception. If you go on a vacation that includes a holiday weekend, check to make sure the validation site is open, EVEN if it states it on your account. We ran into this problem in San Diego. One of the redemption sites was in Balboa Park. That particular site was closed for Labor Day. Victor and with the help of another museum manager at the park was able to help us or we would have been stuck. I will use victor again. My husband and I where very pleased

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

bubba

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

We did the 3 day pass and saw as much as we could. I think that there is too much distance and not enough time to do many of the go card items. It went smoothly picking up the cards and presenting them at attractions. We just needed more time...

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Jeff J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was fine.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Gregory S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

After waiting nearly a hour we learned that the Bus broke down so there was no tour

Doing what: San Diego Safari Park Transportation and Admission

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such a great thing to have if you're planning on visiting a lot of the attractions on the card because it definitely saves you money that way. Also, super easy to use if you have it on your phone. Memorial Day weekend was a poor choice to visit the San Diego Safari Park if you didn't want to wait in line, but this pass let us literally walk up to the turnstile, swipe and walk right in, ahead of everyone collecting their passes from pickup lines. Perfect!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So happy we had this card on Memorial Day Weekend. We were able to just swipe and walk into the attractions we visited without having to wait in crazy long lines. Would definitely recommend if you're going to see a lot of the attractions. -Jessica

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

pdnRPH USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the best. One should be encouraged to buy at least a 2 day, even if you dont go like crazy both days. The Go card is well worth the money. And, with the Viator discount, it is well worth it.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

pdnRPH USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the best. One should be encouraged to buy at least a 2 day, even if you dont go like crazy both days. The Go card is well worth the money. And, with the Viator discount, it is well worth it

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Lizza H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I recommend it

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

janandrews1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great. No problems with get ticket with voucher.

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

Leslie B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

was a great time, and no waiting in lines to purchase tickets!

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

MICHAEL C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Well worth getting this 3 in 1 pass as it gives you many extra perks while your in the parks..Best of the Parks was the Zoo Safari by far...

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

ROGER K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It more than paid for itself.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

margaret c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Saw everything we intended to see. Safari Park was fabulous with the cheetah run the highlight of the day

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Did the zoo, Safari park, Sea World, the USS Midway, a couple harbor tours...all on the Go San Diego card. Had a great time!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

San Diego is a great place to visit.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Mark G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I bought two Go San Diego 2-day cards for $115 each and did NOT realize they did NOT include Sea World. We ended up going to the zoo and several of the museums around Balboa Park but probably didn't save any money over paying regular price for all of the places. It was my fault for not recognizing the 2-day pass didn't cover Sea World but even at the 3-day price, we would have been hard pressed to go to enough places to justify the price of the Go San Diego prices. One thing we didn't realize was the limited time we would have to go to most of the museums and other attractions. Literally every place was only open from 10 AM to 5 PM. This made it almost impossible to go to more than one or two places a day and do them justice. Admittedly, there were places available with the card for some restaurants and night places but these were not the sort of things we were interested in going to. We wanted places of interest and activities to do. Also, we found that there was not as much information on the website about the hours, prices and physical locations of covered attractions so it made it hard to try to figure out where to go when and how much we might save over the regular admission prices. This information is available but it would have been far easier to make good decisions if it had been available in one place on a website or a brochure. The limitation to being able to pick up the Go San Diego card from only three physical locations and then only between the hours of 9 AM and 5 PM (I think those are correct hours for the earliest of the three possible locations) further limited the time the card could be used.

All in all, the card was OK but it didn't really save us any significant money if it saved anything at all.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message