• USD ($)
  • English
Packed into 100 acres (40 hectares), the superb San Diego Zoo presents a stunning variety of nature's largest, smallest, noblest, oddest, and most endangered creatures. This famous zoo has more than 3,000 animals representing over 800 species in a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

a very enjoyable day and open top tour bus inside zoo was excellent as was driver's commentary. also used the cable car ride which was also included with ticket. a highly recommended day out.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The San Diego 3 for 1 PASS was 'FABULOUS'. The Zoo, SeaWorld and Safari park should not to be missed. Having the pass avoided waiting in lines. You really need 2 full days at each to appreciate all that is there in each location and having the pass you can enter as often as you want during the week. The animals were captivating , the environment and surroundings were very beautiful, colorful and luxuriant. There are many shows and special events through out the day that adds to the excitement . Also many rides offered, all are a lot of FUN. Lots of restaurants and snack shops available. To sum it all up "GREAT FUN ". We are so glad we went.

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Made a full day of it, open to close! Hard to say anything that hasn't been said. SD zoo has been open for so long. Giving folks a look at the animals around us! Was good to see continuing construction on new habitats for the animals! The atmosphere was comfortable. The weather perfect. Every zoo keep or staff person met where friendly and helpful! I did get to help scourge a jail break of sorts. "Jake" a blue eyed bird of some origin tried to make his escape. Trapping me in the process, in an aviary vestibule. Helped to shoo him back to his home before I could leave. Great relaxing day at the zoo!!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Entering the Zoo with my Viator vouchers was easy and seamless. There is no better day spent than at the zoo and no better zoo than San Diego. We enjoyed the bus tour, the express bus, and Skyfari, all included in our 1 day pass. Great memories were made for my daughter, granddaughter, and myself!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

LOVED the zoo! Very well maintained and lots to see! Viator made it really easy to just purchase the tickets and pick them up at the ticketing booth. Can't wait to go back to the zoo next year.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Ali T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I had the 3 day pass very good value for money I think I got to see everything I wanted and some things like the pandas at the zoo more than once as this card allows you to visit each attraction more than once

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Bob J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Good day! Didn't realise zoo was soooo big!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We love these cards. If you use them right, it will save you a lot of money. We used it to tour the USS Midway, take a harbor cruise and visit the San Diego Zoo. We would have used it more, but these choices required a lot of walking. We were exhausted after this.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This zoo is one of the best in the World! There is so much to see -- you can't possibly do it in one day. We go everytime we are in San Diego and we will go again and again. The animals all look so healthy and the Zoo employees are so friendly -- they enjoy their jobs! Makes for a wonderful day.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Sharon L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This zoo really lives up to its reputation as one of the best zoos in the world. Amazing setting, very spacious and some unusual creatures we had not seen before. The highlight for us were the polar bears and the koalas. It is well worth the money as there is a lot to see!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a wonderful time... Wild animal park and San Diego zoo was awesome! Sea world was ok... Looking a bit tired... Needs a bit of uplifting.
The 3 for 1 pass was a great value.

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Thought I would of needed more than a day to see the whole zoo but managed quite comfortably to do it all in the one. Really nice zoo with a tonne of animals from all over the world, it's highly recommended to check out!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I did not know if it would be fun going to the zoo as an adult without children but the answer is very clear. It was AMAZING! Getting to view animals in real life brings a whole new perspective to creatures I’d only seen on the Discovery Channel. A hippo swam right in front of my face and had a thick section of glass not been between us, it could have breathed on me and made my knees give out! Definitely going back.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Paula H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent day at San Diego Zoo, very unusual animals in a nice environment. We were early so didn't benefit with skipping queues but it was busy later on in the day.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We spent 2 days in SeaWorld and 1 day at each of the other parks.

The Wild Animal Park was our least favourite. It was a long walk between exhibits, but seeing the animals in their "natural" habitat was really good. The 20 minute tram safari was the highlight; though I must say, it seemed to be mostly Antelope.

The San Diego Zoo is HUGE! Make sure you bring really good walking shoes and a lot of water, or a good water bottle. We found that you could bring your own lunch/snacks, which made the price bearable. There was no charge for parking (woot!) and the only money we spent was on pressing pennies (50 cents plus a penny for a great souvenir!). We didn't see the whole park and the escalator was being repaired, so the uphill walk back to the main gate was rough. A lot of great animals to see and even the kids had fun.

SeaWorld was our favourite. It was also the most expensive of the 3. You CANNOT bring any food into the park, but can leave and come back after eating elsewhere. It's $15 per day for parking and that allows for "in and out" privileges. Since it wasn't busy and we were able to park close to the front gate each time we ended up going to Jack in the Box and Wendy's (Jack's customer service was lacking) and then came back to SeaWorld after lunch. There's a McDonalds, and a Denny's as well, just a few minutes away from the park. At $8 for a kids meal inside, it was well worth it to go elsewhere.

We ordered our passes from Viator. Although you have to have access to a printer, it was really easy to print the vouchers and hand the paper to the cashier at SeaWorld for validation. We all received our passes and never had a problem using them.

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message