Packed into 100 acres (40 hectares), the superb San Diego Zoo presents a stunning variety of nature's largest, smallest, noblest, oddest, and most endangered creatures. This famous zoo has more than 3,000 animals representing over 800 species in a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the zoo! This was one of the highlights of our California vacation. My daughter rated it her favorite of the whole trip!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely zoo, lots of walking.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely zoo, lots of walking.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very fun day at the Zoo, with a large variety of beautiful animals in beautiful settings with many types of plants and trees. The bus tour gives a great overview and a good way to get around this very large zoo. There is also a skyride which is fun to see the animals from above. The 4 D theaters are a fun activity for kids and adults also. There is also a fun children's petting zoo and playground. We spent all day there and saw most of it.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

San Diego Zoo was beautiful. I couldn't believe how many different animals they have. It was great to show my son what wonderful work they do and how it impacts the planet. Definitely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Dani
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is my third time at the zoo and it was just as great as the first time. There is so much to see and learn about. The highlight of our trip were the koalas, who are absolutely adorable. I took my family from Argentina and they loved it. The San Diego zoo is a guaranteed great outing for children and adults

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The zoo was fantastic, lots to do and see, good value for money.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had a great time at the San Diego Zoo! GET THERE EARLY TO FIND A PARKING SPOT. The Pandas were my favorite exhibit and I wish I would have gotten a chance to see the Safari Park but didn't have a chance to do it all in one day - definitely a two day adventure.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Just to clarify that we bought our tickets through Viator with a 10% discount rather than from the Zoo itself. However, everything else (tours, guides) are from the Zoo.
We highly recommend a visit to the SD Zoo. We spent the entire day, ate at Albert's, and enjoined the animals, birds/insects.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Such a pretty zoo one of the best ive been to !

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

laglickstein
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

great zoo...better for little kids....we have two 14 year olds and an 11 year old....they liked it, but it's not Universal......it's not easy to find your way around park.....the signs and maps are confusing....

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This zoo is huge. First of all the ticket helped as the line with prebooked tickets was much smaller then the other lines. There is lots to see here, the zoo is amazing, with many different animals. The day i did go, it was over run with school kids, but the park is big enough that they can be avoided......

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Well worth getting this 3 in 1 pass as it gives you many extra perks while your in the parks..Best of the Parks was the Zoo Safari by far...

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Did the zoo, Safari park, Sea World, the USS Midway, a couple harbor tours...all on the Go San Diego card. Had a great time!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable morning. Well laid out zoo with a bus and cable car to assist those with mobility issues.
Animal welfare seemed excellent. Enclosures were very clean and animals seemed content. Plenty of rest rooms and places to get refreshments. Certainly worth the visit.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We just bought entry tickets. Everything went very smoothly. Best Zoo I ever visited. Highly recommend this attraction while in San Diego.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I bought two Go San Diego 2-day cards for $115 each and did NOT realize they did NOT include Sea World. We ended up going to the zoo and several of the museums around Balboa Park but probably didn't save any money over paying regular price for all of the places. It was my fault for not recognizing the 2-day pass didn't cover Sea World but even at the 3-day price, we would have been hard pressed to go to enough places to justify the price of the Go San Diego prices. One thing we didn't realize was the limited time we would have to go to most of the museums and other attractions. Literally every place was only open from 10 AM to 5 PM. This made it almost impossible to go to more than one or two places a day and do them justice. Admittedly, there were places available with the card for some restaurants and night places but these were not the sort of things we were interested in going to. We wanted places of interest and activities to do. Also, we found that there was not as much information on the website about the hours, prices and physical locations of covered attractions so it made it hard to try to figure out where to go when and how much we might save over the regular admission prices. This information is available but it would have been far easier to make good decisions if it had been available in one place on a website or a brochure. The limitation to being able to pick up the Go San Diego card from only three physical locations and then only between the hours of 9 AM and 5 PM (I think those are correct hours for the earliest of the three possible locations) further limited the time the card could be used.

All in all, the card was OK but it didn't really save us any significant money if it saved anything at all.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day out best zoo I've ever been to

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic zoo with so much to see and do! I definite must do if you're in the area!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

carolmiller
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Best Zoo we have ever visited .

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Definitely need your walking shoes on when you visit the Zoo ... had a good day and alot of fun!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a nice day at the zoo, but it was longer than expected. We had read 5 hours, but I don't believe you can see it all in that time. We didn't, and we were there for 8 hours. I recommend taking the complete tour by bus first. We did it last. That bus and the hop on / hop off is included in your admission as is the aerial sky ride from one end of the zoo to the other. We had a hard time deciphering the map to figure out a method of seeing everything without back tracking on the paths where the bus does not go. I don't think it is possible

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

a very enjoyable day and open top tour bus inside zoo was excellent as was driver's commentary. also used the cable car ride which was also included with ticket. a highly recommended day out.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The San Diego 3 for 1 PASS was 'FABULOUS'. The Zoo, SeaWorld and Safari park should not to be missed. Having the pass avoided waiting in lines. You really need 2 full days at each to appreciate all that is there in each location and having the pass you can enter as often as you want during the week. The animals were captivating , the environment and surroundings were very beautiful, colorful and luxuriant. There are many shows and special events through out the day that adds to the excitement . Also many rides offered, all are a lot of FUN. Lots of restaurants and snack shops available. To sum it all up "GREAT FUN ". We are so glad we went.

Doing what: San Diego 3-for-1 Pass: SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Made a full day of it, open to close! Hard to say anything that hasn't been said. SD zoo has been open for so long. Giving folks a look at the animals around us! Was good to see continuing construction on new habitats for the animals! The atmosphere was comfortable. The weather perfect. Every zoo keep or staff person met where friendly and helpful! I did get to help scourge a jail break of sorts. "Jake" a blue eyed bird of some origin tried to make his escape. Trapping me in the process, in an aviary vestibule. Helped to shoo him back to his home before I could leave. Great relaxing day at the zoo!!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message