San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

U.S.S. Midway Museum

Essentially a floating city, the U.S.S. Midway Museum is housed inside the namesake ship, formerly one of the U.S. Navy’s flagships from 1945 to 1991. Aboard the hulking vessel, visitors can explore more than 60 exhibits as well as peak inside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 343 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was amazing!!! Cannot believe how much there is to see and do on this ship. So worth it!!!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice! So tall, so much infformation! I'll do this tour again.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed our visit to the USS Midway.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The USS Midway is such a piece of history... incredible. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

We did the 3 day pass and saw as much as we could. I think that there is too much distance and not enough time to do many of the go card items. It went smoothly picking up the cards and presenting them at attractions. We just needed more time...

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My 11 year old son, wife and I spent 4 hours aboard USS Midway ... we planned to spend 2 hours max. Needless to say, it was fascinating and huge!
All of the staff and volunteers were great and the audio tour was great ... a very clever set up so you just listen to what you want to at each point of interest which gives you freedom to wander your own route and at your own pace.
We would definitely recommend a visit but be prepared for a lot of walking and to be there a long time!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It ended up being just myself, my son and the tour guide. It was a pleasant trip and the tour guide Armin was great.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was fine.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We absolutely loved the Midway!! It was a highlight of our week in San Diego. Everyone from the oldest ( 68) to the youngest (5) in our group loved it! I would definitely recommend it to anyone whether you are military or not. It's a great experience.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Accueil et organisation au top avec un grand nombre de personnels et vétérans spécialistes qui fournissent plein de renseignements en plus de l'audio guide complet en français. Belles vues sur la ville, accès aux recoins du navires du fond jusqu'à la tour de contrôle, beaucoup d'aéronefs en primes : visite vivement recommandée

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Time on Navy vessel in my opinion was too long, surely we could have visited other places of interest

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The title of the tour is deceiving as you see very little of San Diego, and only visit a few stops along the way from Los Angeles. The time spent at The Midway Navy Ship took about 1/2 the duration of the actual tour, and unless you're a U.S. Navy fan, it's almost a complete waste of time. The island tour and hotel was nice, but seeing an old wooden elegant hotel, is ok, but nothing special unless you check in there and hang out for a few days. Old Town San Diego is nothing but a fake old town, and resembles a movie set. You only see San Diego city as a quick drive through and the tour guide points to a few neighbourhoods and tells you a bit about them. Our driver: Richard Salem was a maniac driver and we actually thought we'd be killed as his driving skills were awful !! Don't waste your money on this overly expensive waste of time.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fabulous experience. Would go again.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Laksmi H
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was amazing. A lady who is the guide and the driver was very patient, understanding, gave me very interesting information about all the places we passed and went. Sorry I forgot her name nut I remember that she was born in Brazil. I was the only person in the tour but it was not cancelled.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such a great thing to have if you're planning on visiting a lot of the attractions on the card because it definitely saves you money that way. Also, super easy to use if you have it on your phone. Memorial Day weekend was a poor choice to visit the San Diego Safari Park if you didn't want to wait in line, but this pass let us literally walk up to the turnstile, swipe and walk right in, ahead of everyone collecting their passes from pickup lines. Perfect!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So happy we had this card on Memorial Day Weekend. We were able to just swipe and walk into the attractions we visited without having to wait in crazy long lines. Would definitely recommend if you're going to see a lot of the attractions. -Jessica

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour to San Diego from Los Angeles was great! Our tour guide was very good
and the group consisted of only six people. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Toni Y G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

My San Diego trip was great. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out lots of extras. The only disappointment of the tour was 'San Diego Old Town'. It's very much a 'tourist trap' and I think, with all there is to see in San Diego, you could substitute a visit to somewhere else of interest rather than the old town. This is my reason for giving 4 stars rather than 5. I would recommend the tour to anyone wanting to see San Diego highlights.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was great! A lot of information and cool facts. Thank you to all the MEN and WOMEN who have served for our FREEDOM!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband really loved this tour since he had worked on some of the equipment used on the planes on the deck of the Midway. The aircraft carrier is huge and filled with interesting history.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wemy grandson,8 years old, and I, spent 6 hours on the ship! It was very informative and interesting to both of us. The Island tour, the lectures on the landing and catapult were so interesting because they docents told their personal stories about their experiences.

I wish there could have been more docents to tell stories about the kitchen, dinning rooms, food storage and serving, menus and other related areas. The everyday life of the men would be interesting to hear from docents also, like the laundry, hospital, free time, sleeping quarters.

I appreciated that there so many docents on the ship to answer questions during the day.

I also appreciated that the parking was convenient and NOT an exorbitant cost.

The online ordering was very painless and easy to navigate, even for me. I did see a combo ticket price for the Seal tour but it wasn't until after I had already purchased tickets for the Midway.

Thank you for a wonderful day. irene yoshinaga, Los Angeles

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message