San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

U.S.S. Midway Museum

Essentially a floating city, the U.S.S. Midway Museum is housed inside the namesake ship, formerly one of the U.S. Navy’s flagships from 1945 to 1991. Aboard the hulking vessel, visitors can explore more than 60 exhibits as well as peak inside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 295 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my family had an amazing day on USS Midway and would do it time and time again!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Did the zoo, Safari park, Sea World, the USS Midway, a couple harbor tours...all on the Go San Diego card. Had a great time!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good value for this very enjoyable tour. Our only problem was that we didn't have enough time to cover the entire tour as we had booked for a specific day and due to unforeseen issues didn't manage to get to the venue until 2 hours before it was due to close (4.30pm). This was however a very worthwhile activity.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding! Well organized and honoured to meet some of the volunteers and veterans who do a great job.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

San Diego is a great place to visit.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! To see and hear how men live during months at sea is incredible. We devoted an afternoon to this tour but could have easily spent six hours on the ship. We actually only looked at half the aircraft on the tarmac because we took the optional bridge tour which was absolutely worth it. We received the best discount through Viator, and I would highly recommend going through this site again. But, beware! They have certain dates available so be sure you check their availability before making certain plans.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent exhibit. Plenty of access around the ship, with lots of people to keep you pointed in the right direction. Nice to get a close up view of the aircraft on board and the tour of the island was well conducted and informative. The viewpoint from the deck for taking pictures of the surrounding area are very good as well.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The USS Midway was awesome. From the entrance to the hanger deck to the flight deck. We have limited mobility (they actually have an elevator) so we were able to see a lot more than we thought we would. While we didn't take an actual tour, we were able to move around the ship at our pace. The only disappointment was in the café. It's more of a small kiosk and didn't have much of a selection. We had planned to have lunch on-board, but after seeing the offerings, we opted to wait until we reached Old Town to have lunch. The USS Midway was well worth the price of the ticket!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great audio guided tour, lots of information and lots to see. Allow at least 2 hours for a quick visit and 3-4 hrs for a more thorough one.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

great place to visit if you are interested in past wars

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I bought two Go San Diego 2-day cards for $115 each and did NOT realize they did NOT include Sea World. We ended up going to the zoo and several of the museums around Balboa Park but probably didn't save any money over paying regular price for all of the places. It was my fault for not recognizing the 2-day pass didn't cover Sea World but even at the 3-day price, we would have been hard pressed to go to enough places to justify the price of the Go San Diego prices. One thing we didn't realize was the limited time we would have to go to most of the museums and other attractions. Literally every place was only open from 10 AM to 5 PM. This made it almost impossible to go to more than one or two places a day and do them justice. Admittedly, there were places available with the card for some restaurants and night places but these were not the sort of things we were interested in going to. We wanted places of interest and activities to do. Also, we found that there was not as much information on the website about the hours, prices and physical locations of covered attractions so it made it hard to try to figure out where to go when and how much we might save over the regular admission prices. This information is available but it would have been far easier to make good decisions if it had been available in one place on a website or a brochure. The limitation to being able to pick up the Go San Diego card from only three physical locations and then only between the hours of 9 AM and 5 PM (I think those are correct hours for the earliest of the three possible locations) further limited the time the card could be used.

All in all, the card was OK but it didn't really save us any significant money if it saved anything at all.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing day out. So much to see. The audio tour is excellent. We were there for over five hours and still could have been there longer. My two sons (18 and 14) were totally engrossed and especially liked the jet fighter simulator. A brilliant day out and good value for money.

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Love the stories from the volunteers at this museum, mostly ex Navy staff and even WWII veterans. Worth the visit!

Doing what: USS Midway Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message