While Los Angeles has Hollywood and star-appeal, San Diego is Southern California at its big-city finest. America's gateway to Mexico, San Diego lies at the end of miles and miles of sandy coastline which span the glittering Pacific. Here are tips ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 499 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good service, great food selection and lovely scenery.

Doing what: San Diego Champagne Brunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fun! Great to see the wild life out there. Beautiful area. Our tour guides were wonderful laine and Jill. We wiped out at the end in the surf but had fun doing it.

Doing what: La Jolla Sea Caves Kayak Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour covered a wide area and had a great driver/guide. However,the whole experience was spoiled slightly by a chaotic office back up with cancelled times and contradictory emails sent to me!

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good morning tour, driver was very knowledgeable and friendly, in fact we had the same driver for the afternoon tour to Tijuana, it was a great pity we had not been advised that there was a 2 1/2 hour wait between the 2 tours, luckily the hotel was within walking distance.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We liked it because we were the only ones on the tour and we didn't have to stop to take photos if we didn't want to. Unfortunately tour driver was not very knowledgable about the sights.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I was expecting to learn more about san diego, lots of luls in the talking and also, it is a shame we have this huge city and you drive down the same street twice - so much more to see

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The main reason for the tour is that you will visit another country Mexico. Otherwise, there is nothing. The guide / driver was very friendly and informative. There is nothing much to see in Tijuana. Had some good food and did some really cheap shopping. Streets were very bad, call girls everywhere, traffic and populated which didn't admire me so much. But for the reason said above, this tour was OK.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I never heard anything from the company, and they never showed up for pickup at the hotel :-
But they got my money.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A really lovely time, great food and fantastic harbour cruise. Plentiful champagne, only had to drink a mouthful and was topped up, staff friendly and attentive.

Doing what: San Diego Champagne Brunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved the whale watching cruise !

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The seals were SO adorable! Our captain and 1st mate were VERY knowledgeable and made the tour so much fun. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you have kids!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had little problem with the booking office.They had said the tour was cancelled as the response was poor.We were called afterwards and was collected. The guide and the tour were excellent.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Worked out very well for us

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was good until the driver decided not to on the Golden-gate bridge.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour company office showed up 10 minutes late and 8 of us just stood around not knowing what to do. Once the tour guide arrived and the tour started, she was very good. As it turned out, the tour was cut short because of a couple of other commitments some of us had.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I am an avid traveler and I did my research really well before I booked this trip. What I did not know/find out until later in the day was that you have to get off the bus and stand in line with other travelers to pass through immigration on the US-Mexico border, by foot, and then get on the bus on the other side. The time you wait varies by the day although it took us about 2 hours to go through the whole process. Sometimes it could take up to 8 hours too. If I had known, I would have preferred to take my car and just drive through the border and it would have been a lot quicker. Only got to spend about 2 hours in Tijuana which wasn't enough.

Also, the San Diego tour is more of a drive-by rather than stop, take a look and take some pictures. If you want an extensive San Diego tour, then this is not for you.

The harbor cruise was boring, for me. I would have rather skipped that and just spent some extra time at Seaport Village instead.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Our tour guide was great. He was informative, outgoing and honest. The San Diego city tour was very good. On the way to Tijuana, he mentioned some concern about the delays at the entry and exit points. After our tour and visit to Tijuana, we had to disembark the bus and stand in line with our purchases to go through customs. We were forced to stand in line for 2 hours to reenter the US at the border. There was no place to sit and no toilets available on the Mexican side. When we finally reached the border check, it took 10 seconds to reenter. Then we had to walk another 2 blocks to get to the bus. The driver was waiting for us and carried our bags to the bus for us. We stood in line for almost as much as time as we spent in Mexico. The tour company should have informed us of the expected time to spend standing in line to return. I would not recommend this trip to Tijuana because of the major roadblock at the reentry point at the border.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Al was fantastic! The whole crew was friendly and shared their sailing knowledge with us. We saw a humpback, dolphins and many blue whales. So fun!

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I would absolutely recommend taking this tour if you are in San Diego during the whale migrating season. The crew was amazing and took us to several spots to see the whales. At one point we saw a group of 5 whales. I wish the tour had been longer!

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great host, great trip. Felt safe and informed.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

very informed crew, saw quite a few whales, overall a great day

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very good guide, the bus was fine, and there where time enough in Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An outstanding day and experience! Great crew, great ship and the whales were out in their full glory that day. The best tour we took on our 50 day trip.

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message