While Los Angeles has Hollywood and star-appeal, San Diego is Southern California at its big-city finest. America's gateway to Mexico, San Diego lies at the end of miles and miles of sandy coastline which span the glittering Pacific. Here are tips ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 574 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip dosent seem to have enough enrollment weekdays, so book knowing that your tour cold be rescheduled. My your was in a Saturday, and there were enought people to go. Many people on the Saturday tour had been rebooked. Try to book for a weekend,mand the tour company makes you confirm your reservation the day of at 11 am to ensure proper enrollment.
We were picked up at iur hotel by our tour guide mike. He was a very friendly guy who gave us useful info as he was driving us to mexico. We entered mexico with no problems, and he gave us a driving tour of tijuana. The only negative was that there was this singing man who came on the bus. We got guilted into giving him a few bucks.
We were dropped off in the main area with a meeting time. The tour guide mike was really nice, and he even invited us to go out for ceviche with him. There were tins if stires to buy mexicrap that is really neat! Go shopping, then go find a place for food and drinks. You have to pay to use the public bathrooms,which are not the cleanest. Travel with sanitizer and tissues in the event there is no toilet paper!
We had no trouble entering the US.Mike took us to the otay mesa checkpoint, which is typically less crowded than the san ysidro one. San ysidro is where you can hop in the metro to get back to san diego, so therefore more crowded!
Dont forget your passport, bring small us dollars, and BARTER!!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was more than I expected and so much fun. I brought my granddaughter and she had so much fun and was full of smiles the whole trip. I wish I could remember off the top of my head our 1st mate with Capt. Berg, she was amazing. This is a tour everyone should experience - you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic tour!! Well worth the money. Frank was an amazing tour guide!!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. Mike may well be the only tour guide left willing to take tourists from San Diego to Tijuana and I really appreciate both his dedication and enthusiasm. He is a genuinely kind person, and really wants people to have a good time on the trip. It is obvious he also genuinely cares about the people living in Tijuana and by bringing tourists there he is doing his part to help out as he can. This tour was really like no other tour I have been on. Mike is not out to charm anyone and does not mince words: he tells it like it is. He told us all about the problems Mexico is having, and Tijuana in particular. He talked about the drug gangs, the extreme poverty, the difficulty shopkeepers in Tijuana are having making a living both because there are so few tourists, and because of the low value of the peso. He not only talked about it, he showed us the seedy side of Tijuana. We drove past areas of pretty extreme poverty, and he took us on a short drive along several streets where call girls were everywhere. These girls were young and obviously in desperate circumstances. Several of us on the bus later talked about how just the few miles between Tijuana and San Diego separated these teenage girls from the life they would have led had they grown up in San Diego. These girls would be in high school and looking forward to lives full of great potential, rather than working as prostitutes in Tijuana. Later Mike showed us the hundreds of crosses people have put up along the Mexican border. Each cross represents someone who lost their life trying to make it into the US. The fence between the US and Mexico is getting ever higher, with more and more security. This means that attempts to get across will become increasingly desperate and the line of crosses will only continue to grow. Very sad. Without exception every person we interacted with in Tijuana was kind to us and we felt safe. The trip is a true learning experience and one I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent value for money, tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny, we really enjoyed the tour and would recommend to anyone

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed this tour it was very informative and we got to see the seals.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took a sailboat and docked at Anthonys, walked to the jet boat, the jet boat exceeded our expectations, walked back to Anthonys for lunch. A very enjoyable afternoon. Thank you.

Doing what: San Diego Bay Jet Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely wonderful! The staff was very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic hop on ,hop off tour,knowledgeable drivers,no long waits between trams, even if they are full one is just behind.
The only way to see San Diego !

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Michael is a great guide and the whole trip was a good experience. Luckily we had no problems at the customs whatsoever. Absolutely recommendable

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Never been to TJ so it was worth it for the experience. I didn't find the prices at the stores to be great deals but we ate at a restaurant close to the drop off that had good food.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The tour started 40 minutes late however, it finished and the time expected so it was not for four hours. As a consequence we didn't visit some of the locations mentioned in the tour description e.g. la Jolla.
The guide didn't know the city at all an was unable to explain facts/history of the locations visited.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We both didn't go we were ill, we have some fish the night before we think that it must have been off.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

First, there is no way to know how long this trip will take, given the border crossing. Second, the driver on the day we went was horrible. He slowed down and stopped several times on the freeway. The 8 hour trip would have taken 6 if he drove safely. The driver also invited a musician on the bus for tips and even stopped for us to buy roses from his favorite vendor. I felt sure he was getting kick-backs.
On the plus side, Tijuana itself was great. I hadn't visited in maybe 20 years and wow, what a change. The town is clean and feels extremely safe. We met several store owners that we remembered. They were like the ambassadors of the town - very proud of all that has been accomplished and excited for the new airport. The only sad part is that there are no American tourists to enjoy the town. The few tourists there were from Europe and Asia. Go to Tijuana - just don't take this tour.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our vist to San Diego using the Red Trolley was absolutely fantastic. Our grand kids just loved it, and our 2 tour guides made the trip so exciting. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.
Gary Chapman

Keene, California

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun and Friendly. Worth the

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Organization was perfect, Tour was excellent, Service was superberb

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My girlfriend and I went on this cruise and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The food was delicious and the servers were very accommodating. The time was changed from 11am to 930am, but we did find out ahead of time so that was good. The day was perfect and definitely worth the price of admission!

Doing what: San Diego Champagne Brunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an awesome time. Would love to do it again when we return to the area. Both Courtney and Nat were very knowledgeable and made the tour so interesting!

Doing what: La Jolla Sea Caves Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing! The tour guide was informative and extremely entertaining. I would happily go again and look forward to booking tours through viator in the future. Highly reccomend mike as a tour guide.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the town. Bus staff are very good.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message