San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Salim H. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guide was excellent

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice scenic trip of the Baja coast in Mexico. Juan was very knowledgeable about the area we had a great time.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Sarah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide Theresa as great. She took us to a beach talked to us all the way and gave us lots of information.
The shopping was not great.
I wouldn't do it again , but I can say I have been to Mexico.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Kenny United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had heard different things about Tijuana, but my brother had been down a few years ago and said I should see it. I'm really glad I did. I decided to do a tour instead of walking across, because I heard that the wait times in the pedestrian line could take 2 hours to get through the border. Once again I'm glad I did. For starters Mike, the guide was great. Thanks Mike!! He has been doing tours for over 10 years, and has friends, connections, and a good handle on the how and why of Mexico and its people. The advantage of a tour verses the selfie, was hearing about the people and the history of Mexico on the way there. Also Mike will show you places in TJ you wont see on your own, as well as recomendatons on buying tacos and other things. We had about 2 hours on our own to shop and eat, which is enough for your basic tourist. So should you go to TJ??? If you have any intrest in coulture, and seeing the real Mexico for yourself, yes. If you like operating and exploring on your own, yes!!! If lots of people and a lot of noise bother you, not so much. But eather way if you go with this tour, your will be taken care of!!!! Dont miss the chance.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Montecarlo N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip itself was very interesting. Juan was very informative and made us feel at ease. We felt safe the entire time we were there. Border crossing was about 15 minutes both ways, which was wonderful. We were on the main strip and there were lots of souvenir stores. We were able to get nice souvenirs and Tequila for reasonable price. Also, we enjoyed our free authentic Mexican taco snack, but drinks and everything else we had to pay for. There was plenty of time to go walk around. We arrived in Tijuana about 3pm, left 545pm and got back to San Diego by 7pm. It was certainly an experience that should not be missed.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Jeffrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

When I first got a request to write a review for this tour, I wrote a pretty lengthy one of 1500 characters. Then I hit submit, it took me to the website and asked me to sign in, which I did. The my whole review just vanished as though I had never written one so I'm not going to waste my time again. It was a great tour and you should take it but the details will not be discussed here due to a poor email request link which allows you to spend time writing then tells you to log in after the fact without saving your review.

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I found the trip very interesting. Our tour guide who was from Tijuana was excellent. I was hassle free going in and out of Tijuana as our guide knew the protocols well. The shopping was good on the Avenue Revolution though you do get hassled by shopkeepers. I should add though they were always polite. There was no problem with feeling safe and there were plenty of police around. I did not go off the main strip and our guide advised us not too. For a taste of Mexico well worth it.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Erin M. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful trip with tour guide, Juan. He did so many little extras to make the day even more spectacular. He is very knowledgeable and I would highly recommend this trip and ask for him as a tour guide.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

debbie t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wasn't sure what to expect. Had heard lots of different stories about going to Tijuana. Our tour was fantastic. Michael our guide and bus driver was the best. Booked through Viator and scenic tours was the company they used. We were all very impressed.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mike! Awesome tour guide This is the best way to visit Tijuana from California!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Louise S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent guide Mike

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

APRIL M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The driver was knowledgeable and presented an interesting tour of Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Carole C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

The tour guide was excellent. However, the bus broke down, and we had to make our own way back to San Diego from Tijuana.

Cabs were called for us to take us to the Mexican border, which we had to pay for. The cab didn't quite take us to the line for immigration as the driver didn't know where to go we didn't either so we had to figure that out, then we had to make our own way back across the border through areas we are not familiar with late at night. Then on to San Diego city where we were supposed to be dropped off.

We are an older couple and took this tour as we wanted to avoid walking around in places where we would not feel comfortable by ourselves. We are not familiar with either Tijuana or San Diego, but thought we would be getting driven back and would not have to worry about this.

The company should have a decent working bus - this bus was old and run down, and it's no surprise it broke down. In the case the bus does break down, the tour should have organised a back up bus to take people back on. Leaving people in a country they've never been to before to travel across the border, and then on to the city they were supposed to be dropped off in is not acceptable.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

George E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Juan was a wonderful tour guide! He kept us interested and engaged the entire time and helped us to explore the city to the fullest! Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Mike was our amazing guide! He was personable, knowledgeable, and entertaining. He asked us questions to get to know us and catered the tour to our interests. Getting into TJ took 5min. Mike drove us around the city, explaining the different neighborhoods, history, and where it was safe to go or not. He encouraged us to stray off the beaten tourist path to see real Mexico and gave us the confidence to try it. Thankfully, that's what we did. We found the BEST tacos we've ever had for 7 pesos each at a random little shop, then a little bakery and picked up some yummy sweet bread. We loved walking through the streets and going into shops that the locals went to. It was a great experience and made us want to visit TJ again! We didn't feel unsafe once, even after dark. Mike was right, Tijuana is a safe place for tourists again. Highly recommended! In fact, we had such a great trip we didn't mind the 3hr trip back to San Diego 2hrs waiting in the bus at customs. So glad we didn't drive or trolley for this first trip to TJ.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Maira G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was ok, that day they had a tequila festival. If it wasn't for that, I would have been outrageously bored. Do not take any valuable as it can be unsafe. Would I do it again, no. However, I can say I have been to Tijuana. The strip is not that long, and they sell about the same things all around. Most of the things are found in San Diego.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

cathieconolly

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Mike certainly knew a lot about Tijuana,unfortunately he tended to concentrate on the seedier side of things, I expected more sightseeing.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

deepat6

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We thought the guide would share a bit more history. It was okay.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Anthony H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and informative day with good contrasts of lifestyle and an exceptional driver in Juan who was so knowledgeable about all aspects

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

hemi

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a bit rough at the start of tour with no air conditioning in tour van, But once we changed tour vans in Mexico with air conditioning things started to improve, The tour guide we had has full of information about Mexico and Tijuana, Took us to shops we would be interested and knew the area very well ..

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

CC United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My tour to Tijuana was the best. My driver Mike was awesome and very knowledgeable. On my next visit to San Diego I will tour with Viator Also will recommend this company to anyone I know traveling in the San Diego area.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip to San Diego we really enjoyed the commentary by our tour guide, Mike. He was personable, informed and informative. We enjoyed meeting the individuals he has become friends with in Tijuana, including the children and the shopkeepers. Tijuana was very clean compared to the border towns south of Texas. The first sight we saw in Tijuana was a Costco which really surprised us. Thanks, Mike and Viator, for a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

claude d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Claude de Richelieu Quebec , un tour a recommander , on y voie de tout

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Tim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide, Juan, was awesome. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and made the afternoon trip very enjoyable. I would recommend this trip and, in particular, Juan as a tour guide, to anyone who is interested in visiting Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message