San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 275 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable in both Mexican and US information. I only wish we had more time for shopping since haggling is time consuming.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

TAXMAN738

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and personable. Tour content was great. Harbor boat tour was a nice addition. Nice to have time for lunch. Tijuana part was not worth the time. Over 2 hour wait at US customs ruined the Tijuana part.
Strongly recommend everything but Tijuana.
ROY and Cheryl Chicago

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

holo2x

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great way for my family to get a feel for Tijuana Mexico and what it has to offer. Our tour guide Juanito was wonderful. With him being a native of Tijuana I truly felt he gave us so much information that someone who is not from the area would not have. He took us us to a few of his favorite places where we purchased items and enjoyed the mexican cuisine. He was fun, friendly, informative and made us feel safe. I highly recommend this tour for first timers. We will be back for sure!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide (mike I think his name was but I may be wrong) was excellent throughout
The wait back in the US customs line is long with no toilet !!!
Overall an excellent day and well recommended for anyone that wants to see San Diego and be a little adventurous and nip over the border

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip to Mexico with shopping, eating and drinking tequila!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Diane

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is a great way to see the touristy part of Tijuana. Our guide was great. He took us to a few shops of interest and to sample tacos. told us about the city, and showed us a 'typical' housing area. Some 'souvenir' are good value, but not as cheap as we were lead to believe. Shop keepers like to get you and and keep you there, constantly trying to get you to buy something. Go back into USA can be a bit of a lengthy journey, as everyone has to get off the bus and walk across the boarder, while the bus goes through an x-ray machine. I enjoyed it. Would recommend it to anyone if they wanted to taste a bit of the culture.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Katherine T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! I'm giving it 4 stars only because I feel that Tijuana was a waste of time. The driver, Mike, was very knowledgeable of the San Diego area and very accommodating. San Diego is a beautiful city and there is so much to see. This tour was a perfect high level overview of what San Diego has to offer to then go back and really dive into the sights. The Harbor Cruise was great. It was nice to get out and look at the city by sea.

I have traveled to Mexico many times and what's sad is that for those who have never been to Mexico this is the worst impression to give them. I really wish we had taken this part of the tour because it was a waste of a half day. I understand that allure of Crossing the border being so close, but I would highly recommend to not go on this tour. It's a waste of a half day, the city itself is really dirty and when coming back to the US we waited 2 hours to just go through to customs. There are plenty of prettier places in Mexico to go see. Don't waste your time going to Tijuana

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Maree P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Tour never went ahead and we were completely mucked around by this company. I would not recommend.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

jaxbruce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely brilliant full day tour! Mike, our guide, was simply the best - knowledgeable and friendly, even took us shopping in Mexico so we wouldn't get confused or ripped off!!! Can't recommend this tour highly enough, Massive praise to Mike for being the most awesome part of the day!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fantastic time was had by all!!! From the second we sat in the bus to until we got out of it at the end of the tour!!! ... And full credit goes to Juan our top notch amazing tour guide! We instantly felt like we had been friends forever and his sole focus was to give us the best experience!!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

ashmirr u

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

IV heard negative news about Tijuana but it wasn and #39;t bad at all. It is safe and people were very polite. Got in / out quickly safely
The bus driver was always late we have to wait 30mins-1hr, not familiar enough with details ( need to rehearse/ research more info) , was using cellphone while driving.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Helen G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Amusing tour guide Mike made the trip worth while. No complaints.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Salim H. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guide was excellent

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice scenic trip of the Baja coast in Mexico. Juan was very knowledgeable about the area we had a great time.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Sarah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide Theresa as great. She took us to a beach talked to us all the way and gave us lots of information.
The shopping was not great.
I wouldn't do it again , but I can say I have been to Mexico.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Kenny United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had heard different things about Tijuana, but my brother had been down a few years ago and said I should see it. I'm really glad I did. I decided to do a tour instead of walking across, because I heard that the wait times in the pedestrian line could take 2 hours to get through the border. Once again I'm glad I did. For starters Mike, the guide was great. Thanks Mike!! He has been doing tours for over 10 years, and has friends, connections, and a good handle on the how and why of Mexico and its people. The advantage of a tour verses the selfie, was hearing about the people and the history of Mexico on the way there. Also Mike will show you places in TJ you wont see on your own, as well as recomendatons on buying tacos and other things. We had about 2 hours on our own to shop and eat, which is enough for your basic tourist. So should you go to TJ??? If you have any intrest in coulture, and seeing the real Mexico for yourself, yes. If you like operating and exploring on your own, yes!!! If lots of people and a lot of noise bother you, not so much. But eather way if you go with this tour, your will be taken care of!!!! Dont miss the chance.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Monty Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip itself was very interesting. Juan was very informative and made us feel at ease. We felt safe the entire time we were there. Border crossing was about 15 minutes both ways, which was wonderful. We were on the main strip and there were lots of souvenir stores. We were able to get nice souvenirs and Tequila for reasonable price. Also, we enjoyed our free authentic Mexican taco snack, but drinks and everything else we had to pay for. There was plenty of time to go walk around. We arrived in Tijuana about 3pm, left 545pm and got back to San Diego by 7pm. It was certainly an experience that should not be missed.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Jeffrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

When I first got a request to write a review for this tour, I wrote a pretty lengthy one of 1500 characters. Then I hit submit, it took me to the website and asked me to sign in, which I did. The my whole review just vanished as though I had never written one so I'm not going to waste my time again. It was a great tour and you should take it but the details will not be discussed here due to a poor email request link which allows you to spend time writing then tells you to log in after the fact without saving your review.

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I found the trip very interesting. Our tour guide who was from Tijuana was excellent. I was hassle free going in and out of Tijuana as our guide knew the protocols well. The shopping was good on the Avenue Revolution though you do get hassled by shopkeepers. I should add though they were always polite. There was no problem with feeling safe and there were plenty of police around. I did not go off the main strip and our guide advised us not too. For a taste of Mexico well worth it.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Erin M. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful trip with tour guide, Juan. He did so many little extras to make the day even more spectacular. He is very knowledgeable and I would highly recommend this trip and ask for him as a tour guide.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

debbie t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wasn't sure what to expect. Had heard lots of different stories about going to Tijuana. Our tour was fantastic. Michael our guide and bus driver was the best. Booked through Viator and scenic tours was the company they used. We were all very impressed.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mike! Awesome tour guide This is the best way to visit Tijuana from California!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Louise S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent guide Mike

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

APRIL M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The driver was knowledgeable and presented an interesting tour of Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message