San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing! The tour guide was informative and extremely entertaining. I would happily go again and look forward to booking tours through viator in the future. Highly reccomend mike as a tour guide.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I recommend this tour and decided to write this review because I feel for the people of Tijuana. They are so close, yet so far. They really need tourists dollars down there. Many of the businesses are closed throughout the city. If you remember, or have heard, you used to have a bit of trouble walking the streets here due to peddlers and vendors. Now most of that has been swept away. To where? Idk but I asked. The city has opened new areas - that look a lot like San Diego. Mike our driver and the people of Tijuana made me feel safe. They made an effort to show me things were different since I'd been here last. I hadn't been here in 10 years since... Anyway... I still would not bring your kids here. No way. Our tour age ranged from 20s-70s and everyone enjoyed themselves. The police seemed to have changed for the better. You will see MPs in the streets. They are there for backup purposes, which is fine by me. What's there to do in TJ? Relax eat and drink for cheap. Beers are still 1-2 for bottles. 4 for 32oz mugs. And I'm talking Heineken eating at tables on patios. People watching. Donkey painted like a zebra watching. Shopping if that's your thing or enjoy the colorful life of Tijuana. A 2 tip down there goes a long way.

When else can you go to another country and back in a few hours?

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our driver as extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I do not recommend the included meal. Everything else was great.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and a fun filled day. There was only eight of us on the bus so it did not feel cramped or rushed. Our driver, Mike, was informative and jovial with a couple of lame jokes thrown in as well, for good measure. We were a family of four and we would recommend.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip was good, Michael was easygoing and knowledgeable. The two hours was plenty of time. Definitely try the Caesar salad, and drop by Emporium for nice jewellery and Mexican stuff.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour.The tour guide was informative, entertaining and professional.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. I can't wait to go on another one.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good trip. The driver/guider is gorgeous!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Juan was entertaining and made extra efforts to help us with a difficult purchase. Excellent tour and we felt safe. Couldn't ask for more.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mike our guide was fun and experienced. he made the trip super special!.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Mike is an awesome tourguide, fun dude with a bunch of knowledge about the city and its locals.
Felt super safe, no worries at all.
The ac in the bus is a little cool... Other Otherwise - 2 thumbs up!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour did not make as there were not enough people that booked. I was rebooked for the Grand Baja tour, but we did end up going to Ensenada as well. It was a great day trip into Mexico and the drive down the coastline was beautiful! The driver/tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. We had lots of shopping time in Tijuana and Ensenada, although I would have preferred more time in Ensenada. It had a more quaint feel to it and I like it better than Tijuana. The lobster lunch was a great experience as well. The reason I did not give a 5 star review was because of the driver. He had a tendency to text and use his cell phone while driving and there were some moments that we swerved on the road. This made quite a few people in the van very nervous. He was doing this at the boarder as we were trying to come back into the US and he was not following all the directions at the boarder. For a tour company that is transporting a group of people in a van, I would expect safe driving practices to be used. If you're looking for a day trip into Mexico, this was a good tour and beautiful experience.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Gillian M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This trip was not worth doing unless you want to shop for tat and see poverty. Taken on a bit of a tour but not much to see. The drop point was a high street with lots of gift shops etc. Even the drug stores tout for business on the street. Guide good as on all the trips we have been on, but a wasted day for me

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour never happened. Did not find out that only 2 people signed up and did not meet the minimum amount of people needed to make trip until I called to confirm tour at 1100. Did not get a call or email notification. Not impressed.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour didn't happen and I was told about it 3 hot before departure. I went to TJ on my own and I recommend it to everyone as spending 50 usd on being ttansported onwards and backwards doesnt make sense, you can do it for 5usd going with a trolley

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Mike our tour bus drive is fun and excellent ! Enough time to tour Market area ! It was nice to see how Tijuana looks like .

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good morning tour, driver was very knowledgeable and friendly, in fact we had the same driver for the afternoon tour to Tijuana, it was a great pity we had not been advised that there was a 2 1/2 hour wait between the 2 tours, luckily the hotel was within walking distance.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The San Diego part of the tour was cancelled but the Tijuana tour was great!
Very informative tour guide. However the tour runs much later than is stated on the details, so don't plan anything for that night because you won't be back until 9-10pm instead of the 6pm which is stated on the tour.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The main reason for the tour is that you will visit another country Mexico. Otherwise, there is nothing. The guide / driver was very friendly and informative. There is nothing much to see in Tijuana. Had some good food and did some really cheap shopping. Streets were very bad, call girls everywhere, traffic and populated which didn't admire me so much. But for the reason said above, this tour was OK.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I never heard anything from the company, and they never showed up for pickup at the hotel :-
But they got my money.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I am an avid traveler and I did my research really well before I booked this trip. What I did not know/find out until later in the day was that you have to get off the bus and stand in line with other travelers to pass through immigration on the US-Mexico border, by foot, and then get on the bus on the other side. The time you wait varies by the day although it took us about 2 hours to go through the whole process. Sometimes it could take up to 8 hours too. If I had known, I would have preferred to take my car and just drive through the border and it would have been a lot quicker. Only got to spend about 2 hours in Tijuana which wasn't enough.

Also, the San Diego tour is more of a drive-by rather than stop, take a look and take some pictures. If you want an extensive San Diego tour, then this is not for you.

The harbor cruise was boring, for me. I would have rather skipped that and just spent some extra time at Seaport Village instead.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Our tour guide was great. He was informative, outgoing and honest. The San Diego city tour was very good. On the way to Tijuana, he mentioned some concern about the delays at the entry and exit points. After our tour and visit to Tijuana, we had to disembark the bus and stand in line with our purchases to go through customs. We were forced to stand in line for 2 hours to reenter the US at the border. There was no place to sit and no toilets available on the Mexican side. When we finally reached the border check, it took 10 seconds to reenter. Then we had to walk another 2 blocks to get to the bus. The driver was waiting for us and carried our bags to the bus for us. We stood in line for almost as much as time as we spent in Mexico. The tour company should have informed us of the expected time to spend standing in line to return. I would not recommend this trip to Tijuana because of the major roadblock at the reentry point at the border.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour and our tour guide was awesome! He was very knowledgeable about Mexico and its culture. He told us lots of interesting facts about Mexico that we didn't know before. We felt very safe, which was my main goal when choosing a tour to Mexico, rather than driving across the border by ourselves.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message