San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was one of our best days in our Usa-holiday, much because of the great busdriver who was very social, kind, informative, and happy. I highly recommend this sightseeing.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tijuana was fascinating. Our driver Mike made all the difference.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bike ride to the bridge was great.
Stopping on the bridge breathtaking.
A brilliant day.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. She had a good rapport with the restaurant employees which made us feel comfortable as using it as a homebase during the shopping portion of the tour. Wish there was more time to see the newer parts of the city.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic! We had such a great tour guide/driver, Juan. He gave us so much history and pointed out many things of interest along the way. He was very personable and knowledgeable. He said he had only been working for the tour company for a month. This tour was to include 2 free tacos (typical Mexican snack it's called in the tour listing) but he knew nothing about it. When another passenger said that's what he booked too, Juan went to call his superiors. When he came back he said that was true and took us to a restaurant. It seemed to me something wasn't right because he had to do a lot of talking to the restaurant people. And we didn't get to make our own like the listing said so something was up. In the end we each got our tacos and beans and paid for our own drinks. Cheap margaritas!!! We loved Tijuana. We went in thinking it was filthy dirty and a scummy town. Well, it's a big city just like any other. However, it was clean, clean, clean. No garbage at all on the street or sidewalks. (maybe in other areas but not Avenida Revolucion) It was cleaner than most cities here in the US!! We did some shopping and probably still got ripped off after bargaining, but whatever. It was a great experience and I'm glad to have said I've been there. This was a great trip all around!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Mike was terrific, funny, entertaining, and helpful.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was everything that I had expected. The ride was comfortable and all the highlights as explained in the tour brochure was met in reality as well.

Things to improve - more time shopping, adding the bull-ring, on-time departure. For operators who have been in this business for such a long time, they could have predicted the customs/ immigration check better. They mentioned 45 mins when in reality it was like 10 mins.
Otherwise, it was a fun trip and we were very happy.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour bus was old and so uncomfortable we felt every bump on the road and it rattled and squeaked! A stop at Bilbao Park would be nice. I wanted to take a photo of the sign at the entrance to gaslamp district but the bus didn't stop. 2.5 hours shopping on one street in Mexico was far too long!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour was fine. I don't think the tour guide had any idea of the history Tijuana but he was very helpful and entertaining. I was disappointed with the booking process. I was on hold for 1hours before call answered. I was told there was hotel pick up only to find out on the morning there wasn't.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The San Diego tour was well done and very informative. The Tijuana tour was informative and Mike did a good job but we were very disappointed in Tijuana. The retailers were too aggressive and it was just very uncomfortable. Mike is a very good tour guide.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I had a great time. The driver made the whole tour. We were shown the good side and the bad side and our driver told us not to wear jewelry around our neck. He had a shop owner that he introduced to us. We went into his store and wound up buying a beautiful handbag for my wife. We went around sampling the foods real good. The trip going and coming from Tijuana was interesting, we had to go through customs where they stamped our passports and asked a few questions. All I can say is if you do not go on this tour to Mexico you will miss out on the fun that you can have as well as negotiating about the price of an item. It is fine to go back and forth for the figure of an item you want. Good Luck.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip was fantastic
Our driver (Mike I think his name was) went all out to to make our trip pleasant, entertaining and interesting with an incredible historical/geographical narration throughout out trip
Mike was a unique person so suited to tourism...he was very courteous, respectful, accommodating, creative, funny, mature, well informed and showed no sign of frustration even @ times when some of us were late returning to our bus following sightseeing/shopping stops
We had difficulty booking our tour in San Diego as local tour agencies were not prepared to offer Tijuana tours citing drug related violence being a mortal threat to tourists.Fortunately I found Viator on Google who not only provided a safe tour, but also offered a Hotel to Hotel pick up/drop off service.
I cannot speak highly enough about our experience and the fortunes of having Mike as our Driver/Tour Guide.
Unfortunately, we were unable to experience the Harbor Cruise due to local construction work.
I highly recommend tour San Diego Tour...I thank Viator for being one of the very few agencies for
providing this tour and I especially thank Mike for making our day
Regards
John and Barbara from Australia

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice quick tour but too long at the border to come back.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great way to cross the border and experience Mexico.... Our guide was really informative.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great tour ... so worth doing ... only disappointment was the Harbour Cruise was not able to be done ... Tijuana was so worth doing just to see and meet the locals ... would recommend this tour but be prepared for a long day out!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message