San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our trip to Tijuana was awesome, thanks to Juan our guide/driver. He made the trip a success. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. We had plenty of time to shop and enjoy. Juan made this trip a memorable one as we had never been to Mexico. Thank you Juan! This is a definite must do!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Unfortunately the bus was broken so we weren't able to go into Tijuana which was a real disappointment as we were told too late to organise another tour company.

Doing what: Best San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip dosent seem to have enough enrollment weekdays, so book knowing that your tour cold be rescheduled. My your was in a Saturday, and there were enought people to go. Many people on the Saturday tour had been rebooked. Try to book for a weekend,mand the tour company makes you confirm your reservation the day of at 11 am to ensure proper enrollment.
We were picked up at iur hotel by our tour guide mike. He was a very friendly guy who gave us useful info as he was driving us to mexico. We entered mexico with no problems, and he gave us a driving tour of tijuana. The only negative was that there was this singing man who came on the bus. We got guilted into giving him a few bucks.
We were dropped off in the main area with a meeting time. The tour guide mike was really nice, and he even invited us to go out for ceviche with him. There were tins if stires to buy mexicrap that is really neat! Go shopping, then go find a place for food and drinks. You have to pay to use the public bathrooms,which are not the cleanest. Travel with sanitizer and tissues in the event there is no toilet paper!
We had no trouble entering the US.Mike took us to the otay mesa checkpoint, which is typically less crowded than the san ysidro one. San ysidro is where you can hop in the metro to get back to san diego, so therefore more crowded!
Dont forget your passport, bring small us dollars, and BARTER!!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. Mike may well be the only tour guide left willing to take tourists from San Diego to Tijuana and I really appreciate both his dedication and enthusiasm. He is a genuinely kind person, and really wants people to have a good time on the trip. It is obvious he also genuinely cares about the people living in Tijuana and by bringing tourists there he is doing his part to help out as he can. This tour was really like no other tour I have been on. Mike is not out to charm anyone and does not mince words: he tells it like it is. He told us all about the problems Mexico is having, and Tijuana in particular. He talked about the drug gangs, the extreme poverty, the difficulty shopkeepers in Tijuana are having making a living both because there are so few tourists, and because of the low value of the peso. He not only talked about it, he showed us the seedy side of Tijuana. We drove past areas of pretty extreme poverty, and he took us on a short drive along several streets where call girls were everywhere. These girls were young and obviously in desperate circumstances. Several of us on the bus later talked about how just the few miles between Tijuana and San Diego separated these teenage girls from the life they would have led had they grown up in San Diego. These girls would be in high school and looking forward to lives full of great potential, rather than working as prostitutes in Tijuana. Later Mike showed us the hundreds of crosses people have put up along the Mexican border. Each cross represents someone who lost their life trying to make it into the US. The fence between the US and Mexico is getting ever higher, with more and more security. This means that attempts to get across will become increasingly desperate and the line of crosses will only continue to grow. Very sad. Without exception every person we interacted with in Tijuana was kind to us and we felt safe. The trip is a true learning experience and one I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Michael is a great guide and the whole trip was a good experience. Luckily we had no problems at the customs whatsoever. Absolutely recommendable

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Never been to TJ so it was worth it for the experience. I didn't find the prices at the stores to be great deals but we ate at a restaurant close to the drop off that had good food.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We both didn't go we were ill, we have some fish the night before we think that it must have been off.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

First, there is no way to know how long this trip will take, given the border crossing. Second, the driver on the day we went was horrible. He slowed down and stopped several times on the freeway. The 8 hour trip would have taken 6 if he drove safely. The driver also invited a musician on the bus for tips and even stopped for us to buy roses from his favorite vendor. I felt sure he was getting kick-backs.
On the plus side, Tijuana itself was great. I hadn't visited in maybe 20 years and wow, what a change. The town is clean and feels extremely safe. We met several store owners that we remembered. They were like the ambassadors of the town - very proud of all that has been accomplished and excited for the new airport. The only sad part is that there are no American tourists to enjoy the town. The few tourists there were from Europe and Asia. Go to Tijuana - just don't take this tour.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing! The tour guide was informative and extremely entertaining. I would happily go again and look forward to booking tours through viator in the future. Highly reccomend mike as a tour guide.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I recommend this tour and decided to write this review because I feel for the people of Tijuana. They are so close, yet so far. They really need tourists dollars down there. Many of the businesses are closed throughout the city. If you remember, or have heard, you used to have a bit of trouble walking the streets here due to peddlers and vendors. Now most of that has been swept away. To where? Idk but I asked. The city has opened new areas - that look a lot like San Diego. Mike our driver and the people of Tijuana made me feel safe. They made an effort to show me things were different since I'd been here last. I hadn't been here in 10 years since... Anyway... I still would not bring your kids here. No way. Our tour age ranged from 20s-70s and everyone enjoyed themselves. The police seemed to have changed for the better. You will see MPs in the streets. They are there for backup purposes, which is fine by me. What's there to do in TJ? Relax eat and drink for cheap. Beers are still 1-2 for bottles. 4 for 32oz mugs. And I'm talking Heineken eating at tables on patios. People watching. Donkey painted like a zebra watching. Shopping if that's your thing or enjoy the colorful life of Tijuana. A 2 tip down there goes a long way.

When else can you go to another country and back in a few hours?

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our driver as extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I do not recommend the included meal. Everything else was great.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and a fun filled day. There was only eight of us on the bus so it did not feel cramped or rushed. Our driver, Mike, was informative and jovial with a couple of lame jokes thrown in as well, for good measure. We were a family of four and we would recommend.

Doing what: Best San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip was good, Michael was easygoing and knowledgeable. The two hours was plenty of time. Definitely try the Caesar salad, and drop by Emporium for nice jewellery and Mexican stuff.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour.The tour guide was informative, entertaining and professional.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. I can't wait to go on another one.

Doing what: Best San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good trip. The driver/guider is gorgeous!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Juan was entertaining and made extra efforts to help us with a difficult purchase. Excellent tour and we felt safe. Couldn't ask for more.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mike our guide was fun and experienced. he made the trip super special!.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Mike is an awesome tourguide, fun dude with a bunch of knowledge about the city and its locals.
Felt super safe, no worries at all.
The ac in the bus is a little cool... Other Otherwise - 2 thumbs up!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour did not make as there were not enough people that booked. I was rebooked for the Grand Baja tour, but we did end up going to Ensenada as well. It was a great day trip into Mexico and the drive down the coastline was beautiful! The driver/tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. We had lots of shopping time in Tijuana and Ensenada, although I would have preferred more time in Ensenada. It had a more quaint feel to it and I like it better than Tijuana. The lobster lunch was a great experience as well. The reason I did not give a 5 star review was because of the driver. He had a tendency to text and use his cell phone while driving and there were some moments that we swerved on the road. This made quite a few people in the van very nervous. He was doing this at the boarder as we were trying to come back into the US and he was not following all the directions at the boarder. For a tour company that is transporting a group of people in a van, I would expect safe driving practices to be used. If you're looking for a day trip into Mexico, this was a good tour and beautiful experience.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Gillian M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This trip was not worth doing unless you want to shop for tat and see poverty. Taken on a bit of a tour but not much to see. The drop point was a high street with lots of gift shops etc. Even the drug stores tout for business on the street. Guide good as on all the trips we have been on, but a wasted day for me

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour never happened. Did not find out that only 2 people signed up and did not meet the minimum amount of people needed to make trip until I called to confirm tour at 1100. Did not get a call or email notification. Not impressed.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message