San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I had a great time. The driver made the whole tour. We were shown the good side and the bad side and our driver told us not to wear jewelry around our neck. He had a shop owner that he introduced to us. We went into his store and wound up buying a beautiful handbag for my wife. We went around sampling the foods real good. The trip going and coming from Tijuana was interesting, we had to go through customs where they stamped our passports and asked a few questions. All I can say is if you do not go on this tour to Mexico you will miss out on the fun that you can have as well as negotiating about the price of an item. It is fine to go back and forth for the figure of an item you want. Good Luck.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip was fantastic
Our driver (Mike I think his name was) went all out to to make our trip pleasant, entertaining and interesting with an incredible historical/geographical narration throughout out trip
Mike was a unique person so suited to tourism...he was very courteous, respectful, accommodating, creative, funny, mature, well informed and showed no sign of frustration even @ times when some of us were late returning to our bus following sightseeing/shopping stops
We had difficulty booking our tour in San Diego as local tour agencies were not prepared to offer Tijuana tours citing drug related violence being a mortal threat to tourists.Fortunately I found Viator on Google who not only provided a safe tour, but also offered a Hotel to Hotel pick up/drop off service.
I cannot speak highly enough about our experience and the fortunes of having Mike as our Driver/Tour Guide.
Unfortunately, we were unable to experience the Harbor Cruise due to local construction work.
I highly recommend tour San Diego Tour...I thank Viator for being one of the very few agencies for
providing this tour and I especially thank Mike for making our day
Regards
John and Barbara from Australia

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice quick tour but too long at the border to come back.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great way to cross the border and experience Mexico.... Our guide was really informative.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great tour ... so worth doing ... only disappointment was the Harbour Cruise was not able to be done ... Tijuana was so worth doing just to see and meet the locals ... would recommend this tour but be prepared for a long day out!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great śervicė nice to have smaller bus with only dozen people to go with on day tour guild made you feeĺ çomfortable and safe and explained everthing well.
Good bunch of people to travel with from all over.
Tijuana a eye opèner but awesume experience a must to see and ďo

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour we were taken on was not the tour we booked. In fact, the itinerary did not align with any other tour offered (it was not even close to the Ensenada Tour described either). We were supposed to leave the station at 9:00 AM---6 of 7 tour members had to wait until 9:35 for the last one to arrive. We stopped in Chula Vista for another group and waited in Van for 20 minutes before the guide came back and said we were at the wrong hotel. We went to the right hotel and started out for Mexico at 11:30. We did not stop in Tijuana for a cultural sightseeing tour, we did not stop in Puerto Nuevo for the "luscious lobster lunch, margaritas and mariachi music". We deadheaded straight for Ensenada and stopped only once at a coastal scenic outlook. We arrived in Ensenada and strolled down a boardwalk. The guide took us to lunch at a steak and eggs café that served breakfast only. When the group inquired about the tour they booked and the lunch in Puerto Nuevo, we left the café and he took us to a Mexican Buffet that was edible but nothing to praise. No beer, wine, margaritas. He then took us back to Rosarito Beach (after several inquiries from the group) and 2 tour members rode horses (that they paid for) on the beach while the remaining 10 members hung out and purchased drinks. Next, the guide took us to Tijuana to a wax museum (are you kidding?) that charged entrance fee and closed in 25 min. We hung out in Tijuana shopping district until the tour guide thought the wait at the border would be minimal. Most of the tour group spent the majority of time in Tijuana on the bus waiting to head back. It was the most disorganized and unprofessional experience ever! Tour guide was nice---not his fault but I am shocked the company is in business!

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Tijuana Sightseeing tour from San Diego was great. Our tour guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable and had a passion for what he was doing. There were eight of us on this particular tour and from start to finish, all of us felt safe and knew that we were in good hands in regards to what's happening in Mexico. We shopped and afterwards left with the experience of being in Mexico. As we were leaving the city a guitar player entered the bus and performed four songs for us in Spanish no less. Good times...

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. We enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Visiting Tijuana was like good to know, bus since we were only 7 people the tour was in van, which was not convenient.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fantastic, mostly because it was only three of us. I found out the night before the trip that there were not enough people registered to run it as a tour. I was told if we pay $200 more, that we could go as a private charter. We decided to do that since we had just arrived from Europe. The pick-up was smooth and we headed to Tijuana and did the tourist thing. I asked if we could visit a winery on our trip, and the guide took us to a wonderful wine cellar in Tijuana. For $10 per person we had four tastings each of the reserve wine (read four almost full glasses of wine!). Needless to say, this made our jetlag disappear and brightened the trip. From there we went to Puerto Nuevo (Lobster Village). The food and vista were great (including a Margarita). Then, we went to Rosarito Beach, where we had time for some horseback riding. Coming back across the border was very fast--we were dropped off at and walked through the border (only the driver can go through in the car).

The guide was super knowledgeable, friendly, open, and was willing to take us were we wanted to go. I suggest you do this as a small group and do some little planning on what else you want to do (such as visiting a wine cellar). The price is worth it, especially if you consider it in Euros. The entire trip cost about 140€ per person (including tip and wine, but excluding any other purchases).

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We were a bit worried about the reviews that talked about lengthy delays crossing the border back into the USA but we had no problems. Took us less than 10 minutes. The border crossing is not an issue associated only with this tour - it is the same as anywhere where you cross a border from one country into another. Fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The tour was ok but it was more geared to shopping than I am. There was some narration as we headed to the tourist street but then we were basically let out of the bus for two hours to walk the street and every merchant and hustler knew we were there and were approaching us. I had never been to Mexico before so I didn't know what to expect. Next time I will make sure I book a more cultural tour to other parts of the country.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Glad we went but would not go again

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed this trip. Nice group of people.
Highlight was the Cultural Museum in Tijuana

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message