• USD ($)
  • English
San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fantastic, mostly because it was only three of us. I found out the night before the trip that there were not enough people registered to run it as a tour. I was told if we pay $200 more, that we could go as a private charter. We decided to do that since we had just arrived from Europe. The pick-up was smooth and we headed to Tijuana and did the tourist thing. I asked if we could visit a winery on our trip, and the guide took us to a wonderful wine cellar in Tijuana. For $10 per person we had four tastings each of the reserve wine (read four almost full glasses of wine!). Needless to say, this made our jetlag disappear and brightened the trip. From there we went to Puerto Nuevo (Lobster Village). The food and vista were great (including a Margarita). Then, we went to Rosarito Beach, where we had time for some horseback riding. Coming back across the border was very fast--we were dropped off at and walked through the border (only the driver can go through in the car).

The guide was super knowledgeable, friendly, open, and was willing to take us were we wanted to go. I suggest you do this as a small group and do some little planning on what else you want to do (such as visiting a wine cellar). The price is worth it, especially if you consider it in Euros. The entire trip cost about 140€ per person (including tip and wine, but excluding any other purchases).

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We were a bit worried about the reviews that talked about lengthy delays crossing the border back into the USA but we had no problems. Took us less than 10 minutes. The border crossing is not an issue associated only with this tour - it is the same as anywhere where you cross a border from one country into another. Fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The tour was ok but it was more geared to shopping than I am. There was some narration as we headed to the tourist street but then we were basically let out of the bus for two hours to walk the street and every merchant and hustler knew we were there and were approaching us. I had never been to Mexico before so I didn't know what to expect. Next time I will make sure I book a more cultural tour to other parts of the country.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Glad we went but would not go again

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed this trip. Nice group of people.
Highlight was the Cultural Museum in Tijuana

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The bulk of the day trip was travelling. We only ended up having about 1.5 hours for sightseeing. The main attraction for me were the cheap tacos. The souvenirs being sold were nothing to shout about. It's just the sort of trip worth doing once and just once.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

driver could have looked
more professional

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour and one of the few tours left going from SD to TJ. The tour guide was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. The tour delivers what was promised and then some, but of it's impossible too much in only one afternoon.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Greg, was knowledgeable, funny and helpful.
His knowledge and experience assured us this trip would be great; and it was. It was an interesting trip into Tijuana and getting to drive through town a little on the way to our destination was a treat. You are dropped into a very touristy area. Take the time to walk all 10 blocks. The shopping is nice, the food is authentic.
Again, Greg was helpful when it came to leave. He thoroughly explained how customs works. Using this tour was the best way to experience a day trip to Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Although everything regarding the reservation and Viator service was perfect, the pick up was on time and the trip was ok. In the bus there was very little information about the trip and detail of Tijuana City or any other historical data. After being in Tijuana City I will not go back again and neither recommend to any of my friends.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We start our trip with stopping for coffee for one lady. This lady after the cup fell asleep so for her may be good experience. So after we spend long time for this lady beeing served our guide started to be nervous and tried to make fast trip to compensate delay. He did some "funny" comments on us (we wanted to take some pictures of lanscape - what a crazy idea on trip). Trip was super speed, we didn't enjoy it. In the end the guy left us in village for lunch and after coming back he told us that the second part of the trip is cancelled. I can't imagine worse way how to get know SD.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Waste of money didn't take us to all sites listed not recommended

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was fantastic. We had a fabulous tour and learnt so much about San Diego and Mexico. Would definitely recommend this tour to our friends and when we are back in San Diego will definitely use Viator tours again.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very prompt and on time with a very good narrative. Enjoyable trip with exception of a horrendous wait at the Mex US border,not your fault and no picture opps at Old town or Gas Town but well worth taking

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message