San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeffrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

When I first got a request to write a review for this tour, I wrote a pretty lengthy one of 1500 characters. Then I hit submit, it took me to the website and asked me to sign in, which I did. The my whole review just vanished as though I had never written one so I'm not going to waste my time again. It was a great tour and you should take it but the details will not be discussed here due to a poor email request link which allows you to spend time writing then tells you to log in after the fact without saving your review.

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I found the trip very interesting. Our tour guide who was from Tijuana was excellent. I was hassle free going in and out of Tijuana as our guide knew the protocols well. The shopping was good on the Avenue Revolution though you do get hassled by shopkeepers. I should add though they were always polite. There was no problem with feeling safe and there were plenty of police around. I did not go off the main strip and our guide advised us not too. For a taste of Mexico well worth it.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

APRIL M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The driver was knowledgeable and presented an interesting tour of Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Carole C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

The tour guide was excellent. However, the bus broke down, and we had to make our own way back to San Diego from Tijuana.

Cabs were called for us to take us to the Mexican border, which we had to pay for. The cab didn't quite take us to the line for immigration as the driver didn't know where to go we didn't either so we had to figure that out, then we had to make our own way back across the border through areas we are not familiar with late at night. Then on to San Diego city where we were supposed to be dropped off.

We are an older couple and took this tour as we wanted to avoid walking around in places where we would not feel comfortable by ourselves. We are not familiar with either Tijuana or San Diego, but thought we would be getting driven back and would not have to worry about this.

The company should have a decent working bus - this bus was old and run down, and it's no surprise it broke down. In the case the bus does break down, the tour should have organised a back up bus to take people back on. Leaving people in a country they've never been to before to travel across the border, and then on to the city they were supposed to be dropped off in is not acceptable.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

George E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Juan was a wonderful tour guide! He kept us interested and engaged the entire time and helped us to explore the city to the fullest! Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Mike was our amazing guide! He was personable, knowledgeable, and entertaining. He asked us questions to get to know us and catered the tour to our interests. Getting into TJ took 5min. Mike drove us around the city, explaining the different neighborhoods, history, and where it was safe to go or not. He encouraged us to stray off the beaten tourist path to see real Mexico and gave us the confidence to try it. Thankfully, that's what we did. We found the BEST tacos we've ever had for 7 pesos each at a random little shop, then a little bakery and picked up some yummy sweet bread. We loved walking through the streets and going into shops that the locals went to. It was a great experience and made us want to visit TJ again! We didn't feel unsafe once, even after dark. Mike was right, Tijuana is a safe place for tourists again. Highly recommended! In fact, we had such a great trip we didn't mind the 3hr trip back to San Diego 2hrs waiting in the bus at customs. So glad we didn't drive or trolley for this first trip to TJ.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Maira G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was ok, that day they had a tequila festival. If it wasn't for that, I would have been outrageously bored. Do not take any valuable as it can be unsafe. Would I do it again, no. However, I can say I have been to Tijuana. The strip is not that long, and they sell about the same things all around. Most of the things are found in San Diego.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

cathieconolly

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Mike certainly knew a lot about Tijuana,unfortunately he tended to concentrate on the seedier side of things, I expected more sightseeing.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

deepat6

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We thought the guide would share a bit more history. It was okay.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Anthony H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and informative day with good contrasts of lifestyle and an exceptional driver in Juan who was so knowledgeable about all aspects

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

hemi

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a bit rough at the start of tour with no air conditioning in tour van, But once we changed tour vans in Mexico with air conditioning things started to improve, The tour guide we had has full of information about Mexico and Tijuana, Took us to shops we would be interested and knew the area very well ..

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

CC United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My tour to Tijuana was the best. My driver Mike was awesome and very knowledgeable. On my next visit to San Diego I will tour with Viator Also will recommend this company to anyone I know traveling in the San Diego area.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip to San Diego we really enjoyed the commentary by our tour guide, Mike. He was personable, informed and informative. We enjoyed meeting the individuals he has become friends with in Tijuana, including the children and the shopkeepers. Tijuana was very clean compared to the border towns south of Texas. The first sight we saw in Tijuana was a Costco which really surprised us. Thanks, Mike and Viator, for a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

claude d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Claude de Richelieu Quebec , un tour a recommander , on y voie de tout

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Tim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide, Juan, was awesome. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and made the afternoon trip very enjoyable. I would recommend this trip and, in particular, Juan as a tour guide, to anyone who is interested in visiting Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Susan G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable. Juan was an excellent guide and did indeed know how to minimize our time crossing the border and maximize our time in Tijuana. His shopping recommendations were spot on. There might have been miscommunication about the length of the tour as it seemed to be longer than the advertised 5 hours. Nothing wrong with all the extra time in Tijuana unless you have other plans for the evening.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Carole G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Quite an experience! Guide was friendly and full of information. Pleased to have done the trip.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Karen D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour itself was fun, Juan was a great tour guide, they took us to a great Tequila store and had some awesome tacos but thats all you really needed to do. Tijuana was basically the same shops selling the same tourist items over and over again and once you leave that street it gets rough. I have to give the tour company a good review, they did their job well but Tijuana was not a must see to me!!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Roy Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Could have been longer

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

LynneandWaynne D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Firstly the girl on the desk at the Train Station was really lovely sorry I didn't get her name. Juan our driver was also really lovely and very obliging. That pretty much sums up the good points.
1.The van should be sent to the wreckers - seatbelts were missing, air con didn't work properly and the suspension in the back was non-existant!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Shell Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I loved this tour, our guide was amazing, he loved his job and was passionate about making this tour a fabulous tour and it was... Do it

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Craig D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

On phone customer service was a bit discourteous and poor, which initially made me a bit anxious about the trip. That said, I went along with it. And had a whale of a time. Great tour guide. Very knowledgeable and courteous. Nice option to hop over to Mexico if you're limited on time.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Martin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Was a good experience with a good driver with understanding of the environment, it was just too long, not much todo in Tijuana for 3-4 hours

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

ANA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our trip to Tijuana was awesome, thanks to Juan our guide/driver. He made the trip a success. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. We had plenty of time to shop and enjoy. Juan made this trip a memorable one as we had never been to Mexico. Thank you Juan! This is a definite must do!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Gagandeep W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I came from Canada to celebrate my daughter Grade-12 completion. My daughter said I couldn't have been better, and we got true feel of the Mexican culture

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message