For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1471 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Danny did a great job from start to end. We bought the Segway tour because of the Alcatraz combo but the Segway turned to be the highlight of the day! An awesome experience for all of us my husband, my daughter 12 years old and me. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see San Francisco and have fun while doing it.

Doing what: Best Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour!
We did the Alcatraz and San Francisco deluxe tour. Our driver was superb and hIs knowledge of San Francisco was amazing. The tour covered everything you could think of plus extra. I would highly recommend this tour and tour company it was very well run. An extra 1/2 hour on Alcatraz would have been perfect.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Staff on this Big Bus Tours were great. The extra guided walking tours and the night time trip was excellent. We had a female tour guide for the walking tour of Chinatown. Excellent tour guide didn't even mention tipping to us or ask for us to review or recommend her, as others did. Not that I had a problem with those that did. I would definitely use Big Bus again. I wasn't a huge fan of Alcatraz but that had nothing to do with BB Tours. The Sausalito driver, John? Was a friendly Oakland Raiders fan. Humorous with great knowledge. The night guide Clint was also superb in his knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding arrangements by the Viatour folks and we had a terrific time. The Segway tour was a blast and the Alcatraz tour was far better than we ever expected. I would not hesitate to use Viatour again and highly recommend the combined tours.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time. The Alcatraz tour allowed us plenty of time to do what we wanted to do and have a good look around. The Dungeon tour and Madame Tussauds was good fun and we thoroughly enjoyed the day

Doing what: Best San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Such a great trip. The person who took us on the tour was friendly and he told us so much history of San Francisco. Alcatraz trip was wonderful. We enjoyed every moment of our trip. I totally recommend this trip for anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. It was nice to have a relaxing pace getting to Alcatraz Landing despite our driver being a bit late in picking up our group. We were indeed on the first ferry across to Alcatraz so the crowds at the site were reasonable. We had plenty of time to tour the facility before having to catch the ferry back to port. It was nice to have a tour of some San Francisco sights after Alcatraz. Our guide, Sneaky Pete did manage to squeeze in an extra stop to see a special sight at the Presidio, and it was great especially if you are a Star Wars fan!. Overall, a day well spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Alcatraz tour was ok and informative. The views of the city from Alcatraz were fantastic.

The Sunset Bay cruise was fabulous and should not be missed. A buffet dinner desserts very good and 2 drinks with chez mix snacks were included. It was the highlight of my San Francisco visit.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were glad to of booked with viator before we left home as no tickets for Alcatraz were available for at least 3 weeks!
We had no tour guide but the explanation for picking up tickets was clear and worked out well. The timed ferry worked out and is only a short journey, we had the audio tour which is really good and has people who were their explaining facts and what life was like.
The cruise was good and the Buffett was a lot more than we expected with sandwiches, salad,fruit and cookies a good selection. You got to see some good views as well as the bridge passing by and going under.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome! LOved Alcatraz. The tour of the city was great, too. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time tour guide was great as was lunch not enough time at Alcatraz but as it was a packed fun day didnt mind too much, would recommend anyone to take the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip to Alcatraz was OK. Boat over and back: convenient and regular trips mean you can stay as long as you like. The Seaplane fight was outstanding. I've been to San Francisco many times but this was a special way to see the City...and a great gift for my grandson.

Doing what: San Francisco Seaplane Flight and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant tour of Alcatraz so much history and the audio tour is so informative.
Sunset cruise of the Bay Area is stunning with the views of the Golden Gate Bridge phenomenal.
Would recommend these two tours as excellent , also the food on the sunset tour and bar facilities were A Grade.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the BIG BUS tour!!! Make sure you sit outside top if you can and wear plenty of layers. You will get cold at night if you're not properly dressed. Make sure you do the Night tour at least once but the day part as much as you can! Seriously...Anthony, one of our tour guides, was so much fun! Anthony, we'll forever think of you when we hear the songs you played from your little speaker thing. :- We also had a girl guide and I'm so sorry but I can't think of her name. We called her Carrie because she looks and acts so much like our friend, Carrie Tiller. Carrie is a riot She and Anthony made a lasting impression! As for Alcatraz...it was my 2nd time going..it is a must if you are traveling to SFO! I can't wait to come back!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the Ferry Building, a real insiders view on the best food offerings!
A bit expensive as a way to combine Alcatraz, but the island is so well done by the National Parks Service audio tour is excellent! that it's worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable experience, the wine tasting was excellent, very interesting and relaxed our guide was also top quality as she gave us interesting information along the drive to the wine tasting and Alcatraz is amazing. Totally lived up to my expectations!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unusual combination of Alcatraz and a bike ride to microbreweries, but it works and was really fun.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The SF Urban Adventure was fantastic! It included stops at many interesting locations throughout the city. Our guide, Eric, was extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. His unique vehicle allowed for easy access and great views. The Alcatraz Tour was amazing as well. I highly recommend this tour package.

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour, really giving us a good overview of San Francisco from a coach and a trip over the Golden Gate bridge. Our driver was fantastic, giving us a great commentary and we learned things about San Francisco and its residents that we would never have found out just from walking around. The Alcatraz tour was also really interesting and the audio tour was a must!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour package made our first trip to San Francisco together complete. There were many opportunities to take photos along the way and we found the Alcatraz tour very informative. The city tour was a great overview of things to see more in depth. I highly recommend this package tour to those who really want to get a flavor of San Francisco. It was a good value for the cost.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We didn't have much time to see San Fran but really wanted to see Alcatraz, this tour was amazing the tour guide Eric is great, very friendly and funny. Would definately recommend! Anyone worried about the Alcatraz tickets, you get a full Alcatraz ticket with this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I expected a little more on the highlights of San Francisco but the Alcatraz part was fabulous. Also would highly recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Alcatraz tour was fantastic, the San Francisco City tour, was boring and the bus driver was boring.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved that we could plug in and hear about San Francisco, but still able to visit, make comments with friends! Alcatraz tour was added bonus!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Early access. Only way to go! Be prepared to line up at ferry. That is the only negative. Enjoyed the self paced audio tour at Alcatraz. Sneaky Pete our trolley driver was fantastic. Great commentary, very entertaining and a bit cheeky!! Lunch from Boudins Bakery was delicious. Best sandwiches we have a had for while. Can recommend the vegetarian and the ham. Saw some interesting sights on trolley tour and it was great going across Golden Gate Bridge. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message