For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jerry L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Of all the things we did while visiting San Francisco, these two tours were our favorites! Alcatraz is a must.... the self guided headphone tour was very interesting, not boring at all. The sunset cruise was wonderful. Absolutely beautiful sunset, great photo opportunities as well as good food.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing . Our guide, Adolpho, was great. He was so informative and gave us time to see alot of San Francisco. We also enjoyed our Alcatraz tour, even though we didn and #39;t have tickets to get on the island due to tickets being sold out, we still enjoyed the boat ride around the bay. Awesome

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything from the bus tour to the alcatraz ferry trip was amazing. The guys were super friendly and helpful. I do highly recommend taking this package tour.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

rbutler3105

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic city tour dreamt tour guide and the Alcatraz tour must not be missed

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Jean-Claude D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nous avons passé une excellente journée. Le tour de San Francisco en cable car nous a permis d'avoir un aperçu très complet de la ville. Nous sommes passé sur le Golden Gate et les arrêts photo nous ont permis de prendre de beaux clichés de chaque côté du pont. La visite d'Alcatraz est très intéressante. Dés la sortie du bateau commencer la visite et récupérer l'audio guide. Les commentaires en français sont très intéressants. Le chauffeur très sympathique a commenté la visite tout le long du trajet mais lorsqu'on ne maitrise pas bien la langue c'est parfois un peu difficile.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz tour was ok
I was very impressed with our sunset cruise however I would recommend to a friend.
I may even book another one in the future

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I hope I spell her name correctly. Jamie and Betsy were AWESOME. I was worried my husband might be bored because of how long the tour was going to be however, we both had a great time. Jamie was very informative, helpful, enthusiastic, and accomodating. If anyone is considering this tour through Viator, you will not regret it. You get your money's worth and see a lot of San Francisco, besides Alcatraz, that you would normally not get to see on your own. We will be booking through Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dietrich-Dacian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Die City Tour ist leider nur vom Bus aus. Man sieht zwar viel, hat jedoch keine Möglichkeit tolle Bilder zu machen. Alcatraz ist sehr interessant, hier hat man die Zeit vor Ort zu seiner freien Verfügung und auch so lang man möchte. Jedoch werden Menschen Massen durchgeschoben.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Janelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We tried to book an Alcatraz twilight tour a month before we were to arrive in San Francisco, but it was booked so we looked for alternatives and came upon this tour and sunset cruise. It was fantastic and we got exactly what we wanted! I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Lynn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

delighted to get to alcatraz and bus tour was fab

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

beckiecallahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed both the food tour and Alcatraz! Great!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Kelsey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was very, very happy with this tour. Alcatraz was amazing! I am also surprised by how much I enjoyed the dungeon! Didn and #39;t know what to expect but it ended up being my favorite part! Thank you!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

michele.richard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide, Jamie, was so excited to be with us and it was obvious that she did so much research on San Francisco to entertain us! She even stopped and bought a cupcake to celebrate one of our traveler's birthday! It is much more personal than the Hop On/Hop Off bus tour and worth the additional cost...especially the trip to Alcatraz!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kerry-Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a great tour. Amazing to see Alcatraz and the audio tour is very good. Quite long but you don and #39;t realise it as the time goes quick.

The Segway tour was 10 out of 10. Josh the Segway guide was so good, very informative and professional, he made it fun. We went lots of different places, good fun

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Diane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is a must for anyone visiting San Francisco - don't leave it till you get there to book Alcatraz as you will probably miss out - these tickets go so fast when you are there, we booked this a few months before we travelled. The city tour was really interesting and it took you all over the various area's and up to twin peaks for some amazing ariel shots of the city. Would definitely recommend this tour to you. The bus company used is Greyline Tours - they were so helpful and nothing was any trouble. Very informative and friendly staff.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Rebecca was awesome. She is a chef by trade and was very informative about every vendor and food we tasted. All of the food offerings were exceptional and we were well fed. Skip breakfast as you will have plenty to eat on tour! Alcatraz was amazing as well. Expect the full tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Terry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My grandson loved it. 4 MLB parks, Pebble Beach, and Alcatraz in a week. Alcatraz and Giants Stadium were his favorites.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Shady Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic day, first boat to Alcatraz and some great inside information from our superb guide Arturo allowed us to be 4th in line for the tour. Lunch was great then the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was brilliant even with the cheesy music!!!! A must for anyone visiting SF.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Altouro was an amazing guide, friendly and informative, helped with a small trick when visiting Alcatraz quick access and missed the hoards.. Highly recommended tour with the added Altouro style view on what's it's like to live in San Fransisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz is a must see for all SF visitors. Be sure to book months early to get a tour. The Sunset Cruise is a great evening ending activity for a view of the bay area as it lights up. Very relaxing! The appetizer buffet is delicious and a great presentation by the crew. Also you can meet lots of new people to visit with and find out about them.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Jose N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went to SF for our sons 9th birthday. This tour was small, educational and fun for all. The antique trolley was a treat and some people thought they could jump o jump off like the old days however our informative and funny guide let them know we were on a private tour. He also helped everyone take photos and by following his advice on how to get into Alcatraz first, well we did. We really felt like we were in good hands and would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Matthew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The entire day was fun, well-organized and informative too. Eric, our guide, was knowledgeable, friendly and adapted the tour to our interests I have an interest in cemeteries so he took us out to the architectural gem and historic San Francisco Columbarium where we had a one-on-one tour with the caretake and guide Emmit Watson. Between watching fortune cookies being made in Chinatown, holding a piece of the Golden Gate cable and catching the ooh-ahhh views of Twin Peaks, we enjoyed the many facets and faces of this incredible city. We ended the day at Alcatraz where our only regret was having to head back to the hotel early for a function. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

mcstack35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent walking tour of San Francisco with Don! He ran the tour with only 4 of us, when I had been previously told they couldn't run it with less than 5 people. He even spent 3 1/2 hours walking us all around the city, when he was only required to do 2 hours! His commentary was great: very informative and a lot of fun, interesting facts. He also stopped at an Italian focaccia place, and bought some, and shared it with us! We also got some cable car tickets, and tickets to visit Alcatraz. Alcatraz was so fascinating, and a lot of fun! Overall, an excellent tour thanks to Don and Viator!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Only did the combo including the Wine tour to get the Alcatraz tickets... the Wine tour turned out to be the best part... host made it happen!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An early start at 7:15 in Union Square was the beginning of this great day. First to be in Alcatraz - the audio tour was extremely easy to follow. Back to the mainland by noon with a boxed lunch from Boudin Bakery, which was wonderful. Eating outside on benches overlooking the bay, then back on the cable car/bus to see the rest of San Francisco. Our guide, Arturo, was funny, personable, and informative. Another must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message