For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1299 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. The wine wines view and guide were excellent a very good day enjoyed by my party topped off by the fantastic experience of Alcatraz.

Doing what: Sonoma Valley Wine Tasting and Alcatraz Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Eric was a great tour guide. He was friendly, knowledgeable and paid much attention to the tour attendees. We were able to see and experience much of Sanfrancisco in a short period of time. He provided blankets and jackets during a cool morning and dropped us off just in time for the Alcatraz tour. Great tour and great fun.

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. San Francisco is a beautiful city. Golden Gate and Alcatraz were just super. Enjoyed staying at a Hotel in Chinatown, and riding the cable cars. Pier 39 is awesome.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Alcatraz trip was all we expected, however the San Francisco weather misty restricted the views that we had hoped for.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz was the best we had 1 1/2 hrs to see this on a tour and not enough time had to rush to meet the ferry for the rest of the tour. See it on your own. With no time limit. It was awesome. Cable car alright.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip to Alcatraz is a must do. The audio tour is really informative and makes the tour even more special. Can't recommend highly enough.

The sunset bay cruise was very enjoyable and the entertainment and buffet provided on board was a nice touch. This trip is worth doing.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Darren H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great trip, definitely worth visiting Alcatraz early as it gets very busy and you miss the important photo opportunities when more visitors arrive. Great fun in the cable car with Jeff, who was knowledgable and fun, definitely worthwhile, lunch provided was good quality and tasty, top marks

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Eggsabyte
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must do for San Fran! Jamie the tour guide is fantastic. I did the Big Red Bus/Alcatraz tour 4 years ago and this beat it by a long shot. Jamie took us places I've never seen before and this program served Boudin's lunch. We'd do it again in a heartbeat if we come back.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had a great time on both tours. Alcatraz was very interesting. The sunset sail was great! We made it our dinner the food was generous and they have a open bar for purchase. Great sites and fun evening!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't recommend these tours enough, Alcatraz tour is very well laid out and so interesting. The evening cruise which goes under the Bridge was good too, excellent food, the appetisers are actually a filling buffet, very good value.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. It absolutely hit all the high points of San Francisco and was fun and informative. Alcatraz was amazing. Our guide Arturo was top notch and made the tour a lot of fun. He was very knowledgeable about all pertaining to the beautiful city of San Francisco. Would definitely use viator again in the future!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of Alcatraz and Golden Gate bridge Piers. Tour guide funny jokes not so. Very well informed and helpful would recommend to
anyone

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing place. Quick trip across the bay to Alcatraz and if your so inclined a reasonably priced photo to purchase on your return.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour of San Francisco and Alcatraz. driver very knowledgable and was full of wit. Had a fab day. Seen all the main sites. Well worth the money. Defo recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great deal on awesome tours. Altogether it makes for a bit of a long day but you have plenty of time to explore Alcatraz before the sunset cruise. The cruise was great, good food, good music, and beautiful sights. I'd say the sunset cruise is more suited for a romantic outing than a family outing. Also, they don't describe much of what you are boating by so if you're looking for an informational tour I'd suggest something else. Bring a good camera!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both parts were great. Alcatraz so much more interesting than I personally expected. Audio guide was excellent. We were so lucky with the weather for the evening cruise

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was very informative and we saw all as advertised. Alcatraz was great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour from the audio tour of Alcatraz to the Cable Car bus sights, everything was perfect. Highly recommend this tour. Having mobility problems I was concernedI wouldn't be able to handle the tours but I sailed through with no problems!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Couldn't ask for more - all day at Alcatraz and all evening on the bay. The view was gorgeous. Definitely worth booking ahead since tickets are typically sold out the day of.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Knowledgeable guides, comfortable bus. Alcatraz was awesome. Highly recommend, great value for money

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Red line staff was great. They let us know exactly where to go and when to be there. Good sense of humour. The tour of Alcatraz was incredible. Really liked that we could do it on our own time. The sunset cruise was amazing. The dinner was fabulous and an unexpected bonus and the musicians were very talented and just the right volume. We also enjoyed her stories. Very good ambassador for the Bay Area. The staff on the boat were very friendly. Loved the white table cloths. Would do it again.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour of the city with excellent commentary of points of interest including the Golden Gate Bridge, wow! This was followed by a brilliant ferry trip to Alcatraz.
Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz experience was phenomenal and Madame Tussauds is one of the best yet as most of the figures really resemble the originals I felt George Clooney was a little off, others were great. The San Francisco Dungeon was the least interesting for me, but could provide a lot of fun for younger people...

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz, Madame Tussauds and San Francisco Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide had a lot to say about the city, and you could tell how much he loved San francisco. You got to see the city and Alcatraz up close in the cable car which was very neat. I would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip started with a fun boat ride to the Rock when we got there we immediately went to watch the short film on Alcatraz. This was very informative and beneficial in regards to the history and provided insight to the tour. The audio tour provided a clear and vivid description as to the life of the officers and convicts on the island. We spent a few hours on this part of the tour. Our sunset cruise was very nice, excellent live music, great food and a beautiful sunset!! This one was a highlight of our vacation. Thanks

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message