For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1382 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip, very efficient boarding and landing to Alcatraz and you could catch any ferry back
Sunset cruise was amazing- live singer 'marcus' was great. Food amazing shame we had eaten tea before we boarded. Thought it was just nibbles but buffet excellent and what we had very tasty. Drinks on board not over priced. Cruise amazing, went around Alcatraz good to see it from a different angel and in different light, went round angel island and into sausclido bay- lovely view of the harbour. Then sailed under the golden gate bridge at sunset- truly magical, staff very helpful and friendly always there to take pictures of you. Boat not over crowded- easy to get seats. Fab trip would recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Ferry Building food tour was actually a lot more fun than we expected! We got to taste a variety of foods and our guide was very informative. My only advice is to let your guide know about any food allergies right at the beginning. After the tour, our guide told us where to go to pick up our Alcatraz tickets. It was a bit of a walk, but it was nice and we had plenty of time. The Alcatraz will call booth was very simple and our tickets were ready to go right away. We waited in line for the ferry and went straight over to the island, which was excellent!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an awesome trip! Ran by Captain Charles who really knows his stuff. He took us around the bay. From under the Bay Bridge, around Treasure Island, into Mcovey Cove, and then by the wharfs and concluding out past the Golden Gate Bridge. Completely worth every penny!!! Then to top it off, we experienced Alcatraz! My wife, son, and I were completely satisfied with the tour. Would recommend to anyone!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alcatraz was amazing. I'd recommend getting there early so you can take your time on the rock and still have time to grab lunch. The bike tour was so unique and off the beaten path. I initially booked the tour because there were no tickets to Alcatraz but we ended up loving it. Our tour guide was very cool and clearly enjoyed showing us around. You do not need previous urban biking experience but I think it's better suited for those who are somewhat active. We biked for about 2.5 hours on mostly flat road but there are hilly sections. I'd definitely recommend this tour to anyone especially over those long bus tours.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are going to do just one tour while in SFO this is the one you should do. Our tour guide was Phil and he was very knowledgeable about the city, the tour was with a small number of people which made it very private and quaint.We did three tours while in SFO and this was by far the best one!! We actually got to see all of the hot spots in the city and then did Alcatraz at the end of the day. Well worth the money!!!

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The five stars are completely owed to Jamie, our guide for the day. Her enthusiasm for San Francisco and her fun job are highly contagious. She smiled all day long and kept us all highly entertained. We assumed because we had scheduled the early bird tour there would be a lot less people sharing the Alcatraz experience. All this does is get you on the first ferry - which is still OK. Just as another reviewer advised, when you get off the ferry skip the park ranger with the bullhorn. Make your way up the hills and start the audio tour. You'll have the place practically to yourself and will be able to wander the outside grounds or hop on an early ferry back to the wharf. Once everyone is back on the cable car and lunch eaten you'll spend the remainder of the afternoon driving around San Francisco. Highlights include the bridge, Presidio and Vista Point. You'll even get to see the underside of the bridge. Jamie is full of all kinds of interesting information and is happy to answer all your SF questions. Where to go, where not to go... All in all it was a great day. FYI - the light breakfast snack is a protein bar so you might want to get breakfast before heading out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alcatraz was a unique experience to ponder its history.
The Wine/Bike tour was friendly and well organized. The wineries were interesting to visit and the lunch was really nice too.

Doing what: Wine Country Bike Tour with Picnic Lunch plus Alcatraz Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great although expensive. We paid 250 Australian dollars while the people we met on the tour from the U.S. Had paid 150US. Even with the poor exchange rate this doesn't quite add up. We did not get on to the first ferry to Alcatraz but got the next one 25 minutes later. Arturo, our guide certainly made up for any timing delays with a really fabulous tour. We did feel quite special in the cable car and had lots of people approach during the day wanting to join us and/or take our photo. Would definitely recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Even though the tour got started over an hour late, because of another driver, the tour was Great! Greg was our guide and did not seem rushed since we got a late start. He was very informative and could answer any questions that were thrown at him! We were a group of five and I really had no interest in going to Alcatraz but the others wanted to go, so I went along with them. I am glad I did, it ended up being one of the highlights of the vacation. Book Early for Alcatraz, we know somebody else that wanted to go and couldn't get in.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable and funny tour guide. He made the tour a lot more fun and took us places that were not even on the tour. Alcatraz is a must for anyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sarah N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour as a great way to see what San Fransisco has to offer. That way you know what you want to go and see more of. We went on a tour of the city including the Golden Gate Bridge, twin peaks, lots of famous streets from the films, the fantastic park etc. The tour guide is very informative. After the tour we got the ferry to Alcatraz as part of the trip. Having been for the second time I enjoyed it just as much. It is such an interesting and fascinating place! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

absolutely loved both the tour of the city and the tour of Alcatraz. I found the city tour very informative and loved hearing all the history about the different parts of san fransisco. Alcatraz was of course my favorite and I am so glad they are using tour money to restore the Alcatraz facilities.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had such a great time on this trip! Our tour guide, Kathryn, was awesome! We had a fun bunch of co-travelers and the wine was excellent. My only suggestion would be a drop off closer to the pier we departed from for Alcatraz.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fascinating tour of Alcatraz, then wonderful tour of the city with Jeff, who was able to give us alternate picture spots of the GBB because of very heavy traffic. Jeff aka Billy Bob is very knowlegeable about the city history and answered all our questions with humor and grace. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Alcatraz is a must see and the sunset cruise was great! We were very lucky to have a beautiful clear day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience, the Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz were both incredible. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Like many, I bought this tour when Alcatraz sold out for our trip dates. I am so glad I did! What a great time! Even if you aren't much of a biker- don't fear. The route is along very even streets not those crazy hills SF is known for. The other people in our group came from all over the world- Paris, the UK, Australia- making for fun conversations. Our tour guide Oliver was so informative and friendly! And of course, you can't forget the BEER. Such yummy local examples! Well worth it!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Service and quality excellent on both the Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise couldn't have asked for more really, would recommend to anyone who is looking to take advantage of a dual package

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great. They picked us up at our hotel and getting on the bus was easy. The city tour was really great. We had Joe for our driver and he was very knowledgeable and made it really fun. The Alcatraz tour was really interesting. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely time on the food tour inside the Ferry Building. Definitely, would not have been exposed to all the the food spots on the tour had we not signed up for it. Alcatraz was a great tour as well! Really enjoyed myself!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is absolutely a fantastic way to spend a day in SF. By buying the trip package in advance you avoid the long lines to buy a ticket to Alcatraz, if they are available as trips sell out. I was there on 6/29, tickets to Alcataz were sold out until 8/3!! When you get to the Rock you get a headphone set and little radio so you can go through everything at your own pace. And the Sunset cruise is a two hour ride through SF Bay and into Sausalito and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Great photo ops along the way particularly the SF skyline at night all lit up. Nice finger food on the ship small sandwiches, salads, etc.
All in all this is a great value for the money and the best way to use your time as everything is done in advance. Great value for the price!!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing and so much fun!!!!

I wanted to go to Alcatraz but it was sold out! That's how I found this combination. I don't need to talk about Alcatraz because you already know it will be more than worth it.

I was very nervous about my Segway Tour but I had a blast. The team from City Segway Tours is very friendly, open, helpful and just so much fun. All the tour guides I have met try to make everybody feel comfortable and are concerned about your safety. So don't worry and just try it! You will definitely not regret it!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It started off a little shaky with some misunderstanding on when to get picked up but once we were underway it was a lot of fun. My 18 yo daugther which doesn't usually care about history, found it very interesting with the audio tour of Alcatraz. Riding on the cable car with our very knowledgable guide Jamie, was so much fun and very informative. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco, or even the locals who have never taken the time to explore their own city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did a reverse tour of Alcatraz in the AM and city tour in afternoon, the Bay Cruise was cancelled as it was July 4th no fault of operator. We did the self guided audio tour of Alcatraz, it was very informative and easy to follow. Our tour guide, Phil Siegel from was fantastic. As we were on a small bus, he was able to take us to places that the big tour buses cannot go. He is very knowledgeable and fun, the entire afternoon was a great pleasure, we learned a lot!

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message