For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1235 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Alcatraz has amazing history and the best views of San Francisco, had fun at Madame Tussauds and the Dungeon.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz, Madame Tussauds and San Francisco Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day saw everything we wanted and more. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and Alcatraz was unique a very eerie experience. Well worth the cost and San Francisco is a fantastic city!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We highly recommend this tour. Cameron was a fantastic tour guide and it is so much fun to see the city on the segways. The Alcatraz tour was also very good.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super tour, very, very interesting. THey even had a shuttle to take you to the top of Alcatraz if you had mobility problems, we were very impressed. Glad I wasn't an inmate though. Evening sunset cruise was very enjoyable, operated by very friendly people.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great to be early on Alcatraz Island. There were few people and this helped get a better idea of the atmosphere. The adapted-cable car tour is a good choice to make as a first general tour of the city. Go for it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

San Fran was the first stop on my tour of America and I was given the Jail and Sail tour as a birthday present.... 3 months of travelling later and I can still say it was the best part of my trip! There are no words for Alcatraz! Epic!! The evening cruise was fun and the buffet more than adequate!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Was a good half day spent. The tour of the Alcatraz is worth it, and the bay cruise at sunset was awesome, thanks to food, drinks and the most beautiful sunset I have seen in a long long time.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We LOVED this tour. We saw more than we expected. The tour guide was fun and informative! Great way to see Alcatraz and other aspects/attractions of the city!! You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful experience. Great to get out to Alcatraz early. Our driver/host was excellent and knew the city inside out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic Alcatraz was great with aidio headphones provided when walking about telling you everything you need to know not to be missed the sunset tour was also great with a good selection off food and drink on offer and the sights was spectacular the only negotiable would be it would be better on cruise if some one was telling you a bit about the sights but over all I would highly recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time on our tour to Alcatraz followed by the dinner tour of the harbor area. The boat operators were all pleasant and professional and made sure to thank us for coming. The dinner cruise had wonderful food and drink for dinner, and was wonderful to see the city skyline, the Bay Bridge, the Golden Gate Bridge although it was shrouded in fog and lovely Sausalito harbor. A wonderful day for my husband and I, and his daughter and husband!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting trip to Alcatraz followed by a highly informative tour of San Francisco with Greg, a very knowledgeable guide and driver

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, the coach driver was lovely and very knowledgeable, the coach was comfortable. We stopped at various places for photos and refreshments. I haven't done a coach tour for such a long time but this was great, it saves your feet doing the work and your see so much. Alcatraz was just amazing, guided tour with your own headset so you are free to wonder around. A strange place which makes you think, but well worth the visit. And booking tickets this way means you pick your date before you travel as its very busy and you can't just turn up and expect to go.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Moira B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience, we only had a day in SFO so wanted to see as much as possible, and this certainly fitted the bill. Our guide Arturo was great, very knowledgable and friendly. Alcatraz was awesome. Getting up early for the first ferry to Alcatraz was well worth while, we used the audio tour and had just the right amount of time there. Worth booking in advance, Arturo had our tickets ready, but people hoping to buy on the day were disappointed, as the next available tickets were for two days later. Unfortunately didn't get to drive across the Golden Gate bridge due to long traffic queues caused by a broken down vehicle but stopped at a place where you could get great view of the bridge. Lunch was very good, freshly made at the bakery. None of our group opted for the tour of the bakery, so just enjoyed our lunch boxes either on the vehicle or sat outside on benches. Very worthwhile tour, and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

AlcAtraz is so well organized with the amount of people going. Make sure you book we in advance of going otherwise you won't be able to get on the ferry. Definitely recommend the trip. Just came back from segwAy tour, good fun "we loved Brian" the tour guide, dress wArm as it wAs chilly.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour. Lots of fun riding on a cable car look a like vehicle. Our guide Art was fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, super energetic and accommodating. He offered to take pictures of us multiple times. He had fun music on the trip. Being from San Francisco he was full of great facts and definitely went out of his way to take us to some places I had not expected. The Alcatraz tour was awesome as expected. This is a tour no one should miss in San Francisco. Only complaint is we were supposed to be on 8:45 ferry first ones on island but ended up on 9:10. Not a huge deal though. The audio tour is a must it is narrated from inmates and officers views. You can really imagine what it was like. Only downside is that you really must move along and you can't explor too much beyond narrated tour because you have to catch ferry back. Boxed lunch from Boudin was delicious. The city part of the tour is limited by time so you won't see the city on this tour. But anywhere we passed on the way to Fisherman's wharf and Golden Gate Bridge, Art pointed things out and made every momet meaningful. Big bonuses he took us through the Presidio, a former military fort, now national park. He took us to Fort Point where we got the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge. He also took us the the Palace of Fine Arts. If you appreciate architecture you would love this. It's almost as if someone dropped a little piece of Rome in San Francisco. Massive columns and dome structure. Beautiful gardens, ponds and paths all around it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour of the City and Alcatraz.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent first day in San Francisco. Alcatraz was very interesting and we were able to go early and beat the crowds. The cable car ride was nice way to get introduced to the city and get a feel for it. We were able to see quite a bit and learn some history also. Arturo ,our guide, was a lot of fun and very informative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Sunset Bay Cruise was our favorite part! The vessel itself was nice and the staff were incredibly friendly. We got amazing views and pictures at sunset with the Golden Gate Bridge. The appetizers they provided were also pretty good: fruit, veggies, sandwiches nothing too spectacular but nice. I must say that their home-made brownies and chocolate chip cookies were out of this world! They asked if we wanted to take some to go, we kindly declined but just them asking was very nice. Alcatraz was informative and special. I would book a tour with Viator again

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The early start at Alcatraz was well worth it to beat the crowds. Jamie was a fabulous tour guide!! Travelling over the bridge and back in the converted cable car was great fun. Highly recommend to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Well worth the money. Alcatraz was very interesting and the city tour helped us get orientated for our next day on our own. Manny was a super driver and so knowledgeable on every aspect of San Francisco. Supper at the Nanking was delicious, Manny!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Short on time? This tour will give you a great overview so you can pick and choose what you want to explore more. It is an all day tour.. Very knowledgeable guide. Loved the Alcatraz tour. Be prepared to do some walking though.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this tour on our first day there so it gave us an overview so we could decided where we wanted to go and spend more time. Alcatraz was great!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic way to see the city and great fun too! Everyone seems to be looking at you with envy wishing they'd seen them and booked them. Motorists were very courteous which was re-assuring given the size difference between this and the other vehicles. As for Alcatraz, the audio tour is a must and quite an impressive place. must see!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was awesome, the tour guide was very informative and funny , I was elated to have taken the ferry to Alcatraz and it was very interesting to see and to have seen a real prisoner that was kept there signing a book he had written, I would recommend this trip. The day couldn't been better and great weather that day.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message