For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Alcatraz and City Segway Tour was the highlight of our trip to SF!! What a great time it was to ride those Segways around town!! Not only was it fun but super educational!! Our guide Lindley was awesome! She was so knowledgeable about the history of SF. My husband and I went with our three teens. Each and every one of us had a terrific time!!! The kids loved it! Believe me, it is tough to please a teen. We all highly recommend The City Segway Tour and of course Alcatraz!! Alcatraz is just an all round amazing and educational experience that can't be missed!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We purchased this tour because that was the only way to get tkts to alcatraz. Our tour guide Gaya was full of energy and so much fun. You need to be open minded if you decide to go on this tour, if you go along with the whole thing you will enjoy if not you will not! We enjoyed it!!!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Alcatraz the stand out. Brilliant audio tour

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip, first it was well organized and on time! Our guide Arturo was so engaging and seemed to love sharing SF with his visitors. Water and snacks as we boarded was a nice touch. Going on the first trip out to Alcatraz provided a tour that was not crowded. Lunch was great and special stops

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

JAMIE B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a fantastic way to see Alcatraz and San Francisco all in one day. Very informative thanks to our tour guide and driver Pete. An added bonus is that lunch was included. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very good tour to get on. Our guide was funny, informative, patient and very friendly. We were picked up on time and got to Alcatraz early in the morning before the crowds came. Touring the Alcatraz was amazing and the gift shop, one of the best I have encountered so far. Our tour of the San Francisco city was comprehensive and especially to view the Golden Bridge from the South side was breathtaking and we were away from the crowds that were congregated on the North Side of the bridge. That was a bonus. A very must do tour to see San Francisco in a classic tram which was great fun and a delightful experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic day out. All close by and easy to do. Don't miss Alcatraz. Very efficiently run tour. Wonderful place. The sunset cruise was also terrific. While it didn't advertise it, the food was enough for dinner. The musician Billy D made our night. He was great.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This experience was a day long one but well worth it. In the morning we toured the city in a Grayline Bus with Greg as the driver. He was a fountain of knowledge and made the tour both stimulating and interesting with his anecdotes and insights into all the various parts of the city. The highlight being the visit to a lookout point over the city which gave the tourists a good perspective of the size and scale of San Francisco.
In the afternoon we visited Alcatraz, taking the ferry which was about a 20 minute excursion in itself but we were delayed somewhat in departing because of the huge number of patrons lined up to get on the boat. Certainly brought home to us how popular this iconic prison on a lump of rock is for visitors across the world.
For me this was a compelling experience as the audio provided to each person is brilliant and gives one a very clear picture of what life was like for the prisoners at this establishment until its closure in 1963. The highlight was meeting Billy Baker a former inmate in the prison, aged 81, who was signing his book ''Alcatraz'' which he wrote on his release finally from prison in his late 70s. He was a very engaging fellow and was more than happy to talk about his experiences in this hell hole over a 6 year period…but what got me most was his admission that he spent the best years of his life in Alcatraz because of the close friendships he formed with a number of fellow prisoners, all of whom were career criminals, and the strong bonds of comradeship that developed as they schemed together for better conditions in the prison or in hatching plans to escape. For all visitors to San Fran this is a compulsory destination…it will certainly have an impact on you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The escape from Alcatraz was the next best thing than actually being on "the Rock." Great views of the city and excellent overview of the prison. The bus tour is a must. My kids got a real flavor for the city and learned quite a lot from the driver who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was tremendous fun, and quite exceptional, and combined with Alcatraz it was a tour that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! The helicopter ride was spectacular as the pilot went over Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge and other areas of San Francisco. There are no words no describe Alcatraz - we were just overjoyed to be able to experience a tour at this historic landmark. Also, the shuttle driver and pilot were professional and courteous. The entire package was well worth it and we would do it over in a heartbeat.

Doing what: San Francisco Helicopter and Alcatraz Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message