• USD ($)
  • English
For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1456 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable! The tour gave us the opportunity to relax and enjoy sights and not have to worry about driving. Definitely recommend this tour especially if it's your first time in San Francisco and you don't know where to begin. Book early especially if you're wanting to go to Alcatraz. Didn't know it sold it that quick. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tours were great! We wanted just Alcatraz, but they were sold out for 2 weeks, so we got this combo tour and enjoyed the Magic Bus just as much. The guide was lively and energetic and funny and the whole multimedia experience was a different and neat way to do a tour. The Magic Bus is a head turner. People on the street notice it and take pictures of it. You are transported back in time as the shades are drawn - the windows would open and there you were - right in the Haight while completely oblivious to the traffic outside. Don't know what I mean? Then take the tour! Alcatraz was Alcatraz. It's the biggest tourist draw in San Francisco. The audio tour is such a bonus - it's like your own private tour. You don't have to clamor around one dude or dudette who is trying to talk over other guides or other talkers in the group. We went in early July and it was FREEZING out on the cruise. Dress for cold and windy. Finally, I would like to add that that the Viatour staff had great customer service. They were a lot of help and friendly.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour started with a great cable car ride through some popular streets. This part of the tour went quickly and in no time, we had been briefed on our day and how it would unfold. We were dropped off a the Alcatraz pier. The line up to get on the ferry was long but amazingly it only took about 5 minutes to board people. It was very well organized. Because it was early morning, we took the ferry over to the island and it was foggy and set a wonderful tone to the boat ride there. Once there, the we were greeted and directed to different options for the prison tour. We did the dictated tour via headset. it was extraordinary. My 11 year old did not want to leave. The tour information was informative and very interesting for both young and old - not to mention fun. There are 2 stores to buy trinkets on the island. $118 later I had 3 T-shirts, a mug and a cell key. (to give you an example of the cost) I thought there would be more to chose from but there was still a good selection. However the selection at stores on pier 39 for example had much more to chose from - however maybe not as authentic. The only downfall in my opinion is that we had time to do the headset tour but not the other 2 options on the island. We did however, have the option to stay if we wanted to however that would have meant missing the other part of the tour once you arrived back on shore with the Cable car which was a tour of Boudin - a Sour Dough factory. I'm not sure what more the different tours offered, but it would have been nice to have additional time to participate in the other two sections of the prison. Nonetheless, it was fantastic. Once back on the Pier everything was well organized and flowed very smoothly back to the cable car where we started a tour of the sourdough factory. If you like bread you will like it. Even if bread isn't your thing, the meal provided, even though it's a makeshift lunchbox lunch is fantastic. The bread was divine!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

By far, the San Francisco city tour was one of the most comprehensive tours. The tour guide was engaging and extremely knowledgeable on what makes San Francisco an exciting, charming, and historic city. The bus ride was comfortable and the view was spectacular. As an aside, Alcatraz was intriguing and the ferry ride was relaxing. Bottom line: both attractions are highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great Tour to see the city. For Alcatraz wear your walking shoes, you will climb 32 stories, the audio tour was free and excellent. Anissa and Randy, Florida

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Sarah W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had to split our Alcatraz and Segway tours a day apart - but communication around this was excellent. Alcatraz audio tour was the best I've ever had - you can spend any amount of time you like there. Our Segway tour was cool - Johannes was a FANTASTIC guide - private is the way to go; so much fun

Doing what: Alcatraz and Private Segway Tour of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience our guide was so accommodating and always making sure we were comfortable! Was so relieved that I got Alcatraz tickets and was able to experience Alcatraz

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience as saw all San Francisco and Alcatraz we'll worth the visit.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alcatraz Tour was handled flawlessly. Great directions and representative with tickets was in position and easily found. .
City Segway Tour was quite remarkable. None of us had ever been on a Segway,however the basic introduction and operations instruction were conducted in a professional yet "fun" manner by our tour guide,Josh.He was able to dispel all our apprehensions and set us at ease with his instruction. Josh by the way was exceptional in all aspects. He presented the "details" of the places we visited in a highly professional yet entertaining manner. More like touring with an old friend. Josh was truly a "gem" .
Highly recommend this tour for a fun filled way to see some of San Francisco Bay 's marvelous views.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a wonderful visit -- glad we did it Alcatraz was awesome!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

There were 4 of us and a private tour guide. AG knew the area, was fun and cared about our safety. She took photos of us and was the most excellent guide! She completely went above and beyond! We saw great views if the Coit Tower, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge and even road down the Lombard brick hill! Very exciting!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Private Segway Tour of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommend this tour, particularly on your first one or two days during your visit to San Francisco. Our guide, Arturo was friendly, informative, and helpful. Taking the first Alcatraz tour of the day was a good decision; the lunch from the Boudin Bakery was very good; the city tour provided a good overview of San Francisco and would help set up the rest of your visit to this great city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver Alex greeted us warmly on a brisk morning, and invited us to be seated while the rest of our tour arrived. We loved the small but sweet touch of having San Francisco/California themed music playing on the bus. Alex answered our preliminary questions kindly, putting us at ease immediately. He gave an indication of how favored we'd be on this tour by offering a breakfast snack. We were then off to Alcatraz as Alex offered insights of Chinatown and other sites. He was very clear in giving us direction in where to go at the Alcatraz dock, as well as letting us know when to return and where we could find him. He left nothing to chance, shepherding us very well. He was at the appointed spot when we returned from The Rock, and took us to a tour of Boudin's Bakery, as well as served us lunch from there. Next we were off to the Palace of Fine Arts, where he gave us enough time to take pictures but also be faithful to the tour's schedule. He not only took pictures of us on the tour bus, but directed us in striking the best pose for the picture, which came out good enough to be next year's Christmas card. Next was Golden Gate Bridge, which was absolutely mobbed, given the glory of the day, but Alex navigated the bus around other drivers who would have tried our patience. It was then time to head back to the city, and Alex continued to show his wealth of knowledge regarding SF, pointing our areas of interest others, like the Big Bus Tour, had missed. But all that I have described pales in relation to the one gesture that we shall carry with us from this tour. The lunch he had procured for us was very hearty, too much for one diner. He told us that if we wished, we could leave what we had not eaten with him, and he would see that they would get to the area's homeless. We knew that he'd see to it. It was one of those essential displays that lets you know that there are saints among us for whom community is more important that commerce. Just wonderful! Many thanks!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From start to finish, our day was entertaining and well organized. We got to Alcatraz right away in the morning before huge groups got there. The lunch was incredible as well. It is a beautiful city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I highly recommend the market tour and Alcatraz package. We took our daughters ages 13 and 7 and they loved both parts of the trip. The market tour gives a great over view of what's on offer from local food producers and chefs (plus you get to sample their goodies). Well done!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message