• USD ($)
  • English
For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1474 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bus driver, Greg, was incredible! Very entertaining and knowledgeable about all of San Francisco. Saw all significant areas worth seeing and didn't have to worry about the headache of driving. Loved it and would highly recommend this tour. Alcatraz was amazing too!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The food tour at the Ferry Building was fantastic and Alcatraz is one of those bucket list type of things to do. highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, Arturo, was very friendly and knowledgeable. If it wasn't for this tour, my friend and I would not have been able to visit Alcatraz since all others were booked. It was a great trip!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Renee S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great personalized tour, small group saw all the highlights. Tell the guide what you want to see and he will do what he can. Guaranteed ticket to Alcatraz for the stuck in traffic boat. You only need 2 hrs at Alcatraz max so spend your day accordingly. Ferry ride to wharf is great for pics

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Matt the tour guide for the hop on hop off bus tour was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The Alcatraz tour with its audio tour was also a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything about this trip was wonderful! The driver was funny and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed Alcatraz and the city tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

top tour. recommend all vistors to san Francisco to vist Alcatraz and do the exclusive cable car sightseeing tour .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable! The tour gave us the opportunity to relax and enjoy sights and not have to worry about driving. Definitely recommend this tour especially if it's your first time in San Francisco and you don't know where to begin. Book early especially if you're wanting to go to Alcatraz. Didn't know it sold it that quick. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tours were great! We wanted just Alcatraz, but they were sold out for 2 weeks, so we got this combo tour and enjoyed the Magic Bus just as much. The guide was lively and energetic and funny and the whole multimedia experience was a different and neat way to do a tour. The Magic Bus is a head turner. People on the street notice it and take pictures of it. You are transported back in time as the shades are drawn - the windows would open and there you were - right in the Haight while completely oblivious to the traffic outside. Don't know what I mean? Then take the tour! Alcatraz was Alcatraz. It's the biggest tourist draw in San Francisco. The audio tour is such a bonus - it's like your own private tour. You don't have to clamor around one dude or dudette who is trying to talk over other guides or other talkers in the group. We went in early July and it was FREEZING out on the cruise. Dress for cold and windy. Finally, I would like to add that that the Viatour staff had great customer service. They were a lot of help and friendly.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour started with a great cable car ride through some popular streets. This part of the tour went quickly and in no time, we had been briefed on our day and how it would unfold. We were dropped off a the Alcatraz pier. The line up to get on the ferry was long but amazingly it only took about 5 minutes to board people. It was very well organized. Because it was early morning, we took the ferry over to the island and it was foggy and set a wonderful tone to the boat ride there. Once there, the we were greeted and directed to different options for the prison tour. We did the dictated tour via headset. it was extraordinary. My 11 year old did not want to leave. The tour information was informative and very interesting for both young and old - not to mention fun. There are 2 stores to buy trinkets on the island. $118 later I had 3 T-shirts, a mug and a cell key. (to give you an example of the cost) I thought there would be more to chose from but there was still a good selection. However the selection at stores on pier 39 for example had much more to chose from - however maybe not as authentic. The only downfall in my opinion is that we had time to do the headset tour but not the other 2 options on the island. We did however, have the option to stay if we wanted to however that would have meant missing the other part of the tour once you arrived back on shore with the Cable car which was a tour of Boudin - a Sour Dough factory. I'm not sure what more the different tours offered, but it would have been nice to have additional time to participate in the other two sections of the prison. Nonetheless, it was fantastic. Once back on the Pier everything was well organized and flowed very smoothly back to the cable car where we started a tour of the sourdough factory. If you like bread you will like it. Even if bread isn't your thing, the meal provided, even though it's a makeshift lunchbox lunch is fantastic. The bread was divine!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

By far, the San Francisco city tour was one of the most comprehensive tours. The tour guide was engaging and extremely knowledgeable on what makes San Francisco an exciting, charming, and historic city. The bus ride was comfortable and the view was spectacular. As an aside, Alcatraz was intriguing and the ferry ride was relaxing. Bottom line: both attractions are highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great Tour to see the city. For Alcatraz wear your walking shoes, you will climb 32 stories, the audio tour was free and excellent. Anissa and Randy, Florida

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Sarah W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had to split our Alcatraz and Segway tours a day apart - but communication around this was excellent. Alcatraz audio tour was the best I've ever had - you can spend any amount of time you like there. Our Segway tour was cool - Johannes was a FANTASTIC guide - private is the way to go; so much fun

Doing what: Alcatraz and Private Segway Tour of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience our guide was so accommodating and always making sure we were comfortable! Was so relieved that I got Alcatraz tickets and was able to experience Alcatraz

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience as saw all San Francisco and Alcatraz we'll worth the visit.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message