For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1459 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were glad to of booked with viator before we left home as no tickets for Alcatraz were available for at least 3 weeks!
We had no tour guide but the explanation for picking up tickets was clear and worked out well. The timed ferry worked out and is only a short journey, we had the audio tour which is really good and has people who were their explaining facts and what life was like.
The cruise was good and the Buffett was a lot more than we expected with sandwiches, salad,fruit and cookies a good selection. You got to see some good views as well as the bridge passing by and going under.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome! LOved Alcatraz. The tour of the city was great, too. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time tour guide was great as was lunch not enough time at Alcatraz but as it was a packed fun day didnt mind too much, would recommend anyone to take the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip to Alcatraz was OK. Boat over and back: convenient and regular trips mean you can stay as long as you like. The Seaplane fight was outstanding. I've been to San Francisco many times but this was a special way to see the City...and a great gift for my grandson.

Doing what: San Francisco Seaplane Flight and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant tour of Alcatraz so much history and the audio tour is so informative.
Sunset cruise of the Bay Area is stunning with the views of the Golden Gate Bridge phenomenal.
Would recommend these two tours as excellent , also the food on the sunset tour and bar facilities were A Grade.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the BIG BUS tour!!! Make sure you sit outside top if you can and wear plenty of layers. You will get cold at night if you're not properly dressed. Make sure you do the Night tour at least once but the day part as much as you can! Seriously...Anthony, one of our tour guides, was so much fun! Anthony, we'll forever think of you when we hear the songs you played from your little speaker thing. :- We also had a girl guide and I'm so sorry but I can't think of her name. We called her Carrie because she looks and acts so much like our friend, Carrie Tiller. Carrie is a riot She and Anthony made a lasting impression! As for Alcatraz...it was my 2nd time going..it is a must if you are traveling to SFO! I can't wait to come back!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the Ferry Building, a real insiders view on the best food offerings!
A bit expensive as a way to combine Alcatraz, but the island is so well done by the National Parks Service audio tour is excellent! that it's worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable experience, the wine tasting was excellent, very interesting and relaxed our guide was also top quality as she gave us interesting information along the drive to the wine tasting and Alcatraz is amazing. Totally lived up to my expectations!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unusual combination of Alcatraz and a bike ride to microbreweries, but it works and was really fun.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The SF Urban Adventure was fantastic! It included stops at many interesting locations throughout the city. Our guide, Eric, was extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. His unique vehicle allowed for easy access and great views. The Alcatraz Tour was amazing as well. I highly recommend this tour package.

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour, really giving us a good overview of San Francisco from a coach and a trip over the Golden Gate bridge. Our driver was fantastic, giving us a great commentary and we learned things about San Francisco and its residents that we would never have found out just from walking around. The Alcatraz tour was also really interesting and the audio tour was a must!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour package made our first trip to San Francisco together complete. There were many opportunities to take photos along the way and we found the Alcatraz tour very informative. The city tour was a great overview of things to see more in depth. I highly recommend this package tour to those who really want to get a flavor of San Francisco. It was a good value for the cost.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We didn't have much time to see San Fran but really wanted to see Alcatraz, this tour was amazing the tour guide Eric is great, very friendly and funny. Would definately recommend! Anyone worried about the Alcatraz tickets, you get a full Alcatraz ticket with this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I expected a little more on the highlights of San Francisco but the Alcatraz part was fabulous. Also would highly recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Alcatraz tour was fantastic, the San Francisco City tour, was boring and the bus driver was boring.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved that we could plug in and hear about San Francisco, but still able to visit, make comments with friends! Alcatraz tour was added bonus!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Early access. Only way to go! Be prepared to line up at ferry. That is the only negative. Enjoyed the self paced audio tour at Alcatraz. Sneaky Pete our trolley driver was fantastic. Great commentary, very entertaining and a bit cheeky!! Lunch from Boudins Bakery was delicious. Best sandwiches we have a had for while. Can recommend the vegetarian and the ham. Saw some interesting sights on trolley tour and it was great going across Golden Gate Bridge. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

They could not apply the Alcatraz tour as we had reserved successfully and they wanted to change the reservation to a Saturday instead of that Friday. We could NOT tour Alcatraz on their alternate date, therefore they gratefully contacted another vendor and got the tickets we needed from them and also saved us money in the long run.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We originally only booked this to get access to Alcatraz tickets but ended up thoroughly enjoying our Segway tour! Alcatraz was amazing, the audio tour was informative and we had a great time.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour! Started out getting our passes at Madame Tussauds and spent a good hour walking through, taking pictures and enjoying the famous wax figures. We then took a leisurely walk to Pier 33, where we boarded the Alcatraz tour boats. Alcatraz is definitely the big item in this three pack. The audio tour was excellent and the island is great. My kids loved this! After spending a couple hours on the island, we headed back to Pier 33, walked to Fishermans Wharf, ate a late lunch/early dinner and finished off with the San Fransciso Dungeon. This walk through play about the dark history of San Francisco was cool. My 13 and 11 year old loved it, but my 7 year old left pretty freaked out. Not for young kids at all. Overall, it was a busy day, but worth the money. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Best San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great day out Alcatraz was a experience would recommend

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Alcatraz was great fun and informative. The Segway tour was off the scale in perfection! Would recommend the Segway tours to anyone and everyone. My whole family two adults and two boys 12 and 14 had an absolute blast.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic tour of the City. Our tour guide was excellent, Aldolfo very knowledgeable and friendly. We would recommend this tour. Make sure you book early for the Alcatraz visit as it gets booked up very quickly.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I feel really lucky to have found this tour of San Francisco on a motorized cable car, and we had a brilliant guide. First stop is Alcatraz, followed by lunch, then the Golden Gate bridge etc. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend as a unique way to see the sights of San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time in Frisco, the city trip was superb and our driver/ guide for the city tour, Aaron, was very friendly and knowledgable first class. The trip to Alcatraz was great, the commentary made it come alive, also to learn the history of The Rock was amazing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message