For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1765 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Pamela B
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent tour. great time to visit alcatraz and see the rest of the city in a comfortable cable car

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing experience. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Alcatraz was awesome and I liked the way I could spend as much time there as I wanted. Highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting San Fran for the first time!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Such a good tour. Alcatraz was so interesting but take note it is a steep climb from the boat to the prison so use the bus if you need help. The city tour was also very interesting and our driver made it a very enjoyable day

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Alcatraz was amazing - so much to see and learn. San Fran tour was fantastic. Our driver/guide (Aaron) was friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable. Great guy! We loved San Fran and would definitely highly recommend using Viator. They're organised, professional and you can use with confidence.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant Tour, our guide (Arturo) was very helpful, knowledgable and articulate. he provided great information throughout the tour and always had something interesting to say and answer any questions.

Tour started on time with breakfast and photos at Union Square. down to Fishermans wharf for Alcatraz trip (which was brilliant) and then on from there.

great way to see the city in a short space of time, well managed and run.

Do take a jacket or jumper. it gets cold going across the bridge and in the shade (assuming its sunny) remember its a tourist area so you might have to queue for Alcatraz but they have you pre booked on the ferry so you get on the one you are supposed to, just might have to wait in line a bit.

try and be on time and make sure your back to the tram on time during the stops for everyones benefit. would recommend the tour to anyone, a really great way to get around the city with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Guide was great... After two days of taped hop on hop off voice, and the itinerary was quite different and much better. Alcatraz visit was good as expected..

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour, great way to see the bay and Alcatraz. the sail comes with a buffet which was far better than expected for the money. Definately recommend this tour, would have done it again if had the time, next visit.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Bill McFarland
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was very interesting. The tour driver did a good job explaining things along the route. The hour and a half at Alcatraz was a little short. Saw the entire prison building but missed a lot of other sites on island. Would still recommend the sightseeing tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time!! This trip was worthwhile. I highly recommend this tour! Our tour guide Arturo was very knowledgeable with the area and places that he took us to visit! We really enjoyed getting to know him :-). The early access to Alcatraz was great. We were able to avoid any type of crowds. The audio tour at Alcatraz was very interesting. The bakery was really neat and the sandwiches were delicious. Overall a fantastic time!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was aGREAT tour would recommend highly! My husband loved Alcatraz it was little scary to me, but still enjoyed it. The sunset was amazing. The boat is large and you can go inside if you get cold. For those who get sick easily on boat rides they even had tips to help with that. Great tour

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour - included touring the city of San Francisco, Alcatraz, Boudin Bakery (including an ample lunch), Palace of fine Arts, the presidio and the Golden Gate bridge from both sides.

The driver was very informative, friendly and accommodating and provided a fun tour.

I enjoyed the whole day and would highly recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing, there were so many extras that we didn't realise would happen. Firstly the trip to Alcatraz was incredible, definitely make sure you pick up the audio tour. It is so well thought out and not too long! Lunch was delicious too! Our guide was brilliant, so knowledgeable. Do it!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message