For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1736 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour! wish we had a little more time to explore the Alcatraz grounds but overall an awesome experience for the whole family. My 11 year old had such a great time learning about the Alcatraz history. She even bought a book at the gift shop and had it autographed by the author! The tour guide was fun and very considerate to everyone's needs. Lunch was yummy too!!! Would do it again without question!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lorna L
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best part of my entire trip. I've always been interested in Alcatraz. I recommend taking the self-guided audio tour. I wish we weren't on such a tight schedule. We were on the 10:30 Alcatraz trip and had to be back by 1:30. That seems like a lot of time, but you have to account for the ferry running a little late, fighting the crowds and the time it takes to get to and from the island. Muir Woods was fun. The park was smaller than I thought it would be. You get just enough time at Sausalito to sit down and eat. If you want to shop, better grab a bit on the go. Think you only get about 45 minutes. Wish there was more time for everything, but definitely a great trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We toured Alcatraz which was amazing. We had to pick up our tickets by 10AM even though we didn't leave until 1:10pm which was a bit inconvenient but at least we had tickets as they were sold out. We were too tired to do the Sunset Bay Cruise so I can't rate that portion of the tour...

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alcatraz tour was outstanding although be ready to climb!

The cruise was very relaxing, the food was quite good and the sightseeing was great.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Sunset Bay Cruise was just perfect. After a long 3 days of go, go , go it was nice to be able to relax and enjoy the sights of beautiful San Francisco. It was an unexpected surprised that the cruise also had a very talented young girl sing and play guitar to entertain the passengers. The food that was provided on the cruise was sandwiches, pasta, chips, fresh fruit, and cookies. Tasted good and there was an abundance. Alcatraz was ok, old prison, 13 story walk to the top, but it did have the best view of the city of San Francisco.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a very nice tour especially to start early with the first ferry to Alcatraz, but 1 hour and 40 minutes on this island is way to short; we had only time for the audio-tour in the prisoncomplex; furthermore the receipt on Boudins bakery was not clear; no one expected us there for any explanation and we had to find out ourselves what to do and see; the tour-guide on the cable-car was a very nice man and gave detailed explanation of what was to see all over the city

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with knowledgeable driver. Alcatraz was the highlight, a must see while in San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must do for anyone visiting San Francisco. The tour of Alcatraz is great such a privilege to be able to visit such a place with so much history. The views on the way over are just amazing.....great photo opportunity

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour that did not disappoint Trip to the Muir Woods was outstanding! Love the redwoods and could have stayed much longer. Sausalito was nice, but did not have much time to enjoy as we only had time to eat lunch before having to move on. Alcatraz tour was great, but you need to allow at least 2 hours to view the entire facility and grounds. Great first day in San Francisco!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alcatraz was fascinating, the tour was brilliant and you could do it at your own pace and leave the island when you needed. The stories about the prison are so interesting. I highly recommend watching the Clint Eastwood film before you go! Take a coat or warm jumper as it gets really chilly.
Sunset cruise was also very good, again a bit chilly. The weather really changed and the water gets a bit choppy near the bridge. Food was tasty and plentiful, so you don't need to buy any dinner. This was definitely great value for money and a great experience.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of the holiday.Amazing views from heli tour,staff very polite and very informative.
Alcatraz was fascinating and got to meet an Alcatraz inmate!
Strongly recommend to do it!

Doing what: San Francisco Helicopter and Alcatraz Tour

LedFlava
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Just outstanding. You've got to do the audio tour of Alcatraz because it adds another level of immersion. An amazing experience.
Then to have it followed up with a night cruise around the bay and seeing the sights and lights of San Francisco was great. If you're doing it in winter, wrap up warm.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was awesome! Getting to Alcatraz early was a good idea. The audio tour really made you feel like you were there, creepy. City tour was fun and informative, riding the cable car bus was a neat experience. We visited some really good vantage points of the bridge too. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of Alcatraz was excellent and very well-organized and comprehensive. We were also lucky to see the Wei Wei exhibition. I would definitely recommend this tour with the head phones to everyone. Very, very enjoyable. The tour of the city was well-done, however, I was disappointed that many of the areas no longer permit tour buses. This is understandable and not a reflection on the tour. Our guide did an excellent job of narrating our tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the tour was fantastic - Alcatraz was amazing !!! and the city tour was so enjoyable - the driver was so knowledgeable and made the trip come to life !! I would definatley recommend this tour the pick up and drop off to the hotel was great too

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message