For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip on the bus then Alcatraz.
Must mention our tour guide Marquis. He was the San Francisco rapper with great music! Made our tour hugely entertaining.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour really is amazing!! I did love San Francisco but this day was definitely my favourite. The Muir woods is a must see destination, right on par with Alcatraz itself. (you really do need to pre-book as you can wait a week for tickets there). Can't recommend enough! 10/10.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was just an amazing place to see so of course that part of the tour I expected to be good. I was happily surprised at how wonderful the night cruise was- the boat was comfortable and the"appetizers" we're a full meal and we're just excellent! Going under the Golden Gate Bridge at night is an experience that shouldn't be missed!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, Alcatraz was very good with audio tour included. Sunset cruise great way to see the bay and the bridges at night. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent way to see the city, and the tour to alcatraz was great too.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to see San Francisco and Alcatraz. The tour guide was friendly and informative. You get a tour of SF before going to see Alcatraz. You get plenty of time to see all of Alcatraz. After that you get lunch and a further tour of SF and the bay area. I suggest you book in advance otherwise you will miss out. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I book this trip over the internet; we were a little apprehensive, this was due to some of the review we had read, we were worried about nothing. We called the office the day prior to our trip for our pickup time and the gentleman at the tour company was very polite and helpful answering our quires clearly and confidently. On the day of our trip we were collected on time from the hotel as the tour company had explained and transported to the main office to collect our tickets and board our onward mode of transport. The coach driver was very informative of all the locations we visited and with out him the trip would not have been so enjoyable. I am glad we chose Viator for our Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito excursion. Thank’s Viator.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was great. Alex was a great driver and very informative. The tour lasts a full 8 hours so take some snacks as there was little time for lunch in Sausalito. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio was very real and informative. The ride to Muir Woods is lovely and Sausalito is a great little village on the water. Wished the tour had allowed for more time there. All in all a good trip. The ONLY negative is that the tour company seemed very disorganized. We were picked up right on time and taken to the tour Office to get our tickets. However, there we had to wait for over an hour for our bus to arrive so the tour to Alcatraz really didn't get started until 10:30. After Alcatraz, you have to go BACK to tour Office to get your ticket for Muir Woods and Sausalito for the continuation of your day tour. The tour comapny failed to tell us that we needed ANOTHER ticket for admission to Muir Woods. Finally, they realized that no one had gotten their Muir Woods tickets and that was the hold up with the bus!!!!! The bus assignments are very confusing. The ticket is for a certain color (example - Blue) and you have to walk around and ask the drivers are you blue? The drivers were confused too. Once we got our bus and a terrific driver, all was forgiven. It would be simple for the drivers to have a sign in there window as to their color or stand outside their bus with a color displayed. The tour was a 5 star but I'd give the tour company only 1 star. Sorry to the tour company.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was a highlight of holiday. We were lucky with the weather as it was a lovely sunny day. The driver was full of information on San Francisco and took us to many areas which we were able to explore at our leisure the following days.
Alcatraz - the whole place if full of atmosphere and the head-phone commentary was excellent and clear. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Rick W
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant. The pick-up point was a short walk from our hotel near Fisherman's Wharf. Our driver for the City tour was top class, pointing out all the places of interest, and he gave us good tips and advice on other things to do in the City. The trip to Alcatraz was well and the audio-guided prison tour was excellent. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a first time visitor to San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Alcatraz tour was very interesting and informative and we enjoyed every minute of it. The CellBlock tour was excellent and the guides were very helpful.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was the best tour of our holiday a luxury coach and a guide who was brilliant left at 9.15 in the morning seen [ I think everything I wanted to see] ocean beach, golden gate bridge, hippie community, pacific heights and last but not least Alcatraz It was the best tour of our holiday a beautiful city I would certainly go back. got back at around 5.30 time for a nice meal and a few drinks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was fantastic. Regardless of the crowds you are able to zone out using the audio tour and picture yourself as an inmate or a prison guard.
Cable Car sighseeing, our guide was knowledgable and friendly.
Had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, first ones on to Alcatraz without to many people, tour guide on motorised cable car was brilliant, light breakfast of cereal bar and soft drink and lunch consisted of a boudin bakery sandwich, Doritos and water, the crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge was fab with plenty of time given for taking wonderful photos. Very informative tour with plenty of humor, our tour guide was Jeff, nothing to much trouble, credit to the company but beware of his cheesey jokes lol, would book it again. Just one small thing would have preferred an extra 1/2-3/4 hour longer on the rock to be able to wonder around after the prison audio tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

FIRST CLASS. This was not my first choice of tours, however I would now highly recommend it to everyone! Alcatraz was just the most incredible place to walk around, book early, wear good walking shoes and allow several hours.
The Sunset Cruise was better than expected. It was 2 hours, great entertainment, food was delicious, fresh and plenty of it. We were also lucky enough to get great weather and a full moon!!
Do not miss this!!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message