For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1363 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour as a great way to see what San Fransisco has to offer. That way you know what you want to go and see more of. We went on a tour of the city including the Golden Gate Bridge, twin peaks, lots of famous streets from the films, the fantastic park etc. The tour guide is very informative. After the tour we got the ferry to Alcatraz as part of the trip. Having been for the second time I enjoyed it just as much. It is such an interesting and fascinating place! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

absolutely loved both the tour of the city and the tour of Alcatraz. I found the city tour very informative and loved hearing all the history about the different parts of san fransisco. Alcatraz was of course my favorite and I am so glad they are using tour money to restore the Alcatraz facilities.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had such a great time on this trip! Our tour guide, Kathryn, was awesome! We had a fun bunch of co-travelers and the wine was excellent. My only suggestion would be a drop off closer to the pier we departed from for Alcatraz.

Doing what: Sonoma Valley Wine Tasting and Alcatraz Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fascinating tour of Alcatraz, then wonderful tour of the city with Jeff, who was able to give us alternate picture spots of the GBB because of very heavy traffic. Jeff aka Billy Bob is very knowlegeable about the city history and answered all our questions with humor and grace. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Alcatraz is a must see and the sunset cruise was great! We were very lucky to have a beautiful clear day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience, the Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz were both incredible. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Like many, I bought this tour when Alcatraz sold out for our trip dates. I am so glad I did! What a great time! Even if you aren't much of a biker- don't fear. The route is along very even streets not those crazy hills SF is known for. The other people in our group came from all over the world- Paris, the UK, Australia- making for fun conversations. Our tour guide Oliver was so informative and friendly! And of course, you can't forget the BEER. Such yummy local examples! Well worth it!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Service and quality excellent on both the Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise couldn't have asked for more really, would recommend to anyone who is looking to take advantage of a dual package

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great. They picked us up at our hotel and getting on the bus was easy. The city tour was really great. We had Joe for our driver and he was very knowledgeable and made it really fun. The Alcatraz tour was really interesting. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely time on the food tour inside the Ferry Building. Definitely, would not have been exposed to all the the food spots on the tour had we not signed up for it. Alcatraz was a great tour as well! Really enjoyed myself!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is absolutely a fantastic way to spend a day in SF. By buying the trip package in advance you avoid the long lines to buy a ticket to Alcatraz, if they are available as trips sell out. I was there on 6/29, tickets to Alcataz were sold out until 8/3!! When you get to the Rock you get a headphone set and little radio so you can go through everything at your own pace. And the Sunset cruise is a two hour ride through SF Bay and into Sausalito and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Great photo ops along the way particularly the SF skyline at night all lit up. Nice finger food on the ship small sandwiches, salads, etc.
All in all this is a great value for the money and the best way to use your time as everything is done in advance. Great value for the price!!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing and so much fun!!!!

I wanted to go to Alcatraz but it was sold out! That's how I found this combination. I don't need to talk about Alcatraz because you already know it will be more than worth it.

I was very nervous about my Segway Tour but I had a blast. The team from City Segway Tours is very friendly, open, helpful and just so much fun. All the tour guides I have met try to make everybody feel comfortable and are concerned about your safety. So don't worry and just try it! You will definitely not regret it!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It started off a little shaky with some misunderstanding on when to get picked up but once we were underway it was a lot of fun. My 18 yo daugther which doesn't usually care about history, found it very interesting with the audio tour of Alcatraz. Riding on the cable car with our very knowledgable guide Jamie, was so much fun and very informative. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco, or even the locals who have never taken the time to explore their own city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did a reverse tour of Alcatraz in the AM and city tour in afternoon, the Bay Cruise was cancelled as it was July 4th no fault of operator. We did the self guided audio tour of Alcatraz, it was very informative and easy to follow. Our tour guide, Phil Siegel from was fantastic. As we were on a small bus, he was able to take us to places that the big tour buses cannot go. He is very knowledgeable and fun, the entire afternoon was a great pleasure, we learned a lot!

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Arron, was our tour guide and we had the BEST tour . I tried to get trip onto Alcatraz it did not work , yet by the end of the day we did not feel as though it mattered because it was made wonderful from the great tour guide Aaron. Thank you and we will be back.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our foodie guide Lisa was really passionate about the local food and what a great place to showcase at the Ferry Market place. Really enjoyable with a good selection of food to try.
The Alcatraz tour was fantastic. Highly recommended. The audio tour is very entertaining. a great combo.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Alcatraz well worth a visit. Tour guide David was really good, informative, amusing and friendly. Went to the best viewing areas and the cable car was great fun. Lunch from Boudins was huge and good quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We LOVED every bit of both Alcatraz and Segway tour!! We had never done either one and we had such a great time! My husband has a service dog and everyone loved him. Mike was the BEST tour guide ever on our segway tour and gave us so much history on San Francisco. I can't wait to take the kids on another segway tour in another city...it was a blast! Thanks Mike and thanks Viator for the great deal!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz was fascinating beautiful Island of history. Unfortunately we missed out on the Segway tour but had passed the group doing it the previous day and it looked amazing! Definately worth doing if visiting San francisco!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. The trolley was great fun. Alcatraz lived up to our expectations. The tour guide was great, helpful, friendly and knew everything about San Francisco, even the quirky stuff which we all enjoyed. He also offered throughout the day to take photos of all the couples and groups.
Lunch was really good. If your visiting San Francisco do yourself a favour and book this trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz was really interesting to see, I've been in California my whole life but this was my first time out there.At first the GoCars seemed a little silly but are really fun. Spend the extra $10 an hour for the 150cc, we had to push once and slow up hills.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great even more than expected. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio tour very informative. The sunset cruise was even better especially as the weather was so good- great views of Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was fun and informative. We're glad we took the early tour. Alcatraz is an awesome place to visit and we really liked our guide. He was knowledgeable and provided excellent photo ops!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. The wine wines view and guide were excellent a very good day enjoyed by my party topped off by the fantastic experience of Alcatraz.

Doing what: Sonoma Valley Wine Tasting and Alcatraz Combo Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message