• USD ($)
  • English
For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was well worth the money. The 3.5 hour coach tour was very enjoyable and seemed to fly by. We stopped at landmark locations and had plenty of time for photos. The driver of the coach was very informative and gave us useful information. The trip to Alcatraz was great too.....the ferry there and back was very punctual and the audio tour was good. This is the 2nd trip I have booked through Viator and I wouldn't hesitate to book with them again. Very happy customer :-)

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Arturo was well informed and very attentive, Alcatraz was excellent....maybe a little more time needed. The tour of the city was great got some awesome photos. The lunch from Boudin bakery was delicious.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We booked this tour for the next day after our arrival and it being an afternoon/evening tour this was good so that we knew where we were going. The Alcatraz visit was fascinating and gave plenty of time to take the audio tour and look around afterwards at your leisure. The second part of the tour meant getting to a different wharf to catch the bay cruise but there was plenty of time to get there after the boat from Alcatraz had docked (your return time is open but departure time specific so be careful you don't overstay!). The cruise out under the golden gate and back around Alcatraz down to AT and T park (home of the San Francisco Giants Baseball team for non-Americans or lovers of the game) was great and the food of decent quality and plentiful. The musician on board was entertaining depending on your musical preferences but not to everyone's taste. We returned to the pier with the boat travelling directly into the sun setting behind the Golden Gate Bridge and it luckily being a crystal clear day the images were magnificent. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fantastic, our driver Arran on the coach tour was brilliant, he was so knowledgeable about San Francisco and Alcatraz was a must to see.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour Alcatraz was fascinating and the cable car bus was great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The driver was very knowledgable and entertaining. Alcatraz was a must see.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Booked this experience on line months before our trip. The hop-on-hop-off service was very good especially as we were staying at fishermans wharf. The Alcatraz tour was everything we hoped it would be plus more.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Alcatraz was the highlight if my trip, made even more special meeting the last survivor ing prisoner who served time there. Could not fault the evening cruise under Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Bridge. Had a singer to entertain on top deck and a very lovely spread laid out, with lots left. WONDERFUL!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I wish I would have known I had to go to the tour company office to get a ticket for Alcatraz prior to be dropped off at Alcatraz and standing in line at the ticket office. It was a huge inconvenience and messed up my entire day.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour! I would recommend this tour to anyone who has never been to San Francisco. Our tour driver, Gary, was very professional and knowledgeable about the city. Alcatraz was facinating. There was even a former prisoner who spent 4 years at "The Rock" that penned a book about his experiences there and was signing his book.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really good day out. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour of SF, the boat ride and tour of Alcatraz .
Provided us with what we thought we had purchased.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A fantastic tour went all around San Francisco. Alcatraz was a must do. A great day that was well orgainisged

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Alcatraz and the Golden Gate bridge were two things I have always wanted to see. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!! We enjoyed this the most. Very informative. Would have been nice to have more time to explore the island. The bus driver on the city tour was full of knowledge. He had an answer for anything anyone asked.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was great- the bus took us out of the city eg Lands End and the Golden Gate Bridge as well as doing some parts of the city. The audio tour of Alcatraz merits it's description as 'the celebrated audio tour'.

Altogether we did 3 Viator tours and every guide was well informed, transfers arrived promptly and each tour contained enough time to see the high points without ever feeling rushed.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message