For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1669 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Just do it !!
You won't regret it - well organised and fun - a unique way to see the sights of SF.
The lunch is fresh and just enough with ample drinks supplied.
Breakfast is a muesli bar and water so for hungry morning risers have something before getting on the tour. Pick up is central and simple to find . Our guide Atouro loved his job and it reflected in his knowledge and general Atmosphere he imparted on the tour .
Early morning visit to Alcatraz was well worth it as we were first group there so no lines and no one in front of you at most of the audio stops . tip - don't bother with the volunteer guides talk at Alcatraz - you don't have to listen to them - go straight to audio tour !!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an awesome experience. Loved Alcatraz. The tour was better than everyone expected! The tour tram driver was amazing with a lot of local knowledge. Lunch was really yummy too!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an amazing experience at a very educational facility! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our day trip to Alcatraz and our night cruise under the bridges even if it was raining. It was still super romantic and beautiful!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an amazing experience at a very educational facility! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our day trip to Alcatraz and our night cruise under the bridges even if it was raining. It was still super romantic and beautiful!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

jewel f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour ! Highly recommend. The tour guide Altruro (sorry if spelt wrong) - He was great ! Very nice. It was a pleasant day. Went to two great vantage points to get good pics of the Golden Gate Bridge. The early morn access to Alcatraz was great..Was one of the first ppl up there :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

tracyo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

High praise for this tour! Our guide, Arturo, made the day. He was friendly, answered all questions and was able to provide personal insight to San Francisco and Alcatraz, and had great information. A great day was had.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jose Pablo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was amazing! Alcatraz was just spectacular, the wait time was very short to get on the boat that took us to the historical island. I was very happy to learn that we could do the full tour over two days. So we did Alcatraz on one day, then Madame Tussand and the Dungeon on the next day. The Dungeon was incredible! Sad that the indoor boat wasn't working but that did not take away from the performances. Madame Tussand was good, but smaller than the one in New York. Overall my husband and I had a great time!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had an excellent experience with Jamie leading the way as our guide. Had plenty of time on Alcatraz. Had our own personal trolley and stopped at Fort Point near the Golden Gate Bridge for some unbelievable photo opportunities. Awesome trips through Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, amongst other areas. People kept asking to join us only to be told sorry, this is a private tour :-. Jaime was extremely personable and basically offered to go anyplace we wanted. Highly recommend, well worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Driver Jeanie was amazing and provided a locals insight into San Franciso and made the day very enjoyable. Alcatraz was as expected very interesting. Well done

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kishan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome Alcatraz Trip. Bike tour was epic!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Rosemary A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was an amazing day. We had a very informative driver and then we finished off with the tour of Alcatraz. Our 13 year old daughter found Alcatraz very interesting and we enjoyed the recorded commentary. We definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing great tour worked perfectly for our trip .Loved Alcatraz. Well done !

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was perfect in every way from getting on the motorised cablecar to first onto Alcatraz to the golden gate bridge.PERFECT ,PERFECT, PERFECT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Anne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome bus driver Greg, very knowledgeable and great stories to tell about the history of the city. Beautiful weather, spectacular views of the city from Twin Peaks. Alcatraz...awesome, couldn't have had a better day touring.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing service from start to finish. Collected from hotel on time and delivered to pier for Alcatraz ferry and tour. Collected from pier and driven round for 4 hours or so by Adolfo. We were able to stop and take photos and comfort breaks on a regular basis. Adolfo was fantastic and made a great day even greater !

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Better than just a tour at Alcatraz, our guide Arturo gave us a wonderful glimpse of most of the attractions in San Francisco! We only had one day in San Francisco and I feel it was very well spent on this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Gina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great day out the guide was very informative of the area and the sights breathtaking very smooth ferry crossing to Alcatraz . Will be back again soon

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Lynne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

well organized, well worth it and a great commentary to Alcatraz and the golden Gate Tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! We left out of pier 33 and when we came back from Alcatraz we had plenty of time to stop at Fishermans Wharf before leaving for the sunset cruise.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

brian c United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Viator Rocks! Loved the tour, so much more than advertised and worth every penny.
Arturo was AWESOME. His knowledge of the city and stories really made this a great day.
Originally booked just to get to Alcatraz and was going to bail out early. I am so glad we stayed with the plan.
I hope if you are considering a tour of Frisco You will choose this one, A

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and incredible sites on this tour. Tickets to Alcatraz were sold out months in advance, yet we booked this tour 3 days before. We thought we would only do the Alcatraz part of the tour and split, however Julie our tour guide was so much fun we decided to stay for the entire day. We were really glad that we did and only have great memories from our tour. Plus, Julie was made it personal with in stories and jokes... we couldn't help but have fun. We would recommend this tour to anyone and would actually do it again!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Alison f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour only complaint feeder bus ok. Then had to hang about and confusion about what bus to get on. After Alcatraz chablis our tour guide was excellent very enjoyable x

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day at Alcatraz was sensational! As were have been there previously, we thought it would be great to go on the early access tour, we thought it my add to the eeriness of the rock. Unfortunately we didn't go over early we simply just took the first ferry that others were catching but we still had a great time. Whilst I was there I bought a book, Murderers on Alcatraz' written by former guard George Devincenzi, who happened to be there on the day and was kind enough to personally sign my book - I was thrilled. George is a lovely man and I felt very privileged to meet him. We left Alcatraz and got back on the cable car for more sightseeing which was also sensational as we saw many places we wouldn't if we had gone it alone. This was accompanied by lunch provided by Boudin Bakery - they have a sourdough to die for. Our ambassador was very knowledgeable and took us to places and told us the history, such as the Presidio, Coit Tower etc. It was a great day and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We caught clear skies and smooth seas on our trip to Alcatraz. You should make sure you take the audio tour. Our tour guide on the bike ride went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. We rode through 3 different areas stopping at 3 craft bars. This was a great way to see parts of the city and get some needed exercise.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Traceytrac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

highly recommend this tour our guide was fantastic very friendly and would not have seen half of the fantastic views or places without him and with the stop off points for photos etc is a bill idea, our trip out to Alcatraz on boat there and back as stunning and our morning there was all we thought it would be and more , thank you for making our day so memorable

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message