For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1699 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathryn Q
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great. We spent the morning at Alcatraz and the afternoon being guided around San Francisco in the Go Car. Great fun driving down Lombard Street! This tour was an excellent way to explore the City.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing place, Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz alone is worth the trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

City Tour bus driver was very knowledgeable. Alcatraz tour was very interesting.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour both of us thoroughly enjoyed both Alcatraz and Sightseeing tour. As a suggestion we believe that the time on Alcatraz should be an hour longer as this would allow more time to see everything. A number of people on our tour opted out of sightseeing tour to allow more time on Alcatraz. If time extended on Alcatraz there would still be enough time for sightseeing tour if trip over Golden Gate Bridge removed. We did not go over the Golden Gate Bridge as traffic way too bad.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. It was a great way to see Alcatraz and see San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent choice for Alcatraz - the ai Wei Wei exhibit there was a real bonus. The cable car driver / tour guide very knowledgable and the lunch excellent from Boudins Bakery

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our city tour was really nice. The guide filled the City tour with local stories as well as stories on well known landmarks. Alcatraz tour went off with no hitches and was really enjoyable for all of us.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz is so worth doing, really enjoyed it and you can go at your own pace.

We had great bus driver who was friendly and gave us so much information on San Francisco. Saw a so many sites around San Francisco, well worth doing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour.was amazing.I recommend to all that visit SFO .The early start is a good idea. Lunch was awesome lovely fresh bread rolls.The tour through the city was fantastic,going over the golden gate bridge was just amazing, a great day had by all.Alcatraz amazing stories told.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip on the bus then Alcatraz.
Must mention our tour guide Marquis. He was the San Francisco rapper with great music! Made our tour hugely entertaining.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour really is amazing!! I did love San Francisco but this day was definitely my favourite. The Muir woods is a must see destination, right on par with Alcatraz itself. (you really do need to pre-book as you can wait a week for tickets there). Can't recommend enough! 10/10.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was just an amazing place to see so of course that part of the tour I expected to be good. I was happily surprised at how wonderful the night cruise was- the boat was comfortable and the"appetizers" we're a full meal and we're just excellent! Going under the Golden Gate Bridge at night is an experience that shouldn't be missed!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, Alcatraz was very good with audio tour included. Sunset cruise great way to see the bay and the bridges at night. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent way to see the city, and the tour to alcatraz was great too.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to see San Francisco and Alcatraz. The tour guide was friendly and informative. You get a tour of SF before going to see Alcatraz. You get plenty of time to see all of Alcatraz. After that you get lunch and a further tour of SF and the bay area. I suggest you book in advance otherwise you will miss out. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message