For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very good tour. The guides on the hop on/hop off tour really know their stuff and Alcatraz is a must see! I would recommend it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour and the amazing "Gaia" was a fabulous tour guide. Bit of a mix-up with the Alcatraz tickets - our voucher said we should collect them on the bus, when in fact we missed the man outside the bus who wasn't obvious but who was handing them out, but they handled it very well and he met up with us quayside later on to give them to us. We laughed our way round the tour which was also very interesting with details that you don't get on the normal bus tours. All in all great value for money and a brilliant way to obtain Alcatraz tickets. Would totally recommend it - it was one of the highlights of our stay in San Francisco.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, thoroughly recommend for the first boat to Alcatraz and a good tour of SF. Not cheap, but worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole experenice with the company and a whole was excellent. The Alcatraz tour was great, I would recommend the tour. it was good to hop on and off, we were able to do a lot of things, and when we wanted to spend more time on the wharf and the tours would be over the tour guide gave us great instructions to get back to our hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour of Alcatraz and the Sunset Cruise. Would recommend both as things to do in San Francisco

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour of Alcatraz and the Sunset Cruise. Would recommend both as things to do in San Francisco

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved our Ferry Building tour guide, Carol, and enjoyed all of the tastings! The self guided tour of Alcatraz was also really interesting and well done. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a fabulous trip - took us on to Alcatraz early and then we had a wonderful time exploring the city. We had expected more from the bakery part of the tour, as this aspect did not quite live up to how it was represented. Tour guide was accommodating and fun, cable car was great and food provided was plentiful and tasty.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was by far my favourite tour Viator offered me!!
Seeing Alcatraz was an amazing experience and totally wish I had more time to spend wandering around Alcatraz!
Our tour guide, Arturo, was absolutely fantastic, had a lovely personality and went above and beyond my expectation! Thank you again Arturo!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the segways! Great way to see a "big city". Had a great guide, Ross. We liked the Segway tour so much that we did another Segway tour in San Diego. Enjoyed Alcatraz. The audio tour was perfect - allowed each of us to proceed at our own pace, as well as very clear, informative info. Ferry ride to and from went smooth. Recommend this highly!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alcatraz was one of the top highlights of our trip to San Francisco. Doing the audio tour is a must. The sunset bay cruise was also very nice. The live music was good and the food was more than I expected. My only complaint would be how the tickets were handled. Even though the Alcatraz tour is first and you have to leave from Pier 33, for some reason you have to pick up your Alcatraz tickets from Pier 41, which is where the sunset cruise leaves from. So you have to go to Pier 41 to get both sets of tickets, walk back to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz, then walk BACK to Pier 41 to do the sunset cruise. Since the first part of the tour leaves from Pier 33, it would make WAY more sense to give out both sets of tickets at Pier 33. Especially since the day we were there, we stopped at Pier 33 where they told us we had to go to Pier 41 to get our tickets. So we walked down to Pier 41, only to be told that the tickets were at Pier 33 and they were waiting for them to be delivered to Pier 41. We had to wait nearly an hour to get our tickets delivered from Pier 33 to Pier 41 so we could walk back to Pier 33, right where we started out.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bus driver, Greg, was incredible! Very entertaining and knowledgeable about all of San Francisco. Saw all significant areas worth seeing and didn't have to worry about the headache of driving. Loved it and would highly recommend this tour. Alcatraz was amazing too!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The food tour at the Ferry Building was fantastic and Alcatraz is one of those bucket list type of things to do. highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, Arturo, was very friendly and knowledgeable. If it wasn't for this tour, my friend and I would not have been able to visit Alcatraz since all others were booked. It was a great trip!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Renee S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great personalized tour, small group saw all the highlights. Tell the guide what you want to see and he will do what he can. Guaranteed ticket to Alcatraz for the stuck in traffic boat. You only need 2 hrs at Alcatraz max so spend your day accordingly. Ferry ride to wharf is great for pics

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message