For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both tours were excellent especially the Alcatraz one

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

stephfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

EXCELLENT!!!!!
Alcatraz was interesting and very well done! Lining up beforehand on way there was very well organized. On the return trip, it could've been better.
Joe, our driver from Pier 35 for the City tour was definitely un-smiley and maybe even a tad grumpy when he picked us up....BUT....he proved to be an excellent guide, giving us all sorts of info about the city! We had done the Wine Tour by then and so hearing some facts for the second time about San Fran was just great!!!
The tour went OUT of the city and to parts Land's End and Twin Peaks! we would otherwise never have seen.
Great tour with a great guide!!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Stuart M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an amazing time on this tour, the trip to Alcatraz was brilliant make sure you take a camera but the coach trip was a total surprise, it took us all over and was so interactive with the driver giving his 36 years of history in neary 4 hours of sightseeing. We highly recommended this package to anyone visiting San Fransisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Lakeocoult

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized. Our driver Chabli was great. We feel we learned much about San Francisco that day. Alcatraz was interesting and the audio tour was very good.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Dean T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great driver - Chabli. Was very knowledgeable of the history of San Francisco. Alcatraz was quite sobering.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Aarti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour as we got to not only take a ferry trip around Alcatraz but also a superb closed bus tour of Golden Gate and a few landmark places in SFO. Thanks Viator

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Lynda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arturo was our guy. Had lots of info to share. Enjoyed our trip to Alcatraz. Doing it first thing was the only way to see it. We had a perfect day for viewing the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jose R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This excursion was very good. The price was right and the tour guide was very good. The tour guide took us to all the landmarks and all the important places to see in San Francisco and to provided us with a lot of information. The tour to Alcatraz was also excellent.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Louise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful tour and our driver Aaron was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. He provided such great information and just wish we had longer to spend in San Francisco. The tour to Alcatraz was also a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

virginia_abdul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alcatraz: You have to go
Craft Brews and Bike Tour: It exceeded my expectations by far!!!
Virginia from Argentina

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Kamila C. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were so happy to book Alcatraz at the last minute. The tour was beautiful as the guide took us through the history of the gardens and gave us a behind-the-scene look at the functions of the prison, the people who lived there, and the prisoner impact. It was a lot more interesting than going through the cells. My husband is the cyclist so he went on the bike tour alone. He said that the guide was accommodating and the brewery's had good beers. He enjoyed the others on the tour as well. It was a small group which was nice. No one got out of control and the smaller group was more intimate. Overall a good time. We would definitely book with Viator again.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very special tour, perfect for families and anyone who loves artisanal and delicious food. The tour says it includes samples from the Ferry Building restaurants and stores but really it includes more than a meals-worth of samples. The tour guide was knowledgable and friendly. My kids said the tour was the highlight of our San Francisco trip, and I couldn't agree with them more. Perfect way to spend a morning before your trip to Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Clive P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really good day. Picked up from our hotel, superb Alcatraz tour then a fun tour of San Francisco. A great way to see the city.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the Alcatraz tour. Had a great time on the Segway Tour also.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

montanom00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! The audio tour of Alcatraz was the highlight for us. The city bus tour was also fun and exciting. The tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the personal recommendations on where to dine, shop or just hang out. I've been to SF several times but never got the chance to see some of the sites provided on this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the best tour experiences we've ever had. The Magic Bus was perfect for seeing San Francisco through the eyes of the 1960's. See Haight-Ashbury as it was and now is, envision the Fillmore with standing room only, imagine parks filled with rock and hippies. It was an excellent journey for those of us who remember the 60's. Combining this with Alcatraz made a full day, but with time to grab lunch at Pier 1. I highly recommend this combo tour for folks who appreciate the 1960's!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Aaron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great information about Alcatraz that I never knew, the audio walking tour was excellent, The trip to Muir Woods was so wonderful seeing the redwoods this should be on everyone list. Our bus driver Randy did an excellent job full of information and drove like a pro.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

OYDEN O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was great and very complete tour of the city. First the boat trip was fantastic the views from that perspective were amazing of the city, Alcatraz and both bridges was incredible. And then the city tour on bus was excellent. When you finish that city tour you feel like you know all san francisco. Highly higly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Leonardo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alcatraz is buy far the star on this combo. The audio tur its a must. The dungeon is fun , but not as scary as it cold be and Madame Tussaud its selfy paradise. I highly recommend it all !

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

grandma8206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour of San Francisco with a great guide. Missed seeing the crooked street on Lombard St. and the Coit Tower. Ended tour in Sausalito with time for lunch before our ferry ride back to Pier 39. While I really enjoyed Alcatraz, our tour of Alcatraz didn't leave the pier until 3:20. By the time we arrived I felt we really didn't have enough time and had to rush through to see everything because the last ferry left at 6:00.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Trevor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good trip, sandwich lunch
Good trip. not quite what I expected having to queue for the boat to Alcatraz. Alcatraz was wonderful. The guide our driver was excellent and went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable. Loved the visit to Fort Point lovely scenery and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jennifer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful 2 day hop on hop off! Great way to see all attractions! Staff at all locations were extremely helpful! Alcatraz was worth seeing. Less stress having everything booked for you ahead of time!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Mrs Theresa M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very worthwhile tour. Alcatraz is a must and the bus tour was excellent with a very knowledgeable gude, plenty of photo stops

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was fun and informative. Our guide Arturo was very informative during the tour around town and gave helpful information for the Alcatraz tour. Great and fun tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

On this tour we were able to see many beautiful sites in 1 day. Make sure to be careful when booking because we thought we were taking a tour inside of Alcatraz when in fact it was a boat ride around Alcatraz Island. It was disappointing because we could not buy a ticket on the spot since they sell out far in advance. We still enjoyed the boat ride nonetheless. The Giant redwoods in Muir Woods was very impressive and fun to walk around the monument. Sausalito is a lovely little town to end the day in. Our guide Randy was informative and humorous. Also, he stopped in a great scenic spot to take pics of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message