For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1753 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Bill McFarland
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was very interesting. The tour driver did a good job explaining things along the route. The hour and a half at Alcatraz was a little short. Saw the entire prison building but missed a lot of other sites on island. Would still recommend the sightseeing tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time!! This trip was worthwhile. I highly recommend this tour! Our tour guide Arturo was very knowledgeable with the area and places that he took us to visit! We really enjoyed getting to know him :-). The early access to Alcatraz was great. We were able to avoid any type of crowds. The audio tour at Alcatraz was very interesting. The bakery was really neat and the sandwiches were delicious. Overall a fantastic time!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was aGREAT tour would recommend highly! My husband loved Alcatraz it was little scary to me, but still enjoyed it. The sunset was amazing. The boat is large and you can go inside if you get cold. For those who get sick easily on boat rides they even had tips to help with that. Great tour

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour - included touring the city of San Francisco, Alcatraz, Boudin Bakery (including an ample lunch), Palace of fine Arts, the presidio and the Golden Gate bridge from both sides.

The driver was very informative, friendly and accommodating and provided a fun tour.

I enjoyed the whole day and would highly recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing, there were so many extras that we didn't realise would happen. Firstly the trip to Alcatraz was incredible, definitely make sure you pick up the audio tour. It is so well thought out and not too long! Lunch was delicious too! Our guide was brilliant, so knowledgeable. Do it!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the food tour very much! Have a much greater appreciation for the vendors and their business in the Ferry Building. Alcatraz is interesting, we were lucky to be able to visit when the Ai Weiwei exhibit was there.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Having never been to Alcatraz, I didn't know what to expect, but the tour was fantastic. The headsets with the pre-recorded self-tour was one of the best self-guided tours I've experienced. My teenage son loved it too. There was also an exhibit of political protest art - really apropos and interesting. It was a rainy and grim day - a perfect setting in which to see the prison. I felt as though we could have spent more time there, but the time we spent was adequate in seeing all the highlights. The ferry trip over and back had stunning landscapes of both San Francisco and Alcatraz. Great for photographers. The tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito was also wonderful. The driver of the bus who was also the tour guide, Kenneth, was very informative and told interesting stories, both historical and about contemporary life. He made it fun and interesting and I HIGHLY recommend him. The redwoods dwarfed us, and it was really meaningful to be able to walk among the giant trees and experience their beauty. Made me want to go to the Sequoia National Park on my next trip! It was still pouring by the time we got to Sausalito - a quaint little town on the coast; wished we could have had a drink or coffee outside, but instead we looked at the cute shops. GREAT DAY!!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour! wish we had a little more time to explore the Alcatraz grounds but overall an awesome experience for the whole family. My 11 year old had such a great time learning about the Alcatraz history. She even bought a book at the gift shop and had it autographed by the author! The tour guide was fun and very considerate to everyone's needs. Lunch was yummy too!!! Would do it again without question!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message