For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1797 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this tour on our first day there so it gave us an overview so we could decided where we wanted to go and spend more time. Alcatraz was great!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic way to see the city and great fun too! Everyone seems to be looking at you with envy wishing they'd seen them and booked them. Motorists were very courteous which was re-assuring given the size difference between this and the other vehicles. As for Alcatraz, the audio tour is a must and quite an impressive place. must see!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was awesome, the tour guide was very informative and funny , I was elated to have taken the ferry to Alcatraz and it was very interesting to see and to have seen a real prisoner that was kept there signing a book he had written, I would recommend this trip. The day couldn't been better and great weather that day.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alcatraz was great. The City Tour was also amazing. The guide we had was very informative and knew his stuff about the city. His microphone was a bit mumbly at times and I found it difficult to hear all that he was saying. Otherwise we were very impressed with the service.

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day! More time needed at Alcatraz.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The hop on hope off tour together with alcatraz tickers was excellent and we'll worth the money. The bus route takes you to all the interesting parts of the city while the guide explains the history and what to look out for. Would be next to impossible to do by yourself via public transporter car.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent experience a must do but ensure you book in plenty of time alcatraz is always booked sunset cruise excellent

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really good day. Alcatraz was amazing and really interesting. The city tour took us to all the must see spots and we're able to get off and take pictures

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tours of both Alcatraz and the City. City guide was very knowledgeable and gave both amusing and informative talks. Good job!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time; everything ran smoothly and our tour guide even added a few extra details like parking for lunch in front of a street vendor and taking a "short cut" through some of the more notable neighborhoods of San Francisco. Alcatraz was fascinating as was the Golden Gate Bridge and we had plenty of time to explore both. And, what can beat riding around San Francisco in your own private cable car??

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything ran on time, was easy to find and staff are helpful and friendly.
Alcatraz was a great experience and the sunset cruise was a great way to top off the day. Food and entertainment on board was excellent.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Alcatraz was very interesting. Sunset cruise was beautiful. Food was good.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alcatraz just so interesting and views across bay breath taking. Would like to have had more time there. City tour just great. So comprehensive and interesting.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very nice day tour. Lots of wonderful sights of San Francisco and Alcatraz was great. Would certainly recommend this tour for anyone looking for a tour of the city.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great! Our guide was knowledgable and very friendly! Only one complaint if you want to call it that was that we could have used a little more time at Alcatraz, but our tour guide informed us they were extending it in the near future. Bakery was amazing and the city sites were great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message