For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1543 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent!!! the driver bus was very polite and he knows what he is doing. he explained everything with details, and the ferry was great too. I am happy had taken this tour (Alcatraz and San Fracisco City Tour). :)

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just brilliant. The city tour was great and have us an idea of what we wanted to explore later. Alcatraz was so interesting. Being able to do it at our own pace with our individual headphones meant the place was eerily quiet and respectful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked this with mixed feeling but it was the only way we could get tickets to Alcatraz. However, it turned out to be thoroughly enjoyable. Our guide Dan was patient and understood what we were comfortable in doing.
Thankyou for providing such a memorable experience and the photos.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

To be honest, I only booked this tour because I wanted Alcatraz tickets and this was the only way I could procure them. That being said, I had a great time on the Magic Bus. My husband, my three kids (21, 19, and 14) and my daughter's 18 year old boyfriend loved it as well. As a matter of fact they said it was one of their favorite things that we did in San Francisco. It was fun and whimsical, without being too hokey. I would recommend this tour, particularly for those traveling with older teens and college-age kids.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We visited Alcatraz last Sunday and it was very interesting. We spent 31/2 hours wondering around, the free audio tour was useful, giving us a good understanding of the history and events which took place on 'the rock'.

We took the sunset Segway tour on Monday evening. I was initially very concerned about my ability to control the Segway, but after only a couple of minutes with Adam (our guide) I very soon gained in confidence and skill. We went around the 'Downtown' area finishing at Coit Tower, which offered spectacular views of the area and the Bay Bridge. An exciting, new method of sightseeing.

We would throughly recommend both visiting Alcatraz and completing a City Segway Tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Food was great - tour guide was very knowledgable - Alcatraz was outstanding.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Davin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Great way to guarantee Alcatraz tickets, ours were for 2:40 so got to do a full loop on the bus - wear warm clothes if you are on the top deck going over the Golden Gate. Alcatraz is a must do.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Bill
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day. Starting so early meant that the experience of Alcatraz was enhanced by being in the first group on the island and understanding the isolation and beauty of this this place. I had no idea of it's chequered history and will return to spend more time exploring. 2 hours was not enough time. The Cable Car was a great way to see the city and I really enjoyed not walking up and the hills. Lunch was tasty and the tour of the bakery was impressive. Again, found it fascinating to hear the story of this family and business. A fabulous day and still some time to go back and explore more thoroughly places that we passed. Good recommendations from the drive.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to see plenty of a fantastic city. Each tour guide has their own unique style which makes it fun. Alcatraz was an amazing piece of history to learn

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz tour was great, worth doing the audio trail which is in the price. The Segway was great didn't want to take part was just going to send hubby and my 13 year son. So glad I did it, Ross our guild was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour if first time visitors to San Francisco. Book well in advance as tours to Alcatraz are impossible to get if not booked.
Ferry ride to Alcatraz was very smooth and enjoyable and the prison island well worth visiting. No rushing about with your own time to see what you want ant return when you want.
The evening cruise was also very good taking in the Golden Gate and Bay bridges. Very nice small buffet snack was presented on their maiden voyage.
Get to both tours early as the queues get very long although there is plenty of room on both vessels.
Recommended.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We highly recommend this tour! I went with my boyfriend and we had a great tour guide taking us to see the sights, he was so informative, which really adds to the experience. We had enough time to get off the bus and see places, then back on to go elsewhere. Once the city tour is done, he takes you to Fisherman's Wharf to go to Alcatraz in plenty of time. Alcatraz was great, so interesting to see and you have an audio tape to take you through the prison at your own pace.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour of the whole city. Guide excellent. Would have liked to have spent more time on Alcatraz

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good combination of sites to see, tour length appropriate. We signed up (family of 6) mainly to get first of day boat to Alcatraz, but rest of tour was an added benefit. Lunch was included (sandwich/drink/chips/cookie) which was from local baker and was very good for a box lunch - better than expected. Bakery "tour" seemed boring, we just walked around the pier while we waited and enjoyed that. Guide was very good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The audio tour of Alcatraz was anything but boring! Our teenagers found it just as interesting as we did. Loved that an ex- inmate was signing his book in the store. The sunset cruise had more than enough food for all the passengers aboard. It included: turkey, roast beef and vegetable sandwiches, pasta salad, fruit, vegetables , pulled pork and more. You have the choice of staying inside or being out on deck where you'd definitely need a jacket. Loved both parts of jail and Sail!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message