For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1615 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see San Francisco. We would have liked maybe an extra 30 minutes on Alcatraz and maybe less time looking at "celebrity" houses at the end of the Tour but that is simply personal choice. The audio tour of Alcatraz is excellent and the driver of the trolley bus was really knowledgeable and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

lovely tour with alex our guide who was very information, funny and helpful! we set off early with our light breakfast of snack bars we had a tour round the city first through china town and financial district then onto alcatraz where we caught the 0845 trip to alcatraz which was amazing and eerie as well the audio tour is excellent and is narrated by ex prison guards and ex prisoners. alex gave us precise times and locations where he would pick us up, we then went to the bourdin sour dough factory which is just down the street and alex again said where he would be. the factory tour was good and we got our lunch from there in a box which i thought was great. i had a vegetarian sandwich on gorgeous brown bread which every imaginable salad ingredient i could think off it was lovely also a bag of crisps and water, plus cans of cokes, lilt etc. we then journeyed on around san fransisco and ended up back at union square after approx 6 hours. really enjoyed this trip as was similar to being on a trolley as we sat on the side outside and alex kept ringing his bell! i felt like a child again and appreciated the early visit to alcatraz as it was getting really busy as we left.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was almost my entire reason for visiting San Fran and it didnt disappoint. You really really need to book your trip to Alcatraz. We went in July 14 and there was only standby if you hadnt booked, people were queing for over three hours to get on a ferry. the next bookable tours were September! You get the trip across and the tour of Alcatraz then time for you to do your own thing before you come back. There is no set return time so you can spend as long as you like up to the last ferry. Our party was myself, hisband and two teenage girls and we all really liked it.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour the driver was very informative and very helpful it was good to go to Alcatraz early before it got too crowded it was a very enjoyable day and well worth the money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing and very exciting way to celebrate my birthday. Excellent service picking us up as planned, transfer to heliport and flight. Excellent pilot and commentary, and then movement onto the boat and tour of Alcatraz. Exceptional thankyou!

Doing what: San Francisco Helicopter and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What's not to like about this tour it sells it's self.
A lunchtime / afternoon trip to Alcatraz and back for our fantastic sunset bay cruise with wine and plentiful buffet.
Sailing under the Golden great bridge in the dark with the bridge lit up will be a great memory for ever
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very helpful and knowlegable guide. The tour on Alcatraz was excellent

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

City tour was wonderful with a driver who gave us a lot of detail about the area's we were in.
Alcatraz tour is a must see and we may repeat on our next visit.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour of San Francisco was really great with the bus driver adding to the fun. He had a great sense of humor and gave us lots of interesting information. All the stops worked out well with food and beverages and bathroom breaks. He advised us how to navigate Alcatraz in a timely manner.
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a most interesting area of our country.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was very thorough and enjoyable. I'm sure the driver makes a big difference on this trip. We were lucky enough to get Aaron. The Alcatraz tour and ferry ride were nice.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Alcatraz and City Segway Tour was the highlight of our trip to SF!! What a great time it was to ride those Segways around town!! Not only was it fun but super educational!! Our guide Lindley was awesome! She was so knowledgeable about the history of SF. My husband and I went with our three teens. Each and every one of us had a terrific time!!! The kids loved it! Believe me, it is tough to please a teen. We all highly recommend The City Segway Tour and of course Alcatraz!! Alcatraz is just an all round amazing and educational experience that can't be missed!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We purchased this tour because that was the only way to get tkts to alcatraz. Our tour guide Gaya was full of energy and so much fun. You need to be open minded if you decide to go on this tour, if you go along with the whole thing you will enjoy if not you will not! We enjoyed it!!!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Alcatraz the stand out. Brilliant audio tour

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip, first it was well organized and on time! Our guide Arturo was so engaging and seemed to love sharing SF with his visitors. Water and snacks as we boarded was a nice touch. Going on the first trip out to Alcatraz provided a tour that was not crowded. Lunch was great and special stops

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message