For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1603 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What's not to like about this tour it sells it's self.
A lunchtime / afternoon trip to Alcatraz and back for our fantastic sunset bay cruise with wine and plentiful buffet.
Sailing under the Golden great bridge in the dark with the bridge lit up will be a great memory for ever
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very helpful and knowlegable guide. The tour on Alcatraz was excellent

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

City tour was wonderful with a driver who gave us a lot of detail about the area's we were in.
Alcatraz tour is a must see and we may repeat on our next visit.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour of San Francisco was really great with the bus driver adding to the fun. He had a great sense of humor and gave us lots of interesting information. All the stops worked out well with food and beverages and bathroom breaks. He advised us how to navigate Alcatraz in a timely manner.
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a most interesting area of our country.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was very thorough and enjoyable. I'm sure the driver makes a big difference on this trip. We were lucky enough to get Aaron. The Alcatraz tour and ferry ride were nice.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Alcatraz and City Segway Tour was the highlight of our trip to SF!! What a great time it was to ride those Segways around town!! Not only was it fun but super educational!! Our guide Lindley was awesome! She was so knowledgeable about the history of SF. My husband and I went with our three teens. Each and every one of us had a terrific time!!! The kids loved it! Believe me, it is tough to please a teen. We all highly recommend The City Segway Tour and of course Alcatraz!! Alcatraz is just an all round amazing and educational experience that can't be missed!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We purchased this tour because that was the only way to get tkts to alcatraz. Our tour guide Gaya was full of energy and so much fun. You need to be open minded if you decide to go on this tour, if you go along with the whole thing you will enjoy if not you will not! We enjoyed it!!!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Alcatraz the stand out. Brilliant audio tour

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip, first it was well organized and on time! Our guide Arturo was so engaging and seemed to love sharing SF with his visitors. Water and snacks as we boarded was a nice touch. Going on the first trip out to Alcatraz provided a tour that was not crowded. Lunch was great and special stops

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

JAMIE B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a fantastic way to see Alcatraz and San Francisco all in one day. Very informative thanks to our tour guide and driver Pete. An added bonus is that lunch was included. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very good tour to get on. Our guide was funny, informative, patient and very friendly. We were picked up on time and got to Alcatraz early in the morning before the crowds came. Touring the Alcatraz was amazing and the gift shop, one of the best I have encountered so far. Our tour of the San Francisco city was comprehensive and especially to view the Golden Bridge from the South side was breathtaking and we were away from the crowds that were congregated on the North Side of the bridge. That was a bonus. A very must do tour to see San Francisco in a classic tram which was great fun and a delightful experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic day out. All close by and easy to do. Don't miss Alcatraz. Very efficiently run tour. Wonderful place. The sunset cruise was also terrific. While it didn't advertise it, the food was enough for dinner. The musician Billy D made our night. He was great.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message