For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given the innocent chills and the guilty cold sweats. Over the years it's been the nation's first military prison, then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary, now a National Park. No wonder that first step you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a good deal. It was great to be able to have the combo. There were people we met also on Vacation who were not able to make it to Alcatraz because they couldn't get tickets in time. This combo allowed me to get my tickets and pick my time with only a week before my vacation.

The City Segway Tour was awesome. Our tour guide and coach Ross was great at explaining how to operate the Segway and gave great information on the Tour. I am a bit of a History nerd and loved the details he shared about the city. The Sunset tour was a great choice. We were in an intimate group with a few others which made it fun. We were able to make some new friends. Ross answered all of our questions, was entertaining and kept us safe. We were able to make a great day of our visit to the Italian district a few days later based on recommendations he made.

Having the Segway tour the next day was also a plus. Time management on vacation is needed but it was great not to be rushed on our visit to Alcatraz.

Thank you so much for the great time. I will be recommending this activity to everyone I meet and plan to take Segway tours in the future at my other vacation destinations.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was awesome!!! It is not going to be for everyone but we had a blast. I initially bought the tickets to get the Alcatraz tickets as they were unavailable elsewhere but I am so glad I did. The tour is not your average tour and the tour guide made it very entertaining! There was one bad attitude on the bus but she handled it very professionally and made sure it did not affect our tour. :) Thanks again!!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was everything we wanted it to be. The driver/tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable. He even took pictures of everyone at the different stops! This was a great way to see a lot of the sights and still have the afternoon and evening left. Alcatraz was amazing. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Stephen M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent - was expecting an open top tour bus but was glad it was an air conditioned coach. We got to see the Golden Gate Bridge, cross over it and other spectacular sights in San Francisco and out tour guide was excellent. The boat trip that circled Alcatraz was also well organised and we got to see it from every angle, although the trips to view inside were fully booked. The weather was particularly good that weekend apparently not always the case for San Francisco in June, normally very foggy and you cannot see the bridge or Alcatraz when this happens, which we did not realize before we went! Overall a great day.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good city tour with Brian. He was very friendly, funny and knowledgable. Went out of his way to get us the best photo opportunity for Golden Gate Bridge. Dropped us off for our Alcatraz trip which again was excellant. Would definately recommend this tour to others. We had booked 2 trips with Viator this year and the whole experience on both from easy booking and exciting tours was great.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Arturo ?? Picked us up promptly in the little trolley car.... He was knowledgeable and informative!!
The trip to Alcatraz was fabulous and so good to be on the first boat... The bakery tour was interesting and yummy yummy lunch provided.
The Golden Gate Bridge was also a highlight.. Recommend +++

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our Viator tour was the highlight of our stay in San Fran. Alcatraz was more than I expected and our bus tour guide was fantastic, he knew so much about the city. He made the tour interesting.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alcatraz and Muir Woods was one of our highlights, would definitely recommend this tour for everyone, although Sausalito was relatively uninteresting.

Spent 3 hours at Alcatraz, seemed like 30 minutes, if you only do one tour, take this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My husband and myself found the tour very helpful to plan where we wanted to spend more time! We certainly enjoyed the Alcatraz tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was really interesting; our tour guide on the bus part was great. Just disappointed that there were so many other people on the ferry to Alcatraz; I thought it was a more limited tour. But it was still really good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent day run by a very professional tour company. The hotel pick up was on time and The Alcatraz tour was amazing and with plenty of time to complete the audio tour and get back to the boat to get the coach for the next part of the tour. Muir woods was something really special with the giant redwoods a real treat. We had a lovely weather day and the driver was great. Loads of information and kept everyone involved as the day went on.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Cannot remember our guides name, but was full of information and knowledge of San Fran. and the trip to Alcatraz was amazing, you get the chills walking in there. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message