• USD ($)
  • English
In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour started with a great cable car ride through some popular streets. This part of the tour went quickly and in no time, we had been briefed on our day and how it would unfold. We were dropped off a the Alcatraz pier. The line up to get on the ferry was long but amazingly it only took about 5 minutes to board people. It was very well organized. Because it was early morning, we took the ferry over to the island and it was foggy and set a wonderful tone to the boat ride there. Once there, the we were greeted and directed to different options for the prison tour. We did the dictated tour via headset. it was extraordinary. My 11 year old did not want to leave. The tour information was informative and very interesting for both young and old - not to mention fun. There are 2 stores to buy trinkets on the island. $118 later I had 3 T-shirts, a mug and a cell key. (to give you an example of the cost) I thought there would be more to chose from but there was still a good selection. However the selection at stores on pier 39 for example had much more to chose from - however maybe not as authentic. The only downfall in my opinion is that we had time to do the headset tour but not the other 2 options on the island. We did however, have the option to stay if we wanted to however that would have meant missing the other part of the tour once you arrived back on shore with the Cable car which was a tour of Boudin - a Sour Dough factory. I'm not sure what more the different tours offered, but it would have been nice to have additional time to participate in the other two sections of the prison. Nonetheless, it was fantastic. Once back on the Pier everything was well organized and flowed very smoothly back to the cable car where we started a tour of the sourdough factory. If you like bread you will like it. Even if bread isn't your thing, the meal provided, even though it's a makeshift lunchbox lunch is fantastic. The bread was divine!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great experience and a wonderful way to see San Francisco. Our driver was very welcoming and soon settled us in for the morning's activities. As we chose to sit on the open part of the cable car it was rather cold but blankets were provided - much appreciated as the trip across the bridge was very windy! I would have liked a little more time at Alcatraz and would have missed out the bakery as the time there was so short. That said lunch was very tasty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Sightseeing was good but very cramped in cable car bus. So cramped it was impossible to eat food provided.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was such a great tour! Pete was our driver for the cable car and he was a riot and very knowledgeable. We highly recommend this tour and this company.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Nice trip. The cable car was a novelty and good fun. The guide was very helpful and having a pleasant personality. Good job well done,

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour. Alcatraz was great. The tour guide was very friendly and informative. The lunch provided was great. The cable car is a fun way to get around.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour Alcatraz was fascinating and the cable car bus was great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We met the motorized cable car in Union Square at 7.30am. The driver, Arturo, met us with blankets (was chilly), cereal bars, drinks and a big smile! We were driven to the ferry port to catch the 8.45am ferry to Alcatraz. Would highly recommend being early as not very busy and certainly not rushed. The headsets provided at the beginning of the tour added real atmosphere (as narrated by ex cons, guards and sound effects!) and you can go at your own pace as you can pause, rewind the narration. Look for the welcome guard as you disembark the ferry - he was a real character! We caught the 11am ferry back and was met by Arturo. Next was the Bodin Sour Dough factory for a brief tour of the famous factory and luch was provided by them - fab sandwich, crisps and cookie. We then did a tour of San Francisco, narrated all the way by Arturo, taking in lots of sights including crossing the Golden Gate bridge twice with lots of opportunities to take photos (and toilet breaks). Arturo was very keen to ensure we had lots of photos and often taking them for us just to be sure! This trip was great value for money and made even better by our driver and guide. Well done Viator another successful trip with you. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day on the Cable car, Alcatraz and then touring around San Francisco. Great lunch from Boudin Bakery included...highly recommend as a must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great value for money! Especially on Transportation free local buses and cable cars which get you all over San Francisco apart from Golden Gate Bridge we booked a hop on and hop off bus for this which was great!!!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Americans know how to do it up right! Alcatraz tour fabulous and the cable car guide was great. Very funny, talkative, engaging and knowledgable. Highly recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Alcatraz was excellent, the cable car tour was excellent, and "Al" our guide was superbe

Great trip, super value

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour to do Alcatraz without too many crowds early in the morning. Cable Car sightseeing was great also. We got to see many different parts of San Francisco that we didn't see on our earlier city tour. Good to have a local guide who knew the area and went out of his way to take photos of us both at all the photo stops. Thank you for a job well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Worth every penny you spend on CityPASS. We took bus to Golden Gate Bridge. The transit was seamless. Riding cable cars was unlimited. San Francisco residents were very friendly and would help you find your bus route in great effort. You can't get lost. The residents help local tourist business running in a positive way, very impressive. I will definitely use CityPASS again.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message