• USD ($)
  • English
In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour Alcatraz was fascinating and the cable car bus was great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great value for money! Especially on Transportation free local buses and cable cars which get you all over San Francisco apart from Golden Gate Bridge we booked a hop on and hop off bus for this which was great!!!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Americans know how to do it up right! Alcatraz tour fabulous and the cable car guide was great. Very funny, talkative, engaging and knowledgable. Highly recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Alcatraz was excellent, the cable car tour was excellent, and "Al" our guide was superbe

Great trip, super value

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour to do Alcatraz without too many crowds early in the morning. Cable Car sightseeing was great also. We got to see many different parts of San Francisco that we didn't see on our earlier city tour. Good to have a local guide who knew the area and went out of his way to take photos of us both at all the photo stops. Thank you for a job well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Worth every penny you spend on CityPASS. We took bus to Golden Gate Bridge. The transit was seamless. Riding cable cars was unlimited. San Francisco residents were very friendly and would help you find your bus route in great effort. You can't get lost. The residents help local tourist business running in a positive way, very impressive. I will definitely use CityPASS again.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

As far as transportation, this booklet was well worth it. If you missed your bus, cable car, or street car there is always another one arriving right after. Aquariums and observatories didn't go quite as expected. Too many children running around. Thought it would be for the twenty something crowd. Guess not. Good for bringing children along though. Definitely enjoyed the Blue and Gold Fleet Cruise. Caught the sunset ride and it was AMAZING! Wish there were different activities offered.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

citypass is good and convenience. Waiting too long time for riding Cable Car, it is very crowded. I think some problems with Muni's depatching system.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We used the cable cars plus the trolleys numerous times. Took the Blue/Gold boat tour tour.Didn't have time to visit the museums.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an absolute must as it not only covers all the Cables Cars, Street Cars (F Line) and Muni Buses, it has entrance fees to the major attractions included. For example, the Aquarium and 3D show at Pier 39, the Bay Cruise and California Academy of Science Museum in Golden Gate Park to name but a few. It is extremely good value as each Cable Car ride will cost you $6 without the pass, even if you just get off at the next stop. So by having the pass you don't have to worry about carrying lots of Dollars to just get around. Be sure to go to the Cable Car Museum as you will see how the Cable Cars work. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the tour and it was worth it to get to Alcatraz so early in the day. The Cable Car sightseeing tour --even the Boudin bakery was fun, too. And we loved the view we got of the Golden Gate Bridge. Traffic was horrible but the driver gave us an alternative stop and it was an excellent vantage point for photos. We all liked the lunch, too. I have used Viator for tours all over the world and rarely have had a bad experience. We would defnitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour, the time spent at each venue was near perfect. The cable car bus was fantastic to see the city from, very comfortable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The city pass was great, we were able to see so many places in and around town. We used all sorts of buses and cable cars, for a full week, and it was well worth the price. Joe and Maria Ramo

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The Alcatraz trip was great - good amount of time to do and see everything. The wannabe cable car was a great way to look around with a trip over the Golden Gate bridge and looking around. The only disappointment was the bakery tour was pre-booked and the trip organisers didn't know so we missed out on that. The lunch was great and the commentary excellent. Really enjoyed it and a good overview of San Fran. cheers Robbie, Dianne and Rebecca - Mangawhai NZ Sep 2013

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

wonderful trip! very nice tour with great guide lovely lunch and nice blankets for the early sf morning chill. after our bay cruise the cable car was 40 min late from picking us up which was the only rocking point of our trip. loved every minute of the nice tour with my family

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message