In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The audio tour at Alcatraz is very well done. I was glad that I chose the early tour because it was not as crowded and so it was easier to see the exhibits and follow the tour. The rest of the cable car tour was very well done as well. It included more sites than I expected. The tour guide was very good at helping to keep the tour a relaxed and enjoyable experience. I highly recommend this tour - especially at this beginning of your visit to San Francisco - to get familiar with the city and all it has to offer.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a fabulous trip - took us on to Alcatraz early and then we had a wonderful time exploring the city. We had expected more from the bakery part of the tour, as this aspect did not quite live up to how it was represented. Tour guide was accommodating and fun, cable car was great and food provided was plentiful and tasty.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was excellent. Cable car was the way to go- great tour guide I would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money includes rides on cable cars, buses and subways

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Bill
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day. Starting so early meant that the experience of Alcatraz was enhanced by being in the first group on the island and understanding the isolation and beauty of this this place. I had no idea of it's chequered history and will return to spend more time exploring. 2 hours was not enough time. The Cable Car was a great way to see the city and I really enjoyed not walking up and the hills. Lunch was tasty and the tour of the bakery was impressive. Again, found it fascinating to hear the story of this family and business. A fabulous day and still some time to go back and explore more thoroughly places that we passed. Good recommendations from the drive.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great tour. Such an experience being taken around SFC in a wannabe cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Andrea and i thought the Alcatraz and cable car sightseeing tour was a great way to get a over view of San francisco .The tour guide new his stuff which made for a enjoyable and rewarding tour must see tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We booked this tour in August. All in all I think it is a very good deal. The walking tour was informative and the guide friendly. The tour lasted almost 3 hours. We purchased the Alcatraz option which is a must see. Truly a unique experience. Others who reviewed this tour mentioned the cable car tickets were only good on the date received. That was not the case for us. Our tickets were good anytime. One thing to note is that the cable cars are a tourist attraction so the lines at the beginning/end of the routes are very long (hour plus) and the cars are packed so you may wait a long time at a mid-point stop for a car with open spots. I would suggest taking the car after 7pm when the lines die down. Also the tickets are for a one way trip with no transfers so pay attention to where you get on or you might get a very short ride.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Pete was a great guide. However, the tour was not what I expected. The terms "early access" and "exclusive Cable Car" are misleading. "Early Access" makes it sound like you are getting something extra. As it was, we got barely enough time to complete the audio tour before we had to go back (about an hour). It was really sad because it happened to be the 80th anniversary of the opening of the prison and they had a variety of people there including former prisoners! It would have been nice to be able to meet them. "Exclusive Cable Car" sounds like you are riding on a real cable car. It's just a tour bus made to look like a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

top tour. recommend all vistors to san Francisco to vist Alcatraz and do the exclusive cable car sightseeing tour .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour started with a great cable car ride through some popular streets. This part of the tour went quickly and in no time, we had been briefed on our day and how it would unfold. We were dropped off a the Alcatraz pier. The line up to get on the ferry was long but amazingly it only took about 5 minutes to board people. It was very well organized. Because it was early morning, we took the ferry over to the island and it was foggy and set a wonderful tone to the boat ride there. Once there, the we were greeted and directed to different options for the prison tour. We did the dictated tour via headset. it was extraordinary. My 11 year old did not want to leave. The tour information was informative and very interesting for both young and old - not to mention fun. There are 2 stores to buy trinkets on the island. $118 later I had 3 T-shirts, a mug and a cell key. (to give you an example of the cost) I thought there would be more to chose from but there was still a good selection. However the selection at stores on pier 39 for example had much more to chose from - however maybe not as authentic. The only downfall in my opinion is that we had time to do the headset tour but not the other 2 options on the island. We did however, have the option to stay if we wanted to however that would have meant missing the other part of the tour once you arrived back on shore with the Cable car which was a tour of Boudin - a Sour Dough factory. I'm not sure what more the different tours offered, but it would have been nice to have additional time to participate in the other two sections of the prison. Nonetheless, it was fantastic. Once back on the Pier everything was well organized and flowed very smoothly back to the cable car where we started a tour of the sourdough factory. If you like bread you will like it. Even if bread isn't your thing, the meal provided, even though it's a makeshift lunchbox lunch is fantastic. The bread was divine!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great experience and a wonderful way to see San Francisco. Our driver was very welcoming and soon settled us in for the morning's activities. As we chose to sit on the open part of the cable car it was rather cold but blankets were provided - much appreciated as the trip across the bridge was very windy! I would have liked a little more time at Alcatraz and would have missed out the bakery as the time there was so short. That said lunch was very tasty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We missed our walking tour but did th cable car ride which my grandchildren totally enjoyed.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Sightseeing was good but very cramped in cable car bus. So cramped it was impossible to eat food provided.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message