In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection!!! Our tour guide Jamie was amicable and knowledgeable from start to finish. We enjoyed riding in the converted cable car, which provided us with ample opportunities for picture taking and fresh air. We arrived at Alcatraz around 8:30 am after having to pick up our tickets to get in line for our 9:00 ferry ride. The ferry ride was approx. 10-15 minutes in length. Tip: bring a light jacket, bc it was misting a bit didn't last much longer than 20 min. After arriving on the island we were greeted with a brief no longer than 5 minute welcome speech overview of what to expect. The tour is self guided which we appreciated as we could explore at our own pace. There was a substantial amount of walking included up hill toward the beginning. After arriving back at pier 33, we were driven to Boudin Bakery where our lunch was brought to us and enjoyed on the trolley car yummy sandwich, chips, and soda/water options. After we did some site seeing, followed by a trip over the golden gate bridge. Not every tour is taken over the bridge, and is dependent upon traffic. Lastly, we visited fort point, for me picture opportunities. We highly recommend this tour! If you only have time for one tour, this is a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I feel really lucky to have found this tour of San Francisco on a motorized cable car, and we had a brilliant guide. First stop is Alcatraz, followed by lunch, then the Golden Gate bridge etc. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend as a unique way to see the sights of San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

enjoyed the cable car ride- guide Jamie took us everywhere and an extra I believe as traffic permitted.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Not VIP trip, expected to go to Alcatraz without the crowds, not the case, you are lined up to go on the first boat with everyone else. Didn't get the look behind the scenes at the Boudin Bakery as the tour suggested so quite disappointed. However Alcatraz was superb, watch out for the slamming of the doors, the tour on the cable car was also very nice, wrap up in case its a bit cold.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Firstly the pick up time on the voucher you emailed was incorrect and we found ourselves rushing about in San Francisco trying to find your office as no one picked up the phone.Fortunately we located the office and the time was confirmed for us. In addition to this the fact that we needed photographic ID to catch the boat to Alcatraz was not clear enough on the documentation and we had to take a taxi back to the hotel to collect passports thus missing the early boat.....which was the whole point of the exercise. We were able to get around Alcatraz and back to the boat to meet the cable car but it was all in all a very stressful day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Alcatraz well worth a visit. Tour guide David was really good, informative, amusing and friendly. Went to the best viewing areas and the cable car was great fun. Lunch from Boudins was huge and good quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was the best way to get around the city. We went from trolley, cable car, bus and subway all week. Never had to wait long for any transportation. I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It started off a little shaky with some misunderstanding on when to get picked up but once we were underway it was a lot of fun. My 18 yo daugther which doesn't usually care about history, found it very interesting with the audio tour of Alcatraz. Riding on the cable car with our very knowledgable guide Jamie, was so much fun and very informative. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco, or even the locals who have never taken the time to explore their own city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mamcitamaples
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sightseeing tour was very enjoyable! We loved our guide Jaimie. She knew all of the sights that tourist would be interested in visiting. Especially loved riding around in a cable car, even with the wet weather. And don't miss the view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the fort.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great although expensive. We paid 250 Australian dollars while the people we met on the tour from the U.S. Had paid 150US. Even with the poor exchange rate this doesn't quite add up. We did not get on to the first ferry to Alcatraz but got the next one 25 minutes later. Arturo, our guide certainly made up for any timing delays with a really fabulous tour. We did feel quite special in the cable car and had lots of people approach during the day wanting to join us and/or take our photo. Would definitely recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The five stars are completely owed to Jamie, our guide for the day. Her enthusiasm for San Francisco and her fun job are highly contagious. She smiled all day long and kept us all highly entertained. We assumed because we had scheduled the early bird tour there would be a lot less people sharing the Alcatraz experience. All this does is get you on the first ferry - which is still OK. Just as another reviewer advised, when you get off the ferry skip the park ranger with the bullhorn. Make your way up the hills and start the audio tour. You'll have the place practically to yourself and will be able to wander the outside grounds or hop on an early ferry back to the wharf. Once everyone is back on the cable car and lunch eaten you'll spend the remainder of the afternoon driving around San Francisco. Highlights include the bridge, Presidio and Vista Point. You'll even get to see the underside of the bridge. Jamie is full of all kinds of interesting information and is happy to answer all your SF questions. Where to go, where not to go... All in all it was a great day. FYI - the light breakfast snack is a protein bar so you might want to get breakfast before heading out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Motorized Cable Car was fun. Breakfast was granola bars. Lunch was a huge sandwich with chips - delicious. Guide needed a microphone at times, but he was friendly and funny. Alcatraz had so many things to see and do. The other sites we drove by were very interesting. Tour ended at 2:30 PM, but I was tired by 1:30 PM because we had to meet at Union Square by 7:15 AM.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip to Alcatraz was amazing. The cable car portion of the tour was just alright. Overall, I though this was quite expensive for what you get.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

there was no early access to alcatraz, dont understand WHY THEY CALLED IT VIP.
THE CABLE CAR TOUR DIDNT GO OVER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE, THE TOUR JUST STAYED ON THE WEST SIDE OF TOWN, FEEL LIKE WE GOT RIPPED OFF

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was really interesting and exciting. By the way, san Francisco gets really windy so you'll want to bring a jacket. Alzatraz is a must see obviously but the most fun part is probably riding in the converted cable car over the bridge (complete with exciting music).

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a brilliant tour guide who even took us below the Golden Gate Bridge and we had blankets to keep us warm the cable car and lunch was worth every penny we paid would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour from the audio tour of Alcatraz to the Cable Car bus sights, everything was perfect. Highly recommend this tour. Having mobility problems I was concernedI wouldn't be able to handle the tours but I sailed through with no problems!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour great audio free on Alkatraz
Ferry ride fantastic
Cable car tour great lots of different areas to see
Good early start fresh drinks and
Great Boudain lunch
Package worth it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The tour of the city hit most of the highlights and Jamie was very friendly and knowledgeable. The trip over to Alcatraz was smooth and allowed for 2 hours on the island, which was plenty of time. The cable car was small so our group was smaller and more intimate.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide had a lot to say about the city, and you could tell how much he loved San francisco. You got to see the city and Alcatraz up close in the cable car which was very neat. I would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz was the best we had 1 1/2 hrs to see this on a tour and not enough time had to rush to meet the ferry for the rest of the tour. See it on your own. With no time limit. It was awesome. Cable car alright.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Darren H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great trip, definitely worth visiting Alcatraz early as it gets very busy and you miss the important photo opportunities when more visitors arrive. Great fun in the cable car with Jeff, who was knowledgable and fun, definitely worthwhile, lunch provided was good quality and tasty, top marks

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend to take this tour! Awesome experience of seeing San Francisco by a cable car!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message