In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Alcatraz well worth a visit. Tour guide David was really good, informative, amusing and friendly. Went to the best viewing areas and the cable car was great fun. Lunch from Boudins was huge and good quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was the best way to get around the city. We went from trolley, cable car, bus and subway all week. Never had to wait long for any transportation. I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It started off a little shaky with some misunderstanding on when to get picked up but once we were underway it was a lot of fun. My 18 yo daugther which doesn't usually care about history, found it very interesting with the audio tour of Alcatraz. Riding on the cable car with our very knowledgable guide Jamie, was so much fun and very informative. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco, or even the locals who have never taken the time to explore their own city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mamcitamaples
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sightseeing tour was very enjoyable! We loved our guide Jaimie. She knew all of the sights that tourist would be interested in visiting. Especially loved riding around in a cable car, even with the wet weather. And don't miss the view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the fort.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great although expensive. We paid 250 Australian dollars while the people we met on the tour from the U.S. Had paid 150US. Even with the poor exchange rate this doesn't quite add up. We did not get on to the first ferry to Alcatraz but got the next one 25 minutes later. Arturo, our guide certainly made up for any timing delays with a really fabulous tour. We did feel quite special in the cable car and had lots of people approach during the day wanting to join us and/or take our photo. Would definitely recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip to Alcatraz was amazing. The cable car portion of the tour was just alright. Overall, I though this was quite expensive for what you get.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

there was no early access to alcatraz, dont understand WHY THEY CALLED IT VIP.
THE CABLE CAR TOUR DIDNT GO OVER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE, THE TOUR JUST STAYED ON THE WEST SIDE OF TOWN, FEEL LIKE WE GOT RIPPED OFF

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was really interesting and exciting. By the way, san Francisco gets really windy so you'll want to bring a jacket. Alzatraz is a must see obviously but the most fun part is probably riding in the converted cable car over the bridge (complete with exciting music).

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a brilliant tour guide who even took us below the Golden Gate Bridge and we had blankets to keep us warm the cable car and lunch was worth every penny we paid would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour from the audio tour of Alcatraz to the Cable Car bus sights, everything was perfect. Highly recommend this tour. Having mobility problems I was concernedI wouldn't be able to handle the tours but I sailed through with no problems!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour great audio free on Alkatraz
Ferry ride fantastic
Cable car tour great lots of different areas to see
Good early start fresh drinks and
Great Boudain lunch
Package worth it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The tour of the city hit most of the highlights and Jamie was very friendly and knowledgeable. The trip over to Alcatraz was smooth and allowed for 2 hours on the island, which was plenty of time. The cable car was small so our group was smaller and more intimate.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide had a lot to say about the city, and you could tell how much he loved San francisco. You got to see the city and Alcatraz up close in the cable car which was very neat. I would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alcatraz was the best we had 1 1/2 hrs to see this on a tour and not enough time had to rush to meet the ferry for the rest of the tour. See it on your own. With no time limit. It was awesome. Cable car alright.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Darren H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great trip, definitely worth visiting Alcatraz early as it gets very busy and you miss the important photo opportunities when more visitors arrive. Great fun in the cable car with Jeff, who was knowledgable and fun, definitely worthwhile, lunch provided was good quality and tasty, top marks

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend to take this tour! Awesome experience of seeing San Francisco by a cable car!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fortunately we booked this three months before we went as it sells out fast.
An early start, but a great tour on a unique old converted cable car.
We got to see all over San Francisco including lots of photo opportunities at the Golden Gate bridge and over two hours at Alcatraz.
Well worth the money considering all that we did.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My son and I had a great time. The tour guides were great, and we really enjoyed the authentic cable car- that was an extra bonus! It was nice to have someone else drive while we sat back and enjoyed the view!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great to be early on Alcatraz Island. There were few people and this helped get a better idea of the atmosphere. The adapted-cable car tour is a good choice to make as a first general tour of the city. Go for it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour! We were only in San Fran for a day so this tour was perfect for us.
Suggestions would be to either get the tour guides to pick us up from our hotel, and maybe to introduce a sneaky wine with lunch it was so cold so we were lucky enough to sit enclosed in the cable car 100% recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great adventure to Alcatraz and fantastic experience on the cable car tour. Guide was really informative and helpful the entire day. Met some fantastic people and shared some great memories.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The early start at Alcatraz was well worth it to beat the crowds. Jamie was a fabulous tour guide!! Travelling over the bridge and back in the converted cable car was great fun. Highly recommend to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour. Lots of fun riding on a cable car look a like vehicle. Our guide Art was fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, super energetic and accommodating. He offered to take pictures of us multiple times. He had fun music on the trip. Being from San Francisco he was full of great facts and definitely went out of his way to take us to some places I had not expected. The Alcatraz tour was awesome as expected. This is a tour no one should miss in San Francisco. Only complaint is we were supposed to be on 8:45 ferry first ones on island but ended up on 9:10. Not a huge deal though. The audio tour is a must it is narrated from inmates and officers views. You can really imagine what it was like. Only downside is that you really must move along and you can't explor too much beyond narrated tour because you have to catch ferry back. Boxed lunch from Boudin was delicious. The city part of the tour is limited by time so you won't see the city on this tour. But anywhere we passed on the way to Fisherman's wharf and Golden Gate Bridge, Art pointed things out and made every momet meaningful. Big bonuses he took us through the Presidio, a former military fort, now national park. He took us to Fort Point where we got the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge. He also took us the the Palace of Fine Arts. If you appreciate architecture you would love this. It's almost as if someone dropped a little piece of Rome in San Francisco. Massive columns and dome structure. Beautiful gardens, ponds and paths all around it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent first day in San Francisco. Alcatraz was very interesting and we were able to go early and beat the crowds. The cable car ride was nice way to get introduced to the city and get a feel for it. We were able to see quite a bit and learn some history also. Arturo ,our guide, was a lot of fun and very informative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message