In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful day, great cable car tour, visit to Alcatraz was amazing, good to get there early and avoid rush, tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, spectacular views of Golden Gate Bridge both over it and under it, well worth paying the extra money for this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent!! Maybe a little more time included for the Bodin Bakery and Palace of Fine Arts, including restroom stops. Lunch was very good and highly convenient to eat on the cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a fantastic tour. I highly recommend this it was just enough time for us to tour the entire grounds and so nice to avoid the crowds and roam about freely. Our Cable car guide Arturo was fantastic and so pleasant. This is a MUST :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time; everything ran smoothly and our tour guide even added a few extra details like parking for lunch in front of a street vendor and taking a "short cut" through some of the more notable neighborhoods of San Francisco. Alcatraz was fascinating as was the Golden Gate Bridge and we had plenty of time to explore both. And, what can beat riding around San Francisco in your own private cable car??

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, the cable car, the attractions visited and food are all amazing! Alcatraz is a must see. We stopped at pier 39, both ends of Golden Gate Bridge and many other great attractions. He treated us more than what we expected. We saw the bests of SFO in this short tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Pamela B
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent tour. great time to visit alcatraz and see the rest of the city in a comfortable cable car

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The gentleman who ran this tour was extremely friendly, prompt, helpful and professional. As far as "early access" goes.. be prepared that you will be lining up with the hundreds of others waiting to go on to the ferry across to Alcatraz too (and we went in off season). You are basically dropped off at the wharf to get on the first ferry over to Alcatraz. Also, when you attend Boudin Bakery we were advised by the tour operator that if we made any purchases that we were entitled to a 10 percent merchant discount as you are on the cable car sightseeing tour and you have attended the upstairs museum at the bakery. This in fact is not true - as advised to me by the manager at checkout.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A nice way to see SF from a converted cable car. Breakfast is a candybar and a softdrink. Lunch is sandwich. The alcatraz visit needed another hour. Our guide, Jeff, amusing and cool!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was awesome! Getting to Alcatraz early was a good idea. The audio tour really made you feel like you were there, creepy. City tour was fun and informative, riding the cable car bus was a neat experience. We visited some really good vantage points of the bridge too. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was just a great tour....crammed so much in to one tour and the motorised cable car was brill everyone else was taking pictures of us on our bus.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was fantastic. Regardless of the crowds you are able to zone out using the audio tour and picture yourself as an inmate or a prison guard.
Cable Car sighseeing, our guide was knowledgable and friendly.
Had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, first ones on to Alcatraz without to many people, tour guide on motorised cable car was brilliant, light breakfast of cereal bar and soft drink and lunch consisted of a boudin bakery sandwich, Doritos and water, the crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge was fab with plenty of time given for taking wonderful photos. Very informative tour with plenty of humor, our tour guide was Jeff, nothing to much trouble, credit to the company but beware of his cheesey jokes lol, would book it again. Just one small thing would have preferred an extra 1/2-3/4 hour longer on the rock to be able to wonder around after the prison audio tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent choice for Alcatraz - the ai Wei Wei exhibit there was a real bonus. The cable car driver / tour guide very knowledgable and the lunch excellent from Boudins Bakery

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message