In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The early start at Alcatraz was well worth it to beat the crowds. Jamie was a fabulous tour guide!! Travelling over the bridge and back in the converted cable car was great fun. Highly recommend to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour. Lots of fun riding on a cable car look a like vehicle. Our guide Art was fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, super energetic and accommodating. He offered to take pictures of us multiple times. He had fun music on the trip. Being from San Francisco he was full of great facts and definitely went out of his way to take us to some places I had not expected. The Alcatraz tour was awesome as expected. This is a tour no one should miss in San Francisco. Only complaint is we were supposed to be on 8:45 ferry first ones on island but ended up on 9:10. Not a huge deal though. The audio tour is a must it is narrated from inmates and officers views. You can really imagine what it was like. Only downside is that you really must move along and you can't explor too much beyond narrated tour because you have to catch ferry back. Boxed lunch from Boudin was delicious. The city part of the tour is limited by time so you won't see the city on this tour. But anywhere we passed on the way to Fisherman's wharf and Golden Gate Bridge, Art pointed things out and made every momet meaningful. Big bonuses he took us through the Presidio, a former military fort, now national park. He took us to Fort Point where we got the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge. He also took us the the Palace of Fine Arts. If you appreciate architecture you would love this. It's almost as if someone dropped a little piece of Rome in San Francisco. Massive columns and dome structure. Beautiful gardens, ponds and paths all around it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent first day in San Francisco. Alcatraz was very interesting and we were able to go early and beat the crowds. The cable car ride was nice way to get introduced to the city and get a feel for it. We were able to see quite a bit and learn some history also. Arturo ,our guide, was a lot of fun and very informative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Arturo was our cable car driver and commentator. I had the best time as did the others on the tour. He went above and beyond my expectations. It was wonderful! Made my trip better than I could have imagined. Saw things and learned about San Francisco that I otherwise probably would not have whereas the tour guide was from the area and grew up there. So again, I will rate this tour a 5 star winner!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Arturo was awesome. He was knowledgable and gave us a lot of great information! He also took us along the most scenic routes for the Golden Gate Bridge, which was very cool. The only suggestions I have are to have a spot where we could have gotten off of the cable car to eat lunch. It was cramped to have to eat it inside the cable car. Also, the breaks on the car we were on should be checked! Otherwise, it was a great time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful day, great cable car tour, visit to Alcatraz was amazing, good to get there early and avoid rush, tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, spectacular views of Golden Gate Bridge both over it and under it, well worth paying the extra money for this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent!! Maybe a little more time included for the Bodin Bakery and Palace of Fine Arts, including restroom stops. Lunch was very good and highly convenient to eat on the cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a fantastic tour. I highly recommend this it was just enough time for us to tour the entire grounds and so nice to avoid the crowds and roam about freely. Our Cable car guide Arturo was fantastic and so pleasant. This is a MUST :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time; everything ran smoothly and our tour guide even added a few extra details like parking for lunch in front of a street vendor and taking a "short cut" through some of the more notable neighborhoods of San Francisco. Alcatraz was fascinating as was the Golden Gate Bridge and we had plenty of time to explore both. And, what can beat riding around San Francisco in your own private cable car??

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, the cable car, the attractions visited and food are all amazing! Alcatraz is a must see. We stopped at pier 39, both ends of Golden Gate Bridge and many other great attractions. He treated us more than what we expected. We saw the bests of SFO in this short tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Pamela B
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent tour. great time to visit alcatraz and see the rest of the city in a comfortable cable car

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The gentleman who ran this tour was extremely friendly, prompt, helpful and professional. As far as "early access" goes.. be prepared that you will be lining up with the hundreds of others waiting to go on to the ferry across to Alcatraz too (and we went in off season). You are basically dropped off at the wharf to get on the first ferry over to Alcatraz. Also, when you attend Boudin Bakery we were advised by the tour operator that if we made any purchases that we were entitled to a 10 percent merchant discount as you are on the cable car sightseeing tour and you have attended the upstairs museum at the bakery. This in fact is not true - as advised to me by the manager at checkout.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A nice way to see SF from a converted cable car. Breakfast is a candybar and a softdrink. Lunch is sandwich. The alcatraz visit needed another hour. Our guide, Jeff, amusing and cool!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message