In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The gentleman who ran this tour was extremely friendly, prompt, helpful and professional. As far as "early access" goes.. be prepared that you will be lining up with the hundreds of others waiting to go on to the ferry across to Alcatraz too (and we went in off season). You are basically dropped off at the wharf to get on the first ferry over to Alcatraz. Also, when you attend Boudin Bakery we were advised by the tour operator that if we made any purchases that we were entitled to a 10 percent merchant discount as you are on the cable car sightseeing tour and you have attended the upstairs museum at the bakery. This in fact is not true - as advised to me by the manager at checkout.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A nice way to see SF from a converted cable car. Breakfast is a candybar and a softdrink. Lunch is sandwich. The alcatraz visit needed another hour. Our guide, Jeff, amusing and cool!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was awesome! Getting to Alcatraz early was a good idea. The audio tour really made you feel like you were there, creepy. City tour was fun and informative, riding the cable car bus was a neat experience. We visited some really good vantage points of the bridge too. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was just a great tour....crammed so much in to one tour and the motorised cable car was brill everyone else was taking pictures of us on our bus.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was fantastic. Regardless of the crowds you are able to zone out using the audio tour and picture yourself as an inmate or a prison guard.
Cable Car sighseeing, our guide was knowledgable and friendly.
Had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, first ones on to Alcatraz without to many people, tour guide on motorised cable car was brilliant, light breakfast of cereal bar and soft drink and lunch consisted of a boudin bakery sandwich, Doritos and water, the crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge was fab with plenty of time given for taking wonderful photos. Very informative tour with plenty of humor, our tour guide was Jeff, nothing to much trouble, credit to the company but beware of his cheesey jokes lol, would book it again. Just one small thing would have preferred an extra 1/2-3/4 hour longer on the rock to be able to wonder around after the prison audio tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent choice for Alcatraz - the ai Wei Wei exhibit there was a real bonus. The cable car driver / tour guide very knowledgable and the lunch excellent from Boudins Bakery

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very early pick up in Union square by (motorised cable car) tour through streets to pier to board ferry to the island. very eerie place but very interesting. Then back on ferry to visit special bakery and have packed lunch on the cable car. Then journey to Golden Gate Bridge. When we went over it very sunny, by time we had parked on other side it was covered in fog! Very interesting sightseeing trip in unusual transport driver very very good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AWESOME - really enjoyed the VIP cable car tour. The driver was fantastic and we enjoyed every bit of the tour - Alkatraz, the Boudin bakery and going over the Golden Gate bridge. Lunch was also great. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had an incredible time. Saw things like The Palace of Fine Arts which is not on the normal radar. If you only have 1 day in San Francisco this is the tour to do. The converted cable car is a fabulous idea. Our driver was exceptional and went beyond what is expected of a tour guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arturo was our lovely driver he was very informative and such a pleasant guy. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The cable car was a bonus Lunch was perfect from the local bakery. We managed to get some good pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge Fantastic day

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Don't do San Francisco without it. Saved lots of money in transportation costs plus we got into 4 recommended activities for free!! Good for 9 days on trolley, cable cars, trains (within San Francisco) and buses!!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message