In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jim.favara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth the money. Our tour started out with a ride on an Cable car bus. Arturo our driver was a local guy, very knowledgeable, with a great sense of humor. The bus tour of the city was great because this was our 2nd day there and it gave us a great overview of all the different districts of the city. The VIP access of Alcatraz was also nice because we were the first group on the island thus we did not get stuck in a lot of the traffic. Great tour and a must do. I would recommend this for anyone who is new to the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

RICHARD W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Alcatraz was great but the guide on the site Cable Car Sightseeing tour was not so that knowledgeable. He also arrived late.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Adrianne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was good, but not a good value. Our guide was not engaging and very repetitive, and did not seem to know much detail about most of the things he was mentioning. He kept telling us if we wanted to know more we should google it. The tour is a good way to hit the highlights of the city, especially if you are there for a short time. Try to sit on the inside of the Cable Car if at all possible, if you don't you are stuck in an open air part of the car where it can be chilly and you are stuck inhaling emissions from all the other cars in heavy city traffic. We were able to get some great photos that we defiantly wouldn't have gotten if we had not taken this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This has got to be one of the best tours we have ever been on. The early access meant we were the first boat over, beating the heat and the later crowds. The audio tour was fabulous. Former inmates and guards did the information. They directed you step by step, and gave you a real representation of what it was like. Afterwards, there was plenty of time to explore the rest of the grounds, including the gardens. The cable car was fun. A lot of the information was repeated, as we did the Muir Woods and Sausalito tour, but was a neat way to get around town.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brandy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was THE best tour ever! Arturo did an amazing job getting us around in the not so great weather of San Francisco. The cable car was so cool and getting to Alcatraz early was priceless! He gave us insight on getting around on the grounds and fully enjoying the experience. Lunch was nice and the drive over the Golden Gate Bridge and fort area underneath it was especially a nice, uncrowded visit. The Palace of Fine Arts was an unexpected pleasure, such a beautiful area!
Overall it was totally a 5 star experience in a great city!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was great! We could hop on and off the cable cars. We used the bus and saw several of the attractions. We were so glad to have the City Pass and didnt worry about individual charges.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Donald T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Don was an excellent host providing exceptional knowledge of the area. What a great city. I was very dissappointed that the cable car ride was ONLY 1 way and that you had to pay another 7.00 to get back. We were looking forward to this ride and because of this did not take it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Deborah P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour of Alcatraz is fascinating. Skip the Cable Car Sightseeing portion. Driver spent most of day telling us what she couldn't show us or that we could see such and such later -- on our own. The lunch was tasty - but we ate it sitting in a parking lot. She has little respect for security or police officers referring to them as rent a cops. Not good. Lesson learned - book the Alcatraz trip earlier so you can just get tickets to it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Unbelievable. Jamie was amazing and she put up with my incessant questioning. She knows the town, the history, and the way to drive a cable car! I would do this again in a heartbeat. Worth every penny. Give Jamie a raise!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the money for access to the Cable cars and Muni transport system alone both of which are excellent for getting around the City with no car which is by far the best approach in my opinion

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! The cable car was so much fun and getting to expierence the city on the cable car was so authentic

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

After waiting just a couple of days to long to get our Alcatraz tickets we decided on this tour so that we wouldn't miss it. This gets you on one of the first boats to Alcatraz. Touring the prison was great because it was not very crowded. Upon return to the ferry landing we were provided a lunch and then had a great cable car tour of SF. Our driver Jamie was very knowledgeable and provided great information during the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Roxane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Alcatraz trip was about what I expected after reading the reviews. Cable car tour was even better than expected. As hoped, we had Arthuro as our guide, got to see so much more than we expected, lunch was great, everyone on our car made friends and we got many great photos. Don't miss out on this one!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Allae United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am glad I have taken the early access tour, got to the island before anyone else, Alcatraz visit is a must when in San Francisco, we have all seen many movies about Alcatraz days, so it was thrilling to actually visit the place, plus the city tour by the cable car tour is soooooooo great, taken us to the best places in town, great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Allae United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am glad I have taken the early access tour, got to the island before anyone else, Alcatraz visit is a must when in San Francisco, we have all seen many movies about Alcatraz days, so it was thrilling to actually visit the place, plus the city tour by the cable car tour is soooooooo great, taken us to the best places in town, great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was amazing. BEST part was the different places the Cable Car will take you that the traditional double deck buses do not. I am sorry to report I can not remember the man's name that took us on the tour, but he was both entertaining and charismatic. To the man or woman in charge of reviewing these internally please commend our tour guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tanja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great addition to my trip to San Francisco! The tour was very personal and the guide was really good and knew lots of cool little details you would otherwise miss. It was a bit pricey but I think absolutely worth every penny.
It was impossible for me to get Alcatraz tickets with such short notice so I took this guided tour and it actually turned out to be really nice because you got to see a lot of SF at the same time.
The cable car was able to go to places the normal tour buses cant go so I would absolutely recommend this to anyone going to San Francisco!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day at Alcatraz was sensational! As were have been there previously, we thought it would be great to go on the early access tour, we thought it my add to the eeriness of the rock. Unfortunately we didn't go over early we simply just took the first ferry that others were catching but we still had a great time. Whilst I was there I bought a book, Murderers on Alcatraz' written by former guard George Devincenzi, who happened to be there on the day and was kind enough to personally sign my book - I was thrilled. George is a lovely man and I felt very privileged to meet him. We left Alcatraz and got back on the cable car for more sightseeing which was also sensational as we saw many places we wouldn't if we had gone it alone. This was accompanied by lunch provided by Boudin Bakery - they have a sourdough to die for. Our ambassador was very knowledgeable and took us to places and told us the history, such as the Presidio, Coit Tower etc. It was a great day and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Annick L

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Good tour but we were expecting more time allowed about 2 hours only were spent in Alcatraz. Since the rest of the city can be viewed by several means, Alcatraz was the main thing for us so this part was a bit disappointing. As far as the rest of the tour, that day started with on a bad note. The originally assigned driver had a minor car accident so a backup driver was called in. On top of it, this was an extremely rare rainy morning in S/F. Combination of both factors led the bus to arrive 15 min late. Since you are required to arrive 15 min prior to pickup time...this make it 1/2 h looking for your ride when the pick up spot is in middle of Union square. Because the title states Cable car instead of Motorized cable car and not knowing why the tour was so late, we started to look for and asked the real city cable car drivers if they had a dedicated one for tours on their line. Their answers were a big No !! So a bit panicked to kickoff our day since the Viator help desk didn't know any better to help us when called. The driver finally arrived but with no guest list and no breakfast bar. Couldn't blame the guy but the company should prepare these things in advance regardless of the driver assignment. After all, a last minute driver replacement can happen anytime and for many reasons. Luckily, Arthuro, our backup driver was extremely nice, patient, professional and make up for the false start. The sandwich lunchbox served from Boudin were also very good and welcome. If the morning part prior to Alcatraz is a quick trip around different parts of downtown while listening to the driver's comments, the afternoon portion offers multiple nice spots to visit, a ride over the Golden Gate and time for great pictures to be taken. So if you are looking for a good mix of everything type of tour, this is a good one. But if Alcatraz is your main thing, there are better ways offered.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

roxane

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This should not be a VIP rated tour. First the driver was late picking us up. We were told to meet at a designated place by 7am, but was not that clear in the directions. The driver did not get there until 7:20, then waited till 7:30am for someone who never showed up. We were also sold that we would have a continental breakfast. This consisted of water, no coffee or tea, and granola bars. Not even a bagel or pastries or fruit. We paid almost 800.00 for 4 of us!! Then we were dropped off for the alcatraz part of the trip a 1/2 hour before, even thought we had our tickets to stand in a line waiting for the boat. This wasted at least 45 minutes of our sightseeing. Alcatraz was wonderful. I would recommend buying your own trip direct from Alcatraz and do your own sightseeing. Then we were to be picked up at 11:45 with our lunches. Well the driver was there with no lunches!! He had 2 hours to get them and have them ready for us, but he didnot. He blamed his boss or who ever for his lack of incompetence.
The lunches came around 12:30 and we had to eat them while he drove us around. Very uncomfortable in a cable car trolley. We had about 2 hours to sightsee. Which was OK, but he was not really that knowledgeable and did not go out of his way to make up for the lost time waiting for the lunch he forgot to get for us. I would not recommend this tour. You could pay 30 for the trip to Alcatraz and use the bus or get a private tour for what we paid.. Really a rip off.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Glenn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic. Able to travel all over San Francisco, out to the zoo, park, Art Galleries, cable cars, discount at Macy's. Worth the money, even for just the time saved and convenience. The public transport in San Francisco is super.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic informative overview of San Francisco. Loved being on a real cable car without being tethered to the cable! I was worried about the directions to meet the tour at a corner in Union Square but had no trouble at all. Trolley was actually a few minutes early. Our guide took time at every stop to act as photographer and make sure we had all the pictures we wanted. We weren't excited about starting at 7:15a but the early entrance to Alcatraz made a huge difference. We were able to beat the crowds and leisurely explore Alcatraz at our own pace. By the time we left, there were people and lines everywhere. This was my first visit to San Francisco and I really felt like I got a great overview of the city and most of the highlights in one tour. The included breakfast was just a granola bar so if you need more to start the day, make sure you eat beforehand. Lunch was a sandwich from Boudin a good one, either ham or turkey and we got one of each, chips and a soda/water. Our guide was nice enough to make drop-offs a various points in the city for those that didn't want to go back to Union Square.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donal R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

not impressed with the cable car tour. Safety of vehicle is questionable in such hilly environment.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lynda R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Cable car sightseeing tour was fantastic, as was our driver Chris who was both informative and entertaining. We went through China town, around AT and T park and along the Embarcadaro, not forgetting the GG Bridge. The 2.5 hrs at Alcatraz was a must but definitely long enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message