In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! The cable car was so much fun and getting to expierence the city on the cable car was so authentic

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

After waiting just a couple of days to long to get our Alcatraz tickets we decided on this tour so that we wouldn't miss it. This gets you on one of the first boats to Alcatraz. Touring the prison was great because it was not very crowded. Upon return to the ferry landing we were provided a lunch and then had a great cable car tour of SF. Our driver Jamie was very knowledgeable and provided great information during the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Roxane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Alcatraz trip was about what I expected after reading the reviews. Cable car tour was even better than expected. As hoped, we had Arthuro as our guide, got to see so much more than we expected, lunch was great, everyone on our car made friends and we got many great photos. Don't miss out on this one!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Allae United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am glad I have taken the early access tour, got to the island before anyone else, Alcatraz visit is a must when in San Francisco, we have all seen many movies about Alcatraz days, so it was thrilling to actually visit the place, plus the city tour by the cable car tour is soooooooo great, taken us to the best places in town, great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Allae United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am glad I have taken the early access tour, got to the island before anyone else, Alcatraz visit is a must when in San Francisco, we have all seen many movies about Alcatraz days, so it was thrilling to actually visit the place, plus the city tour by the cable car tour is soooooooo great, taken us to the best places in town, great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was amazing. BEST part was the different places the Cable Car will take you that the traditional double deck buses do not. I am sorry to report I can not remember the man's name that took us on the tour, but he was both entertaining and charismatic. To the man or woman in charge of reviewing these internally please commend our tour guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tanja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great addition to my trip to San Francisco! The tour was very personal and the guide was really good and knew lots of cool little details you would otherwise miss. It was a bit pricey but I think absolutely worth every penny.
It was impossible for me to get Alcatraz tickets with such short notice so I took this guided tour and it actually turned out to be really nice because you got to see a lot of SF at the same time.
The cable car was able to go to places the normal tour buses cant go so I would absolutely recommend this to anyone going to San Francisco!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day at Alcatraz was sensational! As were have been there previously, we thought it would be great to go on the early access tour, we thought it my add to the eeriness of the rock. Unfortunately we didn't go over early we simply just took the first ferry that others were catching but we still had a great time. Whilst I was there I bought a book, Murderers on Alcatraz' written by former guard George Devincenzi, who happened to be there on the day and was kind enough to personally sign my book - I was thrilled. George is a lovely man and I felt very privileged to meet him. We left Alcatraz and got back on the cable car for more sightseeing which was also sensational as we saw many places we wouldn't if we had gone it alone. This was accompanied by lunch provided by Boudin Bakery - they have a sourdough to die for. Our ambassador was very knowledgeable and took us to places and told us the history, such as the Presidio, Coit Tower etc. It was a great day and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Annick L

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Good tour but we were expecting more time allowed about 2 hours only were spent in Alcatraz. Since the rest of the city can be viewed by several means, Alcatraz was the main thing for us so this part was a bit disappointing. As far as the rest of the tour, that day started with on a bad note. The originally assigned driver had a minor car accident so a backup driver was called in. On top of it, this was an extremely rare rainy morning in S/F. Combination of both factors led the bus to arrive 15 min late. Since you are required to arrive 15 min prior to pickup time...this make it 1/2 h looking for your ride when the pick up spot is in middle of Union square. Because the title states Cable car instead of Motorized cable car and not knowing why the tour was so late, we started to look for and asked the real city cable car drivers if they had a dedicated one for tours on their line. Their answers were a big No !! So a bit panicked to kickoff our day since the Viator help desk didn't know any better to help us when called. The driver finally arrived but with no guest list and no breakfast bar. Couldn't blame the guy but the company should prepare these things in advance regardless of the driver assignment. After all, a last minute driver replacement can happen anytime and for many reasons. Luckily, Arthuro, our backup driver was extremely nice, patient, professional and make up for the false start. The sandwich lunchbox served from Boudin were also very good and welcome. If the morning part prior to Alcatraz is a quick trip around different parts of downtown while listening to the driver's comments, the afternoon portion offers multiple nice spots to visit, a ride over the Golden Gate and time for great pictures to be taken. So if you are looking for a good mix of everything type of tour, this is a good one. But if Alcatraz is your main thing, there are better ways offered.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

roxane

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This should not be a VIP rated tour. First the driver was late picking us up. We were told to meet at a designated place by 7am, but was not that clear in the directions. The driver did not get there until 7:20, then waited till 7:30am for someone who never showed up. We were also sold that we would have a continental breakfast. This consisted of water, no coffee or tea, and granola bars. Not even a bagel or pastries or fruit. We paid almost 800.00 for 4 of us!! Then we were dropped off for the alcatraz part of the trip a 1/2 hour before, even thought we had our tickets to stand in a line waiting for the boat. This wasted at least 45 minutes of our sightseeing. Alcatraz was wonderful. I would recommend buying your own trip direct from Alcatraz and do your own sightseeing. Then we were to be picked up at 11:45 with our lunches. Well the driver was there with no lunches!! He had 2 hours to get them and have them ready for us, but he didnot. He blamed his boss or who ever for his lack of incompetence.
The lunches came around 12:30 and we had to eat them while he drove us around. Very uncomfortable in a cable car trolley. We had about 2 hours to sightsee. Which was OK, but he was not really that knowledgeable and did not go out of his way to make up for the lost time waiting for the lunch he forgot to get for us. I would not recommend this tour. You could pay 30 for the trip to Alcatraz and use the bus or get a private tour for what we paid.. Really a rip off.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Glenn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic. Able to travel all over San Francisco, out to the zoo, park, Art Galleries, cable cars, discount at Macy's. Worth the money, even for just the time saved and convenience. The public transport in San Francisco is super.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic informative overview of San Francisco. Loved being on a real cable car without being tethered to the cable! I was worried about the directions to meet the tour at a corner in Union Square but had no trouble at all. Trolley was actually a few minutes early. Our guide took time at every stop to act as photographer and make sure we had all the pictures we wanted. We weren't excited about starting at 7:15a but the early entrance to Alcatraz made a huge difference. We were able to beat the crowds and leisurely explore Alcatraz at our own pace. By the time we left, there were people and lines everywhere. This was my first visit to San Francisco and I really felt like I got a great overview of the city and most of the highlights in one tour. The included breakfast was just a granola bar so if you need more to start the day, make sure you eat beforehand. Lunch was a sandwich from Boudin a good one, either ham or turkey and we got one of each, chips and a soda/water. Our guide was nice enough to make drop-offs a various points in the city for those that didn't want to go back to Union Square.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donal R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

not impressed with the cable car tour. Safety of vehicle is questionable in such hilly environment.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lynda R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Cable car sightseeing tour was fantastic, as was our driver Chris who was both informative and entertaining. We went through China town, around AT and T park and along the Embarcadaro, not forgetting the GG Bridge. The 2.5 hrs at Alcatraz was a must but definitely long enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Maribel C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour is one of the best in town... According to our driver Arturo! For sure you will see the best of San Francisco! Cross the Golden Gate was amazing, Arturo turned on the radio with this great song from Rocky and it was like we were in a movie! And the Palace of Art is one of the most beatiful places I have seen... Arturo was very helpful and got us the best views of the Golden Gate and took pictures of all of us!. The Cable Car was an incredible experience!

Not giving 5 stars for the lunch! The sandwich from Boudin was terrible and to eat in the bus was very akward!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjolie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I paid a higher rate for this tour and I am not sure if it was worth it. There is no guide in Alcatraz from this tour just the regular wranglers, you could just pay the ferry and take the first ferry on your own.
The other part of the tour cable car tour was nice but I could have done it separately and it would be much cheaper and most important not everything in one long day. It was nice though if you only have 1 days and want to see Alcatraz and a good tour of the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Timothy K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I would not call this a VIP tour!! Time schedule was consistently off all day. The driver Pete was a nice guy but was consistently off schedule all day. The lunch segment of the tour was a total disaster! We had to wait for the lunch boxes to arrive at the bus because Pete said his order from the morning never got confirmed via text message from the restaurant.The whole lunch process gave you the feeling that this was the first time this itinerary has been tried. Eating a box lunch on a moving cable car bus is not VIP to me! Having the reservation for the first boat to Alcatraz was a big plus.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Deybin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was fantastic and our driver (Arturo) was the best. From start to finish, Arturo showed genuine concern for all of the guests and went above and beyond to make sure we were all having fun. Alcatraz and the GG Bridge is a must for all visitors and the cable car experience can't be beat!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jacqueline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour, our guide Jamie was excellent and couldn't have asked for a more entertaining individual to show us a good time on the cable car tour.
Alcatraz was all and more than I could of imagined and truly felt the history of the island.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Karen M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time.it was lots of fun travelling on the cable car and Alcatraz was very interesting.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

D M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tiffany H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection!!! Our tour guide Jamie was amicable and knowledgeable from start to finish. We enjoyed riding in the converted cable car, which provided us with ample opportunities for picture taking and fresh air. We arrived at Alcatraz around 8:30 am after having to pick up our tickets to get in line for our 9:00 ferry ride. The ferry ride was approx. 10-15 minutes in length. Tip: bring a light jacket, bc it was misting a bit didn't last much longer than 20 min. After arriving on the island we were greeted with a brief no longer than 5 minute welcome speech overview of what to expect. The tour is self guided which we appreciated as we could explore at our own pace. There was a substantial amount of walking included up hill toward the beginning. After arriving back at pier 33, we were driven to Boudin Bakery where our lunch was brought to us and enjoyed on the trolley car yummy sandwich, chips, and soda/water options. After we did some site seeing, followed by a trip over the golden gate bridge. Not every tour is taken over the bridge, and is dependent upon traffic. Lastly, we visited fort point, for me picture opportunities. We highly recommend this tour! If you only have time for one tour, this is a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Helen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I feel really lucky to have found this tour of San Francisco on a motorized cable car, and we had a brilliant guide. First stop is Alcatraz, followed by lunch, then the Golden Gate bridge etc. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend as a unique way to see the sights of San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Virginia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

enjoyed the cable car ride- guide Jamie took us everywhere and an extra I believe as traffic permitted.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

gillmel2003

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Not VIP trip, expected to go to Alcatraz without the crowds, not the case, you are lined up to go on the first boat with everyone else. Didn't get the look behind the scenes at the Boudin Bakery as the tour suggested so quite disappointed. However Alcatraz was superb, watch out for the slamming of the doors, the tour on the cable car was also very nice, wrap up in case its a bit cold.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message