In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AWESOME - really enjoyed the VIP cable car tour. The driver was fantastic and we enjoyed every bit of the tour - Alkatraz, the Boudin bakery and going over the Golden Gate bridge. Lunch was also great. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had an incredible time. Saw things like The Palace of Fine Arts which is not on the normal radar. If you only have 1 day in San Francisco this is the tour to do. The converted cable car is a fabulous idea. Our driver was exceptional and went beyond what is expected of a tour guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arturo was our lovely driver he was very informative and such a pleasant guy. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The cable car was a bonus Lunch was perfect from the local bakery. We managed to get some good pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge Fantastic day

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Don't do San Francisco without it. Saved lots of money in transportation costs plus we got into 4 recommended activities for free!! Good for 9 days on trolley, cable cars, trains (within San Francisco) and buses!!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We could not get on the first ferry to Alcatraz, so it's not really "Early Access" as it's advertised. Not sure what we paid for was VIP service. However, it was a nice trip to see the island and the city tour on a cable car was definitely enjoyable and the driver/guide did a good job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip is well worth it! Alcatraz has history that you can feel. The cable car trip is a worthwhile trip around San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My rating of 3 stars is because this tour did not live up to the “VIP” hype, however, there were many enjoyable moments. Be sure to get to Union Square early to grab one of the outside-facing benches on the cable car, because once the tour starts you are not allowed to change seats

Best parts of the tour:
1. The audio tour of the cellblock on Alcatraz (AMAZING!).
2. Our cable car tour guide who was informative and entertaining.
3. Driving through the more affluent parts of the city and learning about the architecture, history, and famous residents.

Parts that didn't live up to my expectations:
1. The early tour of Alcatraz still had hundreds of people (there was nothing VIP about it).
2. Once on Alcatraz you only have about 1.5 hours to tour the island before you need to catch the next ferry for the city tour. There is only time to do the audio tour and buy a souvenir, so there was much of the island that we never ended up seeing.
3. You only see Lombardo St in the distance as the cable car passes by several blocks away.
4. Too much time is spent at the Boudin Bakery for lunch. We would have rather seen more of the city.
5. The “light breakfast” is a granola bar.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The audio tour at Alcatraz is very well done. I was glad that I chose the early tour because it was not as crowded and so it was easier to see the exhibits and follow the tour. The rest of the cable car tour was very well done as well. It included more sites than I expected. The tour guide was very good at helping to keep the tour a relaxed and enjoyable experience. I highly recommend this tour - especially at this beginning of your visit to San Francisco - to get familiar with the city and all it has to offer.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a fabulous trip - took us on to Alcatraz early and then we had a wonderful time exploring the city. We had expected more from the bakery part of the tour, as this aspect did not quite live up to how it was represented. Tour guide was accommodating and fun, cable car was great and food provided was plentiful and tasty.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was excellent. Cable car was the way to go- great tour guide I would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money includes rides on cable cars, buses and subways

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Bill
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day. Starting so early meant that the experience of Alcatraz was enhanced by being in the first group on the island and understanding the isolation and beauty of this this place. I had no idea of it's chequered history and will return to spend more time exploring. 2 hours was not enough time. The Cable Car was a great way to see the city and I really enjoyed not walking up and the hills. Lunch was tasty and the tour of the bakery was impressive. Again, found it fascinating to hear the story of this family and business. A fabulous day and still some time to go back and explore more thoroughly places that we passed. Good recommendations from the drive.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great tour. Such an experience being taken around SFC in a wannabe cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message