In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alcatraz was fantastic. Regardless of the crowds you are able to zone out using the audio tour and picture yourself as an inmate or a prison guard.
Cable Car sighseeing, our guide was knowledgable and friendly.
Had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, first ones on to Alcatraz without to many people, tour guide on motorised cable car was brilliant, light breakfast of cereal bar and soft drink and lunch consisted of a boudin bakery sandwich, Doritos and water, the crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge was fab with plenty of time given for taking wonderful photos. Very informative tour with plenty of humor, our tour guide was Jeff, nothing to much trouble, credit to the company but beware of his cheesey jokes lol, would book it again. Just one small thing would have preferred an extra 1/2-3/4 hour longer on the rock to be able to wonder around after the prison audio tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent choice for Alcatraz - the ai Wei Wei exhibit there was a real bonus. The cable car driver / tour guide very knowledgable and the lunch excellent from Boudins Bakery

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very early pick up in Union square by (motorised cable car) tour through streets to pier to board ferry to the island. very eerie place but very interesting. Then back on ferry to visit special bakery and have packed lunch on the cable car. Then journey to Golden Gate Bridge. When we went over it very sunny, by time we had parked on other side it was covered in fog! Very interesting sightseeing trip in unusual transport driver very very good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AWESOME - really enjoyed the VIP cable car tour. The driver was fantastic and we enjoyed every bit of the tour - Alkatraz, the Boudin bakery and going over the Golden Gate bridge. Lunch was also great. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had an incredible time. Saw things like The Palace of Fine Arts which is not on the normal radar. If you only have 1 day in San Francisco this is the tour to do. The converted cable car is a fabulous idea. Our driver was exceptional and went beyond what is expected of a tour guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arturo was our lovely driver he was very informative and such a pleasant guy. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The cable car was a bonus Lunch was perfect from the local bakery. We managed to get some good pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge Fantastic day

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Don't do San Francisco without it. Saved lots of money in transportation costs plus we got into 4 recommended activities for free!! Good for 9 days on trolley, cable cars, trains (within San Francisco) and buses!!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Informative and well done. The audio tour was the best I've ever taken. Of course, it didn't hurt that it was a beautiful, warm day...didn't need the coat, gloves or scarf. The cable car sightseeing tour provided a good overview of the city. The only negative was that the driver/tour guide had an accent that made it often difficult to understand. On one stop he instructed us to be back to the bus in 15 minutes and some folks understood 50 minutes were late returning.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great day. Alex our driver/guide was great. Nice small group and of we went. Scenic route to the ferry for Alcatraz tickets waiting for us on arrival. Really good audio tour timed to perfection for our return ferry. Next stop Boudins bakery at Fishermans Wharf and then our lunch waiting for us on return to the cable car( well wheeled version) Short stop at the museum of fine art then we whizzed over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very exciting. Be sure to hang on to your hats!!!. The day progressed with even more sights and interesting facts from Alex. Well worth getting up at 6 a.m. on our first day so we could walk to the pickup at Union Square in time for 7-45 departure

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We could not get on the first ferry to Alcatraz, so it's not really "Early Access" as it's advertised. Not sure what we paid for was VIP service. However, it was a nice trip to see the island and the city tour on a cable car was definitely enjoyable and the driver/guide did a good job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

2468
Burkina Faso

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip is well worth it! Alcatraz has history that you can feel. The cable car trip is a worthwhile trip around San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My rating of 3 stars is because this tour did not live up to the “VIP” hype, however, there were many enjoyable moments. Be sure to get to Union Square early to grab one of the outside-facing benches on the cable car, because once the tour starts you are not allowed to change seats

Best parts of the tour:
1. The audio tour of the cellblock on Alcatraz (AMAZING!).
2. Our cable car tour guide who was informative and entertaining.
3. Driving through the more affluent parts of the city and learning about the architecture, history, and famous residents.

Parts that didn't live up to my expectations:
1. The early tour of Alcatraz still had hundreds of people (there was nothing VIP about it).
2. Once on Alcatraz you only have about 1.5 hours to tour the island before you need to catch the next ferry for the city tour. There is only time to do the audio tour and buy a souvenir, so there was much of the island that we never ended up seeing.
3. You only see Lombardo St in the distance as the cable car passes by several blocks away.
4. Too much time is spent at the Boudin Bakery for lunch. We would have rather seen more of the city.
5. The “light breakfast” is a granola bar.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message