San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1302 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mll43t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Ca Academy of Sciences is amazing. There is so much to see and do. We spent hours there and still didn't even come close to seeing everything. My only complaint about buying my ticket through this site is that you cannot skip the line. You still have to go to customer service or the ticket booth and get tickets. The staff member told us they have told Viator that many times and they still haven't changed it on the website.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

jacqueline_bradley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good value, particularly around transport options

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must have for traveling around the city. It gets you to all the sights.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the city pass is excellent value we used the public transport many times every day as well as the activities you could use it for

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great, and the pass help to save. Thank you.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Donna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed! Kenneth was great! Very nice and kept us all smiling. From Carolina!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

rgannal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WOW. This pass made getting around so easy. We rode busses when we tired of walking and even got on a Cable Car. The lines for the Cable Cars could be daunting but we got on. The California Academy of Sciences was a hi light and was very enjoyable. The best was the Planetarium was great.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Damon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredibly interesting. The audio tour through the cell block is a must if you go there.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Kelly

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Visit to Alcatraz was interesting. Quite busy but guided audio kept people moving within the building. Hop On, Hop Off bus was interesting but the loop was pretty long to consider it transportation in the city. Fair warning about parking in the open lot near the local tour operator's office where you catch the bus....our vehicle was broken into and multiple electronics were stolen. Put a damper on our last day of vacation to say the least! We hear after the fact that this happens quite a bit...so don't you think the city should have more security patrolling the lot?

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Glyn T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a very nice trip. Not quiet 5 stars, but I did enjoy it. Nice and helpful friendly staff, I as able to do almost everything I wanted too. I just missed riding the trolleys and seeing the sea lions.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

peabody_jr

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Interesting sights. I was disappointed in the size of the Bay Aquarium. Needs the Bay Aquarium and the Academy of Science Aquarium combine in one place.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

Sylvia D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was great. Only drawback was that we had to phone from England before we left to confirm. Even low we had paid in full. Also you have to go to Alcatraz on the first day plus pick tickets up from office 8.30 in the morning, which was a rush as we only arrived in America the night before.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Barbaree k

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was good but the bus was delayed so we couldn and #39;t jump off and visit anything without having to ride a city bus back. When buying the ticket it would have been nice to know what sites were included in the downtown tour. I ended up having to upgrade.

Doing what: Go San Francisco Card

Mrs A M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Buses are supposed to come every 20 to 30 minutes. We waited a hour for most of the pick ups. We talked to other people who told us the last bus usually never appears in the evening. One evening we waited 90 minutes on a bus. We where just about to give up when it appeared.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Virginia R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I already provided details but it was poor and it had nothing to do with the tour. My bad experience pertained to purchasing my tickets.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kay L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Academy of Sciences was wonderful and will worth seeing everything. I would highly recommend it to anyone of any age. However, I had called to add our granddaughter to our reservations and had payed for her ticket adult price when we got there our tickets were fine but they wouldn't honor our granddaughters ticket so I had to pay for her again 29

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

tapaprava

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The science academy was good but shows were not that amazing. The aquarium was good. Overall a good place for 1 day visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the Academy of Sciences in San Francisco! Great facility with so many cool exhibits.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

JoAnn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the town

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Rachel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kids loved this we spent 3 hours just getting around to see everything well worth it a must see in San francisco

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

bskitchens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best buy in town! We did things we wouldn't have done because it came with the trip and we loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jeanne c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great deal to see a lot around the city for one price. It's great all your transportation included which is bonus

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message