San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 493 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family and I loved the center. We had a wonderful time there!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We very much enjoyed ourselves at the Academy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and my son enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Museum is very good. Aquarium is fantastic! Needing a paper ticket while on the go on vacation is a bit of an inconvience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great deal! We saved a lot of money getting this pass. Beautiful place to visit. If we ever get to go back we will definitely get this pass.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A most see in San Francisco. Bought the behind the scene tour of the Aquarium which was excellent. Very informative with great guide. It also gave you 10 discount at store and separate no wait entrances to exhibits.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Would go back again and recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Went on a Monday and there were lots of kids from lots of schools also there, but that was kind of fun too. If herds of kids bother you go later in the day. They mostly leave after 2 pm. Highly recommended though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the way to go we saw all the top sites with this and saved about 35. Do look and compare with what you want to do and pick the pass tht works for what you want to see, but in general if there is serveral things you are wanting to do this or either of the other 2 passes are worth it.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This pass is good if you have enough time to choose the other four things we only got two others in with all the other tours we booked. Well worth the value.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Just loved the behind-the-scenes tour option.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My family had a really not feeling time. Lots of interesting things to see and learn about. I liked the "jump the line" benefit which came in handy when the academy got busy with other tourists Or visitors. One thing that was a noted is the cafe does not sell bottled water.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

There was really no line when we visited, but nevertheless, this is a place worth visiting, specially when you have children with you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We enjoyed the CAS tour, but we were not able to skip the line. Although we had our printed vouchers, we still had to line up to get the actual tickets. Not a biggie, but just irritating. We were tired by the time we got to the Science center, so the little things price of the food, small lines, etc. was frustrating. Our favorite part was seeing the little frogs that were in the RainForest display and also the butterflies that were there. We liked the fish, of course, but that part was kind of small. I guess that if you want to see a LOT of fish, you should go to the Aquarium. I'm glad that we went, but probably would not go again very soon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

amazing place and V.I.P. trip well worth the extra cost.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I have been here once before and I must say that I continue to like this place more and more. The Science center has so much to offer, it never gets old! My favorite was seeing the Albino Alligator, it was quite a sight to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

RIPOFF!!! Had to stand in line and get tickets because it is just a voucher, then had to stand in line to get in.
There is no preference to entry, you are just a ticket holder like 100's of others. Would have saved money by buying tickets at event and not paying a premium for skipping the line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The behind the scenes tour of the aquarium was interesting, informative, and delightful. The tour guide was full of information and the details included in the tour added to the overall experience. What really made the difference was the skip the line feature! We were whisked into the main attractions immediately by the skip the line feature easily savings us hours of waiting for an attraction. We visited on a very busy day, but even on slow days, this feature was worth every penny! BRAVO!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

George C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good plenty to see. More on the environment rather than actual science stuff

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

No wait and an amazing treat to visit the academy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message