San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A marvellous way to spend time. The planetarium show is so well done, The rain forest is fascinating. The restaurant food is varied and tasty. Just not enough time and energy to see everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time! We brought our 3 year old and he loved seeing all the wonderful exibits. He said his favorite was the octopus! A close second was the white alligator. I used to come here with my parents as a child and it was great to see my child loving it as much as I did! The skip the line was great as there was a line and we saved money too. Good thing as the food was very expensive at the on site cafe. That's the only thing I would do different is bring food or plan to go somewhere else for lunch. It was good food, but not a lot of choices for a 3 year old.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I over this museum. We didn't skip any lines since we had to go to th ticket office to redeem the coupon. But, there wasn't much of a line. The savings are always welcome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Academy of Sciences was fantastic. It not only has the Academy but it is in the same vicinity to the Japanese garden, sculpture gardens and it's a beautiful place to visit. My child (11 year old son) loved the fish and interactive exhibits and found it interesting. The planetarium was state of the art and was fascinating as well. From downtown it was an approximately $15 to take a cab.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

No skipping the line involved...we had to wait in the ticket line anyway to exchange our Viator voucher for actual tickets. Museum was great and the planetarium was awesome. This deal saved our family $30!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful museum in a nice surrounding. Parking and directions to surrounding areas were a little hard to access but well worth it in the long run.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Nice discount but not as advertised. Still had to wait in ticket line to redeem vouchers.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Academy behind the scenes was a disappointment. It was very brief and limited in what you were shown. The Academy though was 5 stars and would recommend any person who visited San Francisco to make this the number one attraction they go to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The pass is a great deal however we went to the San Fran visitors center on a Saturday and they were closed and we were unable to get the muni pass to use the cable cars which was a disappointment. You should put the hours on the information booklet so people know when you can use that option.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back from the tour operator concerning your review, their response is below:

We are disappointed to hear that you were unable to pick up your cable car ticket at the Visitor Center. The Center is open 7 days a week from May - October. It is closed on Sundays and holidays from November - April. However, you may pick up your cable car ticket in Fisherman's Wharf on the days that the Visitor Center is closed. The hours and directions for each ticket location are clearly noted in the accompanying guide and we encourage visitors to contact our customer care department if they encounter any disruptions like this during their trip so that we can resolve issues quickly to get you on your way. Our phone number is also noted in the accompanying guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Rainforest was the highlight. Not for me

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was nice to skipped the lane specially with my mother in law in a weelchair. Really interesting place to visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Most happening and delightful tour a must see for all ages!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message