San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the Academy of Sciences in San Francisco! Great facility with so many cool exhibits.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

JoAnn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the town

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Rachel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kids loved this we spent 3 hours just getting around to see everything well worth it a must see in San francisco

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

bskitchens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best buy in town! We did things we wouldn't have done because it came with the trip and we loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jeanne c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great deal to see a lot around the city for one price. It's great all your transportation included which is bonus

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

MICHAEL M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It took us a while to work out which of the many buses and trolleys our tickets were for , but everyone we asked was helpful and eventually we did manage to find our stop to embark on the trip.In a hectice city this is the best way to travel around, the drivers narration was detailed and amusing and we had perfect weather to drive across the bridge and back in the open top bus.Great fun.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Shanna S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Overall, it was ok. Our driver did a good job trying to do both driving and giving us the tour....but, we were disappointed we didn't have a tour guide. It shouldn't be the drivers job to do both...plus, I'm sure he hasn't been trained to have all the information that we were looking forward to hearing, since it was our first time in San Francisco.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marguerite R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I would rate this combined tour in two parts. First the hop on hop off. We didn't realize the whole bus was wide open and if we had known that, we would not have booked this. It was March and very cold, rainy and windy. Not pleasant at all. Luckily the 2nd day we were there, it was sunny and we enjoyed it more. We were disappointed as to how long it took for the next bus to arrive. They told us 20 min to half hour and it was always closer to an hour, so we wasted valuable tour time waiting for the next bus to pick us up again. The Alcatraz tour was amazing. The cruise over was fun and lots of room where everyone could see clearly. You can leave the island when you please which was convenient. So overall, if I had to do it again, I's skip the hop on hop off as we ended up walking for most of what we wanted to see and take the singular Alcatraz tour. Best to book the Alcatraz tour in advance as even during off season we saw many tourists disappointed as they were turned away.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Ivy Chan

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Skipping the lines really help to save time for us to visit the museum thoroughly. It is a great museum. The behind the scene tour was informative with a great tour guide. However, I expected more to see behind the aquarium, e.g. more real life sea animals to see but not only seeing jelly fishes, real life demonstration on how to prepare food for the animals, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

Sujeet M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

we got on the bus at pier 39 at 4:30 PM and the bus instead of dropping us at union square just went out of service at fisherman's wharf. When we asked the tour organizer he said another shuttle will come and get us , but nothing came for an hour after which we had to take a taxi back. Calling the office of the tour operator did not help as no one picked the call. I would not recommend this

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed the guides very much-Jennifer and Ricoh the driver were a great team. Humor and knowledge nicely blended. We used the hop on hop off as our mode of transport all over from Union Square where we stayed-after taking the BART from the airport. The only negative was that the last tour left at 5pm.....so you had to be careful to be on the last bus to get back before the buses were done. The night tour also did not leave till 6pm from the Wharf....kind of a distance at night. Overall-so well worth it! My hubby had never been to SF so we wanted to see it all....and we did :

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hilary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent day out, all the different areas were interesting, well planned and fun. The Planetarium shows were absolutely fabulous, we went to 2 different ones. Restaurant was great, all together a brilliant experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was great! We could hop on and off the cable cars. We used the bus and saw several of the attractions. We were so glad to have the City Pass and didnt worry about individual charges.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Melinda C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a great way to spend a half day with my 13-year-old son. The aquarium is pretty cool. I like how they have isolated exhibits of individual fish and other creatures. Don't miss the planetarium and the new movie. The dome screen is awesome --makes you feel like you're flying!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Julie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The California Academy of Sciences is a great place to take the kids. I wish there were more hands on or interactive activities for the children to do, but they still enjoyed learning new things.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Leslie K

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The speaker system was not good.
We had a hard time hearing anything that our tour guide was saying.
We did enjoy the ride and all the sights

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Jeffrey W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Buses were old and ratty. The microphones and speakers are old and do not work so the guide cannot be heard much of the time. They say buses come every 20 minutes. Average is more like every 35 minutes.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Kenny N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Options were very limited. You could have done the trips individually for cheaper. The aquarium in particular was very poor and not worth a visit.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Earl L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I did the City Pass to enjoy my trip to San Francisco to its best. I unfortunately came down with a nasty cold and it slowed me down a bit. My full day was nice and sunny that made it A out and about and the Pass is truly a budget helper and convenience. Golden Gate Park is not to be missed and the trolleys several time a treat.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was funny and very entertaining as he showed us the city!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lauren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great museum and Viator experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

San Fran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful service. Kind workers on the bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Explorer Pass

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the money for access to the Cable cars and Muni transport system alone both of which are excellent for getting around the City with no car which is by far the best approach in my opinion

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

shirley

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

had a great time we did the 3 hop on hop off tours well worth the money

Doing what: Go San Francisco Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message