A city within a city, Chinatown is a historic maze of mysterious sights where an ancient culture from the other side of the world survives and flourishes with remarkable authenticity. You enter the oldest Chinatown in America through Dragon’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved learning about Chinatown and its history!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fun and informative tour about Chinatown - I recommend adding the lunch for an overall experience. The information of history, culture, and the various stops such the the market and pharmacy were helpful in understanding the Chinese traditions. My husband and I would have missed all this information if we didn't take the tour. Definitely worth the time.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a MUST do for anyone visiting San Francisco! Linda Lee is a wonderful guide. She grew up in Chinatown and shared personal experiences with us, as well as it's rich history. We also opted for the Dim Sum lunch, which was delicious. This tour is well worth the price, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Linda is one of the best tour guides I have ever experienced. She was thorough, knowledgable, funny and personable. I highly recommend her if you want a special tour of Chinatown.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Linda was great. She really knew the history of Chinatown. Told us things we could not read in the tourist guide or history books.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

So much fun and informative! The tour guide grew up in Chinatown and was full of information. Not only did she know the history of Chinatown she had love for the area and it's people. This made the experience very special for us. We had visited Chinatown many times before, but never took a tour. Seeing the area through her eyes opened ours!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! learned a lot about Chinatown. Our tour guide Linda Lee was knowledgeable and entertaining. She took us to places you wouldn't see on your own. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was wonderful! Our guide, Linda, was born and raised in Chinatown and knew all the people that owned shops there and had so much knowledge. One of my favorite tours while in San Francisco!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Walking Tour of Chinatown exceeded my expectations. Our wonderful guide gave personal insight into the lives of Chinese immigrant in Chinatown. She was able to engage everyone in the group with ages ranging from elementary school kids to grandparents. I have been to China many times but I learned even more about the culture through this tour. My grandsons, husband and I would have missed so much if we tried to do this tour from a guide book. Don't miss this tour if you visit San Francisco

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time on this tour. It was super informative and fun. We learned so much about the Chinatown culture. I have a greater appreciation for it now and won't ever look at a Chinatown the same way again.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Linda Lee was awesome. Being that she was born and raised there she had first had knowledge of Chinatown. She introduced us to the history of Chinatown along with some her own experiences in how it has changed and what she sees happening currently. She introduced us to new foods and how Fortune cookies are made along interesting facts my wife and I never knew. Linda insured that everyone was enjoying and understanding the tour, including the children. You could see that she loved her heritage and enjoyed showing it to everyone. When we go back with our family I want her to be our guide. She's a solid 10 out of 10. Thank You Linda Lee.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have traveled to San Francisco many, many times. We have often walked through Chinatown. This tour gives you a new perspective on what you are seeing and real life in Chinatown. Linda was an exceptional guide. We learned sooooo much! It was fun and the food for lunch was great. My only comment regarding an improvement is that there were too many people around the table at lunch. You could not move your chair even close to the table. That said, I would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

MIchelle Lee made this tour interesting and informative. We saw many sites that gave us a true flavor for the life in Chinatown. She also added many personal stories from her own experiences growing up in Chinatown that added to the overall experience. Excellent tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ms.Lee is a knowledgable and entertaining tour guide. Her love of Chinatown is obvious as she tells what everything is about as well as stories from her youth in Chinatown. I would highly recommend Ms. Lee.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it!!! Cynthia was a wonderful, knowledgeable guide. The tour was the perfect length and told some great stories about the history of Chinatown. We loved seeing the colorful buildings and alley ways. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour...informative and fun...made the trip to Chinatown worth it.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide, Linda, is Chinese and lived and went to school in Chinatown. She was the perfect person to give an overview of what it is really like in Chinatown, which is exactly what I was looking for. I also had the lunch and absolutely loved the food. Thanks to Linda for a great informative tour!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am so happy that I chose to go on the walking tour of Chinatown. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny and took me deeper into the life of Chinatown than I could have gone just exploring by myself. My favorite part was the Fortune Cooke Factory :) I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a historical and interesting time!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic we were given the history on Chinatown and went into markets and shrines..
The lunch was great very authentic.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide Cynthia was very good,taking us through china town, the bits you could see from the street and the hidden allyways and DEADends.
Heard some good stories about the birth of chinatown and some people and spirits that have inhabited the place,a good walk,very entertaining.
If you are planning to eat then i suggest you eat before the walk, we found that a lot of the resturants were closed when we finished the walk.
A very good night out!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience for my teenage son and me. We really felt that we learned a lot about the history of Chinatown. Our guide learned everyone in the group's name and made everyone feel welcome. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, David Jung, was born and raised (and raised his family) in Chinatown. His stories, history and general information were amazing. We loved our tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very friendly, informative and funny. After having done a dozen weekend trips to SF, this tour gave it new life. Learned many things about Chinatown we never knew. Would definitely recommend to friends and even friends with pre-teens. Thank you to our great guide and viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was great! Linda, the tour guide actually grew up in Chinatown so the tour was very authentic. Linda was very entertaining and personable and knew everyone by name. The walking was easy, there was one point we had to walk up a steep flight of stairs. We had a bunch of older people with us and they made it just fine. There was an impromptu Lion Dance in one of the alleyways so we were able to stop and watch for a bit. It was nice that Linda was flexible this way and didn't stick to a strict regimen. There was just enough facts scattered throughout the tour to make in educational but Linda was so entertaining, it was never boring. We paid extra for the lunch at the end. It was very tasty but everyone gets only one serving of each. Luckily we had some people at our table who didn't eat everything, so we got a little more in the end, but we left wishing we could have eaten a little more. Still didn't deter from the 5 star rating! Definitely recommend to tourists and locals looking for something different to do in the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great way to explore Chinatown. The guide, Dave, grew up there and knew the area intimately. He showed us places worth further exploration and others to avoid ("A Chinese wouldn't ever shop there"). The tour ended with a yummy Dim Sum lunch that I wouldn't have thought of trying on my own. The tour was worth my time and money.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message