• USD ($)
  • English
A city within a city, Chinatown is a historic maze of mysterious sights where an ancient culture from the other side of the world survives and flourishes with remarkable authenticity. You enter the oldest Chinatown in America through Dragon’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it!!! Cynthia was a wonderful, knowledgeable guide. The tour was the perfect length and told some great stories about the history of Chinatown. We loved seeing the colorful buildings and alley ways. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver Alex greeted us warmly on a brisk morning, and invited us to be seated while the rest of our tour arrived. We loved the small but sweet touch of having San Francisco/California themed music playing on the bus. Alex answered our preliminary questions kindly, putting us at ease immediately. He gave an indication of how favored we'd be on this tour by offering a breakfast snack. We were then off to Alcatraz as Alex offered insights of Chinatown and other sites. He was very clear in giving us direction in where to go at the Alcatraz dock, as well as letting us know when to return and where we could find him. He left nothing to chance, shepherding us very well. He was at the appointed spot when we returned from The Rock, and took us to a tour of Boudin's Bakery, as well as served us lunch from there. Next we were off to the Palace of Fine Arts, where he gave us enough time to take pictures but also be faithful to the tour's schedule. He not only took pictures of us on the tour bus, but directed us in striking the best pose for the picture, which came out good enough to be next year's Christmas card. Next was Golden Gate Bridge, which was absolutely mobbed, given the glory of the day, but Alex navigated the bus around other drivers who would have tried our patience. It was then time to head back to the city, and Alex continued to show his wealth of knowledge regarding SF, pointing our areas of interest others, like the Big Bus Tour, had missed. But all that I have described pales in relation to the one gesture that we shall carry with us from this tour. The lunch he had procured for us was very hearty, too much for one diner. He told us that if we wished, we could leave what we had not eaten with him, and he would see that they would get to the area's homeless. We knew that he'd see to it. It was one of those essential displays that lets you know that there are saints among us for whom community is more important that commerce. Just wonderful! Many thanks!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour...informative and fun...made the trip to Chinatown worth it.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide, Linda, is Chinese and lived and went to school in Chinatown. She was the perfect person to give an overview of what it is really like in Chinatown, which is exactly what I was looking for. I also had the lunch and absolutely loved the food. Thanks to Linda for a great informative tour!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am so happy that I chose to go on the walking tour of Chinatown. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny and took me deeper into the life of Chinatown than I could have gone just exploring by myself. My favorite part was the Fortune Cooke Factory :) I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a historical and interesting time!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic we were given the history on Chinatown and went into markets and shrines..
The lunch was great very authentic.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide Cynthia was very good,taking us through china town, the bits you could see from the street and the hidden allyways and DEADends.
Heard some good stories about the birth of chinatown and some people and spirits that have inhabited the place,a good walk,very entertaining.
If you are planning to eat then i suggest you eat before the walk, we found that a lot of the resturants were closed when we finished the walk.
A very good night out!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience for my teenage son and me. We really felt that we learned a lot about the history of Chinatown. Our guide learned everyone in the group's name and made everyone feel welcome. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, David Jung, was born and raised (and raised his family) in Chinatown. His stories, history and general information were amazing. We loved our tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very friendly, informative and funny. After having done a dozen weekend trips to SF, this tour gave it new life. Learned many things about Chinatown we never knew. Would definitely recommend to friends and even friends with pre-teens. Thank you to our great guide and viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was great! Linda, the tour guide actually grew up in Chinatown so the tour was very authentic. Linda was very entertaining and personable and knew everyone by name. The walking was easy, there was one point we had to walk up a steep flight of stairs. We had a bunch of older people with us and they made it just fine. There was an impromptu Lion Dance in one of the alleyways so we were able to stop and watch for a bit. It was nice that Linda was flexible this way and didn't stick to a strict regimen. There was just enough facts scattered throughout the tour to make in educational but Linda was so entertaining, it was never boring. We paid extra for the lunch at the end. It was very tasty but everyone gets only one serving of each. Luckily we had some people at our table who didn't eat everything, so we got a little more in the end, but we left wishing we could have eaten a little more. Still didn't deter from the 5 star rating! Definitely recommend to tourists and locals looking for something different to do in the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great way to explore Chinatown. The guide, Dave, grew up there and knew the area intimately. He showed us places worth further exploration and others to avoid ("A Chinese wouldn't ever shop there"). The tour ended with a yummy Dim Sum lunch that I wouldn't have thought of trying on my own. The tour was worth my time and money.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide Beth immediately made our diverse group feel like one big happy family -- which was heartfelt since it was Christmas Day! It was a great mix of history and current day exploration. The stories she told about how Chinatown came to be such a unique SF gem were riveting and inspiring! Loved all the stops -- especially to see fortune cookies actually being made and where live ducks, rabbits, frogs and turtles are sold. We even visited a Buddhist temple and learned how to throw the sticks to answer our questions! Best of all, I shopped for Christmas dinner and brought home one of those hanging barbeque ducks that I always wanted to try -- it was delicious! I highly recommend this tour with Beth, she's so knowledgeable and she clearly loves sharing all her insights.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I actually enjoyed this tour a lot more than I expected. Not only did I hear tales about those who had passed and may still haunt the area, but I got an education on Chinatown itself, the Chinese culture and feng shui, which I still don't fully understand but have more knowledge about it than I did.

Though it is San Francisco, I wasn't expecting as many steep inclines on the tour. So if you have mobility or health issues, keep this in mind. Don't get me wrong. The inclines are doable, but if you're asthmatic (like I am) or have joint pain, you will get a bit winded - so use caution.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for a fun evening out. (And Four Seas where the tour starts has pretty darn good food as well.)

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Linda Li, our tour guide, was amazing! She was so personable, knowledgeable, and interesting. Lots of great humor thrown in. Our group was very small and it was the perfect way to get to see things I otherwise would have missed. Linda was born and raised in Chinatown and brought lots of personal experience to the table. Dim Sum lunch was very good and the group got a chance to get to know a little about each other too. All in all a great way to spend a Saturday morning! Don't miss this opportunity.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message