• USD ($)
  • English
A city within a city, Chinatown is a historic maze of mysterious sights where an ancient culture from the other side of the world survives and flourishes with remarkable authenticity. You enter the oldest Chinatown in America through Dragon’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very friendly, informative and funny. After having done a dozen weekend trips to SF, this tour gave it new life. Learned many things about Chinatown we never knew. Would definitely recommend to friends and even friends with pre-teens. Thank you to our great guide and viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was great! Linda, the tour guide actually grew up in Chinatown so the tour was very authentic. Linda was very entertaining and personable and knew everyone by name. The walking was easy, there was one point we had to walk up a steep flight of stairs. We had a bunch of older people with us and they made it just fine. There was an impromptu Lion Dance in one of the alleyways so we were able to stop and watch for a bit. It was nice that Linda was flexible this way and didn't stick to a strict regimen. There was just enough facts scattered throughout the tour to make in educational but Linda was so entertaining, it was never boring. We paid extra for the lunch at the end. It was very tasty but everyone gets only one serving of each. Luckily we had some people at our table who didn't eat everything, so we got a little more in the end, but we left wishing we could have eaten a little more. Still didn't deter from the 5 star rating! Definitely recommend to tourists and locals looking for something different to do in the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great way to explore Chinatown. The guide, Dave, grew up there and knew the area intimately. He showed us places worth further exploration and others to avoid ("A Chinese wouldn't ever shop there"). The tour ended with a yummy Dim Sum lunch that I wouldn't have thought of trying on my own. The tour was worth my time and money.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide Beth immediately made our diverse group feel like one big happy family -- which was heartfelt since it was Christmas Day! It was a great mix of history and current day exploration. The stories she told about how Chinatown came to be such a unique SF gem were riveting and inspiring! Loved all the stops -- especially to see fortune cookies actually being made and where live ducks, rabbits, frogs and turtles are sold. We even visited a Buddhist temple and learned how to throw the sticks to answer our questions! Best of all, I shopped for Christmas dinner and brought home one of those hanging barbeque ducks that I always wanted to try -- it was delicious! I highly recommend this tour with Beth, she's so knowledgeable and she clearly loves sharing all her insights.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I actually enjoyed this tour a lot more than I expected. Not only did I hear tales about those who had passed and may still haunt the area, but I got an education on Chinatown itself, the Chinese culture and feng shui, which I still don't fully understand but have more knowledge about it than I did.

Though it is San Francisco, I wasn't expecting as many steep inclines on the tour. So if you have mobility or health issues, keep this in mind. Don't get me wrong. The inclines are doable, but if you're asthmatic (like I am) or have joint pain, you will get a bit winded - so use caution.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for a fun evening out. (And Four Seas where the tour starts has pretty darn good food as well.)

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Linda Li, our tour guide, was amazing! She was so personable, knowledgeable, and interesting. Lots of great humor thrown in. Our group was very small and it was the perfect way to get to see things I otherwise would have missed. Linda was born and raised in Chinatown and brought lots of personal experience to the table. Dim Sum lunch was very good and the group got a chance to get to know a little about each other too. All in all a great way to spend a Saturday morning! Don't miss this opportunity.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight to mine and my daughters trip, we had a lot of fun hearing about the history of Chinatown and the many ghost stories. We will definitely be taking this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

What a great tour! I've been to Chinatown a few times before, but never with local guide. Linda was awesome! Her stories and insight about the area were great! Optional lunch w/guide was a great way to end the tour. Highly recommend!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best decision I made. We had dinner at the Four Seas (meeting place) and immediately after dinner started our tour of Chinatown. It was informative and fun. Would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Truly enjoyed our Chinatown walking tour! Our guide, Linda Lee was informative and humorous. Her stories were also heartwarming. I would recommend this tour to all my friends!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the best thing we did while in San Francisco! Linda Lee is an excellent tour guide. She lived in Chinatown and was able to give us a lot of very interesting information. Don't miss this tour with Linda.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a really great tour and an excellent evening for my 12 year old son and myself. The history of Chinatown, the maze of darkened back alleys, and the firecrackers to ward off negative energy all added to the anecdotes of the tour guide. The tour ended with an unexpected magic show, which was an uneasy fit with the tour, but entertaining nonetheless.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great tour. Linda Lee was an excellent guide, full of interesting information and very pleasant. The Lunch was delicious and should be purchased as part of the tour.The only thing I wish is that there was more time at the Fortune Cookie Factory, and you weren't charged 50 cents for each photo you took there. Fantastic way to learn about Chinatown and it's deep history in San Francisco.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent walking tour. Linda Lee is fabulous. She shared stories from her childhood and was born and raised in Chinatown. I highly recommend this tour. We really enjoyed our lunch with Linda and other guests from the walking tour. Thank you Linda!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Lynn was a wonderful guide and very knowledgeable!, Totally enjoyed the tour and the beautiful San Francisco day. Saw parts of Chinatown I didn't know existed Ended with a wonderful dim sum lunch!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message