Also known as the M. H. de Young Memorial Museum, this fine arts museum is known for its creative offerings as well as its unusual exterior and prime location in Golden Gate Park. As many people in the community were unhappy with a large museum ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

At first I was not sure about the CityPass, but it was the best thing we did. It is definitely worth the money considering that includes the bay tour, entrance to the aquarium and the Young Museum and the rides on public transportation. The bay tour was excellent!!!! We took the 4:15PM tour and the time could have not been more ideal. We chose to Aquarium of the Bay, but it is better to select the Monterey Aquarium if you are planning on going to Monterey. It is much more worth the money. The Monterrey Aquarium is bigger and has more attractions than the Aquarium of the Bay as we were able to confirm when we went to Monterey. The Academy of Science is impressive. Our kids were so happy they did not want to leave the place. This is certainly something I would do again if we go back to San Francisco.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

With this pass I take endless transport on muni and the best part is the 4 attractions are really worth going for: Exploratorium, Calofornia Academy of Sciences, Monterey Aquarium, de Young musuem and Legion of honor

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very useful and totally worth the money.
Could use the 1-week pass for public transport very well.
The Monterey Aquarium is absolutely beautiful and the DeYoung museum as well as the Science Academy are very educating and entertaining. I didn't enjoy the Legion of Honor though.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Took two friends from Galveston to the deYoung to see the David Hockney show. It was great, as is the entire museum, including the amazing tower with its enormous view. The tickets were a bargain and worked out well.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Well worth the money.
Free travel around city and museum entries.
Go on Tuesday to Science museum and you can also enter De Young free!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I was really surprised how much I loved this museum. Don't just come for the special exhibits (but if you do, you'll want to come early, this is a really popular place!), the whole museum is incredible and a lot bigger and more varied than you might expect.

We wandered through all the lower galleries admiring the cool modern sculptures and a very powerful photography exhibit on the ravages of wartime--absolutely captivating and timely. After the special exhibit and everything downstairs, we ventured upstairs and were blown away! There was so much to see that we opted to take a break for lunch (the cafe is crazy delicious--veal croquettes--I'll say no more). Everything from period furnishings, amazing textiles, Colonial portraits, entire galleries devoted to cultural arts, I couldn't snap enough pictures or contain my ooh and aahs!

I had hoped to visit the Legion of Honor in the same day, but visiting the DeYoung (especially if you're an art lover) is worth having a day to itself. I can't recommend this museum highly enough.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great museum in a fabulous location! This is one of my favorite places in San Francisco and I can highly recommend a visit. The art and special exhibitions are always stunning and intriguing, plus the museum itself is one of the most unique buildings in the city. Located right in the heart of Golden Gate Park, the de Young is a must see.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I went and saw the Girl with a Pearl Earring exhibit here and it was great! If you love art at all you should definitely visit the de Young Museum while in SF.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The DeYoung is a beautiful museum in a great location in Golden Gate Park! I loved all the art and the special exhibit on Dutch masters. Don't miss going up the tower for a wonderful view of San Francisco.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The visit to the de Young Museum was thoroughly enjoyable. The view from the museum tower nine floors above showcased the lovely grounds below and gave a spectacular view of the San Francisco surroundings.

The exhibits were refreshing with the exquisite The Girl with the Pearl Earrings amongst the works of the various Dutch artists. The room with the whimsical pieces was a favorite with a mixture of silver raindrops poised from the ceiling, Chiluly flowers and bowls, and pieces of varied textures and colors.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great value, unlimited muni rides, visited California Science Academy, de Young Museum, SF Modern Art Museum, and the Aquarium at the Bay.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

HoHo was a great way to get your bearings in an unfamiliar city. We first had Willie as our busdriver. He provided us with info about each place as we went along in an entertaining style which was pure Willie. This man truly enjoys his job! Another time we hopped on and were entertained by a young man(Phillip?) who has a love for San Francisco that became apparent when he played Tony Bennetts "I Left My Heart In San Fran." What a joy to be among two of San Frans. happiest knowledgeable residents!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We took this trip on 2 consecutive days. We had 2 different tour guides. Both were excellent.One was a lovely lady, who I believe was Victoria from England. and the other was a young Latino , who was a lifelong San Francisco resident. Both were informative and entertaining. We got off several times each day and never had to wait more than 20 minutes for the next bus. Sitting on the top was great fun and we had a wonderful view!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

travelseeker
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Worth every penny since we rode the cable cars, MUNI buses and F line streetcars numerous times. Skipping the lines at the California Academy of Sciences and the SFMOMA saved us some time to enjoy the exhibits more. We were also able to see Van Gogh, Gauguin, Cezanne and Beyond Exhibit at the De Young Museum with special ticket prices (would have been much better if it was free with city pass, but considering that we saw priceless works of art from musee d'orsay, paying 15 dollars each was quite a discount...) I would recommend buying the city pass. The only downside is that you have to figure out on your own what mode of transportation or bus/cable car/streetcar you should ride because the MUNI rides have their own routes. City Pass lists all rides that will pass each attraction but you should have a MUNI map with you with all the routes at all times. For example, from Market St/Union Square area, you cannot ride the 44 bus which stops directly in front of the academy. Instead, we had to ride the 5 bus and walk about 2 blocks more to get there. Study the MUNI routes first before your trip so you could manage your time easily with regards to travel time to each attraction.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The CityPass was an excellent deal and it is something that every traveler to SF should invest in. The Aquarium of the Bay was less than stellar but the MOMA and Cal Academy of Sciences made up for it. We were a little disappointed that the Tutankhamen exhibit was extra at the deYoung. The MUNI pass was a great deal and allowed us to avoid the expense of a rental. Be prepared to wait in line for a cable car. Print the MUNI map from the web site and work with your hotel concierge to maximize the use and savings.We also used the discounted ticket to the AT&T Park Tour and it was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The bus tours were very informative, tour guides were full of personality and helpful tips. We took the full tour about three times to get off and on at various points of interest. It was really easy! We happened to catch the same bus a couple times, and guide was extra welcoming and remembered our faces. The only spot that became a little tricky was near the De Young Museum, it was hard to catch up with a bus at that time. Make sure to check with guide what time they will be around again before you get off.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We used the value of the CityPass in the first 2 days and everything after that was a bonus! The endless access to the public transportation was wonderful as well as admittance to the Aquarium, Academy of Sciences, deYoung Museum, harbor tour, etc.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

My money was well spent! The convenience of being able to just flash the pass on MUNI made transit so easy. Also used four of the tickets--Aquarium of the Bay, California Academy of Science, De Young Museum, Blue and White 1-hour Bay Cruise--which more than paid for the book, and bypassed large ticket lines.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

For the most part it was great. We had one problem. We were standing where we were told to and the bus went right by even with all 4 of us waving like mad. We had several guides Alex, Nick and a young woman whose name escapes me. All three of them were fun, informative and made the trip an adventure.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The first tour was informative but hard to understand our tour guide. Lost a lot from his accent and my inability to decipher . Our second half was much better, a young tour guide who knew the city and was very personable. You have a very cold and windy city....that you cannot help but the second bus did not have a lower level and some were very uncomfortable. I loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I used it mainly for transportation to the main attractions as opposed to using trolley, bus, and by foot. I would say you stop at the most major attractions. It's great for when you are very limited on time. The tips that the tour guides gave us were really helpful. I must say that some guides were certainly better than others in the way they delivered the message in a helpful way. Some, on the other hand, thought they were funny because they laughed at their own jokes. Of course that's my personal opinion, but all in all I would do it again. I believe the tour guide and bus driver's name was Kurt, was really helpful as well as a young lady who just started (this was during Spring Break week 3/25/13 - 3/29/13).

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A good tour with the young guide providing an informative and witty commentary throughout. Unfortunately the Golden Gate was shrouded in mist(as usual!) and as first timers in San Francisco we stayed on the same bus for the entire two hour tour and saw and learnt a lot about this lovely city! Would happily recommend this good value for money tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

San Francisco is the Emerald City for us and using the Viator Pass helped to organize our visit so we had an agenda and packed in as much as possible. Loved using public transportation. The de Young was beautiful. If you go to the Academy of Sciences be prepared to wait in line for up to an hour. We did not get in as we had other plans and had to dash, but we will be back.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

My daughters and I really enjoyed this tour. It was nice to be able to see many different areas and even though they are young, they still stayed interested. Only wish the bus would have stopped at the locations for a few minutes to allow for pictures rather than just to let people on and off.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We had four different guides on our loop around the city. The first guide was an Asian man who was very informative, but he dropped us at the stop for Coit Tower and didn't mention that the tower had been closed since November! Our next guide was Willy who we couldn't understand at all but was very entertaining. Our next guide was a woman who didn't speak for half the time we were with her. She said it was too windy even though she was sitting right next to us since we were the only people on the bus. Our final guide was a young Puerto Rican man who was excellent. All in all a decent tour, but the guides could use some improvement.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message