Also known as the M. H. de Young Memorial Museum, this fine arts museum is known for its creative offerings as well as its unusual exterior and prime location in Golden Gate Park. As many people in the community were unhappy with a large museum ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Took two friends from Galveston to the deYoung to see the David Hockney show. It was great, as is the entire museum, including the amazing tower with its enormous view. The tickets were a bargain and worked out well.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Well worth the money.
Free travel around city and museum entries.
Go on Tuesday to Science museum and you can also enter De Young free!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I was really surprised how much I loved this museum. Don't just come for the special exhibits (but if you do, you'll want to come early, this is a really popular place!), the whole museum is incredible and a lot bigger and more varied than you might expect.

We wandered through all the lower galleries admiring the cool modern sculptures and a very powerful photography exhibit on the ravages of wartime--absolutely captivating and timely. After the special exhibit and everything downstairs, we ventured upstairs and were blown away! There was so much to see that we opted to take a break for lunch (the cafe is crazy delicious--veal croquettes--I'll say no more). Everything from period furnishings, amazing textiles, Colonial portraits, entire galleries devoted to cultural arts, I couldn't snap enough pictures or contain my ooh and aahs!

I had hoped to visit the Legion of Honor in the same day, but visiting the DeYoung (especially if you're an art lover) is worth having a day to itself. I can't recommend this museum highly enough.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great museum in a fabulous location! This is one of my favorite places in San Francisco and I can highly recommend a visit. The art and special exhibitions are always stunning and intriguing, plus the museum itself is one of the most unique buildings in the city. Located right in the heart of Golden Gate Park, the de Young is a must see.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I went and saw the Girl with a Pearl Earring exhibit here and it was great! If you love art at all you should definitely visit the de Young Museum while in SF.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The DeYoung is a beautiful museum in a great location in Golden Gate Park! I loved all the art and the special exhibit on Dutch masters. Don't miss going up the tower for a wonderful view of San Francisco.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

Amy
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The De Young Museum is one of the many great reasons to visit Golden Gate Park. They always have such varied and interesting exhibits, and the galleries don't get too crowded unless there is a special exhibit. Be sure to also go up into the tower to get a spectacular 360 view of the surrounding area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The visit to the de Young Museum was thoroughly enjoyable. The view from the museum tower nine floors above showcased the lovely grounds below and gave a spectacular view of the San Francisco surroundings.

The exhibits were refreshing with the exquisite The Girl with the Pearl Earrings amongst the works of the various Dutch artists. The room with the whimsical pieces was a favorite with a mixture of silver raindrops poised from the ceiling, Chiluly flowers and bowls, and pieces of varied textures and colors.

Doing what: de Young Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great value, unlimited muni rides, visited California Science Academy, de Young Museum, SF Modern Art Museum, and the Aquarium at the Bay.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

travelseeker
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Worth every penny since we rode the cable cars, MUNI buses and F line streetcars numerous times. Skipping the lines at the California Academy of Sciences and the SFMOMA saved us some time to enjoy the exhibits more. We were also able to see Van Gogh, Gauguin, Cezanne and Beyond Exhibit at the De Young Museum with special ticket prices (would have been much better if it was free with city pass, but considering that we saw priceless works of art from musee d'orsay, paying 15 dollars each was quite a discount...) I would recommend buying the city pass. The only downside is that you have to figure out on your own what mode of transportation or bus/cable car/streetcar you should ride because the MUNI rides have their own routes. City Pass lists all rides that will pass each attraction but you should have a MUNI map with you with all the routes at all times. For example, from Market St/Union Square area, you cannot ride the 44 bus which stops directly in front of the academy. Instead, we had to ride the 5 bus and walk about 2 blocks more to get there. Study the MUNI routes first before your trip so you could manage your time easily with regards to travel time to each attraction.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The CityPass was an excellent deal and it is something that every traveler to SF should invest in. The Aquarium of the Bay was less than stellar but the MOMA and Cal Academy of Sciences made up for it. We were a little disappointed that the Tutankhamen exhibit was extra at the deYoung. The MUNI pass was a great deal and allowed us to avoid the expense of a rental. Be prepared to wait in line for a cable car. Print the MUNI map from the web site and work with your hotel concierge to maximize the use and savings.We also used the discounted ticket to the AT&T Park Tour and it was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We used the value of the CityPass in the first 2 days and everything after that was a bonus! The endless access to the public transportation was wonderful as well as admittance to the Aquarium, Academy of Sciences, deYoung Museum, harbor tour, etc.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

My money was well spent! The convenience of being able to just flash the pass on MUNI made transit so easy. Also used four of the tickets--Aquarium of the Bay, California Academy of Science, De Young Museum, Blue and White 1-hour Bay Cruise--which more than paid for the book, and bypassed large ticket lines.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

San Francisco is the Emerald City for us and using the Viator Pass helped to organize our visit so we had an agenda and packed in as much as possible. Loved using public transportation. The de Young was beautiful. If you go to the Academy of Sciences be prepared to wait in line for up to an hour. We did not get in as we had other plans and had to dash, but we will be back.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Enjoyed the Science Museum and DeYoung, but thought the Aquarium a disappointment. Cost of the Pass was about what I would have paid if I'd just gone to these places without coupons. Have used these in other cities, and found them to be a better buy.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message