Ever wanted to investigate the living world beyond the pages of your science books? Ever wanted to see the world without color or have a bigger sense of yourself—upside down? Head to the Exploratorium to get fascinating scientific answers to all of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were extremely pleased with our city pass. Not only did it save us money, but it was easy to plan out trip, and it was great being able to take transit without having to worry about having the correct change for bus fare. The exploratorium was amazing. We were there for three hours, didn't see everything.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great way to spend a Thursday evening! We loved the various exhibits, especially the short films and an interesting session on the wine industry. The Exploratorium is quite large and we didn't get a chance to check everything out, so we will definitely be coming back soon. A perfect activity for friends or date night.

Doing what: Exploratorium Admission: Thursday Evening Happy Hour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Exploratorium is really great, for all ages. we (dad, mom, 8yo) enjoyed it so much ! you need to be early, as in the afternoon it tends to get crowdy. Our son really liked the electricity experiments and the buid-your-own stop motion movie.

Doing what: Exploratorium General Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We didn't have time to visit all of the included activities. Depending on the age of the travellers, the exploratorium might get a little tedious and boring. My kids at 11 and 13 were excited for the first 3 hours, but then they got a little glassy eyed.
The aquarium was fantastic. Great value in the cable car passes.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a good pass. I would recommend that you visit the Exploratorium and California Academy of Sciences, both very interesting places. The Bay Cruise was also very interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Hugely crowded making it difficult to access the interactive exhibits. Fire alarm caused the emptying of the building out to the street and the rain. Exploratorium personnel were mostly courteous, with the exception being several "herding" attendees out of the building and off the wharf who seemed blind to the struggles of handicapped individuals.

Doing what: Exploratorium General Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Overall, a break even. Used the pass for the golden Gate boat Tour, but the vessel was far below average standards. Over crowded, poor people handling. And dirty. Don't even think about using the head (bathroom). Gross beyond belief. The transportation was an ok deal. While we were there the Exploratorium was not even an option, the lines were so long that there was just no way we were ever going to gain admittance. I thought, wrongly that this pass would gain us a "preferred line". Not the case, I misunderstood but don't expect special treatment with this pass. The aquarium was nice, and added some value to this buy. The value added for street transportation was about right, and it was nice to have the pass in hand and not have to fumble for the correct change. Was disappointed that a round trip on the trolley involved disembarking and re-embarking on the far end. Which involved standing in a lengthy line once again.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you're sightseeing, you should purchase Absolutely!
My recommendation is exploratorium.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The new Exploratorium is the BEST.

Doing what: Exploratorium General Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Truly enjoyed the Exploratorium. Traveling with two 14 year old boys, it proved to be a fascinating place for them.

Doing what: Exploratorium General Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We cannot say enough about the City Pass. If you are visiting for more than four days it is a must. The pass gives access to all forms of transportation in San Fran, including the Cable Cars, F Line, Bus system and the underground (not taxi's). Getting around the city has been very easy for our ten day stay. It also gives you some free passes to places like the Exploratorium, the Aquarium and the Academy of Sciences in Golden Gate Park (recommended).

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Recently went to SF in February 2013. The Exploratorium was closed (being moved). California Academy of Sciences was alright, Bay Cruise was lovely. Didn't really use any of the other tickets since we heard they weren't as good as MoMo in NY or the Aquarium in Chicago which we saw on the same trip.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Best investment you can make in your vacation. The unlimited muni pass worked out great no matter where we were or where we wanted to go. To get the Aquarium, boat cruise, Exploratorium and the CA Academy of Sciences all discounted made the City Pass an exceptional value. Thank You.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Short Version: Worth every penny, saves you plenty of money, especially if you are there a while.

The details: The one problem I will share was completely my fault which is this: Don't give yourself only three days for San Francisco! We didn't get to everything we wanted to including the MOMA which we had free admission to thanks to this awesome city pass. This pass gives you free transportation for a week! That alone could pay for itself if you are there for the full seven days. But on top of that, we were able to go to the Exploratorium (incredible hands on science museum), the California Academy of Sciences (another incredible science museum with a man made rainforest you can walk through and a planetarium all in one building), and a few other great attractions. Each attraction is around $25 or more so if you get to all of them you are once again getting your money's worth. I highly recommend this pass to anybody who is visiting San Fran for the first time and is planning on visiting some of these awesome attractions (if you are not, you can just get a metro pass for three days to get around the city).

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This is one of my favorite places in SF to take kids. Any age is ok though probably ages 4 and up will get the most out of the exhibits. The Exploratorium is packed on weekends so try to go early and don't rush!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message