• USD ($)
  • English

San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market is the place where San Francisco foodies and some of the best local chefs come to peruse stalls hawking the finest Northern California produce, breads, dairy, flowers, ready-made snacks, and complete meals by local ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Tour focuses on local companies and history of the Ferry Building. The tastings were more than generous, so it is best to go hungry and try to pace yourself. I ended up returning to the Ferry Building and buying items from most of the companies we learned about.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We rented 2 GoCars for some friends that came into town. It was actually a lot of fun and despite some of the negative reviews about breaking down, thank goodness we didn't. I was also concerned with how big the GoCar was. One of the guys is a tall 6'3 but he fit perfectly. Any taller may have been uncomfortable. Parking was still a pain but probably could fit 3 in one space, tightly. The parking garage charged us motorcycle rate which was nice, but you may want to mention it. We zipped all over San Fran and we loved the GPS/tour guide. Some good information historically. The GoCar was easy to get adjusted. I can't even tell you how many pictures were taking pictures of us, we made sure to pose. haha! It was a lot of fun. We rented for 3 hours and it was perfect. We also rented on a Monday and thought traffic would be less which it probably was but not from the Ferry Building down to the Wharf...if you can avoid it, I would. It's a lot of bus exhaust. Overall, it was an awesome adventure and very happy we did. I also suggest upgrading to the higher power cars. Climbing those San Fran hills...the extra $15 was totally worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gave a great overview and history of the Ferry Building, as well as specifics about some of the vendors, and of course, delicious tastings from many of the businesses located there. Our guide, Sophia, was very knowledgeable about the market and the food offerings. This tour does not require lots of walking--just within the building itself and along the Farmer's Market. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Taking a food tour is a must-do for me every time I visit a city. The Ferry Building is a gourmand's delight, and while it will be doable to explore it on your own, joining a tour enabled us to go to the best places and get the samples that one normally does not get to enjoy unless you're with a tour. With the tour being on a Saturday, we were able to see the HUGE Saturday market just outside the building - San Francisco's biggest market, if I heard correctly.

Our tour guide Sophia deftly led us to the best morsels - starting with organic preserves - apricots, peach, orange marmalade - the best, with a higher fruit to sugar ratio. Then we moved on to pickled carrots (mmm..... I wanted a bloody mary to go with it). We had a blueberry pastry that was piping hot and to die for. Then a sourdough bread from no other than Acme bakery with cheeses from Cowgirl Creamery - the first cheese we sampled was like butter smeared on bread - how can anything taste so simple yet so good? The next one was a lot more pungent, but we all loved it! Then we had a salami sampling (I had to go back for more after the tour), several chocolate samplings from a couple of places. We tasted several honeys, and for the piece de resistance, a maccaron. So, so, so good!

It is a good idea not to eat anything substantial for breakfast (I didn't eat any at all) because I guarantee you that you will be quite full when the tour concludes.

The best part of it is that at the end of the tour, I was able to go back to all these places and shopped away, knowing exactly where to go and what to buy.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I recently went on the Muir Woods and Wind Country tour with a friend and had a great time!

The tour allowed for the perfect amount of structure and freedom. Yes, you are all in one van (which was full to capacity when I went) but you are really walking by yourself/with the people you came with at Muir Woods. And at the wineries you have a little bit of free time to do what you want before returning to the van.

At Sonoma town center you have about 2 hours to get lunch and go to the wine tastings of your choice.

The two wineries that you go to do not have tasting fees but you can choose to try additional wines at a fee (or buy a bottle).

I think the most fun part was the free time in the town of Sonoma, I highly recommend getting lunch at Sunflower Cafe, they had a great outdoor patio and great food!

I also recommend taking the ferry back across the water, its a fun experience even in the fog. Plus the Ferry Building in San Francisco is so beautiful.

I definitely recommend this trip to anyone. The only thing that would have made it better would be a visit to one more winery and a less crowded van. But it was great to be able to taste wines without worrying about driving or navigating :)

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Spend a Sunday morning here. Good coffee, good people watching, lovely views of the bay.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Alcatraz tour was very good. Ferry on time and bus transfer.Hop on Hop off bus not used as much as hoped due to xtra traffic and people in town due to Pride Parade which we didnt know about. 2hrs to get from Ferry building to Golden gate bridge and over on the Saturday. less time to visit other places or go back to revisit.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Sample r given in the ferry building anyway!!!!!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

This was my wife's 65 birthday gift, a weekend in San Francisco, room at the Westin, enjoying great restaurants in different sections of the city. The two day Hop on, Hop Off tour was a disaster, continually off schdeule. We called the company several times and was assured that the bus would be at the location shortly, the bus was always, 30 or more minutes late. Several times we would be standing on the corner, waving our hands, the the bus would just pass us by. The second day was the last straw. We had lunch at the Slanted Door in the Ferry Building, I checked the schedule called the company to verify the time and stop location and we proceeded to walk to the Alcatraz Stop. The bus never arrived so I called the company again to confirm the time and location. The agent assured me that a bus would arrive within 30 minutes. After waiting another 45 minutes, I called again. A bus would be there shortly I was assurred, and in fact one did arrive, however, that bus was only going to their headquarters, not to Union Square were we departed from. The bus driver said he was finished for the day and suggested that we take the street trolley at our expense. So we did that, trying to enjoy the rest of what should have been a special weekend. It is one thing to be late, another to just lie about services that they advertise to provide. I don't know how this company can stay in business. I would not recommend this company. This was a two day disappointment for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message