San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market is the place where San Francisco foodies and some of the best local chefs come to peruse stalls hawking the finest Northern California produce, breads, dairy, flowers, ready-made snacks, and complete meals by local ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Ferry Building food tour was actually a lot more fun than we expected! We got to taste a variety of foods and our guide was very informative. My only advice is to let your guide know about any food allergies right at the beginning. After the tour, our guide told us where to go to pick up our Alcatraz tickets. It was a bit of a walk, but it was nice and we had plenty of time. The Alcatraz will call booth was very simple and our tickets were ready to go right away. We waited in line for the ferry and went straight over to the island, which was excellent!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience, the Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz were both incredible. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely time on the food tour inside the Ferry Building. Definitely, would not have been exposed to all the the food spots on the tour had we not signed up for it. Alcatraz was a great tour as well! Really enjoyed myself!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was AMAZING! We left from San Francisco but did not receive any instructions exactly where to meet at Ferry Building. Once tour over had to wait 2 hrs to get on bus to head back. I would have drove there. But definitely would do tour again was fun and great!

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We truly enjoyed the Ferry Building tour. We were able to taste food that I would have normally passed by. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the building and the history of San Francisco. We look forward to our next visit when we are in the area.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the food tour very much! Have a much greater appreciation for the vendors and their business in the Ferry Building. Alcatraz is interesting, we were lucky to be able to visit when the Ai Weiwei exhibit was there.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! The food was outstanding, Carol, our tour guide was a gem, and we had the best time in this amazing Ferry Building!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza tour was the best and the highlight of our trip.
Our tour was on a weekday, and there were only my wife and myself. However, in spite of only the two of us on the tour Carol ,who conducted the tour, was knowledgeable, and enthusiastic, relating to us the background of how the food was prepared or processed.
This tour was easily the highlight of our San Francisco trip and on future tours, I will first look for Viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First of all, the location was great: the market and the Ferry Building. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the building, and all the vendors. We visiting a good selection of businesses where there was a representative to speak with and answer questions. The pace was good and the length of time (2 hours) was perfect as it left time to go back and shop.
Overall a very enjoyable experience and I would use this service again for other tours.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and the food samples in the Ferry Building were fabulous. So happy we did this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Food Tour at the Ferry Building was a pleasant experience. We learned about the marketplace today and a little history of the Ferry Building. It was great to get to try a nice variety of tasty treats from a selection of the businesses. The tour is just an hour and is a nice overview of the marketplace.
The tour to Alcatraz is great---the ferry trip is nice and everything is organized and runs smoothly. The headsets and audio tour are the way to go---don't try to wander around on your own. The information provided is very interesting and gives a good overview of what doing time there would have been like.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Ferry Building market tour was wonderful. Not only were all the items we tasted good, it was very interesting to learn about how the products got to the market and the prevalence of the locally grown food in area restaurants. As for Alcatraz, it offers the most amazing views of SF city and the entire bay. It's an amazing dichotomy between the lush beautiful location and being a prisoner.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Josh was a fantastic tour guide. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I learned a great deal about the various vendors in the Ferry Building and learned about the history of the building and the Farmers Market as well.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved our Ferry Building tour guide, Carol, and enjoyed all of the tastings! The self guided tour of Alcatraz was also really interesting and well done. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The food tour at the Ferry Building was fantastic and Alcatraz is one of those bucket list type of things to do. highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Tour focuses on local companies and history of the Ferry Building. The tastings were more than generous, so it is best to go hungry and try to pace yourself. I ended up returning to the Ferry Building and buying items from most of the companies we learned about.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We rented 2 GoCars for some friends that came into town. It was actually a lot of fun and despite some of the negative reviews about breaking down, thank goodness we didn't. I was also concerned with how big the GoCar was. One of the guys is a tall 6'3 but he fit perfectly. Any taller may have been uncomfortable. Parking was still a pain but probably could fit 3 in one space, tightly. The parking garage charged us motorcycle rate which was nice, but you may want to mention it. We zipped all over San Fran and we loved the GPS/tour guide. Some good information historically. The GoCar was easy to get adjusted. I can't even tell you how many pictures were taking pictures of us, we made sure to pose. haha! It was a lot of fun. We rented for 3 hours and it was perfect. We also rented on a Monday and thought traffic would be less which it probably was but not from the Ferry Building down to the Wharf...if you can avoid it, I would. It's a lot of bus exhaust. Overall, it was an awesome adventure and very happy we did. I also suggest upgrading to the higher power cars. Climbing those San Fran hills...the extra $15 was totally worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gave a great overview and history of the Ferry Building, as well as specifics about some of the vendors, and of course, delicious tastings from many of the businesses located there. Our guide, Sophia, was very knowledgeable about the market and the food offerings. This tour does not require lots of walking--just within the building itself and along the Farmer's Market. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Taking a food tour is a must-do for me every time I visit a city. The Ferry Building is a gourmand's delight, and while it will be doable to explore it on your own, joining a tour enabled us to go to the best places and get the samples that one normally does not get to enjoy unless you're with a tour. With the tour being on a Saturday, we were able to see the HUGE Saturday market just outside the building - San Francisco's biggest market, if I heard correctly.

Our tour guide Sophia deftly led us to the best morsels - starting with organic preserves - apricots, peach, orange marmalade - the best, with a higher fruit to sugar ratio. Then we moved on to pickled carrots (mmm..... I wanted a bloody mary to go with it). We had a blueberry pastry that was piping hot and to die for. Then a sourdough bread from no other than Acme bakery with cheeses from Cowgirl Creamery - the first cheese we sampled was like butter smeared on bread - how can anything taste so simple yet so good? The next one was a lot more pungent, but we all loved it! Then we had a salami sampling (I had to go back for more after the tour), several chocolate samplings from a couple of places. We tasted several honeys, and for the piece de resistance, a maccaron. So, so, so good!

It is a good idea not to eat anything substantial for breakfast (I didn't eat any at all) because I guarantee you that you will be quite full when the tour concludes.

The best part of it is that at the end of the tour, I was able to go back to all these places and shopped away, knowing exactly where to go and what to buy.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I recently went on the Muir Woods and Wind Country tour with a friend and had a great time!

The tour allowed for the perfect amount of structure and freedom. Yes, you are all in one van (which was full to capacity when I went) but you are really walking by yourself/with the people you came with at Muir Woods. And at the wineries you have a little bit of free time to do what you want before returning to the van.

At Sonoma town center you have about 2 hours to get lunch and go to the wine tastings of your choice.

The two wineries that you go to do not have tasting fees but you can choose to try additional wines at a fee (or buy a bottle).

I think the most fun part was the free time in the town of Sonoma, I highly recommend getting lunch at Sunflower Cafe, they had a great outdoor patio and great food!

I also recommend taking the ferry back across the water, its a fun experience even in the fog. Plus the Ferry Building in San Francisco is so beautiful.

I definitely recommend this trip to anyone. The only thing that would have made it better would be a visit to one more winery and a less crowded van. But it was great to be able to taste wines without worrying about driving or navigating :)

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We loved the chatty familiar informal introduction and yummy samples our guide gave us to the Ferry Building and its gourmet stall holders, and were excited to visit and escape from! Alcatraz on a stunning sunny day.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was done well but did not realize we would have to drive from san Francisco wharf to san Francisco airport. Also did not realize there would be an hour and half before the cruise allowed boarding after our return to the Ferry building.

Doing what: San Francisco Helicopter Tour and Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An excellent tour, great wine tasting. Valley first is a great option to visit and have nice wines that you can test in all tour. The only thing is that it should be considered like a day trip tour because it started earlier in ferry building (8am) and it return to same place at 7:30pm. Then if you want to book other tour at same day I dont suggest it. Out of this wines, train, lunch are very very recommended.

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We loved both the food tour at the Ferry Building and the Alcatraz trip. There was a delicious variety of filling snacks along with interesting information of the local fooderies from our pleasant tour guide. The Alcatraz tour is a must for all tourists.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The ferry building tour was informative. We were able to sample many different food items. The trip over to Alcatraz was really quick. More guides would be helpful at the island.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message