San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market is the place where San Francisco foodies and some of the best local chefs come to peruse stalls hawking the finest Northern California produce, breads, dairy, flowers, ready-made snacks, and complete meals by local ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wellness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I thought this tour was great, very much enjoyed the combination of the Ferry building/food and then Alcatraz! Highly recommended, though it is an expensive tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very special tour, perfect for families and anyone who loves artisanal and delicious food. The tour says it includes samples from the Ferry Building restaurants and stores but really it includes more than a meals-worth of samples. The tour guide was knowledgable and friendly. My kids said the tour was the highlight of our San Francisco trip, and I couldn't agree with them more. Perfect way to spend a morning before your trip to Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Yvette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had been to the ferry building so did not see how I could enjoy the tour. Molly the guide was excellent . Golly Molly what folly to think this would not be jolly!!
Excellent arrangement of food tastes. Don't don't don't eat beforehand . Lots to eat and lots of info

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

Melissa H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing time. We went on a Saturday and let me say, I'm so glad we skipped breakfast. We're local and my husband always fancied going to the Ferry Building and I thought maybe a tour would be the way to go--unequivocally yes! We tried so many foods we otherwise wouldn't have. In fact the gluten-free ham and cheese pastry was my favorite item of the day, and I don't even need to be gluten-free. Don't expect samples to be small tastes. By the end of it we were all stuffed to the gills. Our guide Molly was fantastic. She knew the history of the small businesses we visited and had solid roots in the California food revolution. Timing was great too. It wasn't too crowded yet.

Pro tip: Bring a bottle of water to wash down all the goodies. We popped into a shop to grab an extra and the group was super-cool about it.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the Ferry Building, a real insiders view on the best food offerings!
A bit expensive as a way to combine Alcatraz, but the island is so well done by the National Parks Service audio tour is excellent! that it's worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Luci K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

LOVED IT!! We are food people. I didn't realize the Ferry Building had so much great food. Our guide was excellent. Very knowledgable about San Fran Food history. We learned so much. Way more than I expected. I 10 year old loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Kayla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Ferry Building food tour was actually a lot more fun than we expected! We got to taste a variety of foods and our guide was very informative. My only advice is to let your guide know about any food allergies right at the beginning. After the tour, our guide told us where to go to pick up our Alcatraz tickets. It was a bit of a walk, but it was nice and we had plenty of time. The Alcatraz will call booth was very simple and our tickets were ready to go right away. We waited in line for the ferry and went straight over to the island, which was excellent!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

CLIFFORD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience, the Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz were both incredible. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Joanna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely time on the food tour inside the Ferry Building. Definitely, would not have been exposed to all the the food spots on the tour had we not signed up for it. Alcatraz was a great tour as well! Really enjoyed myself!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Kimberly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was AMAZING! We left from San Francisco but did not receive any instructions exactly where to meet at Ferry Building. Once tour over had to wait 2 hrs to get on bus to head back. I would have drove there. But definitely would do tour again was fun and great!

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tour

Tanya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We truly enjoyed the Ferry Building tour. We were able to taste food that I would have normally passed by. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the building and the history of San Francisco. We look forward to our next visit when we are in the area.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the food tour very much! Have a much greater appreciation for the vendors and their business in the Ferry Building. Alcatraz is interesting, we were lucky to be able to visit when the Ai Weiwei exhibit was there.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Brittany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! The food was outstanding, Carol, our tour guide was a gem, and we had the best time in this amazing Ferry Building!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

jerry h. h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza tour was the best and the highlight of our trip.
Our tour was on a weekday, and there were only my wife and myself. However, in spite of only the two of us on the tour Carol ,who conducted the tour, was knowledgeable, and enthusiastic, relating to us the background of how the food was prepared or processed.
This tour was easily the highlight of our San Francisco trip and on future tours, I will first look for Viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First of all, the location was great: the market and the Ferry Building. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the building, and all the vendors. We visiting a good selection of businesses where there was a representative to speak with and answer questions. The pace was good and the length of time (2 hours) was perfect as it left time to go back and shop.
Overall a very enjoyable experience and I would use this service again for other tours.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

hillyersharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were a group of 6 enjoying a day trip from our California Coastal cruise. I first heard of HOHO tour
on trip advisor and I'm glad we did. It was a little confusing at first as where to get on bus. It's best to
sit on bench facing Embarcedo, close to Aquarium. We had take a short free shuttle from our ship to get there, but could have easily walked. I agree with everyone else. It's very cold and windy going over Golden Gate Bridge. Our driver "Deon" was wonderful. He gave out blankets to anyone that needed them. You need to be dressed warmly as you are sitting on top in the open air. We only got off a few stops. I highly
recommend stopping at Chinatown. Lots of neat trinkets. Union Square has a lot of upscale shopping such
as Coach, Jimmy Choo, Barneys if you are in the mood. We spend a lot of time at Fisherman's Wharf and
Pier 39. The sea lions were out which was a nice treat for my 13 year old nephew. The Boudin Bakery has great clam chowder in the sourdough bread bowl. There's a 2nd shop in Pier 39. My sister loved the left handed store at Pier 39 as well. There was a double decker carosel and arcade games for the younger ones. We ran out of time and didn't make it to the ferry building, which was highly recommended as a place to visit. Our driver, Deon, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed his commentary.
Overall, we enjoyed our time on the excursion with HOHO Bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Arlene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and the food samples in the Ferry Building were fabulous. So happy we did this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Susan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Food Tour at the Ferry Building was a pleasant experience. We learned about the marketplace today and a little history of the Ferry Building. It was great to get to try a nice variety of tasty treats from a selection of the businesses. The tour is just an hour and is a nice overview of the marketplace.
The tour to Alcatraz is great---the ferry trip is nice and everything is organized and runs smoothly. The headsets and audio tour are the way to go---don't try to wander around on your own. The information provided is very interesting and gives a good overview of what doing time there would have been like.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Ferry Building market tour was wonderful. Not only were all the items we tasted good, it was very interesting to learn about how the products got to the market and the prevalence of the locally grown food in area restaurants. As for Alcatraz, it offers the most amazing views of SF city and the entire bay. It's an amazing dichotomy between the lush beautiful location and being a prisoner.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Josh was a fantastic tour guide. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I learned a great deal about the various vendors in the Ferry Building and learned about the history of the building and the Farmers Market as well.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

Lucille K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved our Ferry Building tour guide, Carol, and enjoyed all of the tastings! The self guided tour of Alcatraz was also really interesting and well done. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The food tour at the Ferry Building was fantastic and Alcatraz is one of those bucket list type of things to do. highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Rosanna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Tour focuses on local companies and history of the Ferry Building. The tastings were more than generous, so it is best to go hungry and try to pace yourself. I ended up returning to the Ferry Building and buying items from most of the companies we learned about.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

ajack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We rented 2 GoCars for some friends that came into town. It was actually a lot of fun and despite some of the negative reviews about breaking down, thank goodness we didn't. I was also concerned with how big the GoCar was. One of the guys is a tall 6'3 but he fit perfectly. Any taller may have been uncomfortable. Parking was still a pain but probably could fit 3 in one space, tightly. The parking garage charged us motorcycle rate which was nice, but you may want to mention it. We zipped all over San Fran and we loved the GPS/tour guide. Some good information historically. The GoCar was easy to get adjusted. I can't even tell you how many pictures were taking pictures of us, we made sure to pose. haha! It was a lot of fun. We rented for 3 hours and it was perfect. We also rented on a Monday and thought traffic would be less which it probably was but not from the Ferry Building down to the Wharf...if you can avoid it, I would. It's a lot of bus exhaust. Overall, it was an awesome adventure and very happy we did. I also suggest upgrading to the higher power cars. Climbing those San Fran hills...the extra $15 was totally worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Peggy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gave a great overview and history of the Ferry Building, as well as specifics about some of the vendors, and of course, delicious tastings from many of the businesses located there. Our guide, Sophia, was very knowledgeable about the market and the food offerings. This tour does not require lots of walking--just within the building itself and along the Farmer's Market. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message