San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market

Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market is the place where San Francisco foodies and some of the best local chefs come to peruse stalls hawking the finest Northern California produce, breads, dairy, flowers, ready-made snacks, and complete meals by local ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and the food samples in the Ferry Building were fabulous. So happy we did this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Food Tour at the Ferry Building was a pleasant experience. We learned about the marketplace today and a little history of the Ferry Building. It was great to get to try a nice variety of tasty treats from a selection of the businesses. The tour is just an hour and is a nice overview of the marketplace.
The tour to Alcatraz is great---the ferry trip is nice and everything is organized and runs smoothly. The headsets and audio tour are the way to go---don't try to wander around on your own. The information provided is very interesting and gives a good overview of what doing time there would have been like.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Ferry Building market tour was wonderful. Not only were all the items we tasted good, it was very interesting to learn about how the products got to the market and the prevalence of the locally grown food in area restaurants. As for Alcatraz, it offers the most amazing views of SF city and the entire bay. It's an amazing dichotomy between the lush beautiful location and being a prisoner.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Josh was a fantastic tour guide. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I learned a great deal about the various vendors in the Ferry Building and learned about the history of the building and the Farmers Market as well.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved our Ferry Building tour guide, Carol, and enjoyed all of the tastings! The self guided tour of Alcatraz was also really interesting and well done. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The food tour at the Ferry Building was fantastic and Alcatraz is one of those bucket list type of things to do. highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Tour focuses on local companies and history of the Ferry Building. The tastings were more than generous, so it is best to go hungry and try to pace yourself. I ended up returning to the Ferry Building and buying items from most of the companies we learned about.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We rented 2 GoCars for some friends that came into town. It was actually a lot of fun and despite some of the negative reviews about breaking down, thank goodness we didn't. I was also concerned with how big the GoCar was. One of the guys is a tall 6'3 but he fit perfectly. Any taller may have been uncomfortable. Parking was still a pain but probably could fit 3 in one space, tightly. The parking garage charged us motorcycle rate which was nice, but you may want to mention it. We zipped all over San Fran and we loved the GPS/tour guide. Some good information historically. The GoCar was easy to get adjusted. I can't even tell you how many pictures were taking pictures of us, we made sure to pose. haha! It was a lot of fun. We rented for 3 hours and it was perfect. We also rented on a Monday and thought traffic would be less which it probably was but not from the Ferry Building down to the Wharf...if you can avoid it, I would. It's a lot of bus exhaust. Overall, it was an awesome adventure and very happy we did. I also suggest upgrading to the higher power cars. Climbing those San Fran hills...the extra $15 was totally worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gave a great overview and history of the Ferry Building, as well as specifics about some of the vendors, and of course, delicious tastings from many of the businesses located there. Our guide, Sophia, was very knowledgeable about the market and the food offerings. This tour does not require lots of walking--just within the building itself and along the Farmer's Market. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Taking a food tour is a must-do for me every time I visit a city. The Ferry Building is a gourmand's delight, and while it will be doable to explore it on your own, joining a tour enabled us to go to the best places and get the samples that one normally does not get to enjoy unless you're with a tour. With the tour being on a Saturday, we were able to see the HUGE Saturday market just outside the building - San Francisco's biggest market, if I heard correctly.

Our tour guide Sophia deftly led us to the best morsels - starting with organic preserves - apricots, peach, orange marmalade - the best, with a higher fruit to sugar ratio. Then we moved on to pickled carrots (mmm..... I wanted a bloody mary to go with it). We had a blueberry pastry that was piping hot and to die for. Then a sourdough bread from no other than Acme bakery with cheeses from Cowgirl Creamery - the first cheese we sampled was like butter smeared on bread - how can anything taste so simple yet so good? The next one was a lot more pungent, but we all loved it! Then we had a salami sampling (I had to go back for more after the tour), several chocolate samplings from a couple of places. We tasted several honeys, and for the piece de resistance, a maccaron. So, so, so good!

It is a good idea not to eat anything substantial for breakfast (I didn't eat any at all) because I guarantee you that you will be quite full when the tour concludes.

The best part of it is that at the end of the tour, I was able to go back to all these places and shopped away, knowing exactly where to go and what to buy.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I recently went on the Muir Woods and Wind Country tour with a friend and had a great time!

The tour allowed for the perfect amount of structure and freedom. Yes, you are all in one van (which was full to capacity when I went) but you are really walking by yourself/with the people you came with at Muir Woods. And at the wineries you have a little bit of free time to do what you want before returning to the van.

At Sonoma town center you have about 2 hours to get lunch and go to the wine tastings of your choice.

The two wineries that you go to do not have tasting fees but you can choose to try additional wines at a fee (or buy a bottle).

I think the most fun part was the free time in the town of Sonoma, I highly recommend getting lunch at Sunflower Cafe, they had a great outdoor patio and great food!

I also recommend taking the ferry back across the water, its a fun experience even in the fog. Plus the Ferry Building in San Francisco is so beautiful.

I definitely recommend this trip to anyone. The only thing that would have made it better would be a visit to one more winery and a less crowded van. But it was great to be able to taste wines without worrying about driving or navigating :)

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Spend a Sunday morning here. Good coffee, good people watching, lovely views of the bay.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

NOTE: There were three of us that reserved our tour with the our company. When we first arrived in San Francisco on Saturday morning, August 16, 2014, we walked to the Ferry building and at approximately 11:12 AM, I called the 1-866 number to ask where we would catch the hop on hop off tour bus. The person I spoke to transferred me to the local San Francisco number because he said he would not be able to help me. After he transferred me to the local San Francisco number, I was put on hold for a long time so I just decided to end the call and the three of us starting walking toward Pier 39.
It was very frustrating just trying to locate the hop on hop off tour bus. There were no signs anywhere to be seen. We kept asking other tour bus drivers where to catch the hop on hop off bus. They directed us to go to Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium.
There were other hop on hop off tour buses that were showing up more frequently by Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium
;At approximately 12:08 PM I then decided to call the local number at 1-415 number again I was put on hold for almost 15-20 minutes and so I decided to end the call.
We waited too long for the bus to show up; we were at Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium between 12:30 PM and 1:30 PM and never saw a tour bus come by between those times.
After finally getting on the tour bus, about ten minutes or so, the tour guide announced that they were taking a 15 minute break—but the 15 minute break turned out to be almost 40-45 minutes; way too long to be waiting
I thoroughly enjoyed the tour which took about 3 hours on the bus despite the trouble we had to go through to find the tour bus. The tour guide was funny and we enjoyed his jokes!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tasting was scrumptious! Enjoyed the history given of each vendor we tasted from and the Ferry Building History. Wish there was a bit more time between each taste, as it did feel a little rushed. Alcatraz tour was great also. Enjoyed going at my own pace with the audio tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Alcatraz tour was very good. Ferry on time and bus transfer.Hop on Hop off bus not used as much as hoped due to xtra traffic and people in town due to Pride Parade which we didnt know about. 2hrs to get from Ferry building to Golden gate bridge and over on the Saturday. less time to visit other places or go back to revisit.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message