Stylish yet welcoming, fashionable without being trendy, fun without the funk, Fillmore Street in San Francisco has helped define a neighborhood that is often referred to as the silent heart of San Francisco. Rich in its own history, Fillmore was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Do it!! This was the greatest way to travel around the city. We had the vw for 5 hours, it comes equipped with a pre-programmed gps with about 40 locations on it. More than enough time to see everything you could want and more. As great as the car was, we laughed alot about the comments from people on the street. Many thumbs up, and we were even told 'You are too fly for your white wall tires, bro'. We went to Fort Point, Golden Gate bridge, North Beach, Haight-Ashbury, the Painted Ladies and more. The car also comes with a video camera to allow you to film 1 hour of your trip. You are then given the SD card to take home. So much fun.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A once in a lifetime experience. I renteded the Bug as a surprise on my moms 60th birthday and it was the best surprise ever. The car is easy to drive and it took Lombard street without any problems!!!! Go for it!!!!!!!

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great time. Our first trip to San Francisco and driving a 1961 VW convertible bug around town. The next time we go we will be renting this cutie again.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was the best thing I have every planned for my wife. Her birthday wish was to drive a classic Bug. So I planned a whole weekend around this amazing adventure. The tour was perfect as it was created for our special interest of Old architecture. Thank you Bugster!!!

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved the bug! It was clean and well-kept. Made our wedding even more memorable. Stan was really nice and accommodating too. I would definitely book this trip again!

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely brilliant fun. Had the Bug for two hours and saw a lot of the city, including a trip over the Golden Gate bridge, in a very unique way. The GPS Stan provides is really easy to use and has all the major sights pre-programmed in, whilst the on-board video was also a great idea. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a blast motoring in and around SFO - in 5 hours you can really see a lot with ample time for lunch, drink and photograph stops. Stan was a great help to get us on our way. Only things to remember are that the bug is a manual/stick shift and the driver wouldn't want to be too much taller than 6ft as the driving seat was a bit squishy! All in all, a great start to our SFO visit! Thanks Stan

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Awesome experience! Everyone loved the beetle! Make sure you're a confident driver as they aren't the easiest cars to drive! If you wanna do something different - this is it! (Make sure you phone to arrange a pick up time as the owner isnt always on location)

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We rented he VW convertible for 5 hours and drove over the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito and back. We also visited a few sites in San Francisco. The day was perfect and we had a wonderful time. The VW was completely restored and ran like a top. We attracted a lot of attention driving the antique. The gentlyman who rented us the car was most helpful. He provided a GPS with all the popular sites in San Francisco so getting around was easy. He also provided a video camera that mounted on the outside of the windshield and was capable of recording up to 4 hours of video. At the end of the rental he gave us the memory card from the camera to take with us.
If we return to San Francisco, we would definitely consider renting the bug again.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

If you are prepared for the comparative difficulty of driving a Beetle after a modern car then this experience is a must. I really wanted to love this experience but I found the car difficult to drive after covering 1200 miles in a modern automatic. Give it a go though. It's a lovely way to see San Francisco and the adoring looks and comments you get from Bug admirers makes it all worthwhile!

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message