Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 421 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AWESOME - really enjoyed the VIP cable car tour. The driver was fantastic and we enjoyed every bit of the tour - Alkatraz, the Boudin bakery and going over the Golden Gate bridge. Lunch was also great. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Franchement à faire si le prix vous le permet. Navette gratuite depuis le Pier "je ne sais plus lequel" qui permet de traverser le Golden Gate Bridge vers Marin. Pilote super sympa et bien sûr pro qui commente le tour efficacement. Baptême hydravion pour ma fille et moi-même, décollage et atterrissage décoiffants. S'approche très près du Golden Gate, survol des alentours, vraiment très chouette

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Seaplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was absolutely perfect for me to see everything I wanted to see in San Francisco. Even though I would have loved to have gone to Alcatraz, it was perfect going around it on the boat twice and having the rest of the day to myself. From going across the Golden Gate Bridge, to seeing Haight-Ashbury, going to Twin Peaks for an over view of the entire city, to Land's End, the tour was perfect on the bus. What made it really special was the cruise. Unbeatable views of the city, bridges, and Alcatraz. I highly recommend it to anyone who only really has a day in San Francisco like I did.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arturo was our lovely driver he was very informative and such a pleasant guy. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The cable car was a bonus Lunch was perfect from the local bakery. We managed to get some good pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge Fantastic day

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic interesting experience which started early with Alcatraz which is great, then the driver we had Alex took us to the Boudin Bakery at Fishermans Wharf which was worth a visit followed by a sight seeing tour including the Golden Gate Bridge crossing. It was the best way to see San Francisco, the cable car was quaint and so much better in the fresh air than if we had been on a mini bus or the like. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The cable car converted into a bus was a novel and comfortable mode of transport for this tour. Our guide was friendly but did seem to spend a lot of time talking about himself/his house etc during the guided tour. It was pretty cool to have a sight seeing tour on the cable car bus. Early access to Alcatraz is a must to get their before the crowds. We could have done with more time at Alcatraz in which to hear the guided tour and see the films, we didn’t manage to fit both in which was a real shame. The audio-guided tour is the best I have every experienced, it is very atmospheric and you really feel like you were on Alcatraz when it was a working prison. Didn’t quite understand why the visit to the bakery was included on the tour, other than the fact that that was where we were given out packed lunch. If you want to know the history of sourdough bread, I guess it’s a must!?!? Driving over the Golden Gate Bridge to the theme tune from The Streets of San Francisco was amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing!!! We had a clear night, the sunset behind the golden gate bridge was breath taking. Sailed right past Alcatraz and got great pictures! So glad we booked thus cruise.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing!
I proposed under the Golden Gate Bridge right at sun set.
The boat and crew were awesome. The right amount of people were allowed on board giving a perfect intimate environment.
Thank you for such a remarkable and remember able time my future wife and I will never forget.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The helicopter tour was the highlight of our trip! Worth every penny especially since it was a birthday gift. The driver and pilot were both very friendly and informative. Flying under and over the Golden Gate Bridge was an amazing experience I'll never forget and the view of Alcatraz and the city left us speechless.
The only issue I had was I felt a little motion sickness towards the end so if you're like me, maybe take some medication prior to the flight. Other than that, this is a wonderful experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Talk about a beautiful sunset cruise!! We had a wonderful experience aboard the vessel. It's very serene as you enjoy the breath-taking views along the Bay. You even cruise underneath the Golden Gate Bridge which makes for awesome photos. You also get to enjoy a yummy buffet of treats, drinks and entertainment. Bathrooms are on board and there are several levels so you can walk around and really get a 360 degree view of the Bay. It's windy, but the weather was perfect!! September and October are warm months in San Francisco. Definitely recommend!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour guides were a little uneven. We had four different tour guides and while they were all personable and friendly a couple of them talked to fast. Other than that this was very convenient. Going over the Golden Gate Bridge on the uncovered upper deck of the bus was great...but very cold and windy...don't wear a hat. If you are taking the Alcatraz night tour, time your bus tour to catch one of the last buses because it drops you off at the Alcatraz dock. Haight-Ashbury was far out, in the venacular of my youth as was Golden Gate park. We ended up going back to North Batch on our own later but the drive through prompted the revisit. Overall very happy with the convenience of the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The morning tour went very well. Traffic over the Golden Gate bridge was light, and we had an interesting and twisty ride to Muir Woods. Beautiful and inspiring beyond description! I wish I could have stayed for a week and experienced all the different shadings of light. It must be beautiful. As the tour guide pointed out, you are much advantaged taking the bus to Muir Woods, because public parking fills quickly, and we saw cars parked along the road for as much as 2 miles or more from the entrance. For those of us who don't find hiking along narrow, heavily traveled roads the great American pastime, the bus was perfect.
After the woods we went up a hill on the north side of the bridge for a view not normally seen by the average tourist. Very pretty! Then on to Sausalito. Very artsy, trendy town. They were having their annual art fair that weekend, but it was farther up the road and we didn't have time to visit. We did stop for a bite. Mine was a hamburger so tall it almost took sitting on it to get it in my mouth. It had truffle oil cheese and fig jelly. And it came with pickles and fresh-cut fries. Made me want to visit the town again.
Then, back to the office, where we picked up the second half of our day tour. It turned out that our day tour was actually two half day tours. We switched buses, and drivers, and set off again, for the Golden Gate Bridge. Huh? This time the traffic was not so kind, and we wasted about two hours just getting to the bridge and getting off the bus and having picture time. Then back on the road. The rest was great. We got to see all the neighborhoods in SF with a lot of commentary, history, and interesting stories. We learned about Van Ness avenue and why it's so wide. We learned about cable cars, and Chinatown, and the Italian section, and saw Land's End, and the old bathhouse, and we saw half of Golden Gate Park. Our drivers were knowledgeable and engaging and kept us entertained and informed.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Matt was a great tour guide, but then our bus broke down on the Golden Gate Bridge. The next bus came along about 30 minutes later and the guide, Charlie, talked more about himself than anything we were seeing.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The tour was great, as was Pete. Since it was Labor Day Weekend could not go over the Golden Gate Bridge, but he took us to Fort Point. Loved it, such a different view of the bridge. Would have liked to stay a little longer to take it all it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money. From on time pick-up in front of the Radisson to the flight were all top shelf. Steve the shuttle driver and also a helicopter pilot in training was very informative and an excellent host. Mark the pilot, who received his training in the Army flying UH-60's was fun and safe. My two boys and I enjoyed this experience and a different view of this beautiful city. We drove across Golden Gate bridge, took the ferry under and around the bridge from pier 39 and now flew under and over this beautiful structure. We did the Golden Gate all three ways.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message