Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 442 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip, very efficient boarding and landing to Alcatraz and you could catch any ferry back
Sunset cruise was amazing- live singer 'marcus' was great. Food amazing shame we had eaten tea before we boarded. Thought it was just nibbles but buffet excellent and what we had very tasty. Drinks on board not over priced. Cruise amazing, went around Alcatraz good to see it from a different angel and in different light, went round angel island and into sausclido bay- lovely view of the harbour. Then sailed under the golden gate bridge at sunset- truly magical, staff very helpful and friendly always there to take pictures of you. Boat not over crowded- easy to get seats. Fab trip would recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic trip with a lot of information about the area, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge, Angel Island and surrounding towns. We did this cruise as an intro to San Francisco the first night we arrived and I would highly recommend it as we were able to get our bearings and not waste valuable time the following day. The buffet was very good. Plenty of variety and quantity.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour, an absolute must for visitors to San Francisco. Pilot firendly with good commentary. Flying under the Golden Gate Bridge an exceptional experience.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection!!! Our tour guide Jamie was amicable and knowledgeable from start to finish. We enjoyed riding in the converted cable car, which provided us with ample opportunities for picture taking and fresh air. We arrived at Alcatraz around 8:30 am after having to pick up our tickets to get in line for our 9:00 ferry ride. The ferry ride was approx. 10-15 minutes in length. Tip: bring a light jacket, bc it was misting a bit didn't last much longer than 20 min. After arriving on the island we were greeted with a brief no longer than 5 minute welcome speech overview of what to expect. The tour is self guided which we appreciated as we could explore at our own pace. There was a substantial amount of walking included up hill toward the beginning. After arriving back at pier 33, we were driven to Boudin Bakery where our lunch was brought to us and enjoyed on the trolley car yummy sandwich, chips, and soda/water options. After we did some site seeing, followed by a trip over the golden gate bridge. Not every tour is taken over the bridge, and is dependent upon traffic. Lastly, we visited fort point, for me picture opportunities. We highly recommend this tour! If you only have time for one tour, this is a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The cruise was a hit with my family. They really enjoyed the leisure cruise around the the bay and were very happy with the experience. I recommend this as a must do to anyone who wants to get a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I feel really lucky to have found this tour of San Francisco on a motorized cable car, and we had a brilliant guide. First stop is Alcatraz, followed by lunch, then the Golden Gate bridge etc. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend as a unique way to see the sights of San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic food and plenty of it. Wonderful views of every feature of the bay, including that amazing passage under the Golden Gate Bridge and a close view of Alcatraz. I really enjoyed getting to pass under the Bay Bridge as well---not nearly as well known as the Golden Gate Bridge, but very impressive and beautiful in its own way, too. Lots and lots of fantastic photo ops!

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Easily worth the money. You're not trapped on those giant tug boats will a million other people with a recording playing overhead. The Adventure Cat plays Journey and you cruise around Alcatraz and under the Golden Gate Bridge. There's bar on board too...

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an awesome tour. Great tour guide. I highly recommend being a fast bike rider or at least being able to keep up at the front of the pack because your tour guide might be able to give you more information. I always love being at the front because it almost seems as if it's your own private tour. We really enjoyed our bike ride into Sausalito as well. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone in San Francisco. It's so cool to tell people you rode a bike over the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour, really giving us a good overview of San Francisco from a coach and a trip over the Golden Gate bridge. Our driver was fantastic, giving us a great commentary and we learned things about San Francisco and its residents that we would never have found out just from walking around. The Alcatraz tour was also really interesting and the audio tour was a must!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Early access. Only way to go! Be prepared to line up at ferry. That is the only negative. Enjoyed the self paced audio tour at Alcatraz. Sneaky Pete our trolley driver was fantastic. Great commentary, very entertaining and a bit cheeky!! Lunch from Boudins Bakery was delicious. Best sandwiches we have a had for while. Can recommend the vegetarian and the ham. Saw some interesting sights on trolley tour and it was great going across Golden Gate Bridge. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I cannot rave enough about this trip! From the professional, helpful and knowledgeable booking agent right through the ride, everything was perfect. The experienced and friendly crew made us feel very safe and welcomed as we cruised through the Bay, past Alcatraz, and under the Golden Gate Bridge. What an experience! We've been to San Francisco many times and this time was the most memorable. We will definitely sail again when we return. The cost, which included the ride, light snacks and drinks was beyond reasonable. I strongly encourage anyone taking a trip to San Francisco to enjoy this ride. The views were spectacular and the pictures we have will bring back great memories every time we look at them! Thank you!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Was very dissapointed with this visit. The road to the Golden Gate Bridge was closed and this meant we couldn't get anywhere near it. Instead we had to use public transport and find our own way.( was relatively simple so can't understand why the driver couldn't do this?) many left the tour early.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is absolutely a fantastic way to spend a day in SF. By buying the trip package in advance you avoid the long lines to buy a ticket to Alcatraz, if they are available as trips sell out. I was there on 6/29, tickets to Alcataz were sold out until 8/3!! When you get to the Rock you get a headphone set and little radio so you can go through everything at your own pace. And the Sunset cruise is a two hour ride through SF Bay and into Sausalito and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Great photo ops along the way particularly the SF skyline at night all lit up. Nice finger food on the ship small sandwiches, salads, etc.
All in all this is a great value for the money and the best way to use your time as everything is done in advance. Great value for the price!!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

mamcitamaples
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sightseeing tour was very enjoyable! We loved our guide Jaimie. She knew all of the sights that tourist would be interested in visiting. Especially loved riding around in a cable car, even with the wet weather. And don't miss the view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the fort.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sarah N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour as a great way to see what San Fransisco has to offer. That way you know what you want to go and see more of. We went on a tour of the city including the Golden Gate Bridge, twin peaks, lots of famous streets from the films, the fantastic park etc. The tour guide is very informative. After the tour we got the ferry to Alcatraz as part of the trip. Having been for the second time I enjoyed it just as much. It is such an interesting and fascinating place! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazing time! It was a great way to see the Golden Gate Bridge. Group size was just right, we were able to get amazing photos of the bridge at sunset. Lots of fun! This was the second highlight of the day. The first was Muir Woods.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great way to find you way around San Fran. Very organised and the tour guide spoke like a real professional. Had great knowledge on all things about the city. Apart from the fog on the Golden Gate Bridge the day as spectacular. Alcatraz is all that the reviews say. It is a must for all sightseers. Well organised tour and very very informative.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was ok but the food provided did not make it a 64 dollar trip. Lovely views of all San Francisco Bay and stunning views of Golden Gate Bridge at sunset,

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

there was no early access to alcatraz, dont understand WHY THEY CALLED IT VIP.
THE CABLE CAR TOUR DIDNT GO OVER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE, THE TOUR JUST STAYED ON THE WEST SIDE OF TOWN, FEEL LIKE WE GOT RIPPED OFF

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour of the city with excellent commentary of points of interest including the Golden Gate Bridge, wow! This was followed by a brilliant ferry trip to Alcatraz.
Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a brilliant tour guide who even took us below the Golden Gate Bridge and we had blankets to keep us warm the cable car and lunch was worth every penny we paid would highly recommend to anyone going to San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the Bridge to Bridge cruise on May 30, 2015. It was a beautiful day, allowing us to see the Golden Gate Bridge partially shrouded in fog, while the other side enjoyed the sunlight. As we listened to the audio tour, it was fascinating to learn so much history about SF and the surrounding areas. Can't wait to take another cruise in the future!

Doing what: Best San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of Alcatraz and Golden Gate bridge Piers. Tour guide funny jokes not so. Very well informed and helpful would recommend to
anyone

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message