San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate Bridge

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 482 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Phil U

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great!
The food was accommodating, there were lots of people to mingle with and the views of the Golden Gate Bridge at night were spectacular :)

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had an excellent experience with Jamie leading the way as our guide. Had plenty of time on Alcatraz. Had our own personal trolley and stopped at Fort Point near the Golden Gate Bridge for some unbelievable photo opportunities. Awesome trips through Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, amongst other areas. People kept asking to join us only to be told sorry, this is a private tour :-. Jaime was extremely personable and basically offered to go anyplace we wanted. Highly recommend, well worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

jewel f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour ! Highly recommend. The tour guide Altruro (sorry if spelt wrong) - He was great ! Very nice. It was a pleasant day. Went to two great vantage points to get good pics of the Golden Gate Bridge. The early morn access to Alcatraz was great..Was one of the first ppl up there :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Hit most of the highlights of the city and the Golden Gate Bridge. Excellent trip to do for a first timer to the city.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was perfect in every way from getting on the motorised cablecar to first onto Alcatraz to the golden gate bridge.PERFECT ,PERFECT, PERFECT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellant trip by helicopeter under and over the Golden Gate bridge and all over San Francisco / Alcatraz. Well worth the money for this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour of San Francisco. One of the reasons I went on this tour was to see the giant Redwoods. Was not disappointed. Was a foggy day which reduced the visibility of the Golden Gate bridge but this added to photographs taken. The afternoon tour was also excellent. The view from Twin peaks was fantastic. Disappointing that tours can no longer go past the painted ladies but this is not the tour companies fault. Drivers of both buses were interesting and knew what they were talking about. Great tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

lsp

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great. Bus driver was informative and we saw parts of San Fran we would not have seen otherwise if we went by ourselves. I wish there was more time to spend at the Golden Gate Bridge though. We were given only 15 mins and wished we could have stayed a little longer.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Helen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour!! The day started with the tour meeting in Union Square at 7:15am. However, don't quite understand that part as we really didn't leave from there until about 7:45am and they stated in the confirmation to arrive at least a half an hour early. From Union Square, the driver took us on a tour of SF and showed us some landmarks and different areas of the city which was interesting. He then dropped us off at the Alcatraz landing so we could board one of the first ferries out to Alcatraz which was the 8:45am ferry. The driver then instructed us to take the 11:25am ferry back to the landing so we could do the rest of the tour. That gave you plenty of time to look around on the island and to do the audio tour that was included with the ticket price. On the ferry, they do sell items to eat and drink if you are hungry. After that, we ate our lunch that was included with the tour and then headed to the Golden Gate Bridge. We went over the bridge and on the other side stopped and was able to take pictures and enjoy the scenery. We then went back over the bridge and actually he took us under the bridge so we could take pictures from that vantage point as well. The driver then drove us to the Palace of the arts and let us walk around that area and take pictures as well. Long day but had a fun time exploring the many different sites of SF.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lindsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

GREAT tour and great way to see the golden gate bridge. the ride is scenic and slow w/ ample opportunities to stop and take photos! the tour leaves you in a cute area in Sausalito with multiple options for lunch then it's time for a amazing ferry ride back to San Fran. Blazing Saddles does an awesome tour and I would HIGHLY recommend it!

Doing what: Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito

Philippa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Went with my jaded and moody teenagers and we had a fabulous time. Can't beat seeing the Golden Gate Bridge with the right amount of fog, then close enough to Alcatraz and under the awesome Bay Bridge. We loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic time! Flew out from Sausalito, flew over Mill Valley, along the coast, over the Golden Gate bridge, around the city and around Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Sunset Champagne Seaplane Tour

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great way to see the city. We had walked over the Golden Gate Bridge the day before but to fly over it and under it was breath taking. A special treat for a special birthday.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Kate United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We would recommend Viator. We were picked up from our hotel in the morning by the 'minibus' and began our fantastic San Francisco tour. The guide was so knowledgeable and friendly and took us to so many places. Nothing was too much trouble. There were plenty of photostops. We stopped on both sides of Golden Gate Bridge and the drive over to Saulsalito was awesome.We took some great photos on the ferry across the bay. Alcatraz is an experience not to be missed. Well organised and good value!

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Ladan F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The transport to pick us up from the hotel was 30 min late, but it was a nice surprise to be driven on and across the Golden Gate Bridge for our Gand Vista flight. We had a good flight and very clear view , the flight was very exciting. But then we had to wait for the next group of people to finish their flight to be all driven back together to our hotel. However we asked to be dropped off near the Union Square and the driver obliged very nicely.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Kenneth K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Was a great tour and Arturo our guide had a great knowledge of the city.
The views of the Golden Gate Bridge he took us to was great

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Marilyn P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This is not an easy ride. There are hills that most of the riders walked the bikes up the hill. The section over the Golden Gate Bridge was dangerous! The bikers that were familiar with the bridge were riding extremely fast. Going through an extremely narrow section, I crashed into the bridge and none of the of the other riders on the tour stopped to see if I was all right. Nothing was broken, but I have an extra large swollen bruise on my leg. The bike ride through the Marina District was beautiful. We stopped often along the route to take photos. The Guide could have given us more history info. on the areas we were riding through. All in all I was not impressed.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Arturo was our driver, and he was great! Very knowledgeable, kind and friendly. He offered to take our photos for us a few times. Alcatraz was amazing, highly recommend going. After that, Arturo picked us up and we went to Fishermans Warf and ate lunch, which was provided by Boudin, the local bread company that makes sourdough bread fresh daily, really good btw. Then Arturo drove us across the Golden Gate Bridge, we took pictures, then drove back across and took more photos. Really great experience overall, would highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mollychops United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent trip, well worth doing. Jaime was our driver and she was great, her enthusiasm was infectious. Wish we could have had longer on Alcatraz, as the audio tour was very informative and thought provoking. Great lunch from Boudins Bakery, followed by a drive over the Golden Gate Bridge then through Presidio, stop off at the Palace of Fine Arts, even managed a quick drive past Mrs Doubtfire's house.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

SANDRA J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The cruise was awesome. We sailed at sunset and got to see Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. The food was of excellent quality. A definite must for a relaxing evening. We would do it again.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The cruise was great. Seeing the Golden Gate Bridge close up was good. Could have gone closer to the Bay Bridge before turning away. Would have been nice to have some commentary on the trip. Not a word was said or at least not heard through the speakers on the top.
Overall the cruise was fine.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

polsonbartlett

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Disappointing. We had a long wait to get checked in because one register was closed, even though we'd pre-purchased our tickets. We were not able to visit Golden Gate Park as it is closed to traffic on Sunday, something we were not made aware of. Most of the tour wasn't particularly informative, just driving up and down streets. Thankfully, the driver took us to Fort Point and across the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

isobel.penrose

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We enjoyed doing this - lovely view and experience cycling over the Golden Gate Bridge and we loved Sausilito. However long queues getting on ferry for return leg and it wasn't as good as our experience with the guide on the Vancouver bike tour but still fun to do.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Jason M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a fantastic tour and a great way to see the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

On Day 4, we went to Alcatraz the Rock. If you stay at any hotel in the Fishermans Wharf area, you will see this island. You cant leave without going here. Plus the pictures from Alcatraz of Downtown San Francisco or the Golden Gate Bridge are pretty awesome. Later that evening about 7pm, we took a Sunset Bay Cruise which served food around the Bay and sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge. This was about 96 per person. I will say that you may want to make reservations for the Alcatraz tour about a 2 month out.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message