Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 417 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was AMAZING!! It was my first time in a helicopter and I'm really glad I did it. It goes without saying that the best part was flying over AND THEN UNDER the Golden Gate Bridge. And here's a shout out to the employees. I was on the last flight of the day and I didn't realize we weren't landing at the same place we took off from so I left my camera bag inside the waiting area. Someone made a special trip to my hotel the next day to drop off my bag. Absolutely first class customer service!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was absolutely amazing. The pilot flew under the Golden Gate Bridge. Excellent value.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome - it was so cool to go under and over the Golden Gate Bridge and the 360 panoramic was especially memorable - it made the "best birthday present ever"

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to San Francisco. If you are a photographer, the sunset bay cruise is an awesome way to capture photos of the Golden Gate Bridge that you cannot get on land. This was my 2nd time to Alcatraz and I found it as interesting this time as I did my 1st. For me, the highlight of this tour was the Sunset Bay Cruise. By no means is the boat luxurious, so if you are looking for high end, this tour will not be for you. But, if you do not mind a couple hours on board a clean and comfortable boat that takes you around Alcatraz, Angel Island, Sausalito and up close and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge, this tour is excellent. The narrated guide is informative, the singer/musician was entertaining and the food was decent. But, the best part of this tour is getting to go up underneath the Golden Gate Bridge and capture the glory of it as the sun is setting over the bay. I was very lucky because we had a pretty clear evening for our tour and it resulted in some awesome photos. I would have given this a 5 star rating if not for one minor issue. My Alcatraz boat did not leave until 1PM, but I had to pick up the tickets for this tour at a different Pier prior to 11AM the day of the tour. This meant I had to incur additional parking charges and parking in San Francisco is crazy expensive. So, although I had to arrive more than two hours early, I still have an excellent day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was nice, the guitarist was great, but they never told us what to do in case of an emergency. No mention of where the life jackets were or if they had life rafts. I realized we didn't have this information 3/4 of the way through the trip when we were going under th Golden Gate Bridge, and the seas were very choppy. About the same time I was wondering, my dad turned to me and said, I don't see any life jackets.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Sunset Bay Cruise was our favorite part! The vessel itself was nice and the staff were incredibly friendly. We got amazing views and pictures at sunset with the Golden Gate Bridge. The appetizers they provided were also pretty good: fruit, veggies, sandwiches nothing too spectacular but nice. I must say that their home-made brownies and chocolate chip cookies were out of this world! They asked if we wanted to take some to go, we kindly declined but just them asking was very nice. Alcatraz was informative and special. I would book a tour with Viator again

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour. Lots of fun riding on a cable car look a like vehicle. Our guide Art was fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, super energetic and accommodating. He offered to take pictures of us multiple times. He had fun music on the trip. Being from San Francisco he was full of great facts and definitely went out of his way to take us to some places I had not expected. The Alcatraz tour was awesome as expected. This is a tour no one should miss in San Francisco. Only complaint is we were supposed to be on 8:45 ferry first ones on island but ended up on 9:10. Not a huge deal though. The audio tour is a must it is narrated from inmates and officers views. You can really imagine what it was like. Only downside is that you really must move along and you can't explor too much beyond narrated tour because you have to catch ferry back. Boxed lunch from Boudin was delicious. The city part of the tour is limited by time so you won't see the city on this tour. But anywhere we passed on the way to Fisherman's wharf and Golden Gate Bridge, Art pointed things out and made every momet meaningful. Big bonuses he took us through the Presidio, a former military fort, now national park. He took us to Fort Point where we got the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge. He also took us the the Palace of Fine Arts. If you appreciate architecture you would love this. It's almost as if someone dropped a little piece of Rome in San Francisco. Massive columns and dome structure. Beautiful gardens, ponds and paths all around it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the last tour we did on our visit to San Fransisco. Was such a beautiful way to finish it off, lovely cruise, great crew and the sunsetting over the Golden Gate Bridge and bay just topped it off. Will highly recommend your company to all my friends who travel to San Fransisco, thank you

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was the night of my 65th birthday. We went with friends. Music was good, the food was plentiful and more than just snacks. We watched the sun set behind the Golden Gate Bridge, then watched the full moon rise above the Bay Bridge. Altogether, the cruise was magical and I'll always remember it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Moira B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience, we only had a day in SFO so wanted to see as much as possible, and this certainly fitted the bill. Our guide Arturo was great, very knowledgable and friendly. Alcatraz was awesome. Getting up early for the first ferry to Alcatraz was well worth while, we used the audio tour and had just the right amount of time there. Worth booking in advance, Arturo had our tickets ready, but people hoping to buy on the day were disappointed, as the next available tickets were for two days later. Unfortunately didn't get to drive across the Golden Gate bridge due to long traffic queues caused by a broken down vehicle but stopped at a place where you could get great view of the bridge. Lunch was very good, freshly made at the bakery. None of our group opted for the tour of the bakery, so just enjoyed our lunch boxes either on the vehicle or sat outside on benches. Very worthwhile tour, and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well done. Recommend to do the first day of San Francisco. Many people noticed us as we cruised easily about the city. Great views of the Golden Gate Bridge. Only about 28 people to the cable car, so get there early to board car and get the middle enclosed area for warmth in the cool times of the year....mostly for using crossing the bridge. There was water/juice on board.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time on our tour to Alcatraz followed by the dinner tour of the harbor area. The boat operators were all pleasant and professional and made sure to thank us for coming. The dinner cruise had wonderful food and drink for dinner, and was wonderful to see the city skyline, the Bay Bridge, the Golden Gate Bridge although it was shrouded in fog and lovely Sausalito harbor. A wonderful day for my husband and I, and his daughter and husband!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Alcatraz was a fascinating place. The tour on the bus in the morning included a ride over the Golden Gate Bridge.
Picked us up and dropped us off right by our hotel.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was great seeing everything from the water! We got right up close to Alcatraz, which was nice because all the tours were sold out get it early!. Also, being a civil engineer, getting right under the Golden Gate Bridge was amazing, because you get to admire a lot more of the structure. Cheese plate was good and the wine flowed! A little chilly in March, though!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The visit to Alcatraz was unforgettable, a highlight of our visit to San Francisco. We also enjoyed the sunset bay cruise but were disappointed that the weather was a bit grey. Never mind, the food was much nicer than we had expected and there was entertainment in the form of a pleasant singer. We had an unexpected bonus though, as we sailed back towards the Golden Gate Bridge the sun must have come through because all of a sudden there was a magnificent sunset. Everyone was clicking away with their cameras. A magical moment. This would have scored a perfect 5 stars if only there had been some kind of commentary. Even if the singer had given us a bit of information about things we were seeing would have helped. Even without a commentary we all agreed we would definitely recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Arturo was awesome. He was knowledgable and gave us a lot of great information! He also took us along the most scenic routes for the Golden Gate Bridge, which was very cool. The only suggestions I have are to have a spot where we could have gotten off of the cable car to eat lunch. It was cramped to have to eat it inside the cable car. Also, the breaks on the car we were on should be checked! Otherwise, it was a great time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this tour and the view of SF was amazing, flying under and through the Golden Gate Bridge was a highlight. It was fairly windy the day we went up but we felt safe in Pilot Mark's hands. This is a must do tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful day, great cable car tour, visit to Alcatraz was amazing, good to get there early and avoid rush, tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, spectacular views of Golden Gate Bridge both over it and under it, well worth paying the extra money for this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sam T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This Golden Gate Bridge bike tour was simply amazing. Our tour guide, Alex, was very knowledgeable and shared some interesting information about San Francisco and the surrounding area. The tour lasted about two hours (although expect it to take about three hours if the tour group is larger - there were only a total of four people in our tour). Although we chose against it we did had the opportunity to take a self guided ride after the tour had finished. Included is a ferry ticket back to San Francisco - the ferry trip itself was stunning! Alex was very friendly and personable which made the tour really enjoyable. Although we encountered heavy fog for most of the ride we still had a great time and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting San Francisco to take this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was great. Good food, good music Im not sure this is standard, but one of the employees played hand saw yes youre reading that right, good times. Also the views of the Golden Gate Bridge, and the city skyline at night were lovely.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time; everything ran smoothly and our tour guide even added a few extra details like parking for lunch in front of a street vendor and taking a "short cut" through some of the more notable neighborhoods of San Francisco. Alcatraz was fascinating as was the Golden Gate Bridge and we had plenty of time to explore both. And, what can beat riding around San Francisco in your own private cable car??

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, the cable car, the attractions visited and food are all amazing! Alcatraz is a must see. We stopped at pier 39, both ends of Golden Gate Bridge and many other great attractions. He treated us more than what we expected. We saw the bests of SFO in this short tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see both bridges. Unfortunately we had a bit of fog under Golden Gate Bridge but this added to atmosphere and we did actually drive over the bridge on a clear day. I definitely can recommend this cruise.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

excellent trip, except we didn't get close to the Golden Gate Bridge as they had it closed but they didn't even try and get close for photos. So that spoilt the trip I'm afraid.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed the tour - only disappointment was that we were meant to go on a morning tour but it was changed to an afternoon tour the day before - we missed out on driving over the golden gate bridge or getting anywhere near it - just spent to long on other things that we didn't really need to see and not on the big things like the golden gate bridge. by changing it to an afternoon tour meant we had to deal with afternoon traffic etc.

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message