San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate Bridge

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 500 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

paulaallinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It took our breath away! The weather was perfect so was going under The Golden Gate Bridge a tremendous experience. Just loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Crew team was great. The food was amazing and to see the sunset under the Golden Gate Bridge was breath taking. It was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

janspinney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant. My favourite day of my holiday. Alcatraz was so interesting and then to finish off the day with a lovely cruise under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset was breathtaking. The crew were lovely the food was delicious and the perfect end to a lovely day...

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

mcinnesfam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth having a guide to take you over the Golden Gate Bridge. He took you to all the places to get the best views. The trip was a three hour ride but it was set to every bodies pace most of it was on cycle paths. There were two hills but you could walk your bike up if you wished. The ride down the hill at the end into Sausalito was brilliant. A very enjoyable day with a ferry ride back with your bike at the end.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Our tour guide, Arturo, was fantastic as was the sights he showed us. Getting to Alcatraz Island early gave us amply time to explore without the crowds. The rest of the tour was just great. We crossed the Golden Gate Bridge, stopped for photo ops and generally had a great day. One caution, the open-air bus is very windy, so hair needs to be tied back and having jackets handy will make the tour a little more enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Claris P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

very nice but basic tour. go across the golden gate bridge and then back to the bay bridge. thats it. nice view but it should be cheapper.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Rachel L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I loved biking across the Golden Gate Bridge. It was the highlight of San Fran. This touring company was okay. We were left after being only 2 minutes late. So make sure you show up 15 minutes before. I believe they left earlier than that due to how far they went in 2 minutes. They do not call either to see if you are on the way.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Jennie G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very beautiful scenery, the food could be better but other than that is was nice.. We went under the Golden Gate Bridge and there were some great photo ops..crew was very friendly.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Jayashree P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! Our guide was superb and gave us a marvellous experience. We did this on our second day of a 5 day stay and he introduced us to the city in the best way possible. He took us to the best spots to get the most amazing photos of the Golden Gate Bridge and other landmarks. Arturo's love of the city, his knowledge and above all his superb people skills all combine to make this an extraordinary experience - don't miss it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Gregg O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great. Just great! Unfamiliar with the city, I used my map and found my way. I was a bit out of sorts when I checked in. The young man was friendly and helpful. From the start, the experience was A 1. How lucky I was, I thought later, that I clicked on this tour--rather than any other--because it just got better and better! The guys were great. they set me up with a bike and adjusted it for my height. We met Steve our guide. He asked us where we were from and proceeded to field any questions. Once we got rollin,' we stopped at our first tour-stop 5 minutes in. I was having some difficulty. Steve explained to me how to shift gears and did not at all make me feel foolish for not knowing how to work a bicycle. We were off again. At our stops, he was enthusiastic about how cool the info was I appreciated it more than others. He knew his stuff, he welcomed questions, and happily offered to take photos for us along the way. I was at the back of the line, because I was all about soaking it in. Our guide even tailored his speed and info for our group. It was perfect weather for this Bike Across the Bridge and became the highlight of my whole trip to San Francisco trip. Here's why! The pinnacle of the whole experience was the unexpected pleasure of genuine and true interaction. Let's face it or you shall soon see San Francisco reeks of all things touristy. And the city gets no awards from me on cleanliness. it was so refreshing to stumble upon an experience with helpful genuine people who are sincere in such a way that you feel as though you matter--on a human level. Oh wait! The Absolute Pinnacle was looking straight up from tower 1 in the heart of Our Golden Gate Bridge. But a real close 2nd was being presented this magnificent sight courtesy of truly surprising people. Wow! I recommend that you click on this one! And I will add that if you receive great joy, tipping is a great way to keep positive energy alive and flowing! Everyone wins! I know I won!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Lynda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arturo was our guy. Had lots of info to share. Enjoyed our trip to Alcatraz. Doing it first thing was the only way to see it. We had a perfect day for viewing the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is my third five-star trip using Viator. Like the others, this trip did not disappoint. My 19 year old daughter and I decided to skip parents weekend at her college and instead do an unforgettable adventure activity with our time together. We had a total blast and she said this was one of the most fun things she's ever done including skydiving! One of the reasons for that is that she asked the shuttle driver if she could have the seat next to the helicopter pilot front seat with full unobstructed views so she got the best seat in the house. As a caveat, the helicopter has seating for 6 but that means one excellent copilot seat, four really good window seats and one inner ok but inferior seat. I took that inner seat since she got the best seat but I would not have been happy if I was stuck with the inner seat in any other scenario. Views were still good from that seat but it was not as easy/nice to take pictures and get the full effect. Anyway, we all had headsets to cancel the noise and to be able to communicate with each other during the flight. It was an incredible experience, especially flying over AND UNDER the Golden Gate bridge! Everything felt completely safe and enjoyable. DO THIS TRIP YOU WON'T BE SORRY!!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Ben W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our own private tour with Pinky, who was very friendly and a great guide!
This is definitely the way to see the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Evening Bike Tour Including Golden Gate Bridge

Matt G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well, it rained for part of the trip but we made the most of it! And still were able to get some really good pics! Our tour guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable about the history of San Fran and the Golden Gate Bridge he was super laid back and a lot of fun! In the end, we had a private tour because everyone else cancelled so it was our lucky day even though it rained!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Brandy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was THE best tour ever! Arturo did an amazing job getting us around in the not so great weather of San Francisco. The cable car was so cool and getting to Alcatraz early was priceless! He gave us insight on getting around on the grounds and fully enjoying the experience. Lunch was nice and the drive over the Golden Gate Bridge and fort area underneath it was especially a nice, uncrowded visit. The Palace of Fine Arts was an unexpected pleasure, such a beautiful area!
Overall it was totally a 5 star experience in a great city!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

janerobinson45

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The weather was very kind on the evening we sailed and we had some wonderful views of the Golden Gate Bridge. It really was a 'sunset cruise'. The food on board was very good and there was plenty of it. Having read previous reviews, we did not eat prior to boarding and were pleased we chose to do this. Overall a great experience.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Such beautiful views of the city, Alcatraz Island, Golden Gate Bridge, etc. Excellent staff as well - it was a wonderful experience, even though it was a bit cold they provided coats!. I would definitely do this again and recommend it to anyone visiting San Fran.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed the sailboat ride on San Francisco Bay. It was neat sailing underneath the Golden Gate Bridge. We went in March and the weather was perfect. The crew were friendly and skilled sailors. Also, a crew member offered to take pictures of everyone which was great to capture the scenic landscape around us.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Allen M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

LOVED IT! Alcatraz was interesting informative and the tour made it easy to relax and enjoy the day. The City tour was very helpful to orient us on our first visit to San Francisco. Enjoyed great views of the Golden Gate Bridge, Twin Peaks view of the city - Good pictures and great memories.

Thanks for making this easy for us.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Darryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent. The one day tour ended up being split into two days so sadly we only managed the city tour part and dropped the Alcatraz visit. The agents were great and refunded 50 of our cost as we only had one day in San Francisco. The tour was amazing and I cannot recommend it highly enough, they picked us up on time and the driver was extremely knowledgeable. The city took about 4 hours and takes you around all the key areas and the driver points out everything including areas where films were made i.e. Mrs Boubtfire. We then crossed the Golden Gate bridge and took a ferry back to Fishermans Wharf. Excellent trip and very enjoyable.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Phil U

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great!
The food was accommodating, there were lots of people to mingle with and the views of the Golden Gate Bridge at night were spectacular :)

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Ryan S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Visiting Alcatraz was a very great experience. I made sure that when we were getting onto the boat to head over that I checked the times the ferry was headed back to the mainland when keeping in mind that we had the cruise later on. I felt as if it would have been nice to have a bit more time on the island because my partner and I didn't complete the audio tour we got through most of it though. The cruise was nice. Be sure to get to the appetizers early on enough similar to when everyone else is picking away at them. The appetizers were fairly good though a couple of them were just okay and not too impressive. There were a few people on the boat who worked there that were very nice and always offered to take pictures. They were so nice! We went in mid February so I wish the cruise started a little earlier. The sun was down halfway through the two hour cruise. We could still enjoy the lights, but it also got a tad chilly and really wind on parts of the boat so we stayed inside for the last half hour. The route we took was nice, but I wish they started off with going under the Golden Gate Bridge since that's such a landmark and it'd be nice to get shots when the sun is setting. It was one of the last parts of the cruise and it was completely dark at that point so not as good. Overall I'd recommend it to others. I think it's nice how the ticket was paired up because both were good experiences though I didn't happen to thoroughly look at how much we may have saved by doing this deal as opposed to buying the two pieces separately.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Sloansal1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Trip started with pick up from our hotel at 8.15am we were taken to the local tour operator's office to collect tickets for ferry trip we then had to wait for a mini bus to take us to ferry terminal we were dropped off and told we would be picked up between 1.15-1.30 pm we were booked on 10.30am ferry and returned to wait for bus which arrived at 1.30 pm we were then told we were going back to office. again to collect orange tickets for afternoon city tour at the office we told coach would come at 2pmafter getting on coach the tour guide told us the speakers were not working so we had to change coaches after delay we were informed the traffic was really chaos due to local holiday and he had forgotten some roads were closed because of this what followed was 4 hours of nose to tail traffic and the most boring commentary about the city repeating the same information as tour went on we were told tour would finish hour later than 5pm finish 20 mins to go into a car park and exit crossing the Golden Gate Bridge no vantage point stop due to traffic and we ended up being dropped off at a street near the local tour office in the dark so when we arrived at Fishermans wharf which had been on the iternary it was dark and we were disappointed as with only one full day in San Fransico and one of the reasons we booked the trip it was not great to have missed the wharf in daylight and relaxing what we got was being stuck in traffic all afternoon surely the company should have been aware of traffic issues and maybe improved on the zero communication about how the tour was planned and Boeing shuttled on and off coaches all day it was not our expectations of a city tour would have been I had spent 300 plus on the website booking trips so I am unhappy at this trips would be interested to hear your comments on the above

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had an excellent experience with Jamie leading the way as our guide. Had plenty of time on Alcatraz. Had our own personal trolley and stopped at Fort Point near the Golden Gate Bridge for some unbelievable photo opportunities. Awesome trips through Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, amongst other areas. People kept asking to join us only to be told sorry, this is a private tour :-. Jaime was extremely personable and basically offered to go anyplace we wanted. Highly recommend, well worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

jewel f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour ! Highly recommend. The tour guide Altruro (sorry if spelt wrong) - He was great ! Very nice. It was a pleasant day. Went to two great vantage points to get good pics of the Golden Gate Bridge. The early morn access to Alcatraz was great..Was one of the first ppl up there :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message