Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 407 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money. From on time pick-up in front of the Radisson to the flight were all top shelf. Steve the shuttle driver and also a helicopter pilot in training was very informative and an excellent host. Mark the pilot, who received his training in the Army flying UH-60's was fun and safe. My two boys and I enjoyed this experience and a different view of this beautiful city. We drove across Golden Gate bridge, took the ferry under and around the bridge from pier 39 and now flew under and over this beautiful structure. We did the Golden Gate all three ways.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The bridge to bridge tour was nice as we got to sit and not walk around and we took pictures of The Bay bridge and the Golden Gate bridge. We went to pier 43 for souvenirs and fish and chips downstairs for lunch but went to the Butterfly restaurant for supper and tried Vietnamese food.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Rhona S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Flew over and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Superb views and fun experience

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

great experience! fantastic crew- friendly and knowledgable. The boat was well-maintained and comfortable with plenty of space outside and inside for everyone. The route was lovely: around alcatraz, under the golden gate bridge and back. And as an added bonus, it takes off from pier 39- right where the sea lions live, so you get an up-close view of them.

For those concerned, you don't really get wet (unless it's raining). There's a possibility of getting wet if you're standing in the wrong place, but the crew will warn you. I was comfortable bringing a good, not-waterproof camera with me. It WILL get chilly though, so plan for that (it IS san fran after all)

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. They take you under the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz island. It is extremely windy and a bit cold so be prepared. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. They take you under the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz island. It is extremely windy and a bit cold so be prepared. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way to get around San Francisco, even for those very familiar with the area, like myself. If you're not looking to bring your own car (because of traffic, hills, one way streets, and parking, yikes!) and don't want to walk everywhere, this is a great alternative. You'll see all the sites you were likely to see anyway, yet you get to avoid having to figure out the public transportation on your own. Getting to Golden Gate Bridge via public transportation is not the easiest thing in the world, and likely involves a couple transfers, yet with this tour company, you can rest easy knowing that the bus you're on will take you right there. If you're not looking to spend a whole day seeing these sights, then you probably can't justify the price, particularly compared to Bart/Muni; if, however, you want to see as many of SF's famous landmarks as possible in one day, then there's really no question that this bus saves you time, energy, and money, plus is way more informative.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Value for money and reliable. great to go across Golden Gate Bridge both ways this was not possible in January last year when I was last in San Francisco. Well worth booking in advance a good saving.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Overall the tour was good...the driver/tour guide was great! Unfortunately, we were not on the first ferry to Alcatraz, which was one of the main reasons we booked this tour. There was a lot of time spent waiting before and after the Alcatraz trip, which felt like a waste of time. We were also disappointed in the lunch, particularly that we had to eat on the moving trolley. With the exception of lunch, the trolley was a great way to see the city. Our guide was able to get us across the Golden Gate Bridge and to a viewing location away from the massive crowds. If this is the only way to get tickets to Alcatraz, then do it, but evaluate all your choices if it's not.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good city tour with Brian. He was very friendly, funny and knowledgable. Went out of his way to get us the best photo opportunity for Golden Gate Bridge. Dropped us off for our Alcatraz trip which again was excellant. Would definately recommend this tour to others. We had booked 2 trips with Viator this year and the whole experience on both from easy booking and exciting tours was great.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Stephen M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent - was expecting an open top tour bus but was glad it was an air conditioned coach. We got to see the Golden Gate Bridge, cross over it and other spectacular sights in San Francisco and out tour guide was excellent. The boat trip that circled Alcatraz was also well organised and we got to see it from every angle, although the trips to view inside were fully booked. The weather was particularly good that weekend apparently not always the case for San Francisco in June, normally very foggy and you cannot see the bridge or Alcatraz when this happens, which we did not realize before we went! Overall a great day.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lovely boat trip. Food varied and substantial. Unfortunately the Golden Gate Bridge was shrouded in mist so we saw very little. However, the boat trip was lovely and relaxing. I can imagine it would be stunning if not misty as you go right under the bridge. Well organised.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver Alex greeted us warmly on a brisk morning, and invited us to be seated while the rest of our tour arrived. We loved the small but sweet touch of having San Francisco/California themed music playing on the bus. Alex answered our preliminary questions kindly, putting us at ease immediately. He gave an indication of how favored we'd be on this tour by offering a breakfast snack. We were then off to Alcatraz as Alex offered insights of Chinatown and other sites. He was very clear in giving us direction in where to go at the Alcatraz dock, as well as letting us know when to return and where we could find him. He left nothing to chance, shepherding us very well. He was at the appointed spot when we returned from The Rock, and took us to a tour of Boudin's Bakery, as well as served us lunch from there. Next we were off to the Palace of Fine Arts, where he gave us enough time to take pictures but also be faithful to the tour's schedule. He not only took pictures of us on the tour bus, but directed us in striking the best pose for the picture, which came out good enough to be next year's Christmas card. Next was Golden Gate Bridge, which was absolutely mobbed, given the glory of the day, but Alex navigated the bus around other drivers who would have tried our patience. It was then time to head back to the city, and Alex continued to show his wealth of knowledge regarding SF, pointing our areas of interest others, like the Big Bus Tour, had missed. But all that I have described pales in relation to the one gesture that we shall carry with us from this tour. The lunch he had procured for us was very hearty, too much for one diner. He told us that if we wished, we could leave what we had not eaten with him, and he would see that they would get to the area's homeless. We knew that he'd see to it. It was one of those essential displays that lets you know that there are saints among us for whom community is more important that commerce. Just wonderful! Many thanks!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bike ride was fantastic - especially riding over the Golden Gate Bridge - although it was a little scary at times - with bike riders and people all trying to weave in and out of each other. Whilst the tour was great - and Sausalito absolutely beautiful - I thought our guide went a little too fast - and didn't really allow for as many photo ops as he could have. He said he had been on the desk for a while so maybe he was a little out of practice. Still a great tour though.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great Tour - saw stunning views of SF, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and Bay Bridge - the audio tour was very informative and very well coordinated with what you were viewing - great time would recommend to family and friends

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message