Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour for some fresh air and a fresh perspective on the Golden Gate Bridge. Plus lots of other cool things to see on the way. Had a great time.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This tour was good, but could have been better. We did Alcatraz first and they gave us about 3 hours before needing be back on the bus. By the time we waited for the ferry, got on, the ferry ride and then the time to wait and get back, it didn't give you much time left so we didn't get a chance to see everything on the island. Also they should make it clear that they only stop three times, golden gate bridge, north beach and twin peaks. Golden Gate Bridge and Twin Peaks were great but I felt there are plenty of other places we could have stopped that would be better than North Beach, e.g. Fishermans Wharf. I was under the impression we were stopping there. I'm Australian so I can see a beach at home. It was pretty but would have preferred to have stopped off at the Wharf. We only had one day in San Fran and thought this tour would be great to see everything, we saw everything, in a blur as we quickly drove by.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Karen R
Ireland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Overall this is not a well run tour !

Warning : you will not get enough time in Alcatraz . You have to be back at the tour to go to the bakery . This is not really a tour but just shown up to a room to walk around yourself . Lunch was nice .
No Golden Gate Bridge as the driven didn't want to go !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We turned up on time to get our Alcatraz tickets no problem....We were told to turn up at 3.30pm same place to be taken for the sea plane trip. Monday 29th Dec 2014 We were there for 3pm, same place, by 3.45 no one had turned up, there was 4 of us waiting. I managed to find a public phone to ask where the driver was, I was told there was a delay and he'd be there in 10 minutes....4.15, nothing....I phoned again FINALLY at 4.30 the driver turned up. We boarded the vehicle along with the other couple who we didn't know. We were held up so badly in traffic that before we even reached the Golden gate Bridge the driver had a call to say the trip could not go ahead. We were offered thetrip on the Friday, but all 4 of us said we were not in San Francisco that day. Since then Viator will not respond to our e- mails and we have put the matter in the hands of the credit card company. For an organization to treat its customers with such dis regard and dis respect is completely unacceptable...It is with conviction that as far as I am concerned the matter is far from over....

Doing what: San Francisco Seaplane Flight and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was amazing and I am so glad that we booked this tour. We was met on time and given a warm welcome by our guide who was so helpful and kind throughout the whole entire day. Alcatraz was brilliant and the tour was fantastic. There was a Boudin Bakery tour included which I didn't think was neccessary but the rest of the trip was amazing. Our tour guide took us around the whole city and across the golden gate bridge which we was not expecting. The only reason I give this tour 4 stars is that I though our time on Alcatraz was very restricted, although we got to see everything we didn't have any time spare, I think an extra hour to get back to the mainland would have been much better. I would 100% recommenrd this tour for anybody who wants to see Alcatraz and San Fran in a day! Thank you to our tour guide...he was brilliant!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour was ok. Disorganized, at first didn't have enough tickets to Alcatraz had to wait, they didn't tell us what time to be back from Alcatraz after asking twice. Didn't go over Golden Gate Bridge too much traffic. Worth doing but overpriced.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Very disappointed the Golden Gate Bridge was closed but the tour guide did not advise us until we asked. Did not enjoy this tour as the guide did not explain the sites very well. Have been to better tours in San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both my wife and I really enjoyed the experience. We felt that it really lived up to all expectations. To see the famous Golden Gate Bridge at night clouded in an eerie mist was just wonderful

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing experience! Flying low over San Francisco Bay was exhilarating, and the aerial views were phenomenal. We saw the Golden Gate Bridge, downtown San Francisco, Alcatraz, and everything in between. The plane was intimate and every seat had a window, which was awesome. I'm a local and have lived in the Bay Area all my life, but haven't done anything like this. I couldn't put my camera down!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Seaplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fabulous tour. It definitely paid off having the early access to Alcatraz. We were on the first boat to the island, which makes it much quieter for experiencing the eeriness that is The Rock. You definitely noticed the difference as boatloads of new visitors arrived.
The rest of the tour was excellent, also with a drive over the Golden Gate bridge, with a soundtrack that needs to be heard to be believed.
An excellent day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing- even flew under the Golden Gate bridge!!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our first "activity" upon arriving in San Francisco. It rained the entire time! I was very concerned about this, however, the crew did everything they could to make this cruise enjoyable despite the weather. Shortly after departure, "appetizers" were served buffet style. This was definitely a meal--salads, sandwiches, pastas, and desserts. The bar was fully stocked and reasonably priced after the first drink, which is included in the cruise package. There is a singer on board who is excellent: not too loud and sang a wide range of songs to please all guests. The cruise took us past Alcatraz, under the Golden Gate Bridge, turned back and headed toward the Bay Bridge. We were able to see AT and T Park and the light show on the Bay Bridge. This was definitely a fun way to start our San Francisco experience in spite of the rain!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour - included touring the city of San Francisco, Alcatraz, Boudin Bakery (including an ample lunch), Palace of fine Arts, the presidio and the Golden Gate bridge from both sides.

The driver was very informative, friendly and accommodating and provided a fun tour.

I enjoyed the whole day and would highly recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message