San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate National Recreation Area

Golden Gate National Recreation Area (GGNRA) is the largest urban park in the world, covering three counties along nearly 30 mi (48 km) of pristine shorelines. The area wraps around the northern and western edges of the city, encompassing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! I wish we had maybe a half hour longer in Muir Woods, but otherwise it was perfect. Excellent views of the Golden Gate Bridge, beautiful Redwoods, and a quick stop in Sausalito. Our tour guide went out of his way to make us comfortable and satisfy each of us. Yahoo, Manny!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, the coach driver was lovely and very knowledgeable, the coach was comfortable. We stopped at various places for photos and refreshments. I haven't done a coach tour for such a long time but this was great, it saves your feet doing the work and your see so much. Alcatraz was just amazing, guided tour with your own headset so you are free to wonder around. A strange place which makes you think, but well worth the visit. And booking tickets this way means you pick your date before you travel as its very busy and you can't just turn up and expect to go.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The touring bus was very comfortable, and the driver was professional, courteous, and quite able to share his amazing knowledge of SF and its history. The tour was a great introduction to SF.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Make sure your GPS is working before you leave. Once we had the hang of it and were comfortable, this GoCar is the BEST thing we did during our 5 day stay in SFO. We have 2 kids; 17 and 14 and they said it was the best tour they have ever had over all the year's of vacations. I thought 3 hours would be too long but we could have done it for 8 hours and never been tired of it. Everyone was taking pictures of us and the Northern Beach Tour or Red line was GREAT.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Juliehe
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great ride across the bridge, we had electric bikes and they made the uphill effortless, beautiful views of the san francisco bay

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Bus was on time, comfortable and the driver, Bryan, was very knowledgable about all things. He kept up a great conversation with everyone and drove very well on the sharp curves and uphills. He prepared us for the tour and we knew just what to expect and when to meet back at the bus. The Muir Woods and Sausalito trip was amazing and we recommend it to anyone. The woods are very quiet and peaceful. The trees are mind blowing ginormous. We loved it all.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed both parts of the tour. Wear comfortable shoes. Great guide.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My family and self took this tour to the Muir Woods while on a recent trip to San Francisco. The bus picked us up very close to our hotel and was a very comfortable ride. Bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable and a great tour guide as well as driver. I was very pleased with this service.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the city tour first which was comfortable, we had an amazing guide who had a wealth of knowledge on the city so made it extremely interesting. We went to all the important parts that you wish to see when visiting and he also showed us other areas landmarks that we weren't expecting but made the trip even better.

Alccatraz was fantastic, was eerie to walk around with the history but the audio tour we would highly recommend. You just listen and follow the instructions and you are at the right points when the information is being given relevant to that point. The boat ride isn't too bas either.

Both extremely well organised and enjoyed very much.
Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip to Muir Woods, though a bit more time in Sausalito would've been appreciated. Our tour guide was terrific - I think his name was Tony; informative and entertaining. Unfortunately it was foggy on our way there and on the way back. It would've been nice to have had a few minutes to pull over and take a few pictures off the Golden Gate Bridge, but maybe we didn't because it was foggy. Hopefully the bus will pull over if it's a clear day. Our walk through Muir Woods was calming and interesting and we were pleasantly surprised. Sausalito was nice as well, but again, we only had about 45 to look around - would've been nice to have more time there to eat and shop. I would recommend the full-day tour if you'd like more time in Sausalito. All in all, it's a great way to see a bit of the sights if you don't rent a car. We stayed near Fisherman's Wharf and it was only a short walk to the spot they picked us up at...though there was a bit of confusion as to which bus was ours-there were several buses. It was a good price for a nice venture.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the comfortable bus. The driver was great telling us about everything that we were seeing and also with keeping a schedule that allowed time for site seeing and pictures without long waits.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I booked a Muir woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half day trip for five people. We were picked up at our hotel and returned after the tour. The Tour bus driver was great, he was very knowledgeable, informative and entertaining with facts and historic stories of San Francisco, Muir Woods, and Sausalito areas. The Bus was very comfortable and clean. We all had fun and I highly recommend this tour and well worth the fee. Thank you.
DJH

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fun, informative, comfortable.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The history,the beauty of the bay from the bridge,and the awesome scale of the bridge when viewed from below at fort point exceeded our expectations. The down hill ride from the bridge to Sausalito was awesome as was the restaurant recommendation from our tour leader. The fact that the weather was severe clear with no fog was a plus.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Muir Woods is everything it promises to be and more. Truly an amazing place.

The bus was comfortable, the driver knowledgeable and polite, and the trip could have been 8 hours longer and still not have been boring.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Convenient location to pick up the tickets and hop on the bus. Busses were clean and comfortable. Easy booking on line. Great value. Our driver Brian was excellent. very knowledgeable and made it interesting.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver/guide was really informed, easygoing and amusing! Unfortunately I don´t remember his name (it might have been Aron).
Would gladly recommend this trip to anyone! Although...the road was partly a bit scary with all its crazy curves and scarps!!

/Linnéa

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Able to view all the SF sites in comfort. Enjoyed our tour guide; very informative and funny.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The coach was very comfortable and gave us a great overview of the city. The driver was very knowledgeable about his city and courteous with the needs of the passengers.We captured a lot of great memories on our camera.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A good pace; friendly and knowledgable guide; felt well looked after! Up close and personal with seeing Centre of the Arts park, Fort Point (under GG bridge) and Sausalito in the sunshine!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

By far, the San Francisco city tour was one of the most comprehensive tours. The tour guide was engaging and extremely knowledgeable on what makes San Francisco an exciting, charming, and historic city. The bus ride was comfortable and the view was spectacular. As an aside, Alcatraz was intriguing and the ferry ride was relaxing. Bottom line: both attractions are highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My family enjoyed the tour, in particular being driven though the different neighborhoods of the city. The tour made enough stops to allow everyone to get closer views of attractions and everything ran promptly and professionally. Our guide gave us hints that would make our tour more comfortable such as suggesting that we purchase snacks at a particular stop to make our tour more pleasant. Our guide made suggestions as we went through the tour of steps we may want to take if we wanted to come back and see more of a particular attraction. Very nice vehicle, comfortable, and with facilities. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour , nice comfortable tour bus and v knowledgeable guide. A definite tour to do.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had an amazing time on this tour. Our tour guide, Troy, was very nice, funny and well-informed and did it all while being an expert driver on those winding roads! He even picked us up from our hotel and the bus was super comfortable. The tour itself was everything I hoped for! Five stars!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message