San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate National Recreation Area

Golden Gate National Recreation Area (GGNRA) is the largest urban park in the world, covering three counties along nearly 30 mi (48 km) of pristine shorelines. The area wraps around the northern and western edges of the city, encompassing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Escobana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Out of my whole experience in San Francisco this was by far the best one! Jim our lovely guide was a cool guy who showed his true professionality when we 'lost' two people in our group of 7. He went out of his way to bike back, finding out later they had missed the coffee stop and were already waiting further along the road.

As I am a tour guide myself in Valencia, Spain Funtours Valencia I could only imagine how inconvenient this was for the rest of the group but he kept his smile and didn't make any of us feel uncomfortable about it. He was very informative and not at all telling us what we could have found out by reading a guide book.

The ride was just awesome because we had a beautiful sunny day, clear skies and great views from the Golden Gate. The ride down to Sausalito was awesome! A little steeper and therefor great to speed a little if you are experienced on a bike. You could go by your own pace anyways and the two small parts of climbing a hill were minor to me and your gears were sufficient for a steeper climb.

All in all I hoped for Jim to be our guide after all the great comments here and I was lucky to have him. The whole experience from A - Z was just perfect and even taking the ferry back was an extra to the tour. Though not included in the price the whole thing was worth every penny!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Arik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

1. Perfect guide - Adolfo
2. Very comfortable bus
3. Providing transportation from hotel and back

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Andy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative guide, stopping off at numerous interesting places and photo opportunities. Actually cycling the bridge did not disappoint. Unfortunately we were not able to spend time in Sausolito due to our travel arrangements

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing service from start to finish. Collected from hotel on time and delivered to pier for Alcatraz ferry and tour. Collected from pier and driven round for 4 hours or so by Adolfo. We were able to stop and take photos and comfort breaks on a regular basis. Adolfo was fantastic and made a great day even greater !

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour for a quick visit to Muir. Our driver was Manny and he did everything he could to make this trip enjoyable. This trip will allow you to visit Muir without having to deal with the difficult parking. We had enough time to do the entire walking path a Muri as well as take some pictures. Sausalito was a great lunch stop on the way back with Manny providing good recommendations. Before crossing the bridge back to SF we had time to go up the hill on the West side. Unfortunately it was a pretty foggy day so we didn't get great photos of the bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Gustavo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a great way to explore San Francisco and the surrounding area at your own pace. I highly recommend it! The people that run this tour are super nice and very accommodating. The only negative that I would have about this tour is that the GPS sometimes does not get the best reception so make sure to have your Smart Phone with you just in case. Lastly make sure that you are very comfortable driving a car with manual transmission, especially while driving up the steep inclines of the city streets.

Doing what: 3 Hour Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was fantastic. It was our first day in SF and we tailored our entire trip off of the city tour. Unfortunately I don't remember our tour guides name but he was the best tour guide I have every had. In addition to the great tour it was very easy to book and find out where we needed to go. Thank you

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Driver Chablis was amazing. He went out of his way to accommodate everyone. Very knowledgeable about the area and offered great suggestions. Would have loved to stay longer in Muir Woods but have that to look forward to the next time. Buses were very comfortable and convenient! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Punctual, very informative and comfortable!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Erin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing way to see parts of San Francisco! The bikes were comfortable - our tour guide, Robert, was excellent very accommodating, extremely knowledgeable, and super friendly - it was a FANTASTIC day! I would do this again and will definitely recommend it to friends.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family loved this bike tour. Our tour guide was Robert and he was great. He shared very interesting information each time we stopped to look at the sights, gave everyone plenty of time to take pictures, and made sure everyone was safe. The bikes were very comfortable and in good working order. We would recommend this tour to our friends visiting the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Oren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative guide. Buss was very comfortable. Excellent way to see highlights of the city and parts that the typical visitor probably would not have seen.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was in 2 parts, we had a morning city tour followed by a lunch break and then the Muir Woods Sausalito tour. Tour buses were comfortable and our guides were so professional and friendly. By far, our favorite was Chablis. Ask for him by name if you can. He was fantastic. All the sights were amazing although a bit too crowded for my taste. Probably had to do with the month we were travelling in July.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

B G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Knowledgeable guides, comfortable bus. Alcatraz was awesome. Highly recommend, great value for money

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

John M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent value and more comfortable than a hopp on hopp off tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! I wish we had maybe a half hour longer in Muir Woods, but otherwise it was perfect. Excellent views of the Golden Gate Bridge, beautiful Redwoods, and a quick stop in Sausalito. Our tour guide went out of his way to make us comfortable and satisfy each of us. Yahoo, Manny!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

SAMANTHA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, the coach driver was lovely and very knowledgeable, the coach was comfortable. We stopped at various places for photos and refreshments. I haven't done a coach tour for such a long time but this was great, it saves your feet doing the work and your see so much. Alcatraz was just amazing, guided tour with your own headset so you are free to wonder around. A strange place which makes you think, but well worth the visit. And booking tickets this way means you pick your date before you travel as its very busy and you can't just turn up and expect to go.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Joanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The touring bus was very comfortable, and the driver was professional, courteous, and quite able to share his amazing knowledge of SF and its history. The tour was a great introduction to SF.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Tayalma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Make sure your GPS is working before you leave. Once we had the hang of it and were comfortable, this GoCar is the BEST thing we did during our 5 day stay in SFO. We have 2 kids; 17 and 14 and they said it was the best tour they have ever had over all the year's of vacations. I thought 3 hours would be too long but we could have done it for 8 hours and never been tired of it. Everyone was taking pictures of us and the Northern Beach Tour or Red line was GREAT.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Juliehe Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great ride across the bridge, we had electric bikes and they made the uphill effortless, beautiful views of the san francisco bay

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Bus was on time, comfortable and the driver, Bryan, was very knowledgable about all things. He kept up a great conversation with everyone and drove very well on the sharp curves and uphills. He prepared us for the tour and we knew just what to expect and when to meet back at the bus. The Muir Woods and Sausalito trip was amazing and we recommend it to anyone. The woods are very quiet and peaceful. The trees are mind blowing ginormous. We loved it all.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed both parts of the tour. Wear comfortable shoes. Great guide.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Tammy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My family and self took this tour to the Muir Woods while on a recent trip to San Francisco. The bus picked us up very close to our hotel and was a very comfortable ride. Bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable and a great tour guide as well as driver. I was very pleased with this service.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the city tour first which was comfortable, we had an amazing guide who had a wealth of knowledge on the city so made it extremely interesting. We went to all the important parts that you wish to see when visiting and he also showed us other areas landmarks that we weren't expecting but made the trip even better.

Alccatraz was fantastic, was eerie to walk around with the history but the audio tour we would highly recommend. You just listen and follow the instructions and you are at the right points when the information is being given relevant to that point. The boat ride isn't too bas either.

Both extremely well organised and enjoyed very much.
Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

elnlewis001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip to Muir Woods, though a bit more time in Sausalito would've been appreciated. Our tour guide was terrific - I think his name was Tony; informative and entertaining. Unfortunately it was foggy on our way there and on the way back. It would've been nice to have had a few minutes to pull over and take a few pictures off the Golden Gate Bridge, but maybe we didn't because it was foggy. Hopefully the bus will pull over if it's a clear day. Our walk through Muir Woods was calming and interesting and we were pleasantly surprised. Sausalito was nice as well, but again, we only had about 45 to look around - would've been nice to have more time there to eat and shop. I would recommend the full-day tour if you'd like more time in Sausalito. All in all, it's a great way to see a bit of the sights if you don't rent a car. We stayed near Fisherman's Wharf and it was only a short walk to the spot they picked us up at...though there was a bit of confusion as to which bus was ours-there were several buses. It was a good price for a nice venture.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message