Haight-Ashbury is one of the most famous neighborhoods in San Francisco. The neighborhood is most famous for its role as a center of the 1960s hippie movement, reaching a peak in 1967, the "Summer of Love". With this liberal backdrop, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our very accomplished driver, Greg, took us all over the streets of San Francisco pointing out the important sites all along the way. We were able to get off the bus and walk onto the Golden Gate Bridge which was a real thrill. We did not care for the stop for lunch. We were told to bring it back to the bus, but luckily finished ours before the bus left. Eating on the bus would have been challenging. We walked the streets of Haight Ashbury and saw the Grateful Dead house. We were then dropped off at the Wharf, had lunch, and boarded the Alcatraz Ferry. This tour was such an incredible experience. The headsets are so easy to use and available in so many languages. One of the best tours I have ever been on. These tours are well run from pick up to drop off at the hotel. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Didn't expect to find much on Haight Ashbury, pleasantly surprised the neighborhood is still vibrant. Be sure to walk to the end of the road and visit the park, groovy spot for a weekend wander.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great service, remember to validate your viator voucher at the super sightseeing HQ on Taylor and North Point @ Fishermans Wharf before boarding a bus. The blue service is not as regular as the red buses, but we didn't find this a problem. We did feel the bus should make a stop at Alamo Square and the Painted Ladies as it is on the route and is a popular destination for tourists. I have to make a special mention to one of our tour guides and driver Willie. He was full of information, good humour and songs and even took us on a 'rollercoaster trip' through the Haight. He really made an impression on our holiday!! All in all this is an excellent way to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Chris T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This tour was awesome, not 100% sure on what else to see in SFO aside from the Golden Gate Bridge and Pier 39 this tour opened up the city for me. Thanks to initially doing this tour i went back to parts of SFO i didn't even know existed (EG, The Haight district). The guides are extremely knowledgeable and fun. SFO would not of been the same without this tour!!

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, we were only on a two and half day stop over before going onto Hawaii so wanted to cram in as much a possible in that short space of time. I have been to San Francisco before and done most of the main sights myself but i wanted my kids and husband to experience it all too and the hop on ticket allowed us all to do that. Fishermans wharf and all the sights and smells, Pier 39 the seals, Alcatraz trip ......booked seperate but at least we got to the pier from the hop on bus, Golden Gate Bridge over and back before 3pm, onto Golden Gate Park, we had a little wander down Haight Ashbury area (which my 11 and 9 year old found fascinating !!!! I'll say no more hahaha), quick scoot round Union Square, took a seperate trip on the Cable car down hyde, quick drink in Buena Vista cafe, back on cable car up to Lombard crookedest street, quick jump off to walk down then back up, jumped on next passing cable car back to Union Square and meet with the hop on route , caught the last bus of the day back round the full circle. All the stops had something to do even if it was just for half an hour or so then hop on the next one. I really feel like my kids have seen so many diffrent parts of the city in such a short period they absolutely love it all. P.S, you can also get a great tan on the top deck if you get good weather!. Would recommend this ticket for anyone on a tight schedule as it helps organise your route for you but does not limit you to only those stops as you could explore inbetween too.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was great, but I think if they stopped at Haight - Ashbury and let people check out some of the stores and the area say for 30 to 45 minutes it would be even better!

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Gaya our tour guide was fantastic. So full of energy. I loved the tour. I wish they had gone a little slower or even stopped in the Haight Ashbury area as the history their was very good and it seemed like it went a little fast through there. This tour would've been five stars if there had been more people on board. Overall, we really loved it and would recommend it for anyone interested in the history of the 60s.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up location is vague. Given an address but no actual storefront or kiosk. The pick up location is on the street where other tour buses pick up and drop off. The other companies had representatives waiting at the curb. Our Magic Bus was running late, kind of had to guess where to be for pickup. Could have had a rep with Magic Bus there to guide people instead of wondering what is going on. Once we got on the bus it was a fun ride. One stop was made at the conservatory. Would have been nice for the bus to stop at Haight Ashbury and check out a few shops and look around. Guide and driver were lots of fun. Overall I would recommend this tour but could use a few improvements.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

It's a great, and easy way to see the city. Take layers as it is freezing! And the open top streetcars are rubbish if it rains as there's no undercover bit. Guides were fine, but don't get off at Haight and Ashbury, the stop is in a bad area and feels a bit scary!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message