Haight-Ashbury is one of the most famous neighborhoods in San Francisco. The neighborhood is most famous for its role as a center of the 1960s hippie movement, reaching a peak in 1967, the "Summer of Love". With this liberal backdrop, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was absolutely perfect for me to see everything I wanted to see in San Francisco. Even though I would have loved to have gone to Alcatraz, it was perfect going around it on the boat twice and having the rest of the day to myself. From going across the Golden Gate Bridge, to seeing Haight-Ashbury, going to Twin Peaks for an over view of the entire city, to Land's End, the tour was perfect on the bus. What made it really special was the cruise. Unbeatable views of the city, bridges, and Alcatraz. I highly recommend it to anyone who only really has a day in San Francisco like I did.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A hippy chick a crazy top hatted driver and a psychedelic bus whisked us through the history of counter culture America that had its 1960s roots deep in San Franciscos Haight Ashbury area. We grooved to the music spaced out to the visuals waved to the squares and harangued The Man it was Cool Man!

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tours were great! We wanted just Alcatraz, but they were sold out for 2 weeks, so we got this combo tour and enjoyed the Magic Bus just as much. The guide was lively and energetic and funny and the whole multimedia experience was a different and neat way to do a tour. The Magic Bus is a head turner. People on the street notice it and take pictures of it. You are transported back in time as the shades are drawn - the windows would open and there you were - right in the Haight while completely oblivious to the traffic outside. Don't know what I mean? Then take the tour! Alcatraz was Alcatraz. It's the biggest tourist draw in San Francisco. The audio tour is such a bonus - it's like your own private tour. You don't have to clamor around one dude or dudette who is trying to talk over other guides or other talkers in the group. We went in early July and it was FREEZING out on the cruise. Dress for cold and windy. Finally, I would like to add that that the Viatour staff had great customer service. They were a lot of help and friendly.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Do it!! This was the greatest way to travel around the city. We had the vw for 5 hours, it comes equipped with a pre-programmed gps with about 40 locations on it. More than enough time to see everything you could want and more. As great as the car was, we laughed alot about the comments from people on the street. Many thumbs up, and we were even told 'You are too fly for your white wall tires, bro'. We went to Fort Point, Golden Gate bridge, North Beach, Haight-Ashbury, the Painted Ladies and more. The car also comes with a video camera to allow you to film 1 hour of your trip. You are then given the SD card to take home. So much fun.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our very accomplished driver, Greg, took us all over the streets of San Francisco pointing out the important sites all along the way. We were able to get off the bus and walk onto the Golden Gate Bridge which was a real thrill. We did not care for the stop for lunch. We were told to bring it back to the bus, but luckily finished ours before the bus left. Eating on the bus would have been challenging. We walked the streets of Haight Ashbury and saw the Grateful Dead house. We were then dropped off at the Wharf, had lunch, and boarded the Alcatraz Ferry. This tour was such an incredible experience. The headsets are so easy to use and available in so many languages. One of the best tours I have ever been on. These tours are well run from pick up to drop off at the hotel. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Didn't expect to find much on Haight Ashbury, pleasantly surprised the neighborhood is still vibrant. Be sure to walk to the end of the road and visit the park, groovy spot for a weekend wander.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great service, remember to validate your viator voucher at the super sightseeing HQ on Taylor and North Point @ Fishermans Wharf before boarding a bus. The blue service is not as regular as the red buses, but we didn't find this a problem. We did feel the bus should make a stop at Alamo Square and the Painted Ladies as it is on the route and is a popular destination for tourists. I have to make a special mention to one of our tour guides and driver Willie. He was full of information, good humour and songs and even took us on a 'rollercoaster trip' through the Haight. He really made an impression on our holiday!! All in all this is an excellent way to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Chris T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This tour was awesome, not 100% sure on what else to see in SFO aside from the Golden Gate Bridge and Pier 39 this tour opened up the city for me. Thanks to initially doing this tour i went back to parts of SFO i didn't even know existed (EG, The Haight district). The guides are extremely knowledgeable and fun. SFO would not of been the same without this tour!!

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour guides were a little uneven. We had four different tour guides and while they were all personable and friendly a couple of them talked to fast. Other than that this was very convenient. Going over the Golden Gate Bridge on the uncovered upper deck of the bus was great...but very cold and windy...don't wear a hat. If you are taking the Alcatraz night tour, time your bus tour to catch one of the last buses because it drops you off at the Alcatraz dock. Haight-Ashbury was far out, in the venacular of my youth as was Golden Gate park. We ended up going back to North Batch on our own later but the drive through prompted the revisit. Overall very happy with the convenience of the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message