Haight-Ashbury is one of the most famous neighborhoods in San Francisco. The neighborhood is most famous for its role as a center of the 1960s hippie movement, reaching a peak in 1967, the "Summer of Love". With this liberal backdrop, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tours were great! We wanted just Alcatraz, but they were sold out for 2 weeks, so we got this combo tour and enjoyed the Magic Bus just as much. The guide was lively and energetic and funny and the whole multimedia experience was a different and neat way to do a tour. The Magic Bus is a head turner. People on the street notice it and take pictures of it. You are transported back in time as the shades are drawn - the windows would open and there you were - right in the Haight while completely oblivious to the traffic outside. Don't know what I mean? Then take the tour! Alcatraz was Alcatraz. It's the biggest tourist draw in San Francisco. The audio tour is such a bonus - it's like your own private tour. You don't have to clamor around one dude or dudette who is trying to talk over other guides or other talkers in the group. We went in early July and it was FREEZING out on the cruise. Dress for cold and windy. Finally, I would like to add that that the Viatour staff had great customer service. They were a lot of help and friendly.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Do it!! This was the greatest way to travel around the city. We had the vw for 5 hours, it comes equipped with a pre-programmed gps with about 40 locations on it. More than enough time to see everything you could want and more. As great as the car was, we laughed alot about the comments from people on the street. Many thumbs up, and we were even told 'You are too fly for your white wall tires, bro'. We went to Fort Point, Golden Gate bridge, North Beach, Haight-Ashbury, the Painted Ladies and more. The car also comes with a video camera to allow you to film 1 hour of your trip. You are then given the SD card to take home. So much fun.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We chose the rock and roll combo because it was the only tour that also featured an afternoon of going to Alcatraz and the walking tour. Not much fun to just be on a boat going past Alcatraz if it is something you really want to see. Our daughter was very interested in the 60's and the Beatnik generation because she was born in 1988. Since she is interested in music she did recognize the music of John Lennon. I read where some did not want to take children, and I can see it would not be interesting for small children and the reference to the LSD etc was a fact in that era so passing out candy as LSD did not bother us. We did see so many sights on this trip as they drove through Chinatown, Haight-Ashbury. We seen a man in a pink corset, some in leather, apparently every last Friday of the month or on special occasions they have a nude walk over the bridge. The tour guide was friendly and nice and we enjoyed the magic.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was great, but I think if they stopped at Haight - Ashbury and let people check out some of the stores and the area say for 30 to 45 minutes it would be even better!

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Gaya our tour guide was fantastic. So full of energy. I loved the tour. I wish they had gone a little slower or even stopped in the Haight Ashbury area as the history their was very good and it seemed like it went a little fast through there. This tour would've been five stars if there had been more people on board. Overall, we really loved it and would recommend it for anyone interested in the history of the 60s.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up location is vague. Given an address but no actual storefront or kiosk. The pick up location is on the street where other tour buses pick up and drop off. The other companies had representatives waiting at the curb. Our Magic Bus was running late, kind of had to guess where to be for pickup. Could have had a rep with Magic Bus there to guide people instead of wondering what is going on. Once we got on the bus it was a fun ride. One stop was made at the conservatory. Would have been nice for the bus to stop at Haight Ashbury and check out a few shops and look around. Guide and driver were lots of fun. Overall I would recommend this tour but could use a few improvements.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

This was cheesy....did not enjoy. Thought we would at least stop in Haight/Ashbury - did not.
There were only7 people on the bus and I can see why.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message