This leisurely winding block of Lombard Street is called the "crookedest street in the world.” Truthfully, though, Vermont Street in Potrero Hill deserves this accolade, but Lombard is much more scenic, with its red-brick pavement and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tessie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Incredible way to discover San Francisco. Segway is a great way to enjoy up and downhill streets...walking to this breathtaking view spots would be practically unbearable for your legs.
Cameron our tour/instructor was very entertaining and informative of each spot and also a great photographer! Covered Fishermans Wharf, Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, North Beach, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street twice! We had some previous experience with segway touring which helped as you ride on the streets of SF and not on bike paths or walkways. Exiting experience, worth every penny!

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Segway tours are a blast, the steep streets of Lombard made it more fun. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We felt silly booking a Segway tour because... you know... it's a Segway Tour. How touristy can you be? Truth be told, it was the most fun we had in our entire week in the Bay and would ABSOLUTELY do it again. My boyfriend and I opted for the private night tour and it was well worth the extra money to go VIP. You can really create the experience you want with your guide and go at your own pace. We had a guide named KYLE who felt more like a friend than a guide by the end of the night. He was bursting with energy from the moment we walked up to the garage and kept that pace the entire time. He gave us a rundown of what to expect during the tour and then we got into our training. Kyle was patient, thorough, supportive and informative. He also made sure to get to know us a bit so we could have the PERFECT tour. Once we got on the road, Kyle shared history of the city and fun facts with a real sense of humor... Not the hyuk-hyuk jokes you expect from any old tour guide. Knowing we were sports fans, he even made sure to show us places relating to Joe DiMaggio. He led us to the World Famous Slice House in Little Italy where we had delicious pizza. We also braved Russian Hill and Lombard Street once we felt very comfortable on the Segways. Kyle took us all the way up to the top of Telegraph Hill where Coit Tower is located. Beautiful views of the whole city at night. So beautiful in fact that my boyfriend proposed up there. Kyle took pictures for us and suggested we go celebrate with egg rolls in Chinatown! Just like his pizza recommendation, his egg roll suggestion was perfect. We were having so much fun that we could have gone for 2 more hours. I can't stress enough how much an awesome guide like Kyle made this trip for us.

Doing what: Private Segway Tours of San Francisco

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Melanie was great, full of information. Our only criticism was that the two hour tour passed far too quickly. If we're in San Francisco again we will definitely take another tour, especially if you present a different advanced tour. We did consider many other streets more difficult than Lombard - it at least had good pavement.

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Olga k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic! We did Lombard street twice, went to Coit Tower and many other places with wonderful views and beautiful SF streets. I was surprised at the distances we covered easily. Our tour guide, Devo, was entertaining and enthusiastic. Riding a Segway down Lombard street was on my wish list for two years, so I had some pretty high hopes, and this tour exceeded them.

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

SF

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you want to test your Seg skills, this is the tour for you, and Lombard is the place to ride. Excellent!

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Who knew a Segway tour could be so much fun? Our guide, Carey -Fishermans Wharf location, was great. He had us up and steady on our Segways in no time and without being "mother hennish" he was alert to to traffic and making sure we were safe - all the while, giving us details about San Francisco and the sites we were seeing. We covered so much territory even, motoring down Lombard Street without a hitch.
This is a great way to see San Francisco! The Alcatraz trip, boat out to the island and audio tour of the prison's history, is also a must do.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

melissa.stuart.ms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

There were 4 of us and a private tour guide. AG knew the area, was fun and cared about our safety. She took photos of us and was the most excellent guide! She completely went above and beyond! We saw great views if the Coit Tower, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge and even road down the Lombard brick hill! Very exciting!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Cindy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fabulous tour. Once we figured out the segways, we were off and got to see so much of the city.
We went down Lombard st twice!
Loved it!

Doing what: Private Segway Tours of San Francisco

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I recently moved to San Francisco and signed up for an Urban Hike to become better acquainted with my new hometown! On this hilly walk, I explored some of the city’s famous spots (like Coit Tower and Lombard Street), as well discover hidden gems (such as Jack Early Park and Macondrary Lane). Our tour guide, Alex, was really friendly and shared some engaging stories about the locations we visited. The hike isn’t too strenuous, you’ll definitely get a good calf workout. I’d suggest wearing comfortable walking shoes and bringing a bottle of water. Whether you’re a local or here on vacation, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Totally worth it!!!!!! My mom and I took one of these bad boys out for three hours and absolutely had a blast. While our GPS navigator stopped working about 30 minutes (total fluke) into our tour, we had enjoy the scenic views and navigating the city using the map provided in the car. We made the most of the situation and laughed for three hours straight. Our highlight was realizing we had to drive down Lombard St... Laughed our butts off. You cover pretty much the entire city!! We highly recommended to everyone we met.

FYI: These things don't reverse, so you might find yourself doing a little Austin Powers 3pt turn arounds... with a push. Hil.a.rious. ps. You'll feel like a celebrity - everyone takes pictures of you in these things.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Best segway tour ever! Our guide, Marie, was informative, funny, and full of energy. It was our first activity upon arriving in San Francisco, and it gave us a good overview of the city in a short time. And going down Lombard Street on a Segway is the only way to go!

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Janette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We enjoyed the Alcatraz tour, some additional stops on the Hop on Hop off Bus would have helpful eg Marina, Civic Centre, Opera and Symphony Hall and Lombard St. As we were travelling in Central America prior to San Francisco it was difficult to ring confirmation 48 hours prior. An email link to the local agent for confirmation additional to phone would be helpful especially for overseas patrons.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Stefanie W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Mark was fanstastic navigating us through the steep and crooked streets of San Francisco!

Doing what: Advanced Lombard Street Segway Tour

Maryanne USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Booked this activity last minute, while at the rental location. The vehicle we got was noisy, slow, and very beat up. We saw many newer vehicles around town that were rented from the other locations (we got ours at Union Square).
Putting all of that aside.... you MUST do this if in town. You will have a fantastic time and be able to see all of the sights that you CANNOT actually see on the hop-on, hop-off buses. We spent about four hours and were able to head up to Coit Tower and Telegraph Hill, up to Inspiration Point, Twin Peaks, North Beach, the Painted Ladies, drove down Lombard and had more people taking OUR picture than pictures of the street... we will certainly do this again when we are able to get back to San Francisco. We'll also look for Go Cars in other cities we visit; we'll just make sure we get one that's in better shape.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

David g

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This bus tour was the worst! We did the two day pass and used it the first night and the next day. Both tour guides were horrific! All they wanted to talk about was how they were only making min. Wage and how they needed tips!one guy actually called a building the Masonic temple- when it wasn't! The jokes were not funny! Save your money, use uber and ask the driver to drive to to all the hot spots. We did that the next day and saw everything inc a ride down Lombard street, lands end, presidio and GG park!

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message