This leisurely winding block of Lombard Street is called the "crookedest street in the world.” Truthfully, though, Vermont Street in Potrero Hill deserves this accolade, but Lombard is much more scenic, with its red-brick pavement and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I recently moved to San Francisco and signed up for an Urban Hike to become better acquainted with my new hometown! On this hilly walk, I explored some of the city’s famous spots (like Coit Tower and Lombard Street), as well discover hidden gems (such as Jack Early Park and Macondrary Lane). Our tour guide, Alex, was really friendly and shared some engaging stories about the locations we visited. The hike isn’t too strenuous, you’ll definitely get a good calf workout. I’d suggest wearing comfortable walking shoes and bringing a bottle of water. Whether you’re a local or here on vacation, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Totally worth it!!!!!! My mom and I took one of these bad boys out for three hours and absolutely had a blast. While our GPS navigator stopped working about 30 minutes (total fluke) into our tour, we had enjoy the scenic views and navigating the city using the map provided in the car. We made the most of the situation and laughed for three hours straight. Our highlight was realizing we had to drive down Lombard St... Laughed our butts off. You cover pretty much the entire city!! We highly recommended to everyone we met.

FYI: These things don't reverse, so you might find yourself doing a little Austin Powers 3pt turn arounds... with a push. Hil.a.rious. ps. You'll feel like a celebrity - everyone takes pictures of you in these things.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very good expereince. Paul (our last guide) was the absolute best. He was personable and played music along with his information about the city.
The first driver who was both driver and tour guide on an open toped van/bus was very rude and didn't inform us where/if we could get off for stops at Lombard and Coit Tower. Slowed down only. Wish I could remember h is name. (but he may not have given it)

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Best segway tour ever! Our guide, Marie, was informative, funny, and full of energy. It was our first activity upon arriving in San Francisco, and it gave us a good overview of the city in a short time. And going down Lombard Street on a Segway is the only way to go!

Doing what: San Francisco Crooked Street Advanced Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We enjoyed the Alcatraz tour, some additional stops on the Hop on Hop off Bus would have helpful eg Marina, Civic Centre, Opera and Symphony Hall and Lombard St. As we were travelling in Central America prior to San Francisco it was difficult to ring confirmation 48 hours prior. An email link to the local agent for confirmation additional to phone would be helpful especially for overseas patrons.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good way to see San Francisco. Although a bit disappointed we didn't see some of the more famous sights. We didn't really go anywhere near Lombard Street - just saw it in the distance and it was a long walk uphill to it. Also didn't see the row of Victorian houses that are always pictured in San Francisco. Apart from that we saw everything else. Another point was that our bus was a one deck open top only and it was absolutely freezing! So wear a coat!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time. The tour bus was convenient and the tour guides on each bus were fun and informative. Maybe it was just lucky, but we seldom had to wait more than a few minutes when we were finished at each stop. We all enjoyed the wild, windy ride over the Golden Gate Bridge. We did miss the inclusion of some sites such as a view of the curvy part of Lombard Street. But, I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see San Francisco in a day - which was all the time we had for sightseeing.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, we were only on a two and half day stop over before going onto Hawaii so wanted to cram in as much a possible in that short space of time. I have been to San Francisco before and done most of the main sights myself but i wanted my kids and husband to experience it all too and the hop on ticket allowed us all to do that. Fishermans wharf and all the sights and smells, Pier 39 the seals, Alcatraz trip ......booked seperate but at least we got to the pier from the hop on bus, Golden Gate Bridge over and back before 3pm, onto Golden Gate Park, we had a little wander down Haight Ashbury area (which my 11 and 9 year old found fascinating !!!! I'll say no more hahaha), quick scoot round Union Square, took a seperate trip on the Cable car down hyde, quick drink in Buena Vista cafe, back on cable car up to Lombard crookedest street, quick jump off to walk down then back up, jumped on next passing cable car back to Union Square and meet with the hop on route , caught the last bus of the day back round the full circle. All the stops had something to do even if it was just for half an hour or so then hop on the next one. I really feel like my kids have seen so many diffrent parts of the city in such a short period they absolutely love it all. P.S, you can also get a great tan on the top deck if you get good weather!. Would recommend this ticket for anyone on a tight schedule as it helps organise your route for you but does not limit you to only those stops as you could explore inbetween too.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Mark was fanstastic navigating us through the steep and crooked streets of San Francisco!

Doing what: San Francisco Crooked Street Advanced Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Booked this activity last minute, while at the rental location. The vehicle we got was noisy, slow, and very beat up. We saw many newer vehicles around town that were rented from the other locations (we got ours at Union Square).
Putting all of that aside.... you MUST do this if in town. You will have a fantastic time and be able to see all of the sights that you CANNOT actually see on the hop-on, hop-off buses. We spent about four hours and were able to head up to Coit Tower and Telegraph Hill, up to Inspiration Point, Twin Peaks, North Beach, the Painted Ladies, drove down Lombard and had more people taking OUR picture than pictures of the street... we will certainly do this again when we are able to get back to San Francisco. We'll also look for Go Cars in other cities we visit; we'll just make sure we get one that's in better shape.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

This is a great way to see the city. It's inexpensive, and it goes to all the highlights. However, it would have been nicer if it went closer to Lombard street than it did..we were so far away from it, that it was very hard to see the street. Otherwise, it is a very good tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were more of the other companies hop on hop off buses than of this one. Guides were good but the bus did not take us to Lombard St. and the stops were too far from the Painted Ladies. The Loop the bus takes is small. Viator telephone operators do not know much about the tours

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

My mother had an injury within 15 mins after the tour started. We abandoned and didn't get to see anything from the tour besides Crooked ST. Hence can't review.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sabine D
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

Only one loop tour. Not all stops where really close to the sightseeing attractions, e.g. Lombard street. The "center" of San Francisco was excluded there tour only went round of San Francisco. Probably because in the center tour buses could not really drive there because of the steep streets. So hop-on-hop-off is not so recommended in San Francisco. Better to discover the city on your own.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message