• USD ($)
  • English
This leisurely winding block of Lombard Street is called the "crookedest street in the world.” Truthfully, though, Vermont Street in Potrero Hill deserves this accolade, but Lombard is much more scenic, with its red-brick pavement and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I recently moved to San Francisco and signed up for an Urban Hike to become better acquainted with my new hometown! On this hilly walk, I explored some of the city’s famous spots (like Coit Tower and Lombard Street), as well discover hidden gems (such as Jack Early Park and Macondrary Lane). Our tour guide, Alex, was really friendly and shared some engaging stories about the locations we visited. The hike isn’t too strenuous, you’ll definitely get a good calf workout. I’d suggest wearing comfortable walking shoes and bringing a bottle of water. Whether you’re a local or here on vacation, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Totally worth it!!!!!! My mom and I took one of these bad boys out for three hours and absolutely had a blast. While our GPS navigator stopped working about 30 minutes (total fluke) into our tour, we had enjoy the scenic views and navigating the city using the map provided in the car. We made the most of the situation and laughed for three hours straight. Our highlight was realizing we had to drive down Lombard St... Laughed our butts off. You cover pretty much the entire city!! We highly recommended to everyone we met.

FYI: These things don't reverse, so you might find yourself doing a little Austin Powers 3pt turn arounds... with a push. Hil.a.rious. ps. You'll feel like a celebrity - everyone takes pictures of you in these things.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very good expereince. Paul (our last guide) was the absolute best. He was personable and played music along with his information about the city.
The first driver who was both driver and tour guide on an open toped van/bus was very rude and didn't inform us where/if we could get off for stops at Lombard and Coit Tower. Slowed down only. Wish I could remember h is name. (but he may not have given it)

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Best segway tour ever! Our guide, Marie, was informative, funny, and full of energy. It was our first activity upon arriving in San Francisco, and it gave us a good overview of the city in a short time. And going down Lombard Street on a Segway is the only way to go!

Doing what: San Francisco Crooked Street Advanced Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We enjoyed the Alcatraz tour, some additional stops on the Hop on Hop off Bus would have helpful eg Marina, Civic Centre, Opera and Symphony Hall and Lombard St. As we were travelling in Central America prior to San Francisco it was difficult to ring confirmation 48 hours prior. An email link to the local agent for confirmation additional to phone would be helpful especially for overseas patrons.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Mark was fanstastic navigating us through the steep and crooked streets of San Francisco!

Doing what: San Francisco Crooked Street Advanced Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Booked this activity last minute, while at the rental location. The vehicle we got was noisy, slow, and very beat up. We saw many newer vehicles around town that were rented from the other locations (we got ours at Union Square).
Putting all of that aside.... you MUST do this if in town. You will have a fantastic time and be able to see all of the sights that you CANNOT actually see on the hop-on, hop-off buses. We spent about four hours and were able to head up to Coit Tower and Telegraph Hill, up to Inspiration Point, Twin Peaks, North Beach, the Painted Ladies, drove down Lombard and had more people taking OUR picture than pictures of the street... we will certainly do this again when we are able to get back to San Francisco. We'll also look for Go Cars in other cities we visit; we'll just make sure we get one that's in better shape.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

This is a great way to see the city. It's inexpensive, and it goes to all the highlights. However, it would have been nicer if it went closer to Lombard street than it did..we were so far away from it, that it was very hard to see the street. Otherwise, it is a very good tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were more of the other companies hop on hop off buses than of this one. Guides were good but the bus did not take us to Lombard St. and the stops were too far from the Painted Ladies. The Loop the bus takes is small. Viator telephone operators do not know much about the tours

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sabine D
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

Only one loop tour. Not all stops where really close to the sightseeing attractions, e.g. Lombard street. The "center" of San Francisco was excluded there tour only went round of San Francisco. Probably because in the center tour buses could not really drive there because of the steep streets. So hop-on-hop-off is not so recommended in San Francisco. Better to discover the city on your own.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

We were disappointed. Some places didn't require getting off to stay because you just wanted a picture. One stop in particular was the narrow or crooked street. Driver announced it, but a bus pulled up beside us and we never saw it. Three of us hollered, we can't see it. Hold up til that bus leaves. The driver went on ahead. Another driver was sooo annoying with his so called loud hip talk. It grated our nerves. We had to get off the bus to get rid of him. He was on one of the open buses.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Worst bus tour of a city I've ever had, and I often choose the bus tours to get an overall view of the city. The bus was run down with broken seats and broken speakers. The guide was uninteresting and hard to hear. The closest we got to Lombard Street was 5 blocks away, and they were like "over there is Lombard Street." Took forever to get picked up by the bus once I got off and tried to get back on.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

I invited 8 of my friends on this tour, and we started out with the most perfectly clear and warm, sunny day. The weather was definitely a 5 star day. We started midway through the tour (at Gough and Lombard Streets), so that we could be in China Town by 12:30 for a lunch reservation. We had to wait over an hour for our bus. Lots of other competitive bus tour lines constantly passed us by. We lost an hour and were unable to get off at any stops or else we would not have made our lunch reservation. Our first guide was fair. We learned much about movie scenes that were filmed in certain locations, but where was the rich historical information of this city? Our second guide was even worse. He chatted with the woman in front of him through all of the stops. He finally gave us a quick and very superficial over view of Chinatown. There was no information regarding the many generations of people living in Chinatown, their origins, the development of Chinatown after the great earthquake, the popularity of S.F. Chinatown for mainland Chinese who come to see how their ancestors lived (Mainland China has lost this culture) Our third guide was probably the best, but he never referred to the historical figures who settled the city. He did vaguely discuss the development of the various neighborhoods, but there were too many silent moments that could have been filled in with the history and the influential characters of this city. I have been on other Hop On Hop Off bus tours throughout the world, and this one was very weak. Do more research, educate your guides better, require more creativity and professionalism of them, and make sure your buses run every 20 minutes as you advertise.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

I would post no stars if possible. Dreadful. Boarded on Lombard/Steiner - guide Willie. His commentary is delivered in rapid-fire stuccato style with a strong reliance on slang, peppered with what must be his personal sense of humor and punctuated by his cackley laughter. Over a scratchy sound system, it was hard to understand him. It must have been impossible for the ESL guests on the trip. There were several in the group, most of whom kept looking at each other with wrinkled noses. I and what seemed like most of the guests debarked at the first available spot, the Science Museum in GGPark. I never bothered to get on a subsequent bus and just took the loss of my $$ on the chin. I won't be back. Very disappointing.

While Willie may be a great guy full of wonderful stories, in this role in my opinion, he is not a very good ambassador for the City of San Francisco. A few of the people who got off the bus as I did expressed the same to me. They were from an English speaking country and couldn't understand what was coming out of the loudspeakers. That's not good. I hope they picked up a later bus and had a better experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message