A lively hub of vibrant activity, thrift shopping, and some fantastic Mexican eateries, San Francisco’s Mission District is also home to some of the best weather and artwork San Francisco has to offer. Multicultural and honest, a stroll through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour with even better guides!! I am a native San Franciscan and I've always been so scared to ride a bike through San Francisco, but Ari and Gabe made me feel very safe. I couldn't believe myself riding down Market street, not at all nervous. We made a couple stops, learning about the neighborhoods and cool architecture throughout the city. I had no idea Mission Dolores was the oldest building in San Francisco! Besides the informative bike tour around the city, we stopped at really cool breweries that were surprisingly new to me - my favorite was Cervecería de MateVeza, a really small microbrewery in between Dolores Park and the Castro. They had a delicious variety of house brewed beers and savory empanadas. I was in heaven! If you have the chance, DO go on this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such a fun outing! I'm local, but I have never biked in San Francisco and this was a great way to do it. Ari and Gabe, our guides, did a great job navigating us along busy streets and made me feel safe about biking in busier areas like SoMa and the Mission. We started at 21st Amendment and they treated us to beer there, and then we traveled along a flat route to the Mission. Between stops, we got to check out all the incredible murals in Clarion Alley, and I even learned some fun facts that I didn't already know about the Mission Dolores and Dolores Park. My favorite stop was at a bar on the edge of Dolores Park, technically in the Castro, where I had an amazing locally made empanada and Yerba Mate–infused IPA. So good! I definitely recommend this tour for adventurous beer lovers who feel comfortable riding city streets.

Doing what: Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organized, fun and informative tour. Our tour guide, Zev, had a great sense of humor and made the whole experience incredibly enjoyable while guiding us through the Mission district - a truly culinary gem in the city. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

it was more than we expected didn't know that the mission district had that much to offer. I have to say I tried some things that I probably wouldn't have tried, like oysters vegan Mexican food goat cheese we had a great time recommending it to all our friends. We would like to try the other food tour on our next visit Corrinne was awesome she was very enthused which made us excited to see. great job money well spent

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a way to get to know a town!!! Highly recommend. Thank you Avital. Your tour was informative, enjoyable not to mention delicious. Loved that the tour size was nice and small allowed for easy hearing/ seeing/ moving around. Great choice had been made of our food stops. Loved the information provided about the mission and murals as well and you really knew your stuff when if came to food. Thank you. Would highly recommend and if we were in town we'd even do this tour again!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour of the mission district. We chose to include the cocktail pairing. The cheese place we visited was our personal favourite and as new residents of San Francisco a place we are looking forward to returning to. Avital was very friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely recommend

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great food tour - Avital is so knowledgeable! She has such awesome enthusiasm for food and the Mission District! Next time we go back to San Francisco, we will definitely be taking another one of Avital's tours!

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I took my brother on the tour as a birthday gift. We had a great time in the Mission and were stuffed afterwards. Word of advice: Only go on this tour with someone you want to make conversation with for three full hours.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour: Taste the Mission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

As a tour with food around the Mission district, this worked well. our guide, Corinne, was very passionate and knowledgeable about her subject and interested in her tour group. Starting off at the Cheese Bar was very good as this is a hugely different concept - we had a great talk by the proprietor whose knowledge is formidable. For me it went downhill from there - on to 2 very noisy restaurants : Hog and Rocks and Tacalicious. The oyster, ham and cocktail in Hog and Rocks were good, no getting past that, very good but then followed up by 2 tacos didn't make it stand out as special or different. The advertised blurb said "make your own empanadas" for example but there was nothing like that and really and although in the market, where an employee talked to us about seasonal produce, there was no interaction with any of the staff. As a committed foodie with a huge interest in locally produced / sourced and seasonal food, I think that this tour could probably be expanded but I really do appreciate the significant amount of work involved in putting this together. Just for me, against what was advertised and the price, unfortunately it didn't work.

Doing what: San Francisco Food Tour of the Mission District with Cocktail Pairing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message