Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1956 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Muir Woods and Sausalito half-day trip was perfect highlighted by our tour guide Adolfo who was very knowledgeable and shared with us many items of interest! I would take this tour again in the future and highly recommend!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Stephanie I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day tour visiting Muir Woods and wine country - very affordable!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another wonderful tour! Our guide was fun and informative. Muir Woods was beautiful and the wineries were outstanding!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Ann I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip to Alcatraz and Muir Wood was beautiful. A brilliant day trip that was very well organised. Thanks very much.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Christine E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the last thing that we did over our six-night stay in San Francisco. It was a wonderful journey by bus over the Golden Gate bridge, and out into the countryside until we reached our destination of the Muir Woods. Here we were able to spend over an hour ambling along the walk-ways under the leafy canopy of these glorious trees. We walked as far as we could in the time allotted, and found ourselves quite alone in the distant paths. The walk-ways are wide and well-manicured, and anyone with a stroller, a wheelchair, small children, or similar could make their way quite easily. There is a gift shop and a place to purchase refreshments if desired. The return trip took us back through Sausalito where we disembarked and were allowed to wander as we wished through the shops along the waterfront. My granddaughter and I purchased ice cream cones, and went down to the shore where we chatted and enjoyed the ambience. Our return trip took us back over the Golden Gate bridge always a welcome experience! and dropped us off at the bus depot in the waterfront area of San Francisco. If I remember correctly, some of our fellow-travelers were being dropped off at their hotels. Altogether the whole trip was very well run, reasonably priced, and a pleasant, memorable experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had an amazing time visiting Muir Woods and Salsalita. Our tour guide, Antonio was entertaining, professional and the best! Got to capture some awesome photos.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! We planned a girls weekend in San Fran and wanted to include wine tours. The 3 wineries were delicious. Muir Woods was gorgeous and so peaceful. But what made the tour even better was our driver Romon. He was funny, informative and extremely personable. Highly recommend him!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Lisa V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Muir Woods is awesome, tranquil and majestic. The hop-on hop-off bus was very convenient. The drive to/from the woods was a bit harrowing... the roads are narrow, twisty and challenging so I was thankful someone else was doing the driving.
Sausalito is very cute with great restaurants and shops.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour by Hop-On Hop-Off Bus

Arnulfo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and funny. The Muir Woods are a sight to see. The amount of time given at Muir Woods was sufficient. We were able to walk all the trail and have time to snacks before having to load. Sausalito is such a nice town. I only wish we had more time to spend there.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide. Loved Muir Woods and Sausolito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent!! Loved Ken - he had tons of knowledge about Muir Woods and Sausalito - loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Judy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love Muir Woods! The tour was perfect, our driver was friendly and informative, and patient! Definitely a trip worth repeating!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Chabli, was very nice and informative - and humorous. The Muir Woods were great! So beautiful and serene! Sausalito is a lovely community! The Bay Cruise was very nice as well. The only complaint we may have is that the bus was noisy - I think the a.c. may have been going out on it - - and that was distracting. But the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour and Randy was terrific! John Muir Woods was beautiful and I'm glad we didn't miss it. For us it was one of the best highlights in San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Clare L M O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Muir Woods was stunning, 1 hour there was plenty of time to see the trees. We did Yosemite too and the trees here were better than the sequoias we saw there, although overall trip at Yosemite was fabulous. But if you want to see trees, this is better. we left the group there as we were hungover from a private wine tour we did the night before! Guide helped us find a bus to Sausalito and we had a lovely afternoon there and the ferry back to San francisco helped the hangover!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Bala V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good and enjoyed the whole trip. The tour operator/guide if I remember right his name is Kenneth was very friendly and described each and every spot throughout the trip in detail. Without that and his friendly chat with us all the trip would not have been that great. Please convey my personal thanks and appreciation to him. Needless to say Muir Woods is a wonderful place and everyone coming to SFO should see it.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took the afternoon trip on Wednesday June 15th. Aaron was a great driver/tour guide. He was very entertaining with his knowledge of San Francisco, Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

jeffrey k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ricky was fantastic. So informative and entertaining. Muir Woods was an incredible experience. Not as excited about Saucilito but glad we saw it.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

murphywanda77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Aaron was great! He knew so much about the area and even stopped at the Golden Gate look-over area for a short photo op. We loved it! The whole reason we came to SF was to see the Muir Woods and we were highly satisfied!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

samkeown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing, a definite must for anyone visiting San Francisco and wants to spend a while day exploring the best of the city. A special thank you to Doug who was excellent and provided a wealth of knowledge and stories on the bus tour over to Muir woods and Sauslito.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Enrique R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Igor was an excellent tour guide who was knowledgeable about the area and a great driver. The tour was just enough time to get a taste of Muir Woods and sausalito without burning up a whole day. I and #39;ll use Viator and Gray Line Tours again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic time on this tour! Spending about an hour at each stop...beginning with the Golden Gate bridge and then onto Muir Woods, Cline Winery...lunch in Sonoma and then onto the last two wineries. Our guide, Ben was informative and witty, so there was never a dull moment while on the bus. Definitely one of my favorite days while vacationing in the Bay area!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Antonio was ourGray Line bus driver, and he was great! He gave us a wonderful overview of Muir Woods; told us about the redwoods and Sulsalito. The tour was most enjoyable because of his fun personality.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jean B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent for some who wants the highlights of San Francisco. Muir woods was amazing and enjoyed out hour nature walk there. Sausalito lovely, but a drive by may have been enough there. Overview of city and neighborhoods was interesting and fun. Guide was extremely good. We learned a lot and enjoyed the day, Free time at Fisherman's wharf for lunch was ideal.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Muir Woods Trip with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome! Grayline was our tour company and the driver we had was excellent. You may not like tour groups ,but based on parking nightmares and access to Muir Woods, it is the best way to go. Great experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message