Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1409 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was incredible! Muir Woods was breathtaking and serene, sausilto was very charming and beautiful, and the stop on the return trip to view the golden gate was awesome for pictures! Loved the ease of the hotel pickup. id reccomend spending more time at each place!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was knowledgable and entertaining. The trip was worth what we paid. Just over $100 for a trip to Muir Woods, 3 wineries with wine tastings included, and capped off with a stop at a picturesque viewing point of the Golden Gate Bridge. Hotel pickup was also very convenient.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We both really enjoyed Muir Woods Wonderfull, amazing tall redwoods.You need walking shoes if you want to go on a trail, which we did.Woods are silent only and odd sound of birdnowhere to stop and sit The main walk is on the flat by a stream and there are places to sit and look up.You need a camera and water. We didnt see anywhere to get a drink or food. The trip to the woods is lovely and the views good.Driver stops so you can photograph The Golden Gate Bridge which you cross twice.Sausalito was charming. Plenty of restaurants and places to drink. Some really interesting glass in shops and lovely buildings.Lovely walk along the front and we were there as the light changed to evening and the views across the water were very atmospheric and if you are a camera enthusiast well worth taking as the mists coming down.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was AWESOME!!! Muir Woods was great. Only thought about the wine tasting is that it would be nice to have crackers and cheese with the wine!!! Our driver, Curt was really great!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must do. Muir Woods is something special. Our Tour bus driver was great, and told us all many great facts as we drove through the city, over the Golden Gate Bridge into the Muir Woods.
A spectacular day. Don't miss this chance while in the great city of San Francisco.
Steve Chater, Australia

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had the greatest tour guide on the Muir Woods trip . He made the trip so much fun, He played San Francisco songs on the way back, and gave us a lot of info too. Everything went on schedule, and he took us to a really cool look-out to see Golden Gate Bridge. I was ther Jan 9th, 2015. i would use the Viator again. Everyone I had contact with through this trip from booking and some phone contact was so helpful. Would use again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The key was the excellent guide/driver Aaron who had a wealth of information and shared it with us for the entire trip.

Two precautions are that 1) for the afternoon trip they do not pick up from your hotel and 2) plan for extra time, not just the 4 hours since in our case we got back about 7PM from the 2PM trip. However the extra time was spent in some phenomenal views of San Francisco.

The impressive Muir woods walk took an hour (stopped for 1 hr 15 min). The bus and the ticket process were both clean and easy.

Highly recommend both the sites and the tour company. The trip exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Muir woods were stunning. we got several perfect pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge. Wine Country was terrific. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Brian was AMAZING. Because of him this tour rates a 5. The tour itself though was too short at muir woods and too short (30 min.) in Sausalito. Brian really went out of his way to make sure we had amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

UTTERLY BRILLIANT!!! Our tour guide/driver, Frank, made this tour - it was a great itinerary anyway, but Frank was such a personable, jovial and humorous person that he really made this tour go from 'great' to 'excellent'. We had a bit of extra time first thing so he took us for a photo stop of the Golden Gate Bridge - not on the itinerary, but very, very welcome! He was full of information and stories, and really made us feel like we'd come away and learnt something beyond 'just' seeing a redwood forest and tasting some delicious wines! Speaking of which: Muir Woods is beautiful, and really worth the visit (make sure you've got your fees for entry - I think it was $7 per adult) and the two Sonoma and one Napa wineries we went to were all lovely, with some beautiful wines available to taste (we visited Mayo, Madonna and Cline). All in all, a great day out with some great experiences and memories.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had such a great time on this tour. The Muir Woods are awe inspiring. We wish we would have had more time there. Sausalito is such a charming little bay town. We had plenty of time for some wine and walking around. Archie was so nice. He was very informative!! Thanks!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From start to finish this tour was very well organized. The tour guide was very nice and extremely knowledgable. Visited three wineries and had some time in Muir woods (you really could spend a whole day there), but it was plenty of time to hike a couple of miles and take great photos. You could split up these tours for two separate days. Would highly recommend this tour if you don't have too much time in San Fran (as I did). Overall it was fantastic.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brian was a great tour guide, and we learned a lot from him. This tour was a great way to see some of the sights near San Francisco without missing a whole day of our conference. The drive to Muir Woods was beautiful, and Muir woods was even more so. Sausalito was a nice spot for lunch. We ate at the fish and chips shop, and it was very good. If you want more time at Sausalito, there is a ferry that takes you back to Fisherman's Wharf. On the way back, Brian stopped at a view point where you can see the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco from the north side of the bay. This tour was definitely one of the high points of our trip to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

spectacular trip and our guide was very knowledgeable. Plenty of time to explore the Muir Woods and Sausalito. Easy booking and I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We booked the tour one day before we were I to go, meven with the short time frame, everything worked well. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the meeting point. We then had a great bus with the nicest most interesting and funfun driver/guide. We were then taken back to our hotel after a beautiful trip through Muir Woods!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message