Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an amazing time on this tour. The Muir Woods was amazing to see and the guide got us there before the crowds which was perfect for taking pictures and really enjoying the walk. The wine tour was also awesome. We went to three different wineries, all different. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and personable. Overall, we had a blast!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour really is amazing!! I did love San Francisco but this day was definitely my favourite. The Muir woods is a must see destination, right on par with Alcatraz itself. (you really do need to pre-book as you can wait a week for tickets there). Can't recommend enough! 10/10.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent half day tour. Picked up from the hotel, transferred to tour bus, full commentary from driver, sufficient time at Muir Woods and Sausalito, plus a stop at a Golden Gate Bridge View Point on the way back to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Muir Woods are incredible. I could probably have stayed here all day. Kenneth, the bus driver, is fantastic. Sausalito is a nice little town to end the half day trip in. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed Muir Woods. I do wish we could of had a little more time in the woods. Roman our guide made the trip very fun. I would highly recommend this trip. The wineries were very nice to see. I preferred the Sonoma wineries the most.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My family and self took this tour to the Muir Woods while on a recent trip to San Francisco. The bus picked us up very close to our hotel and was a very comfortable ride. Bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable and a great tour guide as well as driver. I was very pleased with this service.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were the only people on this tour and we had a wonderful time! Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and made the drive to Sausalito enjoyable. We got to Muir Woods early before the crowds came and had a quiet, reflective hike. Sausalito was funky and fun. The highlight was the seaplane tour - our pilot was great and we saw the whole city, the Golden Gate bridge, Alcatraz, the bay bridge, the stadium and more from the air.

Doing what: Explore Marin County: Sausalito, Muir Woods and Seaplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I book this trip over the internet; we were a little apprehensive, this was due to some of the review we had read, we were worried about nothing. We called the office the day prior to our trip for our pickup time and the gentleman at the tour company was very polite and helpful answering our quires clearly and confidently. On the day of our trip we were collected on time from the hotel as the tour company had explained and transported to the main office to collect our tickets and board our onward mode of transport. The coach driver was very informative of all the locations we visited and with out him the trip would not have been so enjoyable. I am glad we chose Viator for our Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito excursion. Thank’s Viator.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was great. Alex was a great driver and very informative. The tour lasts a full 8 hours so take some snacks as there was little time for lunch in Sausalito. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio was very real and informative. The ride to Muir Woods is lovely and Sausalito is a great little village on the water. Wished the tour had allowed for more time there. All in all a good trip. The ONLY negative is that the tour company seemed very disorganized. We were picked up right on time and taken to the tour Office to get our tickets. However, there we had to wait for over an hour for our bus to arrive so the tour to Alcatraz really didn't get started until 10:30. After Alcatraz, you have to go BACK to tour Office to get your ticket for Muir Woods and Sausalito for the continuation of your day tour. The tour comapny failed to tell us that we needed ANOTHER ticket for admission to Muir Woods. Finally, they realized that no one had gotten their Muir Woods tickets and that was the hold up with the bus!!!!! The bus assignments are very confusing. The ticket is for a certain color (example - Blue) and you have to walk around and ask the drivers are you blue? The drivers were confused too. Once we got our bus and a terrific driver, all was forgiven. It would be simple for the drivers to have a sign in there window as to their color or stand outside their bus with a color displayed. The tour was a 5 star but I'd give the tour company only 1 star. Sorry to the tour company.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Roman was our tour guide for this tour. He was fantastic. He is entertaining, fun, and very informative. I hope any future travelers taking this tour are lucky enough to get Roman as your tour guide. We loved Muirs Woods and the three boutique wineries we toured. We had a nice leasurely lunch in Sonoma and took one of Roman's restaurant suggestions. It was great! Took us to a great place above the Golden Gate Bridge on our return to San Francisco, fantastic place for pictures. There were three of us travelers and we are Pennsylvania Dutch, that really helped us to enjoy Roman so much.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Muir Woods were incredible, both size and beauty. The wine tasting tour was excellent with all three vineyards explaining their brewing process and allowing us to sample all of the best wines. The tour guide was great, very funny and educational.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Roman was an AMAZING tour guide!!! He was funny, full of information and made this day so much fun! I booked this tour because I didn't rent a vehicle during my stay and it was an easy way of seeing 3 of San Francisco's best attractions: Muir Woods, Sonoma and Napa! Definitely worth the time, especially since you get picked up from your hotel! This tour is a one-stop-shop!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this half day tour to Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate viewpoint. Our driver Troy was top value - not only a brilliant driver but informative, witty and an excellent communicator who had us singing along to various San Francisco songs. Muir Woods is unmissable thanks to the lovely redwoods. Sausalito has a quant villagy feel and great views of the Bay. Otis Redding wrote Sitting on the Dock of the Bay here - what more ambience could you want! And the view of the Bridge will leave you gobsmacked. We too left our hearts in San Francisco thanks to this tour!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Delightful drive out to Muir Woods. Had plenty of time to walk around and see the magnificent trees. Then scenic overlook across bay and Golden Gate bridge. Stopped at Sausalito, with may options for lunch. Archie was a very good driver, and had a lot of information. It was so good, I plan to go again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Muir Woods was hard to describe the Giant Sequoias Trees are so imposing. The place is so quite. It was almost as memorable as the first time I saw it in 1974. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and presented his information in an interesting manner. Sausalito was nice to visit. We had lunch at a nice restaurant. It took us longer than one hour so we took the ferry back to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message