Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip,plenty of time on island, beautiful boat ride over, wonderful walk in Muir woods

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We arrived in San Francisco at 11am, found a shuttle to our hotel, and then walked to the tour stop. We made it with time to spare, and I'm so glad we did. Our guide took us over the Golden Gate Bridge and to the park on the other side for a few minutes. San Francisco was chilly and windy, so we didn't want to linger anyway. Then it was on to Muir Woods. I've been wanting to see the redwoods since I first heard about them in 4th grade. I'm in my late 30s now, so a very long time. They did not disappoint. We did a lot of fun things in San Francisco, but Muir Woods is near the top of my list. Of course, there's a limit to the amount of time you can spend, but I felt like we had ample time. Muir Woods is tourist friendly and just beautiful. We chose to be dropped off in Sausalito. We found a casual restaurant for dinner, and took a ferry back to San Francisco. We were certainly road weary at the end of the day, but the tour was absolutely worth it.

This was the first of two viator tours for us, and I would definitely recommend them.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver and tour guide was Ben. He was not only an excellent driver, but also gave us lots of info on San Francisco and the wine country. And good suggestions for lunch in Sonoma. We were glad that Ben was experienced as a driver to Muir woods over twisting roads plus he navigated S. F. very well. Loved the
quiet, coolness and majesty of Muir. Our 3 wineries were all in Sonoma and offered more than enough
wine samples: Mayo, Madonna, and Cline. We learned a lot about wine making and the history of the wine
country. We also appreciated being picked up and dropped off at our hotel. All in all a wonderful experience.
V and V from Clearwater

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "douche who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "jerk who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was excellent. The tour was very informative and engaging. The split time between the Muir Woods and Sausalito was perfect.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My trip 6/22-Roman was absolutely fantastic, the best tour guide I have ever had! So nice, knowledgable, funny, and professional. This tour far exceeded my expectations in so many ways! It was the perfect way to see Muir Woods and Wine Country in a day. I was concerned about going on a tour like this as a female alone (especially with wine), but I was happy to find that I felt extremely comfortable and safe the entire time. The shuttle bus was large and roomy. The time allowed at each destination was perfect and appropriate. Roman provided excellent information about everything we were doing and seeing so I felt prepared and informed before arriving. I was so impressed with the variety of wineries selected. Getting dropped off at Salsalitos was definitely worth the extra time. Also a cute and safe town for walking alone as a female. Taking the ferry back to SF was a breeze. I was blown away by how much value was in this day trip, well worth every penny! Also want to include that I was lucky enough to book this trip the day before and get one of the last seats on the bus. The customer service person I spoke with was excellent, making sure every detail was handled and confirming that I would be picked up at my hotel at a specific time (which I was). Roman even called me 2 minutes prior to let me know that he was approaching. Thank you for making this an unforgettable experience. This was my first trip to SF and my first tour with Viator. Perfect in every category! Thank you!! Kathy H

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alcatraz and Muir Woods was one of our highlights, would definitely recommend this tour for everyone, although Sausalito was relatively uninteresting.

Spent 3 hours at Alcatraz, seemed like 30 minutes, if you only do one tour, take this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Picked up from my hotel our driver Ben was polite and friendly told us lots of local info. The drive up to Muir Woods was breathtaking a very relaxing walk through the woods. Then on to the Vineyards again stunning scenery and a relaxing afternoon. A great lunch stop and a final vineyard at Cline beautiful gardens.
Finished the day with a stop in Susscaleido (not sure if thats the right spelling) then a fast ferry ride back to San Fransisco with views of the bridge Alcatraz and the city from the bay WHAT A DAY.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent day run by a very professional tour company. The hotel pick up was on time and The Alcatraz tour was amazing and with plenty of time to complete the audio tour and get back to the boat to get the coach for the next part of the tour. Muir woods was something really special with the giant redwoods a real treat. We had a lovely weather day and the driver was great. Loads of information and kept everyone involved as the day went on.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very fun tour. My family really enjoyed seeing and learning about Alkatraz, the Muir Woods and Sacalito. All amazing places to visit, we want to come back and spend more time at each. The tour guide was great too.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable. Great to get to Muir woods before the crowds. As we were leaving all the tour busses were pulling in. Sonoma valley stunning. Really enjoyed the wine tasting and again the scenery was fantastic. Excellent tour guide (cant recollect his first name).

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods is wonderful. The guide (Aaron) was fun, knowledgeable, had a good voice, and a safe driver. Muir Woods is the reason to do this tour. Sausalito was nothing in comparison for our group, Only had 50 minutes in Sausalito, nothing much you can do there in that amount of time. Shop a little, walk the piers and see the boats docked, or eat a quick meal.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message