Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1561 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was perfect for us as we had limited time available. Muir Woods is a popular destination and if you plan to go by yourself, by car be prepared to walk a long way to get to the park, as parking is really limted. So a tour is perfect. The bus left on time - 36 people on the bus. Our guid Chabli, was friendly, professional and polite. We took the option to stay a while longer than allocated at Sausalito and Chabli pointed out all the town's highlights and where to catch the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely consider this company next time I am in town.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

fneedham
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent way to get to Muir Woods with sufficient time for a walk. The hotel pick up worked well.
After visiting Sausalito on the return our drover took us to a viewing point above the Golden Gate bridge which was an unexpected extra. The driver was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Early start but relaxing day. Firstly visit Muir Woods which was an amazing place, would have liked to have stayed longer, you only have an hour/hour and a half there. Then onto wine country, firstly at a family winery in Sonoma then stopped for lunch in Sonoma town square Sonoma cheese factory paninis are amazing! and onto Napa to the next 2 wineries. Owners generous with letting you try different wines, and the settings are gorgeous. By far the real gem of the trip was our guide Andy, very knowledgeable about San Francisco and all the areas we drove through, seamless in his commentary and a real asset to Viator/local tour company. Would recommend as a day trip to get out of the city and see some scenery!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Andy was very informative and entertaining. Getting to see Muir Woods in the morning before the crowds was a great experience! The wine country tastings were also lots of fun and we learned a lot about different wines and how they are made. Lunch in Sonoma Square was also a highlight.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Muir Woods Tour was excellent...especially our tour guide Troy. Nice bus, a fair amount of time to explore Muir Woods and Sausolito. But I was signed up for the Bay Tour as well and I thought it went directly from Sausolito to San Fran. Instead I went back to the downtown San Fran hub and then to the Bay Tour. I ended up giving my ticket away to someone as I wasn't sure I'd be back in time for a meeting at my conference. This tour was advertised as one package and it doesn't make sense to have you come all the way back to San Fran. I was confused once I got on the tour and was on the bus to the hub before I realized I could have taken the ferry back. You need to add more detail about how the Bay Cruise fits in.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour of Muir Woods and Sausalito.
Liked the option to go back to San Francisco by ferry.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour combining Muir woods and Sausalito. ..our guide Manny was very knowledgeable and patient and gave us some great tips.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was amazing. Igor our driver was funny and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend it. Sausalito is a very nice quaint town. Enjoy the peace and quiet as you walk throughout muir woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great, Muir woods is definitely worth a visit and our tour guide Rich was very funny and full of knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We only had 3 days in the San Francisco area but really wanted to see Muir Woods and get our to the Wine Country and this was the perfect way to do it. Anthony, the guide, was very knowledgeable and also very organised in getting everyone where they needed to be quickly and efficiently without losing anyone but always with good humour! Never an easy combination. He was also very happy to be flexible where he could and went out of his way to ensure that everyone got what they wanted out of the day even including an unscheduled trip to a viewing point of the bridge as many on board hadn't seen it clear of fog yet! Highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on our tour of Muir Woods. The bus driver picked us up and took us to the check in. We got on the bus with everyone else, and Chablis was our bus driver. We enjoyed the scenery along the way and crossing the Golden Gate Bridge. Walking through Muir Woods was beautiful, and we could have stayed longer. On the way back we stopped in the picturesque town of Sausalito, ate some fish and chips, and met back at the bus. Chablis was an excellent driver maneuvering the bus through traffic, and his narrative was interesting through San Francisco. He dropped us back off at the Cal Train where we began, so we could get back to our hotel. It was a fun day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This half day tour gave you everything you wanted to see at Muir Woods and then Sausalito. The tour guide was informative and had some funny stories to tell as we drove to our destinations. The Muir Wood redwoods are beautiful! The drive up and down the windy roads can be a bit daunting so it is nice to have a driver doing the work for you. After Muir Woods, we recommend staying in Sausalito after the tour ends and taking the ferry back to downtown San Francisco, which is a great option they give you since you only have about 1 hour in the town. I would recommend this tour to family and friends traveling to the area.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience in Muir Woods. Funny and entertaining commentary on the way there. I thought 1 hour was too long, but it flew by. The tasting went well, too.
Our guide Roman went above and beyond -- I left my cell phone in Sonoma, and he picked it up the next day and brought it to our hostel. Recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Muir Woods are a must-see! Kenneth was a very knowledgable and accommodating guide who made sure we enjoyed the tour. Sausalito was a beautiful little town but could be skipped to spend more time in the Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We were picked up right at our hotel and brought to the tour bus - the tour guide knew the area so well and was full of history and tips for the area. We loved Muir Woods and Sausalito was beautiful. After the tour we were dropped off at the door of our hotel - you can't beat that! I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. We spent a little over an hour at Muir Woods. And then off to wine country which was a great excursion. However the highlight of the entire day was our tour guide Romon, the man was fantastic! He was informative, personable, and most of all hilarious.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very professional and helpful driver!
time at Muir Woods could have been a lot longer. 90 minutes not enough.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not only is Muir Wood beautiful, our tour guide/bus driver was FANTASTIC. He was originally from Russia, has lived in SF for 25 years and gave us the best tour of the area than we ever expected!!! And, he was really funny!!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome driver! Muir Woods is beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour, great value for money, we got to go around and see several different areas we probably wouldn't have done otherwise and our coach driver to Muir Woods and Sausalito was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and a helpful tour guide. Enjoyable time in Muir Woods, great views of the Golden Gate Bridge, and a fantastic stop for lunch in Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! I wish I had spent more time at the Muir Woods but still was worth it and the guide was great! The wine tastings were fabulous. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a great trip and loved Muir Woods!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great driver that made it fun with great knowledge. I just wish they let us spend more te at Muir woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day with a great guide. Starting from the beauties of San Francisco to the beauties of Muir Woods. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message