• USD ($)
  • English
Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although I was excited to go on the wine tours, I was completely taken aback by the beauty of Muir Woods. It was a peaceful and sceanic walk. The café was a bit pricy but still offered a wide variety of healthy and snack foods.
The wine tours were great as well, there was tons to learn and taste testing made it a lot of fun. The shops were great and so was the wine. The only pitfall is that you waste a lot of time driving to get there but our tour guide was excellent. On our way back, we stopped at the Golden Gate Bridge for some excellent photo! Beautiful day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bus was very nice and the host was great!! Loved Muir Redwoods and Sausalito!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was fantastic. The 3 wineries we were brought to were all special for their own reasons. We were offered many wine tastings and were taught a lot about the process of making wine. Lunch in Sonoma was great too. Our little group ate at a burger place on the corner. Muir Woods was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so perfect and a great way to see San Francisco, muir woods, and Sausalito. Worth every penny and Archy, our driver, was fantastic and very knowledgeable. He took us to every view point and offered to take pictures of couples in front of the Golden Gate Bridge. Overall great experience

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods were more than words and pictures can explain. You need to see in order to grasp the beauty of the forest.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was split in two parts. We did Muir Woods in the morning. Our guide, Paul, was extremely knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to. We spent the morning in this awesome place just drinking in Mother Nature in all her splendor. The afternoon was the city tour with James. He took us for hours on the most fabulous tour. We drove through every neighborhood in the city and then some. He gave us amazing information on each section. This was money very well spent and they were very accommodating to us when we ran into a little problem. We explained the situation and it was remedied easily, quickly and much to our satisfaction. Hight recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco City Insider Tour with Optional Muir Woods Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour of Muir Woods and wine country was outstanding. A big part of the success of the day was attributed to Roman our tour guide. He was informative, knowledgeable and provided a steady dose of good humor. Our visits were an efficient use of time and each a high quality experience. Roman also threw in a couple of surprise stops toward the end of the tour that made the overall trip that much more memorable.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. Starts with a walk through Muir Woods which is quite close to San Francisco. This is an amazing place with just the right amount of time here. The wineries visited are quite nice with a couple of them only having cellardoor sales. The place we stopped for lunch was a nice area as well with a good selection of places to eat and a nice park to eat in if you don't want sitdown meal.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip,plenty of time on island, beautiful boat ride over, wonderful walk in Muir woods

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We arrived in San Francisco at 11am, found a shuttle to our hotel, and then walked to the tour stop. We made it with time to spare, and I'm so glad we did. Our guide took us over the Golden Gate Bridge and to the park on the other side for a few minutes. San Francisco was chilly and windy, so we didn't want to linger anyway. Then it was on to Muir Woods. I've been wanting to see the redwoods since I first heard about them in 4th grade. I'm in my late 30s now, so a very long time. They did not disappoint. We did a lot of fun things in San Francisco, but Muir Woods is near the top of my list. Of course, there's a limit to the amount of time you can spend, but I felt like we had ample time. Muir Woods is tourist friendly and just beautiful. We chose to be dropped off in Sausalito. We found a casual restaurant for dinner, and took a ferry back to San Francisco. We were certainly road weary at the end of the day, but the tour was absolutely worth it.

This was the first of two viator tours for us, and I would definitely recommend them.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver and tour guide was Ben. He was not only an excellent driver, but also gave us lots of info on San Francisco and the wine country. And good suggestions for lunch in Sonoma. We were glad that Ben was experienced as a driver to Muir woods over twisting roads plus he navigated S. F. very well. Loved the
quiet, coolness and majesty of Muir. Our 3 wineries were all in Sonoma and offered more than enough
wine samples: Mayo, Madonna, and Cline. We learned a lot about wine making and the history of the wine
country. We also appreciated being picked up and dropped off at our hotel. All in all a wonderful experience.
V and V from Clearwater

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "douche who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods was an amazing early start to the tour. Being the first to enter the national park, we were able to take in all the meditative peace, quiet and calmness that the Woods has to offer. Although an hour given to walk through the trail was quite tight, it was still manageable. By the time we left, the swelling number of people would have made the Woods an entirely different experience.

The pace of the wine tasting in the country side was just right. There was more than enough wine to taste from the 3 vineyards that we visited. However, we preferred the first vineyard more than the other two, namely because it is an intimate family business with very cosy grounds, not unlike a family home, for its showroom. It made a very relaxing environment for tasting and browsing the wines available.

However, the star of the tour had to be Roman, our tour guide AND driver for the day. With his acidic sense of humour and numerous punchlines, which were quick and sudden, the atmosphere was light and fun, just like on a road trip. He made everyone both at ease, and yet willingly at edge, keeping to his time limits. Nobody wanted to be that "jerk who kept everybody waiting".

The highlight of the tour was also Roman's "little surprise" toward the end of the tour. He brought us to fantastic photo spots of the Golden Gate Bridge. Accompanied with namesake songs on San Francisco and whatever he had to say at that moment, it was a truly romantic soundtrack ending to the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message