Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A nice half day in Marin County, with photo stops in wonderful landscapes. The time in Muir Woods is enough to walk the touristic ring.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour was fabulous! Muir Woods is so very special and even more beautiful in the early morning. We were leaving just as the crowds started to come into park. The three wineries were terrific. We personally enjoyed the first and third winery the most! Nick, our tour guide was great and very accommodating. We highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver, John, was careful and knowledgeable - full of interesting facts. A good amount of time to see what we wanted to see in Muir Woods, and enough time for lunch in Sausaito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Muir Woods is a magnificent place. My only regret is that we only had 90 minutes there…we could have easily stayed twice as long.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This our was a highlight of our trip. Our driver, Ben, was excellent. Extremely informative and friendly. He made the tour as enjoyable as it could be. The Muir woods was awesome. We visited 3 wineries. Each tour was great.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Muir Woods was great. We have an hour and a half to walk the trail. This was adequate time at the park. It was chilly so bring long sleeves. Sausalito was okay. I booked for the redwoods. It was also great because the bus drive up to the Golden Gate National Parking viewing area. We were all able to get famous photo of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved both the Muir Wood...and Sausalito... The guide was great

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience from beginning to end!! Started out timely at our 740 a.m. pick up time at our hotel and headed to Muir Woods which were breathtaking! Our tour guide, Rowmon (sp?) was pleasant, entertaining, knowledgeable and humerous! The wine country and wineries we toured were thoroughly enjoyed by our party of 4!! Would recommend this tour to all people traveling to the Bay!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

From the pick-ups at our hotel, to muir Woods, Nic, our driver, explaine a lot of interesting facts about the region. Muir wodds is a great place to visit! The 3 winerys were fun and relax. A very beautiful afternoon. The Sonoma square for lunch was a very beautiful place!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz is a must see on anybody's trip to San Francisco and rightly so. A great insight into prison life history.
I really enjoyed the scenery around Muir Woods too - the Giant Redwoods have to be seen to be believed.

We did not get too much time in Sausalito so can not comment too much but it did seem to be a charming little town

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I could have skipped Sausalito, but Alcatraz and Muir Woods were amazing! Our bus driver, Aaron, was incredible! He literally did not take a breath, providing us with info all the way. He was humorous, polite, he even held someones' baby for them! I would recommend this tour, my favourite part of my San Francisco trip. (I would have liked a little more time in Muir Woods)

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz was a surprise hit. The tour includes the ferry ride over and back and once on Alcatraz, you are on your own to make sure you get back on a ferry that will return in time for the second part of the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Even though you are on your own at Alcatraz, you have ample time to take advantage of the free audio tour, Alcatraz video, and wander around. The Muir Woods was amazing but it is a large preserve that definitely needs a revisit since you only get about an hour at the woods. Sausalito was a nice town to stroll, shop, and get a quick bite. You get about an hour in Sausalito. Overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a really great tour. Our Guide Roman was really entertaining and informative, the wineries we visited were beautiful, as was Muir woods. Roman also brought us to a couple of places to get really excellent photos of the Golden gate bridge. I would highly recommend this tour for a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Muir Woods is small, but a wonderful respite from the big city! It was tranquil and very beautiful... a great place to commune with nature. The tour guide got us there early in the day, which made for an even better experience because we beat the line (and, it was a LONG line by 10:30am). My only critique (if I had to have one) was that I would have liked more time here.
The wine tour part was a lot of fun and very educational. It was fast and furious, so to speak, but that actually worked quite well, as we did not "over-stay" at any one place.
It was a long day, closed out by a quick side trip up the hill at the Golden Gate Bridge, affording us to get great pictures of the Bridge and City in the background.
I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was both informational and entertaining thanks to our guide Roman. This tour is scheduled so well and allows you to avoid the congestion and traffic at these popular attractions. We had Muir Woods completely to ourselves and our wine tours seemed personalized. We enjoyed the day and would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message