Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1608 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. We had the best time. We got picked up from our hotel, and the tour began as soon as we stepped inside the bus. ROMAN, our german tour guy, was hilarious. Very funny, and makes you feel so welcome and relax. Telling you jokes, and sharing stories, tips, and restaurants advices, as you go around San Francisco. He is very charming and is very, very practical for such a trip because he keeps you amused all the time.

The Muir Woods was a great start, with enough time to walk around, and Roman was able to beat up all the other tour buses, so we were the first ones there. NAPA and SONOMA, were excellent, the weather was very good, and the vineyards that we visited were small, but very very good. Wines that you would not normally find outside those areas. Great Lunch places recommended by Roman, and the extra stop at the end by the GOLDE GATE BRIDGE near the bunkers, with the whole view of the bridge and the bay area was amazing.

I highly recommend this tour, it picks you up around 8am and by 6pm you are back in your hotel, beating up all the traffic thanks to ROMAN. If you are doing this, ask for ROMAN because he is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip! We were able to see Alcatraz in the morning and Muir Woods and Sausalito in the afternoon!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anthony who was our driver was very funny and friendly, he made the long drive go by very fast. Muir Woods early in the morning was perfect, you could smell the crisp and fresh air as we walked though the path. Wine Country tour was informative and a lot of wine tasting.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Booking was easy and the tour left on time. Our guide, Manny, was excellent and very knowledgeable. He made a pit stop at a viewing point for the Golden Gate Bridge and gave us a photo opportunity. Muir Woods was amazing! On the way back we stopped for an hour to explore the lovely town of Sausalito. We had a great time and appreciated the great tour guide. Will definitely use this company again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nature lovers will be disappointed not to spend more time in the Muir Woods. IF you want to be away from the crowds find the trail that goes up, up, up... somewhere between bridges 1 and 2. It's a 3 mile loop that at one point takes you to a Pacific Ocean overlook. Sadly, due to time constraints we didn't make it that far. You'll only have a little over an hour in the woods before you have to be back on the bus. And Troy ain't kidding - if you're late you'll be left behind. There was one couple from our group that missed the bus. Sausalito is a cool little town with great views of the Pacific. You'll have lunch there and can then rejoin the tour or stay there and ride the Ferry back - which is what we did. We had a nice afternoon wandering the city and watching kids learn to sail. Hindsight 20/20 I'd have opted for more time in the woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver, Igor, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. His driving was spectacular on the twisty roads to and from Muir Woods, and he went out of his way to show us beautiful views. The weather helped of course, being clear and sunny all afternoon, but Igor took great advantage of it.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide made was great. Would like to spend few more minutes in Muir Woods. Tour in the wine country was fantastic and enjoyed the presentations at each stop.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tours. I would have enjoy more time in Muir Woods and foregone going to Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fun experience. It was our first time visiting california SFO and we decided to go on this trip. The guide was entertaining and informative. I especially like the visit to Muir woods I wish we could have stayed longer though it was only for one hour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was incredible. The Muir Woods are so majestic and serene. Beautiful drive to get there. Loved Sausalito as well.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

IGR was a great tour director. Loved the Muir Woods-had been there before.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Viator was a great choice! Our bus driver Aaron was really great. He was really informative and we learned a lot about San Francisco. Muir Woods were amazing in Sausalito was fun little town to hang around in.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great!! The instructor was knowledgeable, friendly, reliable, cautious, fun, and made the trip very enjoyable. The Muir Woods is an amazing place, and the wine testing was too much fun.
This trip is definitely 100 recommended!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I actually had so much fun on this tour!

There is a pretty early start time, and it's annoying when other travellers don't adhere to the expected time of departure i.e. to get coffee. However, our bus driver was fantastic and his silly shaming of anyone late throughout the day i.e. forcing them to sing relieved any sort of tension.

You start the day with a trip to Muir Woods. The drive is beautiful and filled with a lot of fun facts along the way. Part of the reason why the tour starts so early is to beat other tourists. When we first got there it was still relatively quiet, and it was great to enjoy the nature and beauty of the area with peace and quiet. You definitely don't stay too long, so you can do a nice walk, snap some photos and then get back on the bus before anyone gets bored.

Afterwards, we made our way to the first of three wineries. I'm not sure if they choose the same 3 each time, but the three we went to were great. Our driver knew all of the staff at the wineries personally, and was able to give us additional facts/information prior to arriving or after we'd left. Some of the wineries even gave discounts on their product 10-15 for being with the bus tour line. We got 5-7 wines at each place, and all were delicious! I came home with 2 bottles of wine!

On our way back since we finished in good timing, our driver even took us to a great look out point near the Golden Gate Bridge to give us a chance to get a great view and snap some photos.

We arrived back in good timing. I love this tour and definitely recommend it!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was in 2 parts, we had a morning city tour followed by a lunch break and then the Muir Woods Sausalito tour. Tour buses were comfortable and our guides were so professional and friendly. By far, our favorite was Chablis. Ask for him by name if you can. He was fantastic. All the sights were amazing although a bit too crowded for my taste. Probably had to do with the month we were travelling in July.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a terrific tour! Muir Woods are amazingly beautiful, and the wine tasting tour was lots of fun! Our tour driver Anthony was terrific, very entertaining and informative.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful trip. Our tour guide, Andy was exceptional and incredibly knowledgeable. We loved the stops we made, the Muir woods are inspiring and the various Wine stops well chosen.
We would recommend to others, actually already have.
Thank You !!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito -- the bus driver was great!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was great. Muir Woods is beautiful. Just had enough time to walk the main trails before we headed to Wine Country. The wineries were very nice and let us try a variety of wines.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Manny was our driver and guide. He was very interesting and explained many items on our way over and back from Muir woods. Take the morning tour as it does get crowded later in the day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful one day excursion. We really enjoyed it. The service was great, the driver was fun. I would highly recommend it to anyone with limited time in San Francisco. If I could arrange it for optimal pleasure, I would do Alcatraz first, then Muir Woods, and end with Salsalito. We only had 50 minutes in Salsalito because the driver had to rush us back for our 1:30 Alcatraz tour. We just made it. Would have like more time in Salsalito.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was perfect for us as we had limited time available. Muir Woods is a popular destination and if you plan to go by yourself, by car be prepared to walk a long way to get to the park, as parking is really limted. So a tour is perfect. The bus left on time - 36 people on the bus. Our guid Chabli, was friendly, professional and polite. We took the option to stay a while longer than allocated at Sausalito and Chabli pointed out all the town's highlights and where to catch the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely consider this company next time I am in town.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

fneedham
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent way to get to Muir Woods with sufficient time for a walk. The hotel pick up worked well.
After visiting Sausalito on the return our drover took us to a viewing point above the Golden Gate bridge which was an unexpected extra. The driver was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Early start but relaxing day. Firstly visit Muir Woods which was an amazing place, would have liked to have stayed longer, you only have an hour/hour and a half there. Then onto wine country, firstly at a family winery in Sonoma then stopped for lunch in Sonoma town square Sonoma cheese factory paninis are amazing! and onto Napa to the next 2 wineries. Owners generous with letting you try different wines, and the settings are gorgeous. By far the real gem of the trip was our guide Andy, very knowledgeable about San Francisco and all the areas we drove through, seamless in his commentary and a real asset to Viator/local tour company. Would recommend as a day trip to get out of the city and see some scenery!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Andy was very informative and entertaining. Getting to see Muir Woods in the morning before the crowds was a great experience! The wine country tastings were also lots of fun and we learned a lot about different wines and how they are made. Lunch in Sonoma Square was also a highlight.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message