Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1400 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The key was the excellent guide/driver Aaron who had a wealth of information and shared it with us for the entire trip.

Two precautions are that 1) for the afternoon trip they do not pick up from your hotel and 2) plan for extra time, not just the 4 hours since in our case we got back about 7PM from the 2PM trip. However the extra time was spent in some phenomenal views of San Francisco.

The impressive Muir woods walk took an hour (stopped for 1 hr 15 min). The bus and the ticket process were both clean and easy.

Highly recommend both the sites and the tour company. The trip exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Muir woods were stunning. we got several perfect pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge. Wine Country was terrific. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Brian was AMAZING. Because of him this tour rates a 5. The tour itself though was too short at muir woods and too short (30 min.) in Sausalito. Brian really went out of his way to make sure we had amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

UTTERLY BRILLIANT!!! Our tour guide/driver, Frank, made this tour - it was a great itinerary anyway, but Frank was such a personable, jovial and humorous person that he really made this tour go from 'great' to 'excellent'. We had a bit of extra time first thing so he took us for a photo stop of the Golden Gate Bridge - not on the itinerary, but very, very welcome! He was full of information and stories, and really made us feel like we'd come away and learnt something beyond 'just' seeing a redwood forest and tasting some delicious wines! Speaking of which: Muir Woods is beautiful, and really worth the visit (make sure you've got your fees for entry - I think it was $7 per adult) and the two Sonoma and one Napa wineries we went to were all lovely, with some beautiful wines available to taste (we visited Mayo, Madonna and Cline). All in all, a great day out with some great experiences and memories.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had such a great time on this tour. The Muir Woods are awe inspiring. We wish we would have had more time there. Sausalito is such a charming little bay town. We had plenty of time for some wine and walking around. Archie was so nice. He was very informative!! Thanks!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From start to finish this tour was very well organized. The tour guide was very nice and extremely knowledgable. Visited three wineries and had some time in Muir woods (you really could spend a whole day there), but it was plenty of time to hike a couple of miles and take great photos. You could split up these tours for two separate days. Would highly recommend this tour if you don't have too much time in San Fran (as I did). Overall it was fantastic.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brian was a great tour guide, and we learned a lot from him. This tour was a great way to see some of the sights near San Francisco without missing a whole day of our conference. The drive to Muir Woods was beautiful, and Muir woods was even more so. Sausalito was a nice spot for lunch. We ate at the fish and chips shop, and it was very good. If you want more time at Sausalito, there is a ferry that takes you back to Fisherman's Wharf. On the way back, Brian stopped at a view point where you can see the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco from the north side of the bay. This tour was definitely one of the high points of our trip to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

spectacular trip and our guide was very knowledgeable. Plenty of time to explore the Muir Woods and Sausalito. Easy booking and I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We booked the tour one day before we were I to go, meven with the short time frame, everything worked well. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the meeting point. We then had a great bus with the nicest most interesting and funfun driver/guide. We were then taken back to our hotel after a beautiful trip through Muir Woods!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful way to cover a lot! Loved our tour guide! Perfect time allotment - redwoods in Muir woods are magical - our guide took us up to Muir point as well for gorgeous Pacific Ocean views - Sausalito is so 'boho' - we left the tour there and had a great leisurely lunch, shopped, and took the ferry back - wonderful day trip!
Don't miss this trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The bus driver/tour guide, Troy, was very well spoken and informative. I am prone to car-sickness and should've taken something because it is a very winding road leading up the mountain to Muir Woods. (The driver took it slow, so not his fault.) Enjoyed walking along the water and in the shops in Sausalito. Had a great pizza for a quick lunch. The driver doing the hotel pick ups and taking us to the office/departure point in the Fisherman's Wharf area was careful and on time for us being the 2nd stop. From that point on, passengers were in the bathroom upon our arrival or otherwise not on time, so he got further and further behind schedule.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito was great. I enjoyed the fact that someone else did the driving. We stopped at Muir Woods for about 1-1/2 hours and the woods are beautiful. Then we went to Sausalito and just took pics and walked around for about 1-1/2 hours then caught the tour bus back to the pick up location right by Fisherman's Wharf. That in itself was so convenient for us because our hotel was right around the block from there. No trying to find a parking spot. I would highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was awesome as well. Very friendly.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Having never been to Alcatraz, I didn't know what to expect, but the tour was fantastic. The headsets with the pre-recorded self-tour was one of the best self-guided tours I've experienced. My teenage son loved it too. There was also an exhibit of political protest art - really apropos and interesting. It was a rainy and grim day - a perfect setting in which to see the prison. I felt as though we could have spent more time there, but the time we spent was adequate in seeing all the highlights. The ferry trip over and back had stunning landscapes of both San Francisco and Alcatraz. Great for photographers. The tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito was also wonderful. The driver of the bus who was also the tour guide, Kenneth, was very informative and told interesting stories, both historical and about contemporary life. He made it fun and interesting and I HIGHLY recommend him. The redwoods dwarfed us, and it was really meaningful to be able to walk among the giant trees and experience their beauty. Made me want to go to the Sequoia National Park on my next trip! It was still pouring by the time we got to Sausalito - a quaint little town on the coast; wished we could have had a drink or coffee outside, but instead we looked at the cute shops. GREAT DAY!!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Lorna L
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best part of my entire trip. I've always been interested in Alcatraz. I recommend taking the self-guided audio tour. I wish we weren't on such a tight schedule. We were on the 10:30 Alcatraz trip and had to be back by 1:30. That seems like a lot of time, but you have to account for the ferry running a little late, fighting the crowds and the time it takes to get to and from the island. Muir Woods was fun. The park was smaller than I thought it would be. You get just enough time at Sausalito to sit down and eat. If you want to shop, better grab a bit on the go. Think you only get about 45 minutes. Wish there was more time for everything, but definitely a great trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful tour, the bus stopped to give us the chance to take pictures of the Golden Gate, the view is amazing and the Muir Woods is so beautiful. Sausalito is a must!! The guide was so friendly and told us a lot of things about the city.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message