Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an awesome experience - one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1487 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. It's a good way to get out of the city and see wine country and Muir Woods. Both were beautiful. We saw three wineries, Mayo, Madonna, and Cline. All gave us a great history on their facilities and wine making/drinking in general. Generous with the wine tasting as well. Of course part of that is they are hoping you will buy a bottle of wine, but they don't put any pressure on you. Then we had lunch on our own in a cute little town. Very nice. My only complaint is that people on the bus have no respect for others trying to listen to the guide as he explains what you seeing/doing. Guide tried to control it but had a hard time. Other than that which was not the tour companies fault the trip was great and well worth the money. We were with Extranomical Tours for our tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was absolutely fabulous! Our tour guide, Anthony, had all of us laughing throughout the entire day. He was delightful - very knowledgable about the area, great sense of humor, and just a lot of fun. Muir woods was amazing, and the wine country tour was a blast. Would totally recommend this trip to anyone visiting San Francisco!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! I wish we had maybe a half hour longer in Muir Woods, but otherwise it was perfect. Excellent views of the Golden Gate Bridge, beautiful Redwoods, and a quick stop in Sausalito. Our tour guide went out of his way to make us comfortable and satisfy each of us. Yahoo, Manny!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I really enjoyed the walk in the Muir Woods and seeing the giant redwoods. It was very peaceful, quiet, and absolutely beautiful. I wish they would skip the Sausalito part of the tour and give you more time to walk in the Muir Woods. The Sausalito part of the tour is just shopping and very expensive. We didn't get to stop to take pictures of the Golden Gate like we were told we would because 5 people on our tour were very late on our Sausalito stop. It really wasn't a tour but more of a shuttle but worth the price.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved this tour and got to muir woods before the crowds which was nice. We enjoyed visiting a small, medium and large winery and having lunch in Sonoma square! Such nice views and wonderful wine!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Peter E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome tour the Muir woods were spectacular yet serene. The wine was brilliant and our guide very knowledgeable and his stop to view the Golden Gate Bridge was a fantastic way to top it off. Highly recommend to all travellers wo want to do a wine tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this trip. I wish we would have spent more time at Muir Woods. The place was beautiful. Our guide Roman was funny and informative. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour! The guide was very knowledgeable and interactive with the people. I loved Muir Woods - I went on the 9am tour and I'm glad I did. We were one of the first few there so it was really peaceful and quiet. By the time we left, more people were coming in and the noise level went up especially with the school trips, so it was nice to have those few minutes seeing the area without any disruption. If you want to do the longer trails you'll have to do a whole day tour or go separately - could only do the 30min trail. Overall, good tour for those who want to see Muir Woods and who don't have much time in San Fran. Only stayed for 3 nights.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had such a great time with this tour. Muir woods was amazing, nature at its best. And then Napa!! waooo an amazing time visiting those awesome vineyards and off course drinking vine all day.
Our tour guy was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A good opportunity to see the pretty small town of Sausalito and the magnificent giant redwoods at Muir Woods, an oasis of peace and serenity after the bustle of San Francisco. Our excellent driver stopped at one side of the Golden Gate Bridge for a photo opportunity. We really enjoyed our morning.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fabulous ! Loved wine tour and Muir Woods! Our tour guide was amazing !

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was wonderful. We loved Muir Woods but would have liked more time in Sausalito. The bus driver/tour guide was outstanding.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour bus was clean and comfortable and picked us up in front of our hotel ON TIME. Driver, Roman, was friendly, complimentary, and had a gentle sense of humor throughout the trip and he drove safely, too. Muir Woods was beyond beautiful and peaceful! The Wine Country Tour was great, although I've learned I am not a wine lover. Prices at the wineries were a bit steep, too. The lunch stop in Sonoma was just right - not too early, not too late, and the food was good. I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in these two excursions. 100 well spent.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour that I would recommend to anyone wanting to experience wine country without the hassle of having to drive yourself around. Curt our driver was funny and had some great facts about San Francisco that he shared throughout the day. The first stop was Muir Woods which was beautiful. I could have stayed there all day. You would need a lot of time to really explore the area. When then stopped at out first winery Mayo. They were great at explaining the wine process and showing us the machinery that they use. When then had lunch in Sonoma. After lunch we went to the last 2 wineries Madonna and Cline. At Madonna they talked a lot about how to taste wines. Cline was the larger of the three and was beautiful. Their wines were my favorite and the winery itself had some nice areas to sit or take pictures. My husband and I had a great day and were sad when it was over. If we are ever back in San Francisco and i knew that they would be visiting different wineries I would take this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and he kept to the schedule despite all the hotel pick ups and stops along the way. Muir Woods is amazing!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Muir Woods tour got us away from the city, nice ride along the way, Sausalito was more of a stop off, not a lot to see, The Bay Cruise was nice, wear a coat,hat, gloves and scarf, we went in March.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Muir woods was awesome. Great trip. We could have spent longer there.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent experience. Andy is an excellent guide. We learned a lot about wine and thoroughly enjoyed the Muir woods. This is totally worth going.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Bus broke down at Muir Wood but company took great care afterwards.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Muir Woods was a fabulous experience not just for the redwoods but also the peace and quiet compared to downtown. Sausalito was a not to be missed quaint town.

The driver / guide was a laid back fabulous guy called Troy, knowledgeable, humorous and friendly.

Recommended to all.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Bus driver to Muir Woods was great. Safety conscious and provide a wealth of information during the trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had so much fun on this tour! My family was visiting us in San Francisco for the weekend, so we only had a limited amount of time to show them around the area. This was a great choice, as we got to see Muir Woods and also spent plenty of time in wine country. The fast pace of the tour was great, but as a local I can't wait to go back to Muir Woods and spend an entire day hiking there! Our guide was excellent -- full of fascinating historical facts that really added to our experience. I would recommend this to anyone who is short on time and wants to see as much of the surrounding areas of San Francisco as possible.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Muir Woods was one of the coolest places I've been to. If you enjoy huge trees and feeling "small" I'd totally recommend the visit. The Giant redwoods were also a sight to see as I've never seen trees that big. Sausalito was a great town to end the trip with. The town had beautiful views and shops.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend this tour. This was our favourite place we went to of the whole trip. Muir woods was so peaceful and beautiful

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved my Muir Woods/Sausalito experience! This half day tour is perfect for people who are pressed for time and don't want to commit to a whole day tour. Our driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about San Francisco and the surrounding areas. After we crossed the Golden Gate Bridge, we stopped at a scenic spot for five minutes to take pictures. The amount of time we spent in Muir Woods was perfect, although I could have spent a whole day there because it was so beautiful. This is a great value for the price!

My only complaint was that I paid $11 extra on Viator to take the ferry back from Sausalito to San Francisco, but when I got there the tour company said that the ferry fare was not included in the tour. I don't know if this was a miscommunication between Viator and Grey Line Tours, but it was a little disappointing when I thought I had paid for the ferry experience and didn't get it.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message