Standing at the apex of the Filbert Street Steps, you can understand what Italian fishermen and beat poets saw in North Beach: tough climbs and giddy vistas, a place with more sky than ground, an area that was civilized but not entirely tamed.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Blondina, our guide, has been a resident of the area for many years and she was able to share stories, provide some history, introduce us to the locals and give us lots of tastings of the delicious food of Little Italy. After completing the tour in the morning, I was able to walk the streets and explore the area with a greater understanding in the afternoon. What a great day!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were initially scheduled for an evening tour of Chinatown/North Beach areas but it was canceled. The tour company employee, Chelsea, worked very hard to rebook us and are we ever glad she did. We changed to the Golden Gate Park Tour and it was AMAZING. Kelly, our guide, was very patient with us, showing us everything we needed to know about using the Segway. He made sure we were 100 comfortable before setting out. Once underway he made sure to point out stuff I'm sure we'd have missed on our own. The Haight - Ashbury are was way cool but the woodsy areas of the park were the highlights for us. If you have been undecided whether or not to take this tour, with this company, I can wholeheartedly without any reservation recommend these folks. They are the real deal and will treat you right from beginning to end.

Doing what: Private Segway Tours of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Margherita was an amazing guide! She was friendly and took us to the best spots in North Beach. I would absolutely recommend this tour to my friends and family. I purchased this for a belated mother's day present. It was a very unique experience, and my whole family enjoyed it.

Doing what: Taste of North Beach Evening Food and Wine Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ryan did a great tour. He brought us North Beach and the Beat very close. Thanks, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience. Our tour guide Blandine was great, having lived in San Fransisco for many years and in the Little Italy area in particular she knew all the shop owners and it was a very relaxed and informative tour. The product sampling at various establishments was a great experience. Definitely recommend as a must do tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this Food and Wine Tour. Lela was wonderful. She was from the area, very knowledgeable and really cute. She knew all the owner's personally and had a great rapport with them and with us. We walked about 1 mile, pretty easy walking not steep hills and tried food at 4 different places. Each had wonderful food and cocktails and we got to meet and talk with the owners. All the food was wonderful.
Great way to get oriented to North Beach which after a week in San Fran was my favorite neighborhood.

Doing what: Taste of North Beach Evening Food and Wine Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's obvious that Blondini is passionate about her neighbors and friends. She has cultivated rich relationships with the vendors that we visited. Her tour was very much like an all access pass to North Beach and Little Italy. Thank you for entertaining is so effortlessly.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were the only people on this VIP tour and we had a great time! We probably traveled around 20 miles within San Francisco, up to Coit Tower (and down again!), Chinatown, North Beach . . . Carlos was a great guide!

Doing what: Private Segway Tours of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific. This is one of those tours which has something for everyone: a bakery, a coffee shop, a candy store, a pizzeria, a restaurant and a place that sold very high end vinegar (I could have done with out the last stop myself, but others seemed to have enjoyed it). In addition, you get to hear a little about the history and culture of North Beach, visiting interesting sights along the way. I highly recommend this tour, and the guide named Judy.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely FANTASTIC!! Blondina was incredibly knowledgeable and every place she took us was outstanding. She has lived in the neighborhood for years and is a real local. It was both a culinary and cultural tour. I've been to San Francisco so many times that I wanted to do something different/not the usual tourist things. I feel like I really got to know North Beach. Can't recommend this highly enough!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Blondina was a great guide! She not only led us on a tour of delicious restaurants, but she have us a wonderful history lesson of North Beach and a great local perspective. We would gladly join any other tour with her, she was amazing!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great show! Its hilarious and entertaining! If you have a chance to see it while you are in town, I would highly recommend it. Seating is first come first serve, but its a small venue so there really isn't any bad seats. It's right in North Beach and there are a ton of little Italian restaurants nearby to have dinner at before or after the show.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeble, friendly and thoughtful. The food was more than we expected and the tid-bids about Little Italy/ North Beach area was fun to hear. Also a great way to meet new people. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was a local native and very well informed about North Beach history and folklore. The tour was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed this food tour! With Jim as our guide, we learned so much about this area of San Francisco! Jim was great! It was terrific to be able to go behind the "scenes" in the bakery, coffee house, candy store etc. All of the food we sampled was delicious, and the people working at each place were knowledgeable. This tour made us really feel like we "got to know" North Beach!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I am from DC. This was like the Capital Steps and Shear Madness on steroids!

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first time in North Beach, and the tour gave me a lot of insight into the neighborhood's cuisine and history. Our guide was very informative, and he told us a lot of funny stories from North Beach's past. The food was also excellent, and I enjoyed all five stops. We stopped for coffee, pastries and bread, fudge, pasta and pizza, giving us a great overview of what the restaurants in Little Italy have to offer. I feel like we got a very thorough tour of the neighborhood, and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As a San Franciscan, I found this tour incredibly interesting. I don't know too much about North Beach, and our guide was super informative and shared a lot about the neighborhood's interesting history. I had also never been to any of the food stops, so it was a great chance to try new places. Plus, they were all really good, and I especially loved the pizza! Highly recommended tour for locals and visitors alike!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great evening out! I am a local San Franciscan and hadn't seen Beach Blanket Babylon in years. The show was hilarious, very current and up-to-date, and overall a really fun night out in North Beach. The costumes and singing were superb and the iconic headpieces were amazing. Redeeming my Viator voucher at will call was super easy and there were hosts right at the door that showed us to our seats. I highly recommend this for visitors and locals.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We recently took the Little Italy walking tour and enjoyed it immensely. The food was excellent and the tour guide, Jim was very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting or new to San Francisco.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Leah M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a great way to see the North Beach and Little Italy areas. Informative, fun and you try a BUNCH of great foods! Our guide Blandina was super. She lives in the area and knows everyone and everything.

Wear good shoes, dress for the weather and come hungry! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fantastic tour starting with a real coffee and then onto bread making, pastries , chocolate, fresh fish tacos and finishing with olive oil tastings and the very best pizza. Tom our guide was excellent, knows his food and loves his city. Is was a a great overall view of downtown little Italy. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is one of the best kept secrets of San Francisco. A magical insight into the cafes, bakeries and coffee shops of the stunning North Beach area. It is personally one of my favourite areas of San Francisco, and I found the food on this tour absolutely exquisite. I still have cravings for the mouthwatering handmade French chocolates. Yum. This is not your typical run-of-the-mill tour - it is guided by a passionate tour guide who seems to know the who's who of North Beach, and knows all there is to know about North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fun way to eat your way through North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our Tour Guide Blandina was well versed and knowledgeable of Little Italy. She had many interesting stories of people and the places we visited ranging from the history of the area to very human lives of locals. It was like walking around with a friend being updated on what has been happening. Blandina is well known in the area and had good reasons for introducing us to various businesses. It was a great opportunity to go into the production areas and we sampled some great food. The tour ended with the a great Pizza meal. We revisited this restaurant for another Pizza dinner.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message