Standing at the apex of the Filbert Street Steps, you can understand what Italian fishermen and beat poets saw in North Beach: tough climbs and giddy vistas, a place with more sky than ground, an area that was civilized but not entirely tamed.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's obvious that Blondini is passionate about her neighbors and friends. She has cultivated rich relationships with the vendors that we visited. Her tour was very much like an all access pass to North Beach and Little Italy. Thank you for entertaining is so effortlessly.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific. This is one of those tours which has something for everyone: a bakery, a coffee shop, a candy store, a pizzeria, a restaurant and a place that sold very high end vinegar (I could have done with out the last stop myself, but others seemed to have enjoyed it). In addition, you get to hear a little about the history and culture of North Beach, visiting interesting sights along the way. I highly recommend this tour, and the guide named Judy.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely FANTASTIC!! Blondina was incredibly knowledgeable and every place she took us was outstanding. She has lived in the neighborhood for years and is a real local. It was both a culinary and cultural tour. I've been to San Francisco so many times that I wanted to do something different/not the usual tourist things. I feel like I really got to know North Beach. Can't recommend this highly enough!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Blondina was a great guide! She not only led us on a tour of delicious restaurants, but she have us a wonderful history lesson of North Beach and a great local perspective. We would gladly join any other tour with her, she was amazing!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great show! Its hilarious and entertaining! If you have a chance to see it while you are in town, I would highly recommend it. Seating is first come first serve, but its a small venue so there really isn't any bad seats. It's right in North Beach and there are a ton of little Italian restaurants nearby to have dinner at before or after the show.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeble, friendly and thoughtful. The food was more than we expected and the tid-bids about Little Italy/ North Beach area was fun to hear. Also a great way to meet new people. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was a local native and very well informed about North Beach history and folklore. The tour was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed this food tour! With Jim as our guide, we learned so much about this area of San Francisco! Jim was great! It was terrific to be able to go behind the "scenes" in the bakery, coffee house, candy store etc. All of the food we sampled was delicious, and the people working at each place were knowledgeable. This tour made us really feel like we "got to know" North Beach!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I am from DC. This was like the Capital Steps and Shear Madness on steroids!

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first time in North Beach, and the tour gave me a lot of insight into the neighborhood's cuisine and history. Our guide was very informative, and he told us a lot of funny stories from North Beach's past. The food was also excellent, and I enjoyed all five stops. We stopped for coffee, pastries and bread, fudge, pasta and pizza, giving us a great overview of what the restaurants in Little Italy have to offer. I feel like we got a very thorough tour of the neighborhood, and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As a San Franciscan, I found this tour incredibly interesting. I don't know too much about North Beach, and our guide was super informative and shared a lot about the neighborhood's interesting history. I had also never been to any of the food stops, so it was a great chance to try new places. Plus, they were all really good, and I especially loved the pizza! Highly recommended tour for locals and visitors alike!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great evening out! I am a local San Franciscan and hadn't seen Beach Blanket Babylon in years. The show was hilarious, very current and up-to-date, and overall a really fun night out in North Beach. The costumes and singing were superb and the iconic headpieces were amazing. Redeeming my Viator voucher at will call was super easy and there were hosts right at the door that showed us to our seats. I highly recommend this for visitors and locals.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We recently took the Little Italy walking tour and enjoyed it immensely. The food was excellent and the tour guide, Jim was very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting or new to San Francisco.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide, Todd, was excellent. He had a wealth of knowledge and a passion for history. He was a wonderful guide. Since we had a very small group, I think we were able to see a few extra places during the tour. We saw all of San Francisco and we had the opportunity to sample pizza from Cinectta, cannoli from Stella's Bakery, pasta, and tea from the Vital Tea Leaf. We had a blast.

Doing what: Food Lover's Sightseeing Tour of San Francisco

Leah M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a great way to see the North Beach and Little Italy areas. Informative, fun and you try a BUNCH of great foods! Our guide Blandina was super. She lives in the area and knows everyone and everything.

Wear good shoes, dress for the weather and come hungry! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fantastic tour starting with a real coffee and then onto bread making, pastries , chocolate, fresh fish tacos and finishing with olive oil tastings and the very best pizza. Tom our guide was excellent, knows his food and loves his city. Is was a a great overall view of downtown little Italy. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is one of the best kept secrets of San Francisco. A magical insight into the cafes, bakeries and coffee shops of the stunning North Beach area. It is personally one of my favourite areas of San Francisco, and I found the food on this tour absolutely exquisite. I still have cravings for the mouthwatering handmade French chocolates. Yum. This is not your typical run-of-the-mill tour - it is guided by a passionate tour guide who seems to know the who's who of North Beach, and knows all there is to know about North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fun way to eat your way through North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our Tour Guide Blandina was well versed and knowledgeable of Little Italy. She had many interesting stories of people and the places we visited ranging from the history of the area to very human lives of locals. It was like walking around with a friend being updated on what has been happening. Blandina is well known in the area and had good reasons for introducing us to various businesses. It was a great opportunity to go into the production areas and we sampled some great food. The tour ended with the a great Pizza meal. We revisited this restaurant for another Pizza dinner.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was very interesting and I enjoyed the tour. However, I must say that Little Italy in San Francisco is nothing compared to Little Italy in New York!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time and our guide was great and knew a lot about the neighborhood. We really got a sense of the North Beach community and how it's changed over time. Got to try great coffee, bread/pastries, pizza, olive oil, etc.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Guide was full of information. Great insight into little Italy.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Tour was a lot of fun and learned a lot about Little Italy and North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

the tour of fishermans wharf was very informative, the walking tour thru the north beach area and up the hills to coit tower, all wonderful but very tiring for an older traveler, Alcatraz was incredible and the audio tour hauntingly real.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Get to try some yummy Italian foods along the way

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message