Standing at the apex of the Filbert Street Steps, you can understand what Italian fishermen and beat poets saw in North Beach: tough climbs and giddy vistas, a place with more sky than ground, an area that was civilized but not entirely tamed.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeff S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This may be the best tour I have ever enjoyed! Our tour guide, Margherita, was very personable and knowlegeable about both the history and food in North Beach. I cannot recommend this tour enough for anyone who enjoys learning about a neighborhood through its dining experiences.

Doing what: Taste of North Beach Evening Food and Wine Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Interesting!

Didn't realise there was so much history around North Beach and The Beatniks!

Thanks for a lovely afternoon, we even went to the Vesuvio for 1 of Jack's favourite drinks after!!

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

Pierce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We can't say enough good things about this tour. Jim, our guide, was as knowledgable about the culinary and geographic history of the area as he was well versed in Disney trivia which my girlfriend absolutely loved. We started out at a family-run restaurant, where we tried a gnocchi dough topped with a bolognese sauce, both of which were completely made in-house. This stop encapsulates the spirit of the entire tour. The afternoon focuses on curating all the wonderful tastes and smells of North Beach, finding the best small gems at each restaurant and letting us sample a wide range of food in a relatively abridged timeframe. And, if you're worried about filling up on pasta, the tour alternates between savory and sweet so you can treat yourself to a mini-dessert after every entree stop. Next we progressed to xox chocolates, our first of these sweet stops, which featured truffles as authentic as you'd find in France or Italy. Once we bit into the hard chocolate shell, and tasted the gooey center, we instantly regretted not buying a whole box. From there we toured some different historical attractions, grabbed a giant slice of pizza, cannoli, tiramisu, and a final dish of gnocchi with different sauces. By the end we were stuffed and recommending this tour to all our friends. Just make sure to bring your appetite and be ready to ask for doggie bags.

Doing what: Famous Tastes of North Beach Food Tour

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Blondina, our guide, has been a resident of the area for many years and she was able to share stories, provide some history, introduce us to the locals and give us lots of tastings of the delicious food of Little Italy. After completing the tour in the morning, I was able to walk the streets and explore the area with a greater understanding in the afternoon. What a great day!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Margherita was an amazing guide! She was friendly and took us to the best spots in North Beach. I would absolutely recommend this tour to my friends and family. I purchased this for a belated mother's day present. It was a very unique experience, and my whole family enjoyed it.

Doing what: Taste of North Beach Evening Food and Wine Tour

Dr. Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ryan did a great tour. He brought us North Beach and the Beat very close. Thanks, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

Terry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience. Our tour guide Blandine was great, having lived in San Fransisco for many years and in the Little Italy area in particular she knew all the shop owners and it was a very relaxed and informative tour. The product sampling at various establishments was a great experience. Definitely recommend as a must do tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

TRACY R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this Food and Wine Tour. Lela was wonderful. She was from the area, very knowledgeable and really cute. She knew all the owner's personally and had a great rapport with them and with us. We walked about 1 mile, pretty easy walking not steep hills and tried food at 4 different places. Each had wonderful food and cocktails and we got to meet and talk with the owners. All the food was wonderful.
Great way to get oriented to North Beach which after a week in San Fran was my favorite neighborhood.

Doing what: Taste of North Beach Evening Food and Wine Tour

Douglas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's obvious that Blondini is passionate about her neighbors and friends. She has cultivated rich relationships with the vendors that we visited. Her tour was very much like an all access pass to North Beach and Little Italy. Thank you for entertaining is so effortlessly.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific. This is one of those tours which has something for everyone: a bakery, a coffee shop, a candy store, a pizzeria, a restaurant and a place that sold very high end vinegar (I could have done with out the last stop myself, but others seemed to have enjoyed it). In addition, you get to hear a little about the history and culture of North Beach, visiting interesting sights along the way. I highly recommend this tour, and the guide named Judy.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely FANTASTIC!! Blondina was incredibly knowledgeable and every place she took us was outstanding. She has lived in the neighborhood for years and is a real local. It was both a culinary and cultural tour. I've been to San Francisco so many times that I wanted to do something different/not the usual tourist things. I feel like I really got to know North Beach. Can't recommend this highly enough!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Blondina was a great guide! She not only led us on a tour of delicious restaurants, but she have us a wonderful history lesson of North Beach and a great local perspective. We would gladly join any other tour with her, she was amazing!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great show! Its hilarious and entertaining! If you have a chance to see it while you are in town, I would highly recommend it. Seating is first come first serve, but its a small venue so there really isn't any bad seats. It's right in North Beach and there are a ton of little Italian restaurants nearby to have dinner at before or after the show.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

cmhoshino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeble, friendly and thoughtful. The food was more than we expected and the tid-bids about Little Italy/ North Beach area was fun to hear. Also a great way to meet new people. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was a local native and very well informed about North Beach history and folklore. The tour was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

De borah G. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed this food tour! With Jim as our guide, we learned so much about this area of San Francisco! Jim was great! It was terrific to be able to go behind the "scenes" in the bakery, coffee house, candy store etc. All of the food we sampled was delicious, and the people working at each place were knowledgeable. This tour made us really feel like we "got to know" North Beach!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I am from DC. This was like the Capital Steps and Shear Madness on steroids!

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first time in North Beach, and the tour gave me a lot of insight into the neighborhood's cuisine and history. Our guide was very informative, and he told us a lot of funny stories from North Beach's past. The food was also excellent, and I enjoyed all five stops. We stopped for coffee, pastries and bread, fudge, pasta and pizza, giving us a great overview of what the restaurants in Little Italy have to offer. I feel like we got a very thorough tour of the neighborhood, and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Laura All Over USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As a San Franciscan, I found this tour incredibly interesting. I don't know too much about North Beach, and our guide was super informative and shared a lot about the neighborhood's interesting history. I had also never been to any of the food stops, so it was a great chance to try new places. Plus, they were all really good, and I especially loved the pizza! Highly recommended tour for locals and visitors alike!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

taylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great evening out! I am a local San Franciscan and hadn't seen Beach Blanket Babylon in years. The show was hilarious, very current and up-to-date, and overall a really fun night out in North Beach. The costumes and singing were superb and the iconic headpieces were amazing. Redeeming my Viator voucher at will call was super easy and there were hosts right at the door that showed us to our seats. I highly recommend this for visitors and locals.

Doing what: Beach Blanket Babylon Show Ticket

Debra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We recently took the Little Italy walking tour and enjoyed it immensely. The food was excellent and the tour guide, Jim was very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting or new to San Francisco.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Leah M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a great way to see the North Beach and Little Italy areas. Informative, fun and you try a BUNCH of great foods! Our guide Blandina was super. She lives in the area and knows everyone and everything.

Wear good shoes, dress for the weather and come hungry! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Coach01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fantastic tour starting with a real coffee and then onto bread making, pastries , chocolate, fresh fish tacos and finishing with olive oil tastings and the very best pizza. Tom our guide was excellent, knows his food and loves his city. Is was a a great overall view of downtown little Italy. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is one of the best kept secrets of San Francisco. A magical insight into the cafes, bakeries and coffee shops of the stunning North Beach area. It is personally one of my favourite areas of San Francisco, and I found the food on this tour absolutely exquisite. I still have cravings for the mouthwatering handmade French chocolates. Yum. This is not your typical run-of-the-mill tour - it is guided by a passionate tour guide who seems to know the who's who of North Beach, and knows all there is to know about North Beach.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Margaret J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was great fun. I especially enjoyed getting to spend time in a small area, enjoyed the history, the stories, the smells and of course the amazing food. We kept going back to north beach during our time in San Francisco as it is a special place. Blondina was fantastic.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message