The finest restaurants in town can't provide views as spectacular as the picnic tables atop Alamo Square Park facing Steiner Street's Postcard Row, a row of pastel Victorian houses, known as the Painted Ladies. In fact, the lavish gingerbread ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Do it!! This was the greatest way to travel around the city. We had the vw for 5 hours, it comes equipped with a pre-programmed gps with about 40 locations on it. More than enough time to see everything you could want and more. As great as the car was, we laughed alot about the comments from people on the street. Many thumbs up, and we were even told 'You are too fly for your white wall tires, bro'. We went to Fort Point, Golden Gate bridge, North Beach, Haight-Ashbury, the Painted Ladies and more. The car also comes with a video camera to allow you to film 1 hour of your trip. You are then given the SD card to take home. So much fun.

Doing what: Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Booked our tickets in the UK well in advance, no trouble catching the bus. They get very busy so go early. Great way of seeing the City and the parks. can get VERY cold so take a jumper. Staff are friendly and informative. Brilliant being able to jump on and of were you like. Did not go past the 'painted ladies' houses and too far too walk, but nevertheless 2day pass is very cheap way of seeing the City.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great service, remember to validate your viator voucher at the super sightseeing HQ on Taylor and North Point @ Fishermans Wharf before boarding a bus. The blue service is not as regular as the red buses, but we didn't find this a problem. We did feel the bus should make a stop at Alamo Square and the Painted Ladies as it is on the route and is a popular destination for tourists. I have to make a special mention to one of our tour guides and driver Willie. He was full of information, good humour and songs and even took us on a 'rollercoaster trip' through the Haight. He really made an impression on our holiday!! All in all this is an excellent way to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good way to see San Francisco. Although a bit disappointed we didn't see some of the more famous sights. We didn't really go anywhere near Lombard Street - just saw it in the distance and it was a long walk uphill to it. Also didn't see the row of Victorian houses that are always pictured in San Francisco. Apart from that we saw everything else. Another point was that our bus was a one deck open top only and it was absolutely freezing! So wear a coat!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

First part of tour great/ the guide was pleasant, later the same day the second stretch of the tour after the golden gate was very non- eventful and the guide was very annoying with his "humor". Disappointed overall had hoped to see more of other areas of the city.... no alamo park just small quick drive by of chinatown etc..

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Booking the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour was a great way to see the great city of San Francisco. I purchased a 2 day pass for our family of six and it was well worth it. I would highly recommend your company to others. This was not my first visit to San Francisco so I knew ahead of time which stops I wanted my granddaughters to have a closer look. Stop #9 should be removed/changed as the Victorian houses referred to as the Painted Ladies are no longer painted different colours and this was a very disappointing stop. Climbed up a steep hill for nothing much to see. We all liked your drivers and guides, very informative.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

I'd give them a 4-1/2 star only because they didn't go over the Golden Gate Bridge or near the Painted Ladies like 3 yrs ago. Loved most of the Guides - one had too much "hype" in his voice-trying to sound like Wolfman Jack and got annoying after awhile. We just changed busses. Otherwise a great way to see the city and it's sites. Really enjoyed my 2 days on top of the bus!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The first guide was great, speaking clearly and loudly. The other one wasn't that good, but it was okay. I don't know why we didn't stop at Alamo Square for a 10 minute picture break, though. We did the tour twice and no one stopped there . . . too bad!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It is a good way to view to the city. Do not expect a formal tour at all. This is just to get you around city. Twice i had to call to check when the bus was coming, this was at the Ashbury stop and then again at the Alamo Heights stop. For Sausalito. I guess if you are athletic, you should consider getting off at the Golden Gate and walking over to Sausalito. If you only have a few days to see the city, I guess this is a good option. Overall, it was okay, I guess.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It is a good way to view to the city. Do not expect a formal tour at all. This is just to get you around city. Twice i had to call to check when the bus was coming, this was at the Ashbury stop and then again at the Alamo Heights stop. For Sausalito. I guess if you are athletic, you should consider getting off at the Golden Gate and walking over to Sausalito. If you only have a few days to see the city, I guess this is a good option. Overall, it was okay, I guess.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were more of the other companies hop on hop off buses than of this one. Guides were good but the bus did not take us to Lombard St. and the stops were too far from the Painted Ladies. The Loop the bus takes is small. Viator telephone operators do not know much about the tours

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The company seemed very disorganized; some tour guides did ZERO narrating (he had a sore throat - then why was he working???), others did some but not all that much. Regular stops weren't pointed out; the route seemed different every time so we never quite knew where we would find the stops. The buses seemed rundown. The route didn't get close to some of the more famous tourist spots (Coit Tower, Financial District, Painted Ladies). I was quite disappointed in having chose this tour company when there are so many others that offer much better options.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

No stops in popular areas like Palace of Fine Arts, Alamo Square and Lombard street. A little disappointed. Big Bus seems like a better option.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message