The finest restaurants in town can't provide views as spectacular as the picnic tables atop Alamo Square Park facing Steiner Street's Postcard Row, a row of pastel Victorian houses, known as the Painted Ladies. In fact, the lavish gingerbread ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour operator, Joe, was terrific and well informed on the city tour. The Muir Woos And Sausalito portion was excellent as well. My only disappointment was not being able to see "the Painted Ladies" but understand city regulations prevented us having access.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour guide/driver was what made this an exceptional tour. He provided a lot of information both historical and current, which made each stop much more interesting. The Golden Gate Bridge was fogged in as well as the stop near the cliff house, however, when we reached twin peaks it was clear with a spectacular view of San Fran Area. The other highlight was our visit to the 7 painted ladies and the drive by many beautiful victorian houses. Overall, I rate this tour as very good well worth the price. Rey Waters

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A nice tour to get an idea what you could see better in San Francisco. A great stop at the Golden Gate Bridge with an amazing view from there! We suggest that they offer a longer City Tour with more stops as well. Some places deserve a stop i.e. Victorian houses to take pictures and enjoy it. We took the rest of the day to explore Downtown.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour by itself was OK. Though we would have been happier if it would also stop close to the "Painted ladies". Also the frequency was lower than expected, we ended up waiting at one bus stop for more than half an hour and then decided to walk instead. Also the day tour ended too quickly- at around 5 pm, while we expected that the bus would be driving around untill around 8 pm.

We took the combo, but did not use night tour, since it was too cold and windy for us to drive around in the evening. So we could have saved money by just taking a day tour and Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Ron and Frank did a great job as driver and tour guide. However, Willie was a concern. He drove too fast going down the hill near the painted lady homes, and laughed about giving the customers a thrill. My wife and I were so uncomfortable that we got off of the buss at the next stop and waited for another bus to continue the tour. Overall, the tour was very informative and enjoyable, except the portion driven by Willie.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Good way to see a lot in a day but the experience of getting on and off the tour busses at the terminal is chaotic and no one explains what should be happening or which bus you're supposed to be on. Muir woods is worth seeing though the roads in and out may churn your stomach and the stay isn't long enough so most only see the central valley. Sausalito isn't worth the stop and the driver stopped in a poor location for us to take photos of the Golden Gate bridge - it would have been superbly framed in the trees if he'd stopped just 500 meters earlier. City tour started late and felt rushed. Not enough time to get to good photography locations at the bridge, 10 minutes at twin peaks is too little, we drove past some beach but didn't stop, there's no stopping at the famous Alamo square houses and the drivers returning people to their hotels seemed a little condescending each time a passenger got off the bus. Needed more time at Muir woods, more time at the Bridge and Twin Peaks, less time at Sausalito.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

It was really cold up top and the speakers didn't work downstairs in either of the buses. Mono was great giving us history as we rode around the route. Another bus guide was not as knowledgeable. We missed the Painted Ladies and getting close enough to Lombard Street to see anything. The second day the bus was 45 minutes late coming (hechanical problems ?) and on the way back had to drop us about 4 or 5 blocks from Union Square because of a Friday afternoon traffic jam. We were able to take the bus over the Golden Gate Bridge into Sausalito which was pleasant. In making the reservation, my personal information was compromised.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

On ne passe pas par les maisons colorées de Alamosous prétexte que les propriétaires ne veulent plus...alors que tous les autres autobus s'y arrêtent.
Moins d'arrêts que les autres compagnies.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The tour guides were pretty good especially Luka, but would have liked the buses to drop off closer to attractions. Had to walk a ways to the Palace of Fine Arts and a block uphill to Alamo Square when the red bus dropped their passengers practically at the doorstep and seem to run more often.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The hop-on hop-off option was convenient for getting around. However, tour guides were not consistent in the information provided. In fact, one tour guided could not provide any information about the area we were located and decided to pointed out a flag sale by a street side vendor. The bus did not stop at some locations which may be desirable, such as, the victorian homes park across the street. For the money and travel around town, it was worth it, but if you want a really good tour of the city with accurate information, use another provider.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

Very disappointed in this tour, buses were not very frequent, the route very limited and on day two we waited over 40 minutes for a bus back from Golden Gate park. The tour was meant to take you to the painted ladies but stopped a couple of blocks down the hill, this was not the only attraction it bypassed. The narration could not be heard over the noise of the bus, traffic and breeze. Would not recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message