The finest restaurants in town can't provide views as spectacular as the picnic tables atop Alamo Square Park facing Steiner Street's Postcard Row, a row of pastel Victorian houses, known as the Painted Ladies. In fact, the lavish gingerbread ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour operator, Joe, was terrific and well informed on the city tour. The Muir Woos And Sausalito portion was excellent as well. My only disappointment was not being able to see "the Painted Ladies" but understand city regulations prevented us having access.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour guide/driver was what made this an exceptional tour. He provided a lot of information both historical and current, which made each stop much more interesting. The Golden Gate Bridge was fogged in as well as the stop near the cliff house, however, when we reached twin peaks it was clear with a spectacular view of San Fran Area. The other highlight was our visit to the 7 painted ladies and the drive by many beautiful victorian houses. Overall, I rate this tour as very good well worth the price. Rey Waters

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Booked our tickets in the UK well in advance, no trouble catching the bus. They get very busy so go early. Great way of seeing the City and the parks. can get VERY cold so take a jumper. Staff are friendly and informative. Brilliant being able to jump on and of were you like. Did not go past the 'painted ladies' houses and too far too walk, but nevertheless 2day pass is very cheap way of seeing the City.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great service, remember to validate your viator voucher at the super sightseeing HQ on Taylor and North Point @ Fishermans Wharf before boarding a bus. The blue service is not as regular as the red buses, but we didn't find this a problem. We did feel the bus should make a stop at Alamo Square and the Painted Ladies as it is on the route and is a popular destination for tourists. I have to make a special mention to one of our tour guides and driver Willie. He was full of information, good humour and songs and even took us on a 'rollercoaster trip' through the Haight. He really made an impression on our holiday!! All in all this is an excellent way to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good way to see San Francisco. Although a bit disappointed we didn't see some of the more famous sights. We didn't really go anywhere near Lombard Street - just saw it in the distance and it was a long walk uphill to it. Also didn't see the row of Victorian houses that are always pictured in San Francisco. Apart from that we saw everything else. Another point was that our bus was a one deck open top only and it was absolutely freezing! So wear a coat!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

First part of tour great/ the guide was pleasant, later the same day the second stretch of the tour after the golden gate was very non- eventful and the guide was very annoying with his "humor". Disappointed overall had hoped to see more of other areas of the city.... no alamo park just small quick drive by of chinatown etc..

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Booking the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour was a great way to see the great city of San Francisco. I purchased a 2 day pass for our family of six and it was well worth it. I would highly recommend your company to others. This was not my first visit to San Francisco so I knew ahead of time which stops I wanted my granddaughters to have a closer look. Stop #9 should be removed/changed as the Victorian houses referred to as the Painted Ladies are no longer painted different colours and this was a very disappointing stop. Climbed up a steep hill for nothing much to see. We all liked your drivers and guides, very informative.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

I'd give them a 4-1/2 star only because they didn't go over the Golden Gate Bridge or near the Painted Ladies like 3 yrs ago. Loved most of the Guides - one had too much "hype" in his voice-trying to sound like Wolfman Jack and got annoying after awhile. We just changed busses. Otherwise a great way to see the city and it's sites. Really enjoyed my 2 days on top of the bus!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A nice tour to get an idea what you could see better in San Francisco. A great stop at the Golden Gate Bridge with an amazing view from there! We suggest that they offer a longer City Tour with more stops as well. Some places deserve a stop i.e. Victorian houses to take pictures and enjoy it. We took the rest of the day to explore Downtown.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The first guide was great, speaking clearly and loudly. The other one wasn't that good, but it was okay. I don't know why we didn't stop at Alamo Square for a 10 minute picture break, though. We did the tour twice and no one stopped there . . . too bad!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour by itself was OK. Though we would have been happier if it would also stop close to the "Painted ladies". Also the frequency was lower than expected, we ended up waiting at one bus stop for more than half an hour and then decided to walk instead. Also the day tour ended too quickly- at around 5 pm, while we expected that the bus would be driving around untill around 8 pm.

We took the combo, but did not use night tour, since it was too cold and windy for us to drive around in the evening. So we could have saved money by just taking a day tour and Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were more of the other companies hop on hop off buses than of this one. Guides were good but the bus did not take us to Lombard St. and the stops were too far from the Painted Ladies. The Loop the bus takes is small. Viator telephone operators do not know much about the tours

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Ron and Frank did a great job as driver and tour guide. However, Willie was a concern. He drove too fast going down the hill near the painted lady homes, and laughed about giving the customers a thrill. My wife and I were so uncomfortable that we got off of the buss at the next stop and waited for another bus to continue the tour. Overall, the tour was very informative and enjoyable, except the portion driven by Willie.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Good way to see a lot in a day but the experience of getting on and off the tour busses at the terminal is chaotic and no one explains what should be happening or which bus you're supposed to be on. Muir woods is worth seeing though the roads in and out may churn your stomach and the stay isn't long enough so most only see the central valley. Sausalito isn't worth the stop and the driver stopped in a poor location for us to take photos of the Golden Gate bridge - it would have been superbly framed in the trees if he'd stopped just 500 meters earlier. City tour started late and felt rushed. Not enough time to get to good photography locations at the bridge, 10 minutes at twin peaks is too little, we drove past some beach but didn't stop, there's no stopping at the famous Alamo square houses and the drivers returning people to their hotels seemed a little condescending each time a passenger got off the bus. Needed more time at Muir woods, more time at the Bridge and Twin Peaks, less time at Sausalito.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message