• USD ($)
  • English
Like a fossilized party favor, this romantic, Greco-Roman ruin is the memento San Francisco decided to keep from the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition. Indeed, the Palace is a favorite wedding photo location for many couples in the San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is a great way to see San Francisco in a short amount of time. It is a good value. I was disappointed that the bus did not get closer to the Palace of Fine Arts, but the drive across the Golden Gate Bridge was really fun. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

When we saw our bus coming, we were very disappointed because it only had an open top deck, and I didn't need to be out in the open air. The driver told us that there would be another bus coming, which was a real doubledecker (like the picture on your website). We had to wait about 20-30 minutes, but when it did come, we were delighted, especially with our guide, Victoria! She was delightful. We stayed on with her and made the complete round with her. The second day, we again had to wait for a real doubledecker--first one open top only. Our guide again was Victoria! She seemed so thrilled to see us and announced it to all onboard that we had come back a second day! We had to leave her, though, because we wanted to do some "hopping off" We did that at two stops--Palace of Fine Arts and then the Japanese Tea Garden which is beautiful! made a couple of stops along the way and were quite satisfied with the guide that time, If there is a way to email Victoria, I would love to do that. Otherwise, I hope someone can tell her how pleased we were with her "guidance".

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Great way to see San Francisco when you only have a short time. Loved the Alcatraz visit. Knowledgeable guide and comfortable transportation. Shame it didn't include a quick photo stop at the Palace of Fine Arts.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Was not very happy with some of the details - one of the stops was far away from the route but the description did not mention this detail, we had dificulties to find Palace of Fine Arts and we missed the bus trying to find the bus stop after visiting the palace; people that answered the phone in the tour office could not tell us if there were any more buses going our way.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The tour guides were pretty good especially Luka, but would have liked the buses to drop off closer to attractions. Had to walk a ways to the Palace of Fine Arts and a block uphill to Alamo Square when the red bus dropped their passengers practically at the doorstep and seem to run more often.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The driver was nice. There were not many buses to hop on during Thanksgiving day. We waited for 40 mins at Palace of Fine Art then ended up using public transportation instead. We only hopped on the bus twice for the whole day.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert M
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

We had a few hiccups with this tour, which we have never experienced on other hop on hop off tours around the world. Firstly, we waited for over 40 minutes at the Presidio gate entrance where the buses pulled up, and no blue bus arrived. After phoning the company, we found out that the stop had been changed to the Palace of the Arts, about a 5 minute walk away. So we wasted almost an hour before getting on a bus. The tour itself was okay and it took us to most of the places we wanted to see, but at the end of the day, we ended up having to catch a cab back to our hotel as what we thought was the last bus to do the entire loop, was only stopping at Fishermans wharf. Be careful to clearly understand what they mean by the last departure time. Perhaps it would be better if there was a 5 pm bus departure from every stop which took you around the entire loop - at least you would get home.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We bought this tour expecting a pretty high level of service for US$230. The tour was to include a 3.5 hour guided tour of San Francisco and then 2.5 hours at Alcatraz. We hoped that our tour guide, Walter would be knowledgeable, entertaining and that the bus would be comfortable and conducive to our hope of seeing the major sights in San Francisco. Unfortunately, we were disappointed.

Most of the tour was spent driving through downtown with the driver telling mildly sexist and racist jokes like "this is where artists spend their husbands money" and this neighbourhood is full of asians and jews. Another gem was on the Golden Gate when he informed us that "those people that jump from the bridge. They aren't romantic, they're depressed!" He lacked insight, admitting that he hadn't ever taken a competitor's tour. We spent more time outside the mission (admission $5, which nobody was interested enough to pay), the "only" place during the 6 hours of tour that we were told there were public bathrooms or food, than we did at the Golden Gate bridge and he lectured the tour bus afterwards that we paid for an English tour, so we have to be quiet when he is talking. (The bus made a lot more noise than any of the tourists, which often made the driver's personal experiences hard to hear.)

We defintely didn't see several of the attractions we were promised:
- there was no photo stop at Golden Gate Park
- we didn't see Chinatown
- we didn't get to see the victorian homes
- we saw only distant glimpses of the palace of fine arts
- we didn't see North Beach
(Two of the four "main attractions" weren't even visited - Chinatown and North Beach)

We only had 10 minutes at the Golden Gate bridge, barely enough time to run from the bus to the bridge, get a couple quick pictures and run back.

Alcatraz was great, and I would highly recommend that tour, but the bus tour was an awful waste of time and money. Even the small promise of free wifi on the bus wasn't offered. Ripped off.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Worst tour i ever had in US. The narrator was too fast in driving as well in speaking. timings are so bad. spent most time in waiting for the bus (palace of arts and coir tower, they never picked on time. the driver was arrogant when asked about that. I have lot more complain to add, no char left.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message