One of the most popular attractions in San Francisco, Pier 39 is a fun-filled multilevel waterfront complex, complete with shops, restaurants, lively street performers, a video arcade, and stellar attractions. An added bonus is its setting on San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Mark C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The City Pass in San Francisco is probably the best value for money of the major city passes is recently used (LA, London, Paris and Rome). It had the length of stay covered better than the rest and you don't have to rush to see things. The Pier 39 Tourist booklet was great but suited to couples or family groups. Having access to Muni in travel was brilliant in SF and, with a little planning, there isn't anywhere you can't go. Even though I was in town only a few days, the pass worked overtime to show me the main sites and have a great harbour tour (which helped overcome the disappointment of missing going to Alcatraz due to the crowds booking it out). If City Pass can improve it would be to give a bit of advice about peak times for when booking is essential - coming form overseas things like school holidays fall at different times but they always make booking essential. SF City Pass is great value!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an absolute must as it not only covers all the Cables Cars, Street Cars (F Line) and Muni Buses, it has entrance fees to the major attractions included. For example, the Aquarium and 3D show at Pier 39, the Bay Cruise and California Academy of Science Museum in Golden Gate Park to name but a few. It is extremely good value as each Cable Car ride will cost you $6 without the pass, even if you just get off at the next stop. So by having the pass you don't have to worry about carrying lots of Dollars to just get around. Be sure to go to the Cable Car Museum as you will see how the Cable Cars work. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our first time in San Francisco and did not know what to expect or find. Picked up the pass on our first day. Pier 39 staff were very helpful and informative. We found this book to be invaluable. We would not have seen areas and things if we had not used this. Saved a fortune on the trolleys and buses.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The Pier 39 pass was really great! Had alot of fun and saved some mony at the same time! There is something to do for everbody there.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Linda H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

the trolley ride is excellent there is a great atmosphere here at pier 39

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

PAUL JOHN H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The whole experience is well worth the money. Myself and my girlfriend thought it was a great way to see the city and enjoyed the visit to the rock - the audio tour on the rock is great.. Just remember to contact the office in San Francisco either by phone my hotel only charge 1.00 for the call or pop in the office which is a short walk from Pier 39 on Fishermans Wharf, before your tour date makes things a lot easier.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The price of the tickets was a good value. The Pier 39 Aquarium is well done and is interesting, particularly for kids, and the bay cruse gives visitors a different dimension of SF. We didn't have time to use the hop-on-hop-off bus tickets, but I have used them in other cities and found them to be a good value also.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The weather could have been better, but it is a beautiful city. Having the Pier 39 pass made it very easy to see the main attractions of the area.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Lee M
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Alcatraz was amazing and a must do as it sells out on the day however you have to do this tour on the first day and you have to pick up tickets by 9.30 or your tour will be cancelled. We arrived at 9.30 to find out our tour was 2.40pm so we had to stay at Pier39 for the whole day to wait for the tour (Pier 39 is amazing - but for 4 hours not so much)

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Unfortunately, we did not ride on the double-decker bus that is shown in the picture. Our tour bus driver proceeded on the tour and took us so fast by everything that we weren't sure when we were supposed to look. He was very distracted. Then when we opted to get off the bus at Pier 39, he didn't tell us that the last pick up in that area was 5:30 so we missed it. For us, it was a very expensive taxi ride from Union Square to Fisherman's Wharf...plus we missed seeing The Golden Gate Bridge and all the other sights on the next part of the tour! The actual taxi we had to take to get back to Union Station from Fisherman's Wharf was much less expensive and a lot more entertaining. I would rate this one star but my kids had a nice time at Fisherman's Wharf and they loved the taxi guy who took us back to our car (neither of which had anything to do with your tour except you got us there).

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was ok, however buses never ran to time. Got fed up waiting for nearly an hour and ended up paying out for a taxi from Pier 39 to Union square which cost us another $15

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

There were some confusion as there were at least three different companies running the hop-on hop-off type of tours. The picture of the bus shown on Viator isn't necessary the bus you'd take. When we approached the booth at Pier 39 to inquire about the tour, specifically which bus to get on, the clerk didn't have any information. We ended up walking back to the main station from Pier 39, which is quite a walk, and checked in at the ticket counter.
The bus was old and very bumpy, the stops are not close to the attractions.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Our first driver, who said he was a manager, spoke much too fast and was hard to understand. He certainly enjoyed giving the tour, he was singing and laughing, but he was hard to understand. My wife and I understood about half of what he said.

We got off the tour @ Pier 39 for about an hour and then caught back up with the tour, our next driver was subdued and spoke very little during the tour. He repeated his comments over and over.

I guess we saw the highlights of the city, but I can't say we understood where we were or their significance due to the poor communication from our guides.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Not good.

We've been waiting the bus at pier 39 over 1 hr after 2:30 pm and finally quit and took a cab to the hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Pier 39, whilst its one of those places you pretty much have to go and say yep went there when I was in San Francisco - this pass probably isnt worth the purchase.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2009

After calling the day before and being told that we could get on in front of Pier 39, there was no signage or indication of where. We stood on the sidewalk waving frantically as the bus went past and did not slow up. We called the office and they returned for us about 45 minutes later. This made the bus so late that the driver was forced to speed and cut other stops short.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It was raining the day of the tour; however, this was not the fault of the provider. We boarded at Union Square; got off at Pier 39 thinking we could "hop" back on. We waited for almost an hour for the bus to never show. Since the weather was bad, we caught a cab back to the hotel and never finished the tour. It was a great disappointment since we only saw a few places. There shoud be a schedule provided so one will know when to expect a bus in the event you get off with expectations of re-boarding.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

We had a bad time with the adventure pass. We only had one day available so we planned our trip out very carefully. As we were redeeming our passes we found out that, the aquarium closed early for an event that day, which we were not told until after it closed. The hop on hop off trolley people told us that it was only a hop on and that there was no hopping off to visit the other attractions. The boat cruise was alright but we were told that we were going to go out passed tue Golden Gate Bridge and beyond but we didn't even get close to th bridge. Then last but not least when we got to pier 39 to have some fun with our young daughter all that the pass got us was a coupon book.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2008

Unless you have a car, you will find it difficult to get to two of the seven places. The Aquarium at Pier 39 was not worth the time or money. I enjoyed the Asian and Modern Art Museums and having the transportation pass was handy, but as I only needed to ride it a couple times a day, it just wasn't worth it to me. I opted for a separate Alcatraz tour, so I didn't care to do another boat cruise, even if it was included in the pass. Perhaps if I had been there a full week and had a car, it might have paid for itself.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message