• USD ($)
  • English
One of the most popular attractions in San Francisco, Pier 39 is a fun-filled multilevel waterfront complex, complete with shops, restaurants, lively street performers, a video arcade, and stellar attractions. An added bonus is its setting on San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an absolute must as it not only covers all the Cables Cars, Street Cars (F Line) and Muni Buses, it has entrance fees to the major attractions included. For example, the Aquarium and 3D show at Pier 39, the Bay Cruise and California Academy of Science Museum in Golden Gate Park to name but a few. It is extremely good value as each Cable Car ride will cost you $6 without the pass, even if you just get off at the next stop. So by having the pass you don't have to worry about carrying lots of Dollars to just get around. Be sure to go to the Cable Car Museum as you will see how the Cable Cars work. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an awesome time on this tour, our guides, particularly Aaron, made the experience extra special, we rode with him twice, and he went out of his way to make sure that everyone on board had the best experience. Highlights for us were taking the ferry to Sausilito, and arriving at pier 39 to find the Americas Cup event. as New Zealanders this meant a lot. We had a two day pass, and felt that we covered San Francisco very well. We enjoyed the fact that there were different types of buses, the little one was the most fun.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Unfortunately, the tours were split between 5? companies prior to my visit. We were at Pier 39 and numerous red Sightseeing Hop-on Hop-off busses arrived that we could not board. Two blue busses drove by in the left hand lane unable to stop due to other vehicles in the boarding area. After 40 minutes, a gentleman flagged down the buss we finally boarded and then had a delightful time and great tour guide.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Where do I start? It was wonderful and our tour guide, Victoria, and Driver, Angel were amazing. We had planned to make a few stops on the way but were having such a fun time that we chose to ride all around and did get off at Union Square and back on again to go around again, to stop at Pier 39.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our first time in San Francisco and did not know what to expect or find. Picked up the pass on our first day. Pier 39 staff were very helpful and informative. We found this book to be invaluable. We would not have seen areas and things if we had not used this. Saved a fortune on the trolleys and buses.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great value for the price of a 2 day ticket, we found this was the ideal way to get an overall view of the area and we completed the full circle first and then selected specific areas that we wanted to explore in depth.
Obviously the Golden Gate Bridge and Golden Gate Park, highly recommend The Walt Disney Family Museum in the Presidio, Pier 39 of course, Lombard Street and the Cable Car ride from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf just blew me away.
Choices of shopping and eating places was great along Fishermans Wharf.
The trip over to Alcatraz was very good and informative - NEVER go to San Francisco without booking this in advance or you wont get to go to the rock. Do not let the rain and fog stop you either.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The Pier 39 pass was really great! Had alot of fun and saved some mony at the same time! There is something to do for everbody there.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Linda H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

the trolley ride is excellent there is a great atmosphere here at pier 39

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

PAUL JOHN H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The whole experience is well worth the money. Myself and my girlfriend thought it was a great way to see the city and enjoyed the visit to the rock - the audio tour on the rock is great.. Just remember to contact the office in San Francisco either by phone my hotel only charge 1.00 for the call or pop in the office which is a short walk from Pier 39 on Fishermans Wharf, before your tour date makes things a lot easier.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour was excellent, would highly recommend. We were disappointed however, when we tried to hop on a bus at pier 39 at 4:30 pm and discovered it was only going to stop one and ending for the day.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The price of the tickets was a good value. The Pier 39 Aquarium is well done and is interesting, particularly for kids, and the bay cruse gives visitors a different dimension of SF. We didn't have time to use the hop-on-hop-off bus tickets, but I have used them in other cities and found them to be a good value also.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour guides, entertaining and informative. Would recommend going over the Golden Gate Bridge until mid morning. Japanese Tea Gardens and Pier 39 were our favourite stops. Well worth it

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was our first trip to San Francisco and this tour allowed us to see the highlights of the city. We spent a lot of time in Chinatown, Golden Gate bridge, and Pier 39. Just hop off and get back on when you finish. We couldn't have seen a fraction of the city on our own and the hassle of driving in a large city and finding parking was eliminated. Since there was no pickup at our hotel, we rode the BART into town and walked a couple of blocks to a stop. But there are a few things that would really improve this tour. First, there are several different tours in town (not Viator per se). When we got to the initial stop, there were 4 different buses and we weren't sure which was ours. Viator needs to identify the specific tour company they contract with. Second, tour narration was often muffled on the top deck. Third, some stops are vague as to the exact spot the bus stops. For example, Union Square is large and you can be a block away when the bus arrives. Lastly, a stop at Ghiraldelli Square would be good. Overall, a good tour that we recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide Willie was fantastic. I took a group of 18 students, and I was a bit disappointed that we waited 30-40 minutes at the Pier 39 stop and the GG Bridge stop for a bus to come along.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was very informative. The only problem we had was locating the tour bus. We were told that the bus would pick up by the cruise terminal however, they drove right pass the stop. We had to run to pier 39 to catch the bus. We were advised by the tour guide that the police officers were not allowing the bus to stop, however there were two other bus companies right outside the cruise terminal. My suggestion, is to please have someone wait at the stop and direct people to the correct pick up location if you can not pick up at one of your stops. Also, your bus driver should wait more than two minutes before they drive away from the pick up location. My husband and a few other cruise passengers almost fell chasing your bus. Especially since, he did not stop at the previous stop, he should have been more aware that passengers had to walk further to the next stop.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message