San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

San Francisco Cruise Port

Known for its hilly streets, cable cars, liberal outlook and the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco is located in northern California on a peninsula between the San Francisco Bay and the Pacific Ocean.  Founded by Spanish settlers in 1776, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pleasant tour. We love the tour guide I believe his name is Ulises. Down to earth guy and very informative. Made the tour very fun:-)

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

this tour was great the information by the on board rep was great we loved the idea that we could get off at so many different stops and it was grate that it was so flexible we had a great time and good value for money and we will be using viator in the future

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was an excellent introduction to the wonderful city that is San Francisco and allowed us to decide on the experiences we wished to follow up on given we only had 4 days in the city. The guide was particularly helpful in answering any questions we had. The visit to Alcatraz was the highlight. We would have no hesitation in recommending this tour which represents excellent value for money.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Alcatraz and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Alcatraz is really worth to visit. The Self guided Tour tells a Lot about the History of the Island. The view from the Island towards the City is Some of the most spezial ones I ever saw. To See the City from there was really Nice.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Alcatraz and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was nice and good.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Sorry we couldn't review. Our ship as delayed and we didn't get to use the excursion.

L and L

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

San Francisco location was somewhat rundown and had no restroom. Staff seemed unorganized and two people were giving customers different information. The actual tour on the bus was fabulous. The driver was friendly, comical and knowledgable. We saw many of the sights of the city. The Alcatraz Tour in the afternoon was outstanding. It was great that it was self guided and you could move at your own pace. Originally I thought we would be there under two hours but it was so interesting we actually stayed over three hours. I appreciated the trolley to the top also due to illnesses. I would recommend this tour to others as well as booking through Viator.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Alcatraz and City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip taking in most of sites of San Francisco including Golden gate Bridge culminating in a boat trip to Alcatraz. Full day but at a relaxing pace and break at Lands End. Very worthwhile if you only have a short time in SF which for us was the case as on a cruise. Much cheaper option than taking the cruise offering.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Alcatraz and City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Alcatraz was a great experience. The city tour was enjoyable but the connection between the two was a bit tricky. We did Alcatraz first and were then to be picked up outside to do the tour. This was not very smooth with people waiting in different places because of the traffic. Wonder if it would be easier for all if you started with the tour then dropped people off to go to Alcatraz when it suited them and to stay as long as they wanted.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Alcatraz and City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

These tours are always good value for money and a great way to familiarise yourself to get your bearings on the city. They are also good to get from one place to the other that you want to go to along the route. Our driver/guide was a crazy man and a lot of fun which made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Bus stops need to be marked better, especially at the cruise terminal. The tour was great, the ride across the Golden Gate Bridge was a nice surprise. Would do this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This is a great way to see the city. Bring a wind break jacket as its cold and windy up the top. It's a great idea to get on and off the bus so that you get different commentators with different styles and information. I think you need a two day pass if you do want to hop on and off.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Tour guides were good but bus seats were uncomfortable. One bus had virtually no suspension and was very jarring to say the least.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Not worth doing with this company. It took 3 phone calls to find out where to catch the bus. Apparently when a cruise ship is in (which was us) the departure point moves. Who knew. Nobody notified us. Considering we booked a shore excursion for cruise ship passengers, why weren't we told.??? We only have so much time.
Also, the driver of the bus that took us to Golden Gate Bridge gave us 15 mins to take pictures, which was fine.; but he started to leave after 13 mins, even though other passengers were telling him they could see us coming. He finally did stop, and let us on. How rude! Find another company.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message