Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved! Our tour guide Joe gave us so much information on the way there and back. We had enough time to do a 30-45 minute walk in the woods plus a little gift shop time and then get back to Sausalito for a quick walk around the shops and then back to San Francisco. It was a perfect 1/2 day trip to see the woods and the quaint little city across the bay!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

MaryFran B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Wonderful scenery on the way to and from Muir Woods. Seeing the lights of San Francisco on the way back was wonderful. Enjoyed the stop in Sausalito as well. Great tour guide, knowledgeable and funny.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Giant Redwoods were amazing and we really enjoyed walking through the park. Sausalito was beautiful with all the sailboats and view of San Francisco. We had a great fish and chips lunch and ice cream cone in Sausalito. Our tour guide, Igor was so informative and provided lots of laughs. We had a great time and recommend this to anyone who likes to get out and enjoy the outdoors.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My tour guide for Muir Woods and Sausalito was Manny and he made the experience 5 stars!! He had a great attitude and went above and beyond for the group. The Alcatraz part of the tour was amazing however I could have organized it myself as they just dropped us at the pier and we were on our own.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Donald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful half day trip to the Muir Woods and then to Sausalito. The price was right and the length of the trip was perfect. Our tour guide Manny takes his job serious and has incredible respect for tourists, as he values their vacaiton dollars. Manny offered Top Tip, personal recommendations, and little tid-bits to help make sure that everyone on the bus was getting the most fo their money. A total good time for all.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dianne M. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved the entire tour. Alcatraz was really good -- we probably could have spent more time there. Our tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito were also excellent. We especially enjoyed Igor, our bus driver, who really made the bus travel over the top.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Fern F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Manny, our bus driver, did a great job as tour guide and navigator. The guy needs a head set though. We would have been happy to spend the extra hour in the woods and skip the visit to Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marion T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and balanced trip, maybe 1/2 more at Muir Woods and Sausalito would be nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Muir Woods was amazing and well worth a visit, to be honest Sausalito was a bit of let down and would have given this a miss. Tour guide was exceptional !!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jeffrey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Muir woods was fantastic, too bad we didn't have a longer visit. We left the tour and thanked the great driver at Sausalito we wanted to take the ferry back to SF

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Pauline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

You shouldn't miss this spectacular natural wonder! Bus driver/tour guide Igor is a blast. You'll hear about the John Muir woods, Sausalito, a bunch of jokes, and some opinions -- and he can really handle a big bus on the hairpin turns.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Elisabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Alcatraz was the best audio tour I've ever experienced. Very well organized. Manny, our tour guide to Muir Woods and Sausalito, was fabulous. Very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Emily R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Incredible half-day trip, giving us just enough time to walk around Muir Woods and take in the atmosphere of Sausalito. Wonderful coach driver too - very capable and friendly!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Manny was great! We really enjoyed our trip to the Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Bisakha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was funny. Both Muir Woods and Sausalito are beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well worth the trip
Muir Woods was fantastic,
Plan on spending additional time in Sausalito and taking the Fairy back to SF, great little city

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour for a quick visit to Muir. Our driver was Manny and he did everything he could to make this trip enjoyable. This trip will allow you to visit Muir without having to deal with the difficult parking. We had enough time to do the entire walking path a Muri as well as take some pictures. Sausalito was a great lunch stop on the way back with Manny providing good recommendations. Before crossing the bridge back to SF we had time to go up the hill on the West side. Unfortunately it was a pretty foggy day so we didn't get great photos of the bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Fiona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour and driver were great, and it was very useful to have the option to drop out of the tour in Sausalito and get the ferry back to town.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lindsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

GREAT tour and great way to see the golden gate bridge. the ride is scenic and slow w/ ample opportunities to stop and take photos! the tour leaves you in a cute area in Sausalito with multiple options for lunch then it's time for a amazing ferry ride back to San Fran. Blazing Saddles does an awesome tour and I would HIGHLY recommend it!

Doing what: Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic time! Flew out from Sausalito, flew over Mill Valley, along the coast, over the Golden Gate bridge, around the city and around Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Sunset Champagne Seaplane Tour

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour. Muir Woods is a must see when visiting San Francisco. The tour guy was very entertaining and you have the ability to stay in Sausalito and take a ferry back to enjoy more shopping time.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Allison D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Totally worth it! This was a great value for 50. Bus was a nice tour bus, complete with AC and a bathroom. The Muir Woods were beautiful. You walk on wooden pathways throughout the woods and are given a map to explore on your own for an hour. Very gorgeous. Also had an hour in Sausalito to eat lunch, shop, site see, etc! Bus driver even made a detour to a very scenic overlook for some fantastic photo opportunities of San Fran and the Bay. Well worth the value, highly recommended!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great half-day tour.

We were picked up from our airport hotel in the morning and stuck around Fisherman's Wharf for a few hours after being dropped off at the tour office at the tour's end around 1pm. We then hopped back on the bus around 5pm for airport hotel drop offs. In that time we were able to walk around the wharf, get some seafood, see pier 39, see lombard street and get some chocolate from ghiradelli factory.

The tour was informative as the driver pointed out fun facts along the way. Muir Woods was great, I think we spent about 1.25 hours there which seemed like enough time to get a feel for it and take some cool photos. Sausalito was beautiful but I wish we had more time there I think we got 1 hour exactly. By the time we got there it was lunchtime and we waited for and ate lunch which took up almost an hour. It would have been nice to peek into some of the cool boutiques/galleries they have there.

Overall a great tour, though, nice to get out of the city for awhile. Combine it with Fisherman's Wharf and you will have a busy but fun sight-seeing day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The driver was very friendly and informative all through the tour and went above and beyond when one of the members of our group became ill not related to the tour. He was knowledgeable of the flora and fauna in the region and the history of notable people responsible for the preservation of Muir Woods. Sausalito was a bit disappointing-not too much to see other than the houses hung on every hillside, the marina, and the short street of tourist bait shops. Again, the driver did a great job informing us of some of the notable people, past and present, who were important to the town. The impromptu sing along when the tour was slowed by traffic was an innovative way of dealing with what could have been a real bore. The bus was clean and well maintained 5 stars, the driver was outstanding 5 stars, and the content of the tour was excellent 4 stars. We would definitely recommend the tour to anyone who would love to see these wonderful trees in a safe, clean, worry-free environment.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a history lesson you get from visiting Alcatraz prison. I wound near like to be in prison.
Sausalito not long enough, need to be at least 3 hours not 1 hour,
Muir wood again need to be long. . The driver was great.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message