Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 973 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was great, the woods beautiful although a little longer in both Muir Woods and Sausalito would have been great. Our driver, Archie, was brilliant. Entertaining and full knowledge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An absolutely beautiful trip! Our driver, John, was very knowledgeable and friendly. Plenty of time in Muir Woods and Sausalito to see everything we wanted to see. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great way to see some of the natural beauty CA has to offer!
Sausalito is such a cute little town, I'm so glad my daughter and I decided on this tour! The tour guide was great :-))
Elizabeth and Erika

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to get out of the city for a little and see some of the natural beauty CA has to offer! Sausalito was such a cute little town, I'm so glad we decided on this tour!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Muir Woods was great. We have an hour and a half to walk the trail. This was adequate time at the park. It was chilly so bring long sleeves. Sausalito was okay. I booked for the redwoods. It was also great because the bus drive up to the Golden Gate National Parking viewing area. We were all able to get famous photo of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved both the Muir Wood...and Sausalito... The guide was great

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Troy, our tour guide, was excellent. Provided interesting information, was courteous and kept everything on time. We were amazed at the giant redwoods and enjoyed our lunch at Sausalito. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz is a must see on anybody's trip to San Francisco and rightly so. A great insight into prison life history.
I really enjoyed the scenery around Muir Woods too - the Giant Redwoods have to be seen to be believed.

We did not get too much time in Sausalito so can not comment too much but it did seem to be a charming little town

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I could have skipped Sausalito, but Alcatraz and Muir Woods were amazing! Our bus driver, Aaron, was incredible! He literally did not take a breath, providing us with info all the way. He was humorous, polite, he even held someones' baby for them! I would recommend this tour, my favourite part of my San Francisco trip. (I would have liked a little more time in Muir Woods)

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Was a great birds eye view of the amazing San Francisco Bay Area. There was a little fog, but our experienced pilot made sure we didn't miss a thing including a great trip UNDER the San Francisco Oakland Bay Bridge. Great equipment, wonderful pilot, spectacular views, topped off with a wonderful Italian lunch in Sausalito, and then a nice boat ride back to the city, who could ask for anything more. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Helicopter Tour with Lunch and Afternoon in Sausalito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz was a surprise hit. The tour includes the ferry ride over and back and once on Alcatraz, you are on your own to make sure you get back on a ferry that will return in time for the second part of the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Even though you are on your own at Alcatraz, you have ample time to take advantage of the free audio tour, Alcatraz video, and wander around. The Muir Woods was amazing but it is a large preserve that definitely needs a revisit since you only get about an hour at the woods. Sausalito was a nice town to stroll, shop, and get a quick bite. You get about an hour in Sausalito. Overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed the Woods and Sausalito trip. Bryan's (?) recommendation of restaurant at Sausalito was great!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a fun day! We rode from the bike rental shop all the way over the bridge into Sausalito. Such a wonderful day and I am so glad I did this with some great friends. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito. I wish however we were advised that once we got to Sausalito, if we wanted to buy tickets we needed a token to get on the ferry, otherwise it’s a long wait to get onto the ferry. Also, I wouldn’t recommend this full day option we did for young children. There are a number of hills and it is a lot of riding. So if your confident or happy to spend the whole day, this really is a great way to enjoy riding across the bridge and into and around Sausalito.

Doing what: San Francisco Independent Bike or Electric Bike Tour with Rental

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message