Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edgar O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We recommend this tour, but wish they had dedicated more time to the city part of the tour. Muir woods is amazing. We had higher expectations about Sausalito.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

janice b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip, excellent guide. One hour at muir woods was just enough. Did pretty walk along landscaped path - easy to follow. Sausalito is always gorgeous. Driver stopped at Marin headlands for photo opportunity which was highlight of trip. Great views and interesting foliage. Can recommend.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Kenneth, was terrific. Entertaining and full of interesting facts and trivia. Muir Woods is awesome, wish we had more time to explore. Same with Sausalito. Bus was clean and comfortable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Patrick y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful but I could have spent more time in the Woods and less time in Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

May L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up at hotel at 8 am prompt
Enjoy our hike at Muir Woods only thing is we would have liked more time l- Was there for 1.15 hour
Glad we took the tour bus because parking is limited

Sausalito is a nice walking town fun shopping n great restaurants. We ferry back $11.00 per adult

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Barbara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly timed tour, just enough time to take a great walk thru the forest, and time in Sausalito to have a drink, check out the shops, or just stroll around, Some of us took the bus back to SF, some stayed for dinner. Our driver/tour guide was friendly without being overwhelming. Added bonus, he dropped us off at the door of the restaurant where we had dinner reservations! Yes, we added to his well deserved tip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

grandma8206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour of San Francisco with a great guide. Missed seeing the crooked street on Lombard St. and the Coit Tower. Ended tour in Sausalito with time for lunch before our ferry ride back to Pier 39. While I really enjoyed Alcatraz, our tour of Alcatraz didn't leave the pier until 3:20. By the time we arrived I felt we really didn't have enough time and had to rush through to see everything because the last ferry left at 6:00.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Blair L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is was an easy going laid back tour. Enough time to get a nice stroll in at Muir Woods and enough time in Sausalito to grab a little something to eat and walk around a bit. Our driver Chablis was a delight. We had a very small tour the morning we went. Eight people total so we moved faster than a bigger group. Chablis took us on a little extra adventure to the 'million dollar view'. We had a great day! For the price, it was really nice to sit back and enjoy the scenery while someone else handled the wheel and told you interesting facts and stories along the way.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a good tour to get a brief bit of the Redwoods you can walk a little or a lot, and enjoyed our time walking around Sausalito. Our driver went out of his way to drop us off at our hotel afterwards which was unexpected and appreciated.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

On this tour we were able to see many beautiful sites in 1 day. Make sure to be careful when booking because we thought we were taking a tour inside of Alcatraz when in fact it was a boat ride around Alcatraz Island. It was disappointing because we could not buy a ticket on the spot since they sell out far in advance. We still enjoyed the boat ride nonetheless. The Giant redwoods in Muir Woods was very impressive and fun to walk around the monument. Sausalito is a lovely little town to end the day in. Our guide Randy was informative and humorous. Also, he stopped in a great scenic spot to take pics of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Driver/tour guide very fun..spectacular giant redwoods and scenic views of SanFrancisco and Sausalito. Highly recommend for 1/2 day tour

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Nick W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Perfect Trip! We only had one night in San Francisco arrived at 7am, and left the following afternoon, and decided to add this to our agenda and are so glad we did. Not only were we able to see the beautiful redwoods, we were able to see the city as well. We stopped for pics at the Golden Gate on our way, spent time at Muir Woods, then spent about an hour in Sausalito, with amazing views of the city there too. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and was up for just about anything we wanted to do! It was a perfect way for us to see parts of the city in our short time frame.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Vahan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Even in the heavy rain the Muir woods are breathtaking. Take a few hours to walk around and observe the giant redwoods and sequoias before heading on to Sausalito, a quaint town with good eats and shopping.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Giant Redwoods were really impressive, liked the tour to the woods.The tour guide/Bus driver was funny and informative. It was good to see Sausalito too, I got some fish and chips which I ate by the sea. There wasn't that much time at either place though and I think this tour could have been stretched out to a day tour, morning at the woods and afternoon at Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, enough time to do a quick hike and then watch the sea lions swim in Sausalito. Chablis was a great tour guide and driver on those windy roads! Also took a tour through same company to Monterey and Carmel and Randy was great too. Would definitely come back and take tours through Viator/Grey Line again!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Niamh C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, Muir Woods and Sausalito are both stunning, we took the ferry back to allow us to have more time there! Driver was also very helpful and informative.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved! Our tour guide Joe gave us so much information on the way there and back. We had enough time to do a 30-45 minute walk in the woods plus a little gift shop time and then get back to Sausalito for a quick walk around the shops and then back to San Francisco. It was a perfect 1/2 day trip to see the woods and the quaint little city across the bay!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

MaryFran B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Wonderful scenery on the way to and from Muir Woods. Seeing the lights of San Francisco on the way back was wonderful. Enjoyed the stop in Sausalito as well. Great tour guide, knowledgeable and funny.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Giant Redwoods were amazing and we really enjoyed walking through the park. Sausalito was beautiful with all the sailboats and view of San Francisco. We had a great fish and chips lunch and ice cream cone in Sausalito. Our tour guide, Igor was so informative and provided lots of laughs. We had a great time and recommend this to anyone who likes to get out and enjoy the outdoors.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My tour guide for Muir Woods and Sausalito was Manny and he made the experience 5 stars!! He had a great attitude and went above and beyond for the group. The Alcatraz part of the tour was amazing however I could have organized it myself as they just dropped us at the pier and we were on our own.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Donald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful half day trip to the Muir Woods and then to Sausalito. The price was right and the length of the trip was perfect. Our tour guide Manny takes his job serious and has incredible respect for tourists, as he values their vacaiton dollars. Manny offered Top Tip, personal recommendations, and little tid-bits to help make sure that everyone on the bus was getting the most fo their money. A total good time for all.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dianne M. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved the entire tour. Alcatraz was really good -- we probably could have spent more time there. Our tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito were also excellent. We especially enjoyed Igor, our bus driver, who really made the bus travel over the top.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Fern F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Manny, our bus driver, did a great job as tour guide and navigator. The guy needs a head set though. We would have been happy to spend the extra hour in the woods and skip the visit to Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marion T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and balanced trip, maybe 1/2 more at Muir Woods and Sausalito would be nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Muir Woods was amazing and well worth a visit, to be honest Sausalito was a bit of let down and would have given this a miss. Tour guide was exceptional !!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message