Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorna L
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best part of my entire trip. I've always been interested in Alcatraz. I recommend taking the self-guided audio tour. I wish we weren't on such a tight schedule. We were on the 10:30 Alcatraz trip and had to be back by 1:30. That seems like a lot of time, but you have to account for the ferry running a little late, fighting the crowds and the time it takes to get to and from the island. Muir Woods was fun. The park was smaller than I thought it would be. You get just enough time at Sausalito to sit down and eat. If you want to shop, better grab a bit on the go. Think you only get about 45 minutes. Wish there was more time for everything, but definitely a great trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour that did not disappoint Trip to the Muir Woods was outstanding! Love the redwoods and could have stayed much longer. Sausalito was nice, but did not have much time to enjoy as we only had time to eat lunch before having to move on. Alcatraz tour was great, but you need to allow at least 2 hours to view the entire facility and grounds. Great first day in San Francisco!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour over all was great. Would have liked to know ahead of time that the tour was not continuous. I thought that once we got on the bus we would be on there all day. Troy, our tour guide/bus driver to Muir Woods and Sausalito was terrific .. Very knowledgeable about the areas we went to.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip to Muir Woods and Sausalito and the Bay Cruise was cool. The bus ride was very nice even though we went along Highway 1 and the steep roads leading to Muir Woods.

Bob B

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Leah
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful trip and perfect for a rainy day in San Francisco. Wish that we would have had a little more time in Sausalito. But we will be back.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The staff is very nice and handful. The tour itself was fabulous. I enjoyed the walk in the Redwoods forest. Sausalito is perfect for a short lunch stop, not really for shopping. The Bay Cruise was very nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Muir Woods and Sausalito was an excellent tour but much too rushed. We would have liked it to be an all day tour with Muir Woods in the morning (it's a lovely place and the trees are amazing) and Sausalito in the afternoon (lovely sunshine, water, cafes and shops) - then we would really have loved it. Our guide/driver was very entertaining the whole time and even gave us a pop quiz related to San Francisco.
The city tour was fine and gave us a quick over view of the city. We preferred the Hop on Hop off buses but if you are only there for a day you really need to do the coach tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were the only people on this tour and we had a wonderful time! Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and made the drive to Sausalito enjoyable. We got to Muir Woods early before the crowds came and had a quiet, reflective hike. Sausalito was funky and fun. The highlight was the seaplane tour - our pilot was great and we saw the whole city, the Golden Gate bridge, Alcatraz, the bay bridge, the stadium and more from the air.

Doing what: Explore Marin County: Sausalito, Muir Woods and Seaplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I book this trip over the internet; we were a little apprehensive, this was due to some of the review we had read, we were worried about nothing. We called the office the day prior to our trip for our pickup time and the gentleman at the tour company was very polite and helpful answering our quires clearly and confidently. On the day of our trip we were collected on time from the hotel as the tour company had explained and transported to the main office to collect our tickets and board our onward mode of transport. The coach driver was very informative of all the locations we visited and with out him the trip would not have been so enjoyable. I am glad we chose Viator for our Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito excursion. Thank’s Viator.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was great. Alex was a great driver and very informative. The tour lasts a full 8 hours so take some snacks as there was little time for lunch in Sausalito. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio was very real and informative. The ride to Muir Woods is lovely and Sausalito is a great little village on the water. Wished the tour had allowed for more time there. All in all a good trip. The ONLY negative is that the tour company seemed very disorganized. We were picked up right on time and taken to the tour Office to get our tickets. However, there we had to wait for over an hour for our bus to arrive so the tour to Alcatraz really didn't get started until 10:30. After Alcatraz, you have to go BACK to tour Office to get your ticket for Muir Woods and Sausalito for the continuation of your day tour. The tour comapny failed to tell us that we needed ANOTHER ticket for admission to Muir Woods. Finally, they realized that no one had gotten their Muir Woods tickets and that was the hold up with the bus!!!!! The bus assignments are very confusing. The ticket is for a certain color (example - Blue) and you have to walk around and ask the drivers are you blue? The drivers were confused too. Once we got our bus and a terrific driver, all was forgiven. It would be simple for the drivers to have a sign in there window as to their color or stand outside their bus with a color displayed. The tour was a 5 star but I'd give the tour company only 1 star. Sorry to the tour company.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! The only thing I wished was that we had at least 15 min more to enjoy on both the Muir woods and to Sausalito. Enough to have some lunch and walk around a bit. Alcatraz was perfect! Had such a great time at all sites!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sausalito Day trip was a bit of non event otherwise all very good.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a Great time. the Driver was funny, friendly. Muir Woods was Beautiful, Sausalito was very nice and the Bay cruise was awesome

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message