Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip! We were able to see Alcatraz in the morning and Muir Woods and Sausalito in the afternoon!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Booking was easy and the tour left on time. Our guide, Manny, was excellent and very knowledgeable. He made a pit stop at a viewing point for the Golden Gate Bridge and gave us a photo opportunity. Muir Woods was amazing! On the way back we stopped for an hour to explore the lovely town of Sausalito. We had a great time and appreciated the great tour guide. Will definitely use this company again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nature lovers will be disappointed not to spend more time in the Muir Woods. IF you want to be away from the crowds find the trail that goes up, up, up... somewhere between bridges 1 and 2. It's a 3 mile loop that at one point takes you to a Pacific Ocean overlook. Sadly, due to time constraints we didn't make it that far. You'll only have a little over an hour in the woods before you have to be back on the bus. And Troy ain't kidding - if you're late you'll be left behind. There was one couple from our group that missed the bus. Sausalito is a cool little town with great views of the Pacific. You'll have lunch there and can then rejoin the tour or stay there and ride the Ferry back - which is what we did. We had a nice afternoon wandering the city and watching kids learn to sail. Hindsight 20/20 I'd have opted for more time in the woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tours. I would have enjoy more time in Muir Woods and foregone going to Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was incredible. The Muir Woods are so majestic and serene. Beautiful drive to get there. Loved Sausalito as well.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was a lot of fun, very personable and knowledgeable about the area. Sausalito I could have done without, nothing much for young folks there, but overall a great experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Viator was a great choice! Our bus driver Aaron was really great. He was really informative and we learned a lot about San Francisco. Muir Woods were amazing in Sausalito was fun little town to hang around in.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was in 2 parts, we had a morning city tour followed by a lunch break and then the Muir Woods Sausalito tour. Tour buses were comfortable and our guides were so professional and friendly. By far, our favorite was Chablis. Ask for him by name if you can. He was fantastic. All the sights were amazing although a bit too crowded for my taste. Probably had to do with the month we were travelling in July.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito -- the bus driver was great!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Woods amazing. We had several photo stops, Sausalito would have liked more time there. Great tour and great driver .

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was perfect for us as we had limited time available. Muir Woods is a popular destination and if you plan to go by yourself, by car be prepared to walk a long way to get to the park, as parking is really limted. So a tour is perfect. The bus left on time - 36 people on the bus. Our guid Chabli, was friendly, professional and polite. We took the option to stay a while longer than allocated at Sausalito and Chabli pointed out all the town's highlights and where to catch the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf. I would definitely consider this company next time I am in town.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

fneedham
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent way to get to Muir Woods with sufficient time for a walk. The hotel pick up worked well.
After visiting Sausalito on the return our drover took us to a viewing point above the Golden Gate bridge which was an unexpected extra. The driver was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful trip. We would have liked about another 30 minutes in Sausalito. The tour company was not organized and lost our verified confirmation. Took about one hour of standing in line for them to make things right. Very frustrating.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good guide, beautiful settings, brilliant afternoon. Could have done without the fish tacos in Sausalito, but otherwise a fabulous day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour of Muir Woods and Sausalito.
Liked the option to go back to San Francisco by ferry.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour combining Muir woods and Sausalito. ..our guide Manny was very knowledgeable and patient and gave us some great tips.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was amazing. Igor our driver was funny and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend it. Sausalito is a very nice quaint town. Enjoy the peace and quiet as you walk throughout muir woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour! It's so convienent, from hotel pickup to driving to the woods to quick stop at Sausalito to drop off back at your hotel! Our driver was awesome! He let us spend some extra time at each stop and even took us to a spot to get great picks of GG bridge!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on our tour of Muir Woods. The bus driver picked us up and took us to the check in. We got on the bus with everyone else, and Chablis was our bus driver. We enjoyed the scenery along the way and crossing the Golden Gate Bridge. Walking through Muir Woods was beautiful, and we could have stayed longer. On the way back we stopped in the picturesque town of Sausalito, ate some fish and chips, and met back at the bus. Chablis was an excellent driver maneuvering the bus through traffic, and his narrative was interesting through San Francisco. He dropped us back off at the Cal Train where we began, so we could get back to our hotel. It was a fun day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This half day tour gave you everything you wanted to see at Muir Woods and then Sausalito. The tour guide was informative and had some funny stories to tell as we drove to our destinations. The Muir Wood redwoods are beautiful! The drive up and down the windy roads can be a bit daunting so it is nice to have a driver doing the work for you. After Muir Woods, we recommend staying in Sausalito after the tour ends and taking the ferry back to downtown San Francisco, which is a great option they give you since you only have about 1 hour in the town. I would recommend this tour to family and friends traveling to the area.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Muir Woods are a must-see! Kenneth was a very knowledgable and accommodating guide who made sure we enjoyed the tour. Sausalito was a beautiful little town but could be skipped to spend more time in the Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We were picked up right at our hotel and brought to the tour bus - the tour guide knew the area so well and was full of history and tips for the area. We loved Muir Woods and Sausalito was beautiful. After the tour we were dropped off at the door of our hotel - you can't beat that! I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was as promised and then some! Tour guide very knowledgable and steered us in great direction for Burgers and shopping in Sausalito! All in all, a perfect day!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour. As first time visitors to San Francisco we were thrilled with the service. The majestic redwoods were a sight to behold. We opted to pay extra and take the ferry back to the city from Sausalito and we were able to see the city from a totally different perspective

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour, great value for money, we got to go around and see several different areas we probably wouldn't have done otherwise and our coach driver to Muir Woods and Sausalito was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message