Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1344 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the last thing that we did over our six-night stay in San Francisco. It was a wonderful journey by bus over the Golden Gate bridge, and out into the countryside until we reached our destination of the Muir Woods. Here we were able to spend over an hour ambling along the walk-ways under the leafy canopy of these glorious trees. We walked as far as we could in the time allotted, and found ourselves quite alone in the distant paths. The walk-ways are wide and well-manicured, and anyone with a stroller, a wheelchair, small children, or similar could make their way quite easily. There is a gift shop and a place to purchase refreshments if desired. The return trip took us back through Sausalito where we disembarked and were allowed to wander as we wished through the shops along the waterfront. My granddaughter and I purchased ice cream cones, and went down to the shore where we chatted and enjoyed the ambience. Our return trip took us back over the Golden Gate bridge always a welcome experience! and dropped us off at the bus depot in the waterfront area of San Francisco. If I remember correctly, some of our fellow-travelers were being dropped off at their hotels. Altogether the whole trip was very well run, reasonably priced, and a pleasant, memorable experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

rachel r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

beautiful day spent walking around the woods/trails. wish we'd had more time in sausalito, but that was also alot of fun. pretty little town on the water. lots of neat places to eat. the bus trip was also very nice and very educational. would do it again!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Arnulfo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and funny. The Muir Woods are a sight to see. The amount of time given at Muir Woods was sufficient. We were able to walk all the trail and have time to snacks before having to load. Sausalito is such a nice town. I only wish we had more time to spend there.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent!! Loved Ken - he had tons of knowledge about Muir Woods and Sausalito - loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Chabli, was very nice and informative - and humorous. The Muir Woods were great! So beautiful and serene! Sausalito is a lovely community! The Bay Cruise was very nice as well. The only complaint we may have is that the bus was noisy - I think the a.c. may have been going out on it - - and that was distracting. But the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took the afternoon trip on Wednesday June 15th. Aaron was a great driver/tour guide. He was very entertaining with his knowledge of San Francisco, Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Enrique R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Igor was an excellent tour guide who was knowledgeable about the area and a great driver. The tour was just enough time to get a taste of Muir Woods and sausalito without burning up a whole day. I and #39;ll use Viator and Gray Line Tours again.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jean B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent for some who wants the highlights of San Francisco. Muir woods was amazing and enjoyed out hour nature walk there. Sausalito lovely, but a drive by may have been enough there. Overview of city and neighborhoods was interesting and fun. Guide was extremely good. We learned a lot and enjoyed the day, Free time at Fisherman's wharf for lunch was ideal.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Muir Woods Trip with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

c9cass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super tour! Great place to visit as was the brief stop in Sausalito!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour. Enjoyed hiking in Muir woods and spending some time in Sausalito. Our bus driver was amazing and full of interesting facts and tips.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Crystal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience! Our tour guide was the best...he added lots of humor along with the information about the sights. Muir Woods was so beautiful and majestic that we did not want to leave...the air was so fresh!! Sausalito was very nice and pretty too. We ate at the Fish and Chps there and it was very good. They picked us up from our hotel and drop us off at our hotel and that was worth every penny!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous! John, our driver, did a wonderful job narrating our tour. The woods were magnificent, the drive was beautiful getting there. Sausalito was really cool. The timing was great. I loved it.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mr. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My girlfriend and I had a blast over memorial day weekend going to Muir Woods and Sausalito on a Sunday. We were picked up at our hotel at 8am and dropped off at the tour office to get on our tour bus and head out. The office was a little hectic early in the morning and took a few minutes to figure out which bus we were supposed to be on but it was not a major inconvenience. When we headed out, our tour bus driver for the day gave us a little background on various sights we saw throughout San Francisco. He was the first highlight of the trip. I cannot remember his name but he whistled when he talked and he was a wealth of knowledge about San Francisco, Muir Woods, and Sausalito. We arrived at Muir Woods and had an hour and 15 minutes to explore due to parking time limit I believe. Muir Woods was beautiful and wasnt too crowded over the holiday weekend which was a big plus. We hiked the main trail down to bridge 4 and took the Hillside trail back which was cutting it pretty close to our time limit and I believe we were the last ones on the bus but we made it. I cannot recommend Muir Woods enough. It was amazing to see this huge redwoods that are hundreds of years old. We continued on to Sausalito and were dropped off near the ferry terminal. We opted to take the ferry back instead of the bus since we could take the ferry whenever we were ready as opposed to the bus which only allowed about an hour in Sausalito. We walked around some of the shops and made our way past a little beach to Le Garage for brunch. This place was really good and didn't have a terribly long wait. Afterwards we went to Lappert's ice cream and ate that while waiting in line for the ferry. The ferry dropped us off at pier 41 so we walked to pier 39 to see the sea lions and over to Lombard street to watch that craziness. You can also get a bus back to your hotel up until 5 or 530 so we headed back to the tour office and, after a 15 min wait, were taken back to our hotel.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both Alcatraz and Muir Woods were wonderful....however we did not have enough time to do both of these properly......next time I will book them individually but we did not have enough days to do that.
Sausalito was gorgeous also....I want to go there as soon as possible and spend more time.
We were forgotten at the pick up point and had to call several time to get picked up, otherwise it was very enjoyable. A little un-organized but we sure took in lots of information.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a perfect sampling of two hot spots in the Bay Area. Walking through Muir Woods was like walking through an enchanted forest and our short stopover in beautiful Sausalito was a perfect way to top off a lovely afternoon. Aaron, our driver, was so knowledgeable and entertaining and his commentary was fun and informative. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beatriz H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was excellent, the view from the bus was excellent, the stop at Muir Woods was beautiful though I wish we had spent more time there and skipped Sausalito. The tour guide was fun and very sweet to my nervous mom. He made her laugh. We even made an additional stop with a view of the GGB it was spectacular wowww

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Edgar O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We recommend this tour, but wish they had dedicated more time to the city part of the tour. Muir woods is amazing. We had higher expectations about Sausalito.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

janice b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip, excellent guide. One hour at muir woods was just enough. Did pretty walk along landscaped path - easy to follow. Sausalito is always gorgeous. Driver stopped at Marin headlands for photo opportunity which was highlight of trip. Great views and interesting foliage. Can recommend.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Kenneth, was terrific. Entertaining and full of interesting facts and trivia. Muir Woods is awesome, wish we had more time to explore. Same with Sausalito. Bus was clean and comfortable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Patrick y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful but I could have spent more time in the Woods and less time in Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

May L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up at hotel at 8 am prompt
Enjoy our hike at Muir Woods only thing is we would have liked more time l- Was there for 1.15 hour
Glad we took the tour bus because parking is limited

Sausalito is a nice walking town fun shopping n great restaurants. We ferry back $11.00 per adult

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Barbara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly timed tour, just enough time to take a great walk thru the forest, and time in Sausalito to have a drink, check out the shops, or just stroll around, Some of us took the bus back to SF, some stayed for dinner. Our driver/tour guide was friendly without being overwhelming. Added bonus, he dropped us off at the door of the restaurant where we had dinner reservations! Yes, we added to his well deserved tip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

grandma8206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour of San Francisco with a great guide. Missed seeing the crooked street on Lombard St. and the Coit Tower. Ended tour in Sausalito with time for lunch before our ferry ride back to Pier 39. While I really enjoyed Alcatraz, our tour of Alcatraz didn't leave the pier until 3:20. By the time we arrived I felt we really didn't have enough time and had to rush through to see everything because the last ferry left at 6:00.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Blair L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is was an easy going laid back tour. Enough time to get a nice stroll in at Muir Woods and enough time in Sausalito to grab a little something to eat and walk around a bit. Our driver Chablis was a delight. We had a very small tour the morning we went. Eight people total so we moved faster than a bigger group. Chablis took us on a little extra adventure to the 'million dollar view'. We had a great day! For the price, it was really nice to sit back and enjoy the scenery while someone else handled the wheel and told you interesting facts and stories along the way.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a good tour to get a brief bit of the Redwoods you can walk a little or a lot, and enjoyed our time walking around Sausalito. Our driver went out of his way to drop us off at our hotel afterwards which was unexpected and appreciated.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message