Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 895 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bike ride was fantastic - especially riding over the Golden Gate Bridge - although it was a little scary at times - with bike riders and people all trying to weave in and out of each other. Whilst the tour was great - and Sausalito absolutely beautiful - I thought our guide went a little too fast - and didn't really allow for as many photo ops as he could have. He said he had been on the desk for a while so maybe he was a little out of practice. Still a great tour though.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We arrived in San Francisco at 11am, found a shuttle to our hotel, and then walked to the tour stop. We made it with time to spare, and I'm so glad we did. Our guide took us over the Golden Gate Bridge and to the park on the other side for a few minutes. San Francisco was chilly and windy, so we didn't want to linger anyway. Then it was on to Muir Woods. I've been wanting to see the redwoods since I first heard about them in 4th grade. I'm in my late 30s now, so a very long time. They did not disappoint. We did a lot of fun things in San Francisco, but Muir Woods is near the top of my list. Of course, there's a limit to the amount of time you can spend, but I felt like we had ample time. Muir Woods is tourist friendly and just beautiful. We chose to be dropped off in Sausalito. We found a casual restaurant for dinner, and took a ferry back to San Francisco. We were certainly road weary at the end of the day, but the tour was absolutely worth it.

This was the first of two viator tours for us, and I would definitely recommend them.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was excellent. The tour was very informative and engaging. The split time between the Muir Woods and Sausalito was perfect.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alcatraz and Muir Woods was one of our highlights, would definitely recommend this tour for everyone, although Sausalito was relatively uninteresting.

Spent 3 hours at Alcatraz, seemed like 30 minutes, if you only do one tour, take this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Muir Woods is wonderful. The guide (Aaron) was fun, knowledgeable, had a good voice, and a safe driver. Muir Woods is the reason to do this tour. Sausalito was nothing in comparison for our group, Only had 50 minutes in Sausalito, nothing much you can do there in that amount of time. Shop a little, walk the piers and see the boats docked, or eat a quick meal.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful woods, delicious lunch in Sausalito, and very nice tour guide. Take Dramamine for the bus ride, if you have motion sickness....lots of curves and hills!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. Our driver Troy was very entertaining and knowledgeable throughout the day and gave us tips for each of our stops. Muir Woods and Sausalito are very picturesque places that anyone visiting San Francisco should make the short journey to see. Alcatraz is amazing and a must-do in San Francisco. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day tour of San Francisco area including Sausalito and Muir Woods. Morning starts in SF traveling over the Golden Gate Bridge to Muir Woods. Fun walking amongst the tall redwoods and flowing streams in the muir forest. You have enough time to walk to the back of the trails and turn onto a return trail back to the parking lot with stops to photo. Then to Sausalito for about a 90 minute stop for lunch. Recommend quick lunch at Fish n' Chips or Burger place to save time for shopping. Travel through Golden Gate Park to Lands End for views of the GG Bridge and ocean/beaches.Back through SF city for sights of the town incuding different neighborhoods. Went to Twin Peaks on a mountain top overlooking all of the SF area. Saw SF, GG Bridge, Bay Bridge, Alcatraz, and everything surrounding. Stopped at City Hall for a quick stop. Overal a good tour to take especially if you have not been to SF a lot or first time.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our driver/tour guide was very informative and gave us a very interesting history of all the locations we passed by to and from our destinations. Some of the passengers complained about the little time allowed in Sausalito. Because it was a "half-day" trip we were fine with the limited time spent there. It was certainly enough time to give us a "taste" of the surroundings and am sure if we had wanted to spend more time there, we would have been able to return on one of the numerous "hop on/off" tours available.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved Muir Woods, so peaceful. We would recommend taking the ferry back after Sausalito, because it was a very short stop.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time with this tour. Transportation was good, the guide (bus driver) knowledgeable and funny. Muir Woods is very beautiful and refreshing, though it is not enough time to walk as much as one wants - we had just an hour to explore. We had lunch in sunny Sausalito. The most interesting and worth part of the tour was the Alcatraz visit. The audio guide was awesome, felt kind of real.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Super nice tour and guide. We were 6 friends out of a group of 10 people. We had time to take lots of photos over the bridge and on our way. As we could keep the bikes for 24 hours, some of us took a longer trip to Muir Beach (there are plenty of bike routes one can choose from - more adventurous or easy ones) and some of us explored Sausalito. It is totally worth to bike the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful time! The pick up at our hotel made it easy and the driver was friendly, informative, funny and on time. The Muir Woods tour was amazingly beautiful. Our only wish was that we would have had more time to spend there. A must see while visiting San Francisco. Sausalito was a quaint seaside town with many shops and places to eat. Again, we would have liked to have had a little more time to enjoy the shops. We barely had time to eat lunch before it was time to leave. The drivers and staff at the tour office were all very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message