The Castro District, known otherwise as simply, "the Castro," is widely considered the United States' gay capital. Not only is it the largest, but also the country's first. Regardless of a visitor's sexual orientation, the Castro is full ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely experience. I was surprised how many areas were accessible to bikes and had well marked trails. I always have thought of SF as a city with huge hills but it is amazing how you can ride the valleys and see great architecture and history b

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best Way to See San Francisco, My tour Guide Josh was Excellent and very knowledgeable . I would suggest this tour to anyone who wants to see the City and all it's cultures. So Glad I picked this tour.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

our lead was knowledgeable and entertaining. well worth the money and time.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting and moving tour! I would highly recommend!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Much more emotional than expected our guide, Kathy Amendelo was excellent.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We absolutely loved the bike tour. Our Guide Earl was fantastic and super knowledgeable about San Francisco history, culture etc.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome. A real amazing tour of history and information. Kathy has a wealth of knowledge and a lovely personality. We could have listened to her all day long. The tour really gave an insight into the Harvey Milk story and the history of the Castro. Prob the best your we experienced on our trip

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sights of San Francisco Guided Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sights of San Francisco Guided Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kathy did an amazing job with our tour in April. I enjoyed the detailed history she provided about San Francisco's LGBT community. It was truly enjoyable!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fascinating tour of one of America's most interesting neighborhoods by a charming local

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic time on this bike tour! We felt like locals cruising through the streets of San Francisco, and learned a lot about all the different neighborhoods from our guide, who was super friendly. The city is very bike friendly, and picking up/dropping the bikes off was a breeze. My highlights were seeing the murals in the Mission District, stopping at a popular local coffee joint, and spending time in the Haight. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sights of San Francisco Guided Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was very insightful, I learned a lot and I loved the fact that we got to walk around Castro. The tour guide was lovely also :

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really interesting and informative. Our guide Kathy was funny, friendly and knowledgable about the area and it was clear that she was really involved in the community and passionate about sharing this with visitors.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thanks a lot to our guide Kathy!! She was so friendly and gave us a lot of information in our tour. Strongly recommended :)

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful tour. It gave a lot of insight into this particular area of San Francisco. The guide, Cathy, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Would highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very interesting and Kathy is a very awesome and authentic person. We would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in the political and social history of "The Castro".

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Jorge Babroo
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Step back into history, get to know were it all started. I was expecting this so much and got what I hoped for. Kathy will tell you all she knows. She's such a wonderful person. It is trully a nice time walking around history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is excellent - Kathy our tour guide was both friendly and welcoming and made the your of The Castro something special. The history of the area is fascinating and a great way to spend 2/3 hours. Highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great tour! Such a vibrant community, it was great to get an insiders view. Kathy is highly knowledgeable about the area and its people, would definitely recommend!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to San Francisco. Kathy was very knowledgeable and entertaining! You will receive a first hand account from someone who has been truly involved in the Castro culture. I would recommend the tour to anyone gay, straight or otherwise as it will really open your eyes to the drive for equality in America and the history of San Fran. Thanks again Kathy!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had visited the Castro previously and just knew I was missing something. This tour highlighted all of the things that I missed that first time. We learned so much about the Castro culture and history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Davin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We met Kathy at Harevry Milk Plaza and commenced our tour once the others had arrived. Kathy is very informative and was a great guide. The impact Harvey Milk made on a community in such a short time is staggering. One of the most poignant things was when we saw where the AIDS quilt was made and Kathy explained how big it is and how it is currently stored. She is correct the quilt needs to be in a museum.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We highly recommend this tour! It was both educational and inspirational. Tour guide did an excellent job!!!! Thank you.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kathy is a superb guide, warm, knowledgable and clearly passionate about her subject. For a gay man of a certain age, finally seeing the locations where so much history took place was both fascinating Nd in readily moving.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message