The Castro District known otherwise as simply, "the Castro" is widely considered as the United States' gay capital of the world. Not only is it the largest, but also the country's first.     Regardless of sexual orientation, the Castro is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very interesting and Kathy is a very awesome and authentic person. We would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in the political and social history of "The Castro".

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Jorge Babroo
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Step back into history, get to know were it all started. I was expecting this so much and got what I hoped for. Kathy will tell you all she knows. She's such a wonderful person. It is trully a nice time walking around history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Jorge Babroo
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Step back into history, get to know were it all started. I was expecting this so much and got what I hoped for. Kathy will tell you all she knows. She's such a wonderful person. It is trully a nice time walking around history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great tour! Such a vibrant community, it was great to get an insiders view. Kathy is highly knowledgeable about the area and its people, would definitely recommend!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to San Francisco. Kathy was very knowledgeable and entertaining! You will receive a first hand account from someone who has been truly involved in the Castro culture. I would recommend the tour to anyone gay, straight or otherwise as it will really open your eyes to the drive for equality in America and the history of San Fran. Thanks again Kathy!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had visited the Castro previously and just knew I was missing something. This tour highlighted all of the things that I missed that first time. We learned so much about the Castro culture and history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Davin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We met Kathy at Harevry Milk Plaza and commenced our tour once the others had arrived. Kathy is very informative and was a great guide. The impact Harvey Milk made on a community in such a short time is staggering. One of the most poignant things was when we saw where the AIDS quilt was made and Kathy explained how big it is and how it is currently stored. She is correct the quilt needs to be in a museum.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We highly recommend this tour! It was both educational and inspirational. Tour guide did an excellent job!!!! Thank you.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kathy is a superb guide, warm, knowledgable and clearly passionate about her subject. For a gay man of a certain age, finally seeing the locations where so much history took place was both fascinating Nd in readily moving.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Cathy was so great. First, everyone could 'hear' her. Sometimes tour guides are not cognizant of that little detail. Cathy brought to light much of Castro history I was never aware of (as a Floridian) and even gave details she knew of it's future, the street project in progress, along with the plaques to be imbedded. The Harvey Milk history Cathy provided enhanced, for me, what I had seen in the movie 'Milk'. Now I want to see it again having my knew found knowledge. The elementary school mosaics and their representation of equality - hope for a more tolerant upcoming generation - was not only inspiring -- I would have not known they even existed had Cathy's tour not led us down the street they were on. On and on, there's so much to mention. The tour is a 'must do' for the open-minded visiting SF. Bill and Ramon

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very informative. Kathy was was a great ambassador or SF and the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience! Kathy is an incredibly warm person and is very knowledgeable! I learned a lot and had a great time!!
Thank you!!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy was a natural, well informed and caring tour guide in this great area. I fell for the area big time!!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy leads an informative, even emotionally moving, tour of the Castro district. Her tales, the memorials and sites tell an uplifting story of historical tragedy, courage, dedication and accomplishment in America's humanity.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour. Tour guide Kathy was excellent - very knowledgable about the district and it's history, warm and very entertaining. Highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message