The Castro District known otherwise as simply, "the Castro" is widely considered as the United States' gay capital of the world. Not only is it the largest, but also the country's first.     Regardless of sexual orientation, the Castro is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Cathy was so great. First, everyone could 'hear' her. Sometimes tour guides are not cognizant of that little detail. Cathy brought to light much of Castro history I was never aware of (as a Floridian) and even gave details she knew of it's future, the street project in progress, along with the plaques to be imbedded. The Harvey Milk history Cathy provided enhanced, for me, what I had seen in the movie 'Milk'. Now I want to see it again having my knew found knowledge. The elementary school mosaics and their representation of equality - hope for a more tolerant upcoming generation - was not only inspiring -- I would have not known they even existed had Cathy's tour not led us down the street they were on. On and on, there's so much to mention. The tour is a 'must do' for the open-minded visiting SF. Bill and Ramon

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very informative. Kathy was was a great ambassador or SF and the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience! Kathy is an incredibly warm person and is very knowledgeable! I learned a lot and had a great time!!
Thank you!!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy was a natural, well informed and caring tour guide in this great area. I fell for the area big time!!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy leads an informative, even emotionally moving, tour of the Castro district. Her tales, the memorials and sites tell an uplifting story of historical tragedy, courage, dedication and accomplishment in America's humanity.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour. Tour guide Kathy was excellent - very knowledgable about the district and it's history, warm and very entertaining. Highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Although I missed part of this tour when I joined the tour I found the guide to be very informative and she was happy to discuss with me what I had missed, great tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide, Kathy, was excellent - she knew her topic and was obviously well-known and respected in the community. Learned much more than we ever would have picked up had we visited on our own.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Despite it being a cosy 2 people private tour, it was such a wonderful and interesting tour. Kathy is everything that is right with humanity. It's very hard not to fall in love with her. She was brilliant, funny and knew her stuff. Highly reccomend the tour. Cheers!
Daniel L- Sydney, Australia

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a great tour! Kathy made her neighborhood come alive, relating the history in stories that helped understanding of the people. She was quick to recommend places in the neighborhood for deeper exploration as well as great places to eat and drink. I would do this one again!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fantastic tour! highly educational and Kathy (tour guide) was wonderful!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Kathy was an awesome tour guide. We had so much fun! This is a great tour and I would recommend it even to those who live in SF.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Kathy is very knowledgeable about the Castro area but more importantly, she is warm and friendly. She made the tour educational and very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Kathy was exceptionally personable and fun to walk around with. This tour should not be considered only for LGBT participants, everybody can learn a lot from Kathy and her outstanding knowledge of the area and her unique perspective of the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Paul J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Kathy was a terrific guide. The history and local knowledge Kathy shared was very informative. I felt I went away 'feeling' the history in the Castro, not only being educated upon it. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message